What/If (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
388 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
3/10
Feels like you're watching three different shows, 2 of which are VERY bad.
catsgarden26 May 2019
Normally, subplots weave in and out of a tapestry, coming all together to form ONE big picture in the end. In this case, the subplots are so far removed from the main story, that it feels like you're constantly changing the channel and watching three (sometimes four) distinct tv shows. They barely--and I mean BARELY--connect by the thinnest thread, resulting in a very annoying experience. Especially when two of those three separate 'tv shows' you have zero interest in. By episode 3 I started fast-forwarding through the 'brother' show, and by episode 5, the 'friend' show. The main plot was often plain stupid. It tried to be 'Damages' with Glenn Close, but miserably failed. Zelwegger's role tried to be Stella Gibson from 'The Fall' but also failed. There was a nugget of premise that kept me watching through to the end, but I don't recommend wasting your time on it. They definitely missed the mark on this one.
302 out of 380 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Renee Zellweger is the only reason to watch this
hnt_dnl27 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I've noticed an amazing trend the last year with several offerings from streaming services such as Netflix and Amazon: popular 90s film actresses are re-inventing themselves on the small screen! There was Julia Roberts in Amazon's Homecoming and on Netflix, first there was Sandra Bullock in Birdbox, then Uma Thurman in Chambers and now Renee Zellweger in WHAT/IF. What's even more amazing is that I've never been the biggest fan of any of them, save for Thurman from Kill Bill 1, and that's the only thing I ever really liked her in. All of these actresses are now middle-aged and they seem like much better actors than I recall them being 20 years ago. Their experience is completely outclassing all the newbies that they are compelled to work with in these streaming shows. The disconnect between the vets and the rookies is astounding.

Zellweger just eats up the scenery as self-made billionaire Anne Montgomery in What/If to the point that she's the only thing that made it tolerable to sit through. Anne is reminiscent of the classic nighttime soap antagonists from shows like Dallas, Dynasty, Revenge. The "Indecent Proposal" subplot with Anne and the Donovans (played by Jane Levy and Blake Jenner) was THE ONLY ONE worth watching. The subplots involving the minor characters were completely uninteresting and disconnected from everything else. I couldn't care less about any of the stuff involving Lisa's brother or Sean's best friend and their romantic entanglements. They should have replaced that with more writing directly involving the inner workings of Lisa's biotech company. Also, I thought Levy was incredibly monotone as Lisa. Zellweger and even Jenner outacted her in their shared scenes. But that subplot involving the biotech as so intricate and intriguing, it managed to keep the season from completely drowning. Well, that and Zellweger's award-caliber performance. Who knew she could play an unapologetically malevolent witch so well? Someone give this lady an award!
106 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Super cringeworthy!
AmWeeds26 May 2019
I don't know if it was intentional to be this corny but it was. Should have been aired on Lifetime Channel as that is what it felt like I was watching it on. Very cliche storylines, horrible acting and far fetched plots to move the story along. Renée, you can do better than this!!
194 out of 249 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I can't stop watching this "exquisite binge-worthy trash"!!!
whitneyfwalker25 May 2019
Quote from Indie Wire above. The only reason this doesn't have 10 stars is because only Melrose Place deserves that. It's f ing perfect! Everyone is a train wreck, have secrets, are emotional nightmares...but are somehow connected. It IS a 2019 Melrose Place, now that I think about it. Cheesy dialogue, improbable situations, over the top everything. It's JUICY. Oh and the Basic Instinct soundtrack (all the music actually) in the most perfect moments-you'll see what I mean-nice touch! Netflix please a second season! PS Renee you give us a polished nuanced Amanda Woodward. That is the highest compliment I can give you :) just changed this to 10 stars.
181 out of 240 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Love this show
lisajonesey25 May 2019
I love the intrigue in this show and Renee Zellweger plays a brilliant part. She definitely carries the show and is magentic on screen. I dont take any notice of reviews and like to form my own opinions. The only thing that irks me is that the storylines for the gay relationship and the residents affair etc dont seem to be relevant to the story and the main story would still continue without these characters. On episode 6 and Im waiting for it to come together some how. Despite that its worth watching to see Renee in a different roll than weve seen her play and she plays powerful tortured, lonely, cruel and intriguing very well indeed.
110 out of 150 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I Loved Revenge But Did Not Like This Show
stephiekrunner27 May 2019
I loved the show Revenge and Renée Zellweger, so I figured why not give it a try?

The show was bad and not the good kind of bad. The plot was all over the place and so badly written that I didn't care about any of the characters. There was one plot line (ok maybe 2) that were dumb and really of no point other than trying to make the show "bingeable". Or maybe the writing is just THAT bad??! If I hadn't been home with a cold I would have never finished it, but I regret to say I did. I did cheat toward the end and fast forward for part of the last 3 shows, I just wanted to be done with it.

If you're on the fence, save yourself the time and regret....and skip it.
84 out of 118 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
So bad so so so bad....
poganova25 May 2019
This was awful. I guess i kept watching because of Renee, but it just gotten worse nd worse and worse. Very cliche, predictable, boring script...absolutely bizarre unconnected story lines.. terrible acting, like really bad, especially the female lead. the whole thing made no sense! please do not waste your time. Renee.... what has happened to you? :((
132 out of 192 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
It has to be deliberate
tiagokern1726 May 2019
It's one of those so-bad it's... enjoyable shows. The way it's shot, the dialogue... it's all so cringeworthy. Some characters are followed for no reason at all, and they all feel shallow and unreal. Still, if you watch this as a parody of bad soap-opera like television, it could be a load of fun.
58 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another hit for Netflix
philvj24 May 2019
I loved Revenge and was excited to see what this show would look like. It's so good - binged all episodes in one day. Rennee Zellweger is brilliant in this role. The story is compelling, the acting is great and it gets more interesting with each new episode. Don't mind the critic reviews and see for yourself how good the show actually is.
161 out of 244 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Like a soap opera from hell and not in a good way.
paul-214825 May 2019
The writing on this "show" is dreadful and debasing. It mad me sad not only for the future of Hollywood but for the future of humanity as well.
118 out of 178 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Just Renee.
chick_flick26 May 2019
The only good thing about this is seeing Renee Zellweger in a role that is so unlike her and she pulls it off well. Until somewhere into the 4th or 5th episode they turn her into a caricature. Then it all goes downhill. The subplots had zero to add to the story. Coul've turned out better. Unfortunately it didn't. Worth watching while doing the laundry 'cause you have the TV on anyway. Not something to sit and watch and give it your full-on time and attention.
40 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
What if they did a better job making this show.
gina_gemini25 May 2019
The show was supposed to be about choices and their consequences and you can do a lot of decent interesting stories with that, instead they made something that might have felt intriguing in early 2000s and feels a lot like a soap opera.....and not in a good way like "unreal" etc....

And I am sick of the fact that every show thinks they MUST go through the SAME checklist of 'token' characters and get all their "representation" badges. God forbid someone might feel offended by not seeing a member of their 'tribe' on the screen!!!!!!

Dated story, bad acting, polished to be "woke"! Feels very stale.
149 out of 234 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Yeahhhhh..........no just no
larosaj-2666625 May 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The trailer made it look like a thriller but it's just a drama going nowhere. Stupid copycat ( somewhat ) of the incredibly stupid movie: Indecent Proposal. Quickly hits the check marks: Latino and black gay guys. Super empowered woman. Adopted by a Latino family. Interracial affair. The show is just trash. Boring trash at that. The acting is not bad but except for Levy; none of the characters are particularly likable. And neither is the mystery intriguing. Who here who has the ability to reason didn't know that it wasn't sex she wanted. One less junk to watch.
88 out of 134 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad acting, bad writing cringe fest!
attilaszabo-8573931 May 2019
I had to stop watching this after the 3rd or 4th episode, it's that bad. Don't waste your time!
39 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Netflix Gets a Great Big Gooseegg for This Drivel
bshaef25 May 2019
Bad acting, slow, unbelievable story and after i watched for what seemed all day long, I saw I was only on Episode 6. Couldn't bear the thought of wasting 5 more hours of my limited lifespan so I turned it off and moved on. On the bright side, I was able to cook dinner and clean up the kitchen without missing a lick of the plot.
106 out of 166 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
More Renee!
drandle-8845126 May 2019
A tissue thin soapy script populated by cardboard characters. Except when the fabulous Renee is on the screen. Pretty characters, pretty wardrobe, pretty sets, pretty boring and unoriginal EXCEPT when watching Renee. And she's not on the screen enough. Good actors, good direction, unoriginal story. Sigh...
51 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Bad, bad, a very bad mess!
laura-2709228 May 2019
I have no clue what they were trying to do with this, unless, of course, they were trying to make an awful show, then they succeeded to the fullest! Ridiculous plot, slow tempo used to highten drama in non dramatic scenes, either over or under acting, just a mess, really. It feels like they released it by mistake before an editor could look at it.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ham in the afternoon
drscotteaton29 May 2019
Oh dear. This is absolutely not for everyone. It's just hours of terrible afternoon duff TV. You've heard those cliche lines and seen those evil stares away from the camera a million times. Don't waste your life.
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Preposterous soap opera
Piedradura27 May 2019
This started out promisingly enough but went straight downhill around the third episode. Being the masochist I am I watched the entire season, but it got worse and more preposterous as it unfolded.

The writing and acting are awful. Jane Levy, who I remember fondly as the daughter in Suburgatory, is simply dreadful in the lead. The others are all similarly awful. That includes Renee Zellweger.

The writers also wove in way too many subplots. This hot mess was all over the place.

Everyone looked good and the locations were nice, but overall this was a miss. I still give it five stars for effort. What was Netflix thinking?
20 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So, so silly...
swhisalex25 May 2019
This is a story about VERY young people who really don't know what they want out of life and a VERY rich woman who wishes to exploit that. If you have an ounce of maturity in your body you'll know what a ridiculous farce this is. I wish it were more entertaining than it is, but, sadly...
62 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awful but I loved it
Jonimckenna11 January 2020
I should probably start by saying my favourite genre of film is 90s thriller which probably explains why I loved this so much. This series had hammy acting, unrealistic plot lines and loads of cheesy twists and turns. If you don't take it too seriously and just enjoy it for the over the top entertainment that it is then it is definitely enjoyable in a guilty pleasure sort of a way. It won't be winning any awards but I binged the whole series and loved every minute.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
WTF did I just watch?
ineedaname3 June 2019
I wanted to like this but unfortunately I've wasted nearly 10 hours of my life. As someone else wrote, you feel like you're watching three different shows and none of them were worth watching. This show should have focused on the biotech story rather than branching off into tangents thinly held together by minor actors.

Think of all the amazing things you could do with 10 hours, and then do those things instead.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I like it.
fmassur25 May 2019
Usually i don't do this ...but this Tv show i did enjoy it. Nice twist.
55 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
What If:
jjkalologie25 May 2019
#WhatIf turned out to be a mediocre drama with over-exaggerated promise & underwhelming delivery. The writing was, at times far too dramatic, severely lacking in character development & showcased inconsistent & unoriginal dialog.

The main storyline seemed underdeveloped which led to unrelated side-stories that failed to connect with the audience or the plot. The poor dialog editing often disrupted the organic flow of the scene, felt forced & scattered.

I whole-heartedly went in with the expectation that Mike Kelley had created the next blockbuster for #Netflix but I was left bewildered, confused & irritated.

What I can say is that this show is very inclusive which is always beautiful in its own right.

#WhatIfnetflix

P.S.- #ReneeZellweger was stunning & always impresses, but I would have loved to have seen what #JenniferTilly could have done with this role.
49 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I would have rated it lower...
markanthonyparra25 May 2019
The show is sub-par, implausibly written with ridiculous subplots that are hard to swallow. Renée Zellweger is good, as usual, but why is she doing this sort of inconsequential nonsense?
29 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed