Cobra Kai (TV Series 2018– ) Poster

(2018– )

User Reviews

Review this title
754 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Way better than it has any right to be
thegrred3 May 2018
When I first saw a Cobra Kai trailer I thought, that's kind of neat but I bet it sucks. Boy was I wrong, it's is incredible. Johnny Lawernce (William Zabka) may have just become my favorite anti-hero EVER. He is so good at playing a down on his luck dirt bag looking for redemption. The episodes don't do anything to shock you to think "man that was silly" if anything they tell a great story. It takes the Karate Kid movie and spins it. I don't laugh at a lot of show, even shows I really like, but Johnny had me laughing out loud a few times with his dry mean humor. If your a Karate Kid fan this is a must watch. If your not a Karate Kid fan this is a must watch. It's such a good show, I can't believe it's done by youtube.
538 out of 566 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very smartly written & acted - highly recommended
user-322-3261563 May 2018
I was a teen in the 80's and enjoyed watching this film - as most guys my age did. I was a little skeptical when I saw that they were making a new series that takes place 30 years after the movie ended. But once I saw the trailers - I felt like they might be on to something. After watching several episodes - I can tell you that they nailed it. This is the best show out there - anywhere. It's not over acted (or under acted). It's not corny or stupid either. It's the perfect match up of seriousness with a few goofs or references from the 80's thrown in here & there. This revival could have been a disaster but it looks like they got the perfect combo of writers, directors & actors. It's funny, because as a kid - I wanted to punch Johnny in the throat as hard as I could. But as a 40-something year old - I'm kinda rooting for him. Great job to the people responsible for making this happen - and of course it couldn't have happened without Ralph & William. Thank you!
320 out of 346 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
ITS SO GOOD, ITS UNBELIEVABLE
lukepollack3 May 2018
I remember watching the Karate Kid films as a kid, and I cannot express enough how impressed and surprised at the level of quality of this series. It successfully brings back the old "feel" of the films, while adding a new and complex storyline. It really embodies the legacy of the rivalry, and yet rebores the spirt of the films to a degree that is just unprecedented. I can't wait to see what they do in Season 2. Amazing job YouTube!
255 out of 277 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great For Karate Kid Fans From 80s and Latest Generation
r3volution113 May 2018
This series brought me back to my childhood and how much I loved the movies and characters growing up. It surprised how well the characters are brought up to date and now involve the younger generation. There's still a lot to be taught, and learned.
179 out of 195 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Fantastic Sequel in the Form of Series
AlbertV793 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The skepticism of the announcement of this sequel to the Karate Kid saga is truly gone. It is clear there is a bit of a role reversal as we now see mainly through the eyes of Karate Kid bad boy Johnny Lawrence, who seeks redemption by taking in a student in the form of Miguel Diaz, which in turns inspires him to re-open the Cobra Kai dojo. As for Daniel LaRusso, it i clear that while he is a successful businessman, he is practically consumed with arrogance and does whatever he can to ensure Johnny doesn't succeed.

It is interesting to see the major changes in students Miguel from bullied to the arrogant fighter with Robby going from juvenile delinquent to a fighter with honor. Their backstories truly come into play in the series as well as finally learning more Johnny and his upbringing.

Like the original film, it is more than martial arts...it's about relationships and redemption. If you liked the Karate Kid saga, then no doubt, you must see this series ASAP!
143 out of 156 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
William Zabka steals the show!
AGood3 May 2018
I have just this moment finished episode 10. I am literally on a massive high right now. This is probably the best TV series I have seen since I first watched Game of Thrones. This is literally TV at its most epic best.

The thing that makes this TV show is literally William Zabka. Why he has only been in Karate Kid and nothing much more is a mystery as this guy can act and has amazing screen presence and comedy timing.

This TV show was so good it literally makes me want to go out tomorrow and sign up for karate classes and learn Cobra Kai style.

I strongly recommend everyone watches this as this is way better than that stupid remake with Will Smiths son, better than all the sequels and to be honest better than the first Karate Kid movie was too.

William Zabka needs to be cast in other TV roles too. He is up there with the best for TV/movie Anti-hero's; Snake Plisskan, Tyler Durdan and now after this Johnny Lawrence.
267 out of 298 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absurdly Good
felipemc4 May 2018
The answer has finally come to the age old question of "How can you introduce nuance into a cut-and-dry good-vs-evil 80's classic" and it comes in the form of COBRA KAI. While there are many a homage to the film(s) that spawned it, Cobra Kai makes its own name for itself by (gasp) being very well written, and introducing depth to the degree that neither Johnny nor Daniel-San is really "the good guy" or "the bad guy". They both make poor decisions, both are dealing with the traumas of their youth (which, in Danny's case, comes down to Johnny himself in many ways), and they both pass on the positive and negative experiences to their children and/or students in various ways. Danny is often motivated by petty revenge and unable to see any good in Johnny and his Cobras (and not entirely for no reason), and Johnny may be saving himself from....himself and his past and giving his students confidence, but also seems to be making them somewhat into monsters. The show is able to balance all this thematically and do so with poignancy and humor. Unlike, say, an hour-and-a-half long movie, the show is able to burn much more slowly and spend time with its characters and their pasts to provide a tremendous amount of depth. This might even be the thing that makes Youtube Red worth paying for. I'm legitimately hyped for season 2, what the hell. (While I won't spoil the last-minute sting in the final episode, needless to say it's a biggie).

Really watch it, you'll be suprised. Hawk is indeed ourguy
97 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cobra kai for life!
arellano_edmund3 May 2018
Barney Stinson is gonna love this!!!! Finally the real karate kid shows up!
122 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
No mercy
hurleysurferr3 May 2018
Great show, surprised Netflix didn't pick it up. Can't wait for the next season.
92 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worth every penny, amazing.
I was a big KK fan back in the day and this ticks all the nostalgia boxes while managing to be awesome in it's own right. The acting is great, the story is great and it takes the plot in directions I never expected while making you feel for the characters.

Great work, bring on the next season :D
140 out of 158 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Everything You Would Hope
Kroshaw3 May 2018
It's corny, predictable, steeped in 1980's nostalgia, full of nods to the original... and those are just some of the reasons to LOVE it! Credit to everyone involved in the making of this series. If you are a fan of the original films then this is going to be exactly what you are looking for. John Avildsen and Pat Morita are definitely here in spirit. Perfect for binge-watching and for transporting yourself back 30 years! :)
76 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cobra Kai Never Die!!
shinbibelldandy3 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
**Epic spoilers ahead! Read at your own risk!**

First off, if you haven't already, I highly suggest watching the original Karate Kid movie first. The sequels (so far) don't have anything to do with the series but they are great to watch! :) The first movie will give you everything you need to watch Cobra Kai because it contains a lot of flashbacks.

I haven't reviewed on IMDB in years but I had to to give Cobra Kai its due! I told people from the jump not to judge the characters from the trailer & I'm glad I was right! The acting is amazing but how they pay homage to the original movie & especially Pat Morita is what got me the most. I always knew Johnny Lawrence wasn't a bad person, just misguided. Cobra Kai is not exactly a Karate Kid sequel. The Karate Kid is about Daniel LaRusso, Cobra Kai is about Johnny Lawrence. Think of it as a continuation but from the antagonist point of view. He's still misjudged & wants to prove himself. I REALLY hope this gets a second season because there are SOOO many loose ends to wrap up & the twist ending had my jaw on the desk!!!

If you don't have YouTube Red, you can watch the first two episodes free to get a taste but I truly believe this is well worth paying for. I never had it until now but I will keep it after my free trial month.
74 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Shockingly Brilliant!
zerojae174 May 2018
I couldn't keep my eyes off the screen. This was the sequel to karate kid we all deserve.
34 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Crane Kicked it out of the park
amazon-180614 May 2018
Fantastic refreshing show. Feels like a genuine continuation of the movies with Daniel and Johnny both been plucked out of the 80s and dropped into the 21st Century. The writers have not tried to make everything politically correct which really helps to keep it fresh (Unlike Star Wars - The Last Jedi). Johnny has some brilliant one-liners which whilst really offensive add to the comedic value.

Daniel and Johnny have several layers of complexity and clearly are missing something from their lives which will be good to see develop. The new characters also add to the enjoyment. They are total opposites to the school kids in the movies. Within a few episodes you can see these develop as well.

The writers have given fans what they want without giving the story away (Again something which Star Wars - The Last Jedi) couldn't get right.

Living in the UK we don't get YouTube Red but was able to purchase each episode individually. Well worth the extra cost. Can't wait for the next season.
66 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow
imyerreaper3 May 2018
Went in with little expectations and was very impressed. Well directed and acted with a great story
50 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a great show
Feels like a realistic portrayel of who these characters would be in today's society. Writing is great and clever.
61 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I'm still finding it hard to breathe.
angelmhuerta4 May 2018
Cobra Kai is, hands down, the best series ever made. Perfectly crafted, inch by inch, to bring back the essence of the original film. This is how you do a sequel. I enjoyed every second of it.
88 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Tagline not enough nostalgia for ya........just wait
echall44 May 2018
Skeptical but excited I went into the show with an open mind. Figuring that they would turn this in to the common millennial drama that is strangling common TV and streaming services I was pleasantly surprised it wasn't. This show is well acted,well written and pays so much respect to the original heart and soul of the Karate Kid it should eclipse any and all sequels or remakes. Furthermore it should take their place abolishing them from movie history and setting itself alone as the sole heir to the Karate Kid. This is the story that we the original kids that were so moved by Karate Kid wanted told and are glad they told. Now I could continue to gush over this show and tell you how great and wonderful I think it is but Ralph Macchio and William Zabka can do that for you, watch them relive their past in this tale. This show will help Karate Kid become solidified as one of the greatest franchises of all time. Watch Now !
23 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Zabka shows it was no mistake he got so many roles in the 80's
bobnet843 May 2018
Problem is he was typecast and never given a chance to shine. In, Cobra Kai it's his show and he shows a side of Johnny that is a true human experience.
59 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very well made and amazing acting!!
campnurse323 May 2018
I wasn't sure if I'd like the show but wow me and my husband love it. We're already half way thru in one day. It's well made and I love the no good guys no bad guys aspects- they all have their issues and it makes you like both of them and I love the new characters as well. I can't wait for season 2 and I haven't even finished season one!!! Love it!!
59 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
10+ PAy the $9.99 for YouTubeRed!!!
JasonJPiccolo3 May 2018
I can't say how much I dig this show! I grew up in the 80's and this show is directed towards my generation AND every one since then. It really hooks you in the first episode and you end up paying the $9.99 for YouTubeRED (FYI...WORTH IT!!!!). The show is well produced; not cheesy at all, i.e. it is professionally made. It is a pleasure (yeah, I'm using my 45 year old vocab) to see William Zabka and Ralph Macchio reprise the roles. No spoilers but you feel for both characters. I'm on episode 5 and not sure what I'm going to do after the 10 are over!
69 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Defeat does not exist in this Dojo!
JarekReanimated3 May 2018
I didn't have many expectations going into this show, or at least, I didn't have high expectations. The ones I did have were that of a fun low budget romp down memory lane. But this is so much more than that. The production values are great, the casting is great, the plot, the writing, the tone, pacing, soundtrack. It's all great start to finish and it has what Mr. Miyagi taught us, balance. It seems to hit so many right notes without pushing anything too far, the comedy is just right, the emotional moments, just right, the cheese, the action, just right. It also does a great job of leaving the viewer to decide who the real heroes and villains are because unlike the movies nothing here is black and white.

If you've seen the films, you will really enjoy this. If you haven't, you'll probably really enjoy it anyway. It stands on its own and feels modern, but as a continuity, 30 years later, it does this masterfully and very respectfully to its past and its source without heavily relying on it.

BANSAI!!!
41 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great memories and a great show!
gkmstr772 May 2018
I loved these movies as a kid and all of the memories just flooded back. I love the journey all of the characters go through and I binged the whole thing with a smile on my face the whole time.
93 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic series!! H O L Y S H I E T!!!
Pabben823 May 2018
I also thought from the trailer that this just was gonna be another "meh" story. Boy was I wrong. This is great through and through, fantastic acting, writing and directing. A must see!
52 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Definitely with Johnny on this one
rorygunn2 May 2018
Without giving anything away i will say based on the episodes I've seen so far I'm rooting for Johnny in this story..While he is espousing the same philosophy that he was taught as a Cobra Kai he's not teaching the way Kreese did as his students are the ones getting bullied and in fact probably would've been picked on by Johnny in his high school days but now he seems to be teaching them how to stand up for themselves...in a weird way Johnny has almost become the Miyagi of the story although he's not spouting the same kind of mantra as Mr. Miyagi...I'm just hoping his students don't end up becoming like Johnny was in high school because I'm really rooting for them...
120 out of 140 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed