The Morning Show (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(I) (2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
418 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Billy Crudup owns this show!
dpestana22 December 2019
The show is amazing, but wow, what a remarkable performance by Billy Crudup. He totally kills it! I love his character, so funny. We need more of him! Great work! Of course, the rest of the cast is also amazing! Great job everyone!
52 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
After the last episode !
rajeevverma-7769220 December 2019
Rarely it happens when a new streaming service comes out, and it has a show that is so good and binding, I can't help but give 10 stars !
93 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Apple doesn't disappoint with this one.
danbutler-453225 December 2019
I was skeptical and this show wasn't even on my radar, but after watching the first episode, I was hooked. I binged the next 4 in 2 days. Great show! The acting is superb. The story is interesting. It touches on issues of the day with finesse and doesn't preach. Which is hard to find these days. The casting is pretty perfect. Billy Crudup steals the show. Awesome work, Apple!
74 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprisingly Addictive
kmariej11 November 2019
I was never a big fan of either Anniston or Witherspoon but they are really, really good in these roles. Production values are excellent (product placement aside) and kudos to the writers for the nuanced approach to delicate social issues... and Billy Crudup has the best lines!
83 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A study in tension
deanbean31729 December 2019
Just one night after my wife and I discussed what a group of stinkers Jennifer Aniston has gotten herself into, we stumbled upon this absolute GEM of a show. From the first episode to the last the tension from episode to episode is literally so thick you can cut it with a knife. The silent moments in this show scream like no other that I've seen. There is no fat in this show...every piece is essential for the show to work, from the marquee stars to the secondary leads to what some may consider bit parts. No one is expendable. Not to overuse the standard cliches, but Jennifer Aniston, Steve Carell, Reese Witherspoon, Billy Crudup and the rest of the cast are a tour de force and never hit a false note. What I found most refreshing was, even with a subject as politically charged as the #metoo movement, the writers treated the subject in a purely subjective manner, giving us the whos and whys and letting us make up our own minds and form or own conclusions...something the actual news seems unable or unwilling to do today. I have no idea how these characters will carry their stories over to a second season, but I'll be there when they do! Bravo Apple+!
34 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best shows I've seen in years..
lotusrose29 November 2019
It's real, it's dramatic and it's creative. The photography is amazing and the characters are interesting and relatable.
88 out of 111 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show
francis0076 November 2019
One of the weirdest critic I saw was that the show is left wing propaganda. Well this is on the opposite a very balanced show, that gives a voice to the men perspective on MeToo and criticises it very harshly while the main hero is a moderate conservative. This is why the show is good - you get different perspective and ideas.
117 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Powerful!!!
maryam-elsafty20 December 2019
I am still in awe by the season final! This is outstanding.. you moved me. I feel so empowered
50 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Welcome back to TV Jennifer!
freetafeal1 November 2019
What a fantastic return to form for Jennifer Aniston! Her ability to encapsulate a character right from the first episode with such depth, with an incredible supporting cast including a role that could only be played by an actor like Steve Carrol, the complexities of such an intensely debated topic as the MeToo movement, which has been so integral in allowing society to take that important step forward, while allowing narratives to take place that under different acting ability could very easily lost. Reese is exceptional in a role that feels formed to her.

I'm looking forward to seeing where this program about a program can take us!
219 out of 301 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Apple+ has set a high bar
nancyldraper28 November 2019
{Initial Impressions} Can you call it an initial impressions when you are 6 episodes deep into a 10 episode series? It's just that good! Once I started watching it, I couldn't stop until I was caught up. The acting is great. The cast is accomplished, both stars and supporting performers. The story is well defined. Do not be mislead, this is a serious drama. I can't say enough good things about it. Apple+ has set a high bar for itself with this inaugural series. I give it a 9 (superb) out of 10. {Drama}
50 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Thats how you do a show on feminism.
umer_salman22 December 2019
Complex emotions on all sides. Appealing to human nature. Not overly preachy. Makes you think about cause and effect.

The acting is just over the top amazing. The performances by every single actor was A+.
38 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It doesn't get better than this!
jeff-8192824 December 2019
This is the best series I've seen in a while. Character development and depth is second to none.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent show. Great acting. Gripping story
deep-amrutiya2 November 2019
Loved the first three episodes. Story flows smooth. Acting from great actors is upto the mark.
105 out of 155 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Two words: Jennifer Aniston
MovieQween-336223 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This show is Jennifer's hands down. She is playing her career best right now and I'm loving every moment of her. She deserves all of the awards that are eventually coming her way! I can't wait to see where the rest of this show goes, I'm completely hooked with Jennifer. The male characters are very well acted, Steve Carrell, Billy Crudup is at his best and Mark Duplass is turning me into a fan. Steve Carrell's character is a little too uncomfortably on the nose to Matt Lauer. I think that part is a little weird for me still, I still slightly cringe when I see Steve Carrell's scenes and story line. I suppose that's the point? I think overall it's a good look behind the curtain of the politics and bs that goes on behind closed doors.
82 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Give It a Chance
Saksy12212 November 2019
The show begins to find itself in episode 3. It's great to see Jennifer Aniston take on a role like this. She, Reese and Billy Crudup are great as is the rest of the cast. All the famous faces make it a fun watch regardless. Looking forward to episode 4.
70 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent dialogue, writing + acting!
ambermbain15 December 2019
Excellent dialogue, writing + acting!

TV is SOOO good the last several years ... the Newsroom was AMAZING - it has been missed.

But this - this is fresh and new and Steve Carell's character (Mitch) is absolutely daunting.
15 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I never give 10s
kristi23743 December 2019
I absolutely LOVE this show! I wasn't interested, but decided to give it a try. I am so glad I did. I don't want the episodes to end. Great acting, and great story. 10!
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Makes you look hard at our sexual behaviour as a species...
njonesproductions20 December 2019
You watch it and you realise the guy committing the crime is clueless as to what he's doing... You realise the victims have no idea what's happening sometimes. It makes you realise that other people do not see reality like you do.

It blew my mind... to watch so many "good people" play a part on such a dynamic stage of humanity.

We have a lot of work to do...

This show does well to showcase that.

Beautiful script, performances (many awards should be forthcoming), and editing.

5 star experience as a season.

N
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This one gets it ALL correctly...
rhmacl23 December 2019
This series is a masterpiece in relevance, production, acting, and writing. Extremely good performances by a broad cast. The writing soars, expertly defining the voice of each character's perspective, and delivering insights that are timely, believable, and poignant. Many perspectives and attitudes about sexual exploitation of workers is cast during first few episodes, and throughout the series justifications and rationales are tested, considered, and dispatched. The finale is best savored, with some of greatest performances; particularly Anniston's-unrivaled in her storied career. Jen draws from decades of learning and self-knowledge to portray a highly visible icon's breakdown and tantrum as she demonstrates what female strength and it's many facets, truly is for all to see; strength to tolerate the "boy's club" while finding ways to succeed despite it; strength to stand face-to-face with competition and show no signs of it in the veneer; strength to give-up and back-off when the stakes run too high; and strength to change the unfair rules. Besides Anniston, many other amazing performances are delivered: Witherspoon, Polway, Mbatha, Crudup, Carrell and many more...all are nuanced, expertly delivered, which goes back to the writing: Bravo! Excellent! Well done!
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A well told and brilliantly acted emotional rollercoaster
mviken912 November 2019
It doesn't rush things. It's well and slow paced, the story is great at the amount of emotional psychology they use is fantastic. I read a lot of mixed feelings around this and came into it with prejudice. After about 30 min in the first episode I was sold. The story is solid! I feel that a lot of shows now a days cast women to even things out. The result is often mediocre end result because they haven't thought it well through (Just to clarify, I'm not saying it would be better with a man. There's a language barrier here..). Well look no further. This have to be the best show in a long time where the amount of details is amazing. Not speaking of set design, but human emotions. The series is emotionally turbulent, well told, brilliantly produced and the acting. My God. Anniston hello!!!
70 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Morning Show is excellent!
DylanCanonge15 December 2019
The Morning Show is a brave story about the narrative of the abuser and the victims, each one's truth and in conclusion, how we all been complices of the culture of abuse. Excellent portrayal of the complexity of workplace sexual abuse. Not all sexual trauma is overtly aggressive and violent (which is often portrayed in films). All awful of course. But this show really highlights the implications of power. Simply impressive, I can't wait for the next chapter! And ... OMG! I love Jennifer Aniston and especially Reese Witherspoon who is still so wonderful (Jennifer gets the best role in her career). Thanks Apple TV !
18 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing, great writing, great acting, good visuals
rprovideo-11 January 2020
I just finished the final episode of series 1. It's the best show I ever watched. The plot is perfect, the acting is amazing, the story is delicate and true, and the camera work is phenomenal. Add to this some great music, and some fantastic plot changes and you have a really winner. Amazing.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Well Done Apple!
kutchicurry26 December 2019
The show captures the the complexities of such an intensely debated topic as the MeToo movement with extreme sensitivity & provide different thought provoking perspectives. I was hooked from the very first episode and the season finale blew me away. Excellent production, superb acting by main & supporting cast & a powerful script. A must watch
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very impressed
padams-137322 November 2019
I am loving this series! 3 episodes in and I think it's amazing - not sure I understand the poor previous reviews - Jennifer Anniston is outstanding and Reese Witherspoon is phenomenal
46 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Show (Thumbs Up) The Release Format (Thumbs Down)
scottstephens842 November 2019
The new Apple TV+ "The Morning Show" is a well produced and well acted made up portrayal of Matt Lauer and the NBC debacle of The Today Show. Definitely worth watching.

The format on how Apple is rolling it out is, on the other hand, is not so worthy. Releasing only the first 3 episodes, in an attempt to get the viewer hooked, and then releasing an episode once a week for the next 7 weeks is a terrible idea. Netflix set the standard with releasing full seasons all at once and that's what viewers expect. My prediction is that Apple's attempt at trying to reset the Netflix bar by releasing a single episode on a weekly basis, similar to regular TV, is going to be a dismal failure. Apple will be forced to raise their monthly subscription price, similar to Netflix's, and release their well-produced content in a manner subscription viewers have come to expect.

Overall, good show TERRIBLE release format.
66 out of 119 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed