Don't Worry, He Won't Get Far on Foot (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
97 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Simply put - Honest and well made.
rickbobchristie24 January 2019
From a technical viewpoint, very well executed - lighting and Cinematography were excellent. As for writing - every character in this is so well conveyed that the actors are able to do the story justice. Joaquin Phoenix did an excellent job as expected - both him and Jonah Hill really showed some emotional range in their roles. Rooney Mara's performance was great and her chemistry with Mr. Callahan was palpable; although not nearly as much so as Mr. Callahan's screen chemistry with Donny. Even the time Jack Black and Joaquin have on screen together is magical - and weirdly enough I don't think they could've cast anyone better for Jack Black's character.

The movie ended up being more of an exploration of 12 step program than I expected, but by the end it actually gave me deeper insight and understanding of those struggling with alcoholism who seek help. Knowing tons of people who've gone through the program (recurring ones and success stories) it's given me a slightly deeper appreciation for anyone's struggle/experience.
20 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This film will leave you emotionally satisfied.
alecjameswright11 February 2019
I just wrote a review for the first time, for 30 minutes, and my web page shifted. I lost it.

All you need to know is, this film is GREAT. You should watch it.
17 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly great movie
williamgosselin127 July 2018
Gus Van Sant directs this beautiful film about John Callahan, alcoholic turned cripple turned cartoonist.

The heart of this story is truly inspiring. It is deep down a story about the darkest corner of the human spirit, and how through faith we can overcome anything.

Van Sant is not a very flashy director. However there is a few questioning choices he made with this film. First off, the structure of the movie is very non linear, especially at the start. This creates a rather jarring experience, and it often results in lessening the impact of what is shown. The film gets more straightforward in the second half and it picks up big time.

Another thing that is odd is the manifestation of the protagonist's mother. The effect they chose to fade her face into the frame is simply bad. It just looks awful and the whole scene feels like a stain on the film. Also the film is filled with these weird zoom in shots that looks unappealing. It is something to get use to. It's not that it's a big deal, but it looks strange, and I fail to see the purpose of these zoom in and out.

Beside these few issues, Van Sant mostly lay low and let the actors act, and they do it beautifully. At this point it is not a surprise to anyone, but Joaquin Phoenix is fantastic in this. He elevates the material to tear jerking and meaningful. He just becomes the character. Between this and You Were Never Really Here, he is guaranteed to be nominated.

Jonah Hill proves again that he is a true artist with a single scene near the ending of the film. Before that he owns every scene he has, especially the first time Callahan meets him. He has this sincere goodness and nonchalance about his character. He really nails it.

Jack Black is also great in the film. At first it seems that he is just playing his usual funny dude character, but later in the film he has a great emotional scene. Although it is very short he just shows a whole new side of him.

Rooney Mara's performance is also great, but her character is somewhat problematic. When she first arrives, she is just like an angel, beautiful, caring and funny. It is just hard to believe that she actually exists in this universe. I understand that she helps greatly Callahan to keep faith, so that might be why she is so pretty, and charming and innocent, but it still feels like she is out of place in the film. Not her fault though.

Even though the first half suffered a bit from weird editing and jumping around a lot in time, the second half made up for it. It is more than a simple drama, it becomes meaningful. The pain that Callahan feels is so relatable. After watching him go through everything he did, and knowing that he truly existed, it just inspired me to be better. To conquer my own pain and torment and to just accept who I am as a person. It is not often that a film provoke such an emotional reaction out of me. Also I nearly cried twice, which is even more unusual.

Overall this is a great movie that dealt brilliantly with the theme of overcoming our pain and suffering no matter how insurmountable it seems.

Rating: 8/10
48 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Exceptional
eyeintrees25 January 2019
Joaquin Pheonix and Jonah Hill give stand out performances in this amazing movie. Struggling to find anything these days to watch that even rates as value, this movie ticks all the boxes. The ending took me by surprise as the story is based on a true story and that made it even more worthwhile. Although there have been countless films made about alcoholics, their recovery and AA, this was different. This felt as if the viewer was there, not watching a movie with actors. Standout performance was Joaquin Pheonix. I have always thought he was a great actor but in this his is nothing short of brilliant.
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beautifully done
jrob0328 July 2018
Joaquin Phoenix driving this heart breaking story gives the audience such a true sense of the unbearable. The will to overcome the tragedy that had changed his life and the dissection of the true problem he faces is remarkable. All of the people that play into his recovery give him the faith and the strength he needs in order to better himself. Jonah Hill and the entire group of AA members are all in the same boat. His selfish desire to lead that group of misfits turns him into a selfless man by giving them exactly what they need. Having such a positive impact on these people is very heartwarming to watch. Rooney Mara fits her character like a glove. She was the exact piece of the puzzle that John Callahan needed. Such a good hearted beautiful woman. Makes you very glad to see these people exist. What a story. Very happy to see it on screen.
39 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Jonah Hill Steals the Spotlight
imabigkidnow8830 January 2018
Wow, what a compelling and dramatic performance by Jonah Hill ....and of course Joaquin Phoenix. I come to expect great and unique performances in everything that Joaquin does and am never disappointed, but what really stood out to me in this film was the performance of Jonah Hill. From what the announcer at Sundance 2018 described as a "chameleon like character", Jonah really drives it home with his portrayal as Donnie, the AA friend and sponsor to Joaquin's true life character John Callahan.

Much like the comics that John Callahan has made over the years, this movie is filled with a lot of humor, despite the struggles he faced throughout his life, including his addiction to alcohol. Donnie is there as a source of inspiration and guidance to John in helping him overcome these obstacles while also providing some comic relief. Jonah's performance really gives depth and insight to Joaquin's character as he struggles to pick up the pieces of his shattered life and continues on his journey to make some of the most outlandish and though provoking comics of his time.

Overall, I highly recommend watching this, as I feel we can all relate the context on some level. It will be quite the tear jerker towards the end and also allow you to empathize with both Donnie and John as they help each other overcome life's many hardships.
51 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An amusing flick
cekadah10 March 2019
John Callahan's cartoons were and still are genius in depicting life as seen from an oblique point of view.

As this film shows Callahan's life was 'rough do'ins' and the way it is presented here is neither tragic nor sympathetic. It just shows the making of this man. Not once did I feel sorrowful for his plight. The Jona Hill character comes across as a bit shadowy and untrustworthy but in the end that's no so.

If you are aware of the Callahan cartoon phenomenon at the height of his popularity this film is for you.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Being a huge film fan, sometimes minor drunk, and a very passionate artist, I could really relate to this film!
Hellmant27 July 2018
'DON'T WORRY, HE WON'T GET FAR ON FOOT': Four and a Half Stars (Out of Five)

The new comedy-drama biopic based on the autobiography of cartoonist John Callahan, detailing his story of how he came to sobriety after severe alcoholism. It was directed by Gus Van Sant, and written by Van Sant, Jack Gibson and William Andrew Eaton. The movie stars Joaquin Phoenix (as Callahan), Jonah Hill, Rooney Mara and Jack Black. Danny Elfman also did the score for the film. It's received mostly positive reviews from critics, and it's playing in select indie theaters now (like Portland). I found it to be really well made, and quite involving.

John Callahan (Phoenix) was a horrendous alcoholic, living in Portland, OR, when he got into a car accident which left him severely disabled. The disastrous accident just makes him even more depressed, and more addicted to the dangerous drug as well. Then he falls for a woman named Annu (Mara), who works at the hospital he's first treated at, and she encourages him to enter rehab. With the help of a really supportive sponsor (Hill), John keeps at it. When he starts drawing popular, but highly controversial, newspaper cartoons, John's life really starts to change for the better.

I've definitely had times when I've drank too much in my life; not to the extent of the characters in this movie but I could still really relate to that important part of this film. I could also really relate to how John used alcohol as medication, for handling past trauma in his life (I know this is something a lot of drinkers do). Then again I could also really relate to the beautiful healing magic of art, presented in this movie, especially creating it (I'm a very obsessed aspiring filmmaker). Being a huge film fan, sometimes minor drunk, and a very passionate artist, I could really relate to this film. Especially also now that I live in the PDX area (where this was set). It's my favorite city ever!
28 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Sincere in its intention but jumbled in its execution
DJKwa11 July 2018
//Revelation Film Festival Review//

Joaquin Phoenix delivers another extraordinary performance bringing to life the true story of John Callahan, a man who finds his calling as a cartoonist following a devastating car accident that left him a quadriplegic. Unfortunately, for all of Phoenix's best efforts, he's let down by a disjointed narrative that jumps all over the place leaving the film feeling jumbled and confused.

Compounding the disappointment is the knowledge that it's the first film from veteran indie filmmaker Gus Van Sant (Good Will Hunting, Milk) following his disastrous The Sea of Trees. Despite being made with sincere and genuine intentions, Don't Worry, He Won't Get Far on Foot seems to been made in the same blender as Van Sant's previous mess. Maybe he's loosing his touch?
49 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Brilliant, especially Joaquin Phoenix
subxerogravity15 July 2018
I found it to be a strangely dark comedy. Or rather it was funny despite the subject manner.

So technically a true story about a man named John Callahan who was an alcoholic and became paralyzed in a car accident because of his addiction to the bottle, but ends up living his best life due to his involvement with alcoholics anonymous.

So maybe not so dark now that I think about it as the story was uplifting and inspiring.

Joaquin Phoenix was a pleasure to see on the screen. Very lively and believable as a man chasing some demons, but keeping his sense of humor and positive attitude.

And we needed that liveliness as some of the 12 steps in the movie were not that flush out as well as others.

Gus Van Sant's ability to do such a serious content and give it to us in a humorous way makes for an Impressive film.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
With tracking down
Saint_Pauley6 April 2018
Like an AA meeting: disjointed, funny, moving, boring, inspiring and, ultimately, rewarding.

The actors are mesmerising. Joaquin Phoenix recovers nicely here from his misstep with Mary Magdalene but it's Jonah Hill as the sage gay sponsor who steals the film with a subtle portrayal imbued with nonchalant spirituality. Rock stars Kim Gordon (Sonic Youth) and Beth Ditto (Gossip) make appearances and Ditto turns in a solid gold performance that left me hoping she'll continue down the acting path.

Despite being overlong and bogged down with unnecessarily complicated timeline, the overall film moved me and made me glad I got past the clunky title and misleading rom-com poster.
22 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Joaquin Phoenix and Jonah Hill are at their all time best here
ccorral41914 July 2018
Two- time Academy Award Nominee Director Gus Van Sant ("Good Will Hunting," "Milk") once again hits is out of the park here, with this sure be nominated film about comic writer (and film producer here) John Callahan. Callahan (touchingly played by Joaquin Phoenix) is a partier, specializing in alcohol. When he meets his match in Dexter (Jack Black), their one night escaped leaves Callahan permanently in a wheel chair. Through his recovery, social worker/girlfriend Unna introduces him to an AA group, lead by Donnie (beautifully portrayed by Jonah Hill). Working with Donnie and his piglets (AA ensemble group: Beth Ditto, Mark Webber "13 Sins," Kim Gordon "The Perks of being a Wallflower, "Ronnie Adreain "Key and Peele" and Udo Kier "Downsizing"), and in his made for speed wheel chair, Callahan grows into the man he was supposed to be, while coming in touch with his past and establishing himself as a satirical cartoonist. Because the real John Callahan is a cartoonist with a wacky sense of humor, "Don't Worry..." manages to keep the tragedy of this real life story light-hearted and funny, while equally tragic. We know Phoenix's has the ability to give weight to these type of unique characters, but it is Hill who really steps outside of his usual comic comfort zone here, and it's beautiful to watch both these guys in action. It's rare that such honesty in film can be delivered with such humor. "Don't Worry..." will be nominated come award season, so now is your chance to be the first to see this film.
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Nice That John Callahan Had a Movie Made About Him However
LeonardHaid13 July 2018
A poorly-written script grandstanding liberal political correctness and dollar-store philosophy with a sappy button-pushing soundtrack throughout to remind the viewers that they are constantly witnessing touching and deep drama. Overall, it's yet another exaggerated attempt by Hollywood movie makers to be real and soulful, and of course to try to connect with as many sizable American demographic groups as possible. Nasty thing to say, but I got tired of all the close-ups of obese faces.

The story is about a victim who overcomes victimization, so I did not want to dislike this movie. But when the sage Alcoholics Anonymous guru said in a moment of epiphanic clarity,"My grandparents were rich, my parents were rich, and I grew up rich. Like, it's so funny," I realized that that was not just an isolated dumb moment, but fairly representative of the whole movie. Why are people so taken with this guru guy anyway? He announces that he is going to New York City to "get his freak on", and then we see him in a hotel doing a silly dance...is this supposed to be charming? A man railing against women in the military out of nowhere and for no apparent reason other than, I'm cynically thinking, the makers of this movie got to cross "show sexism" off the list.

The best thing about this movie is the cartoons, which are actual cartoons drawn by the brilliant cartoonist John Callahan. See the movie for the cartoons and for Joaquin Phoenix's acting. Beyond that it's a steady stream of cheese.
59 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
5/10
tudorpsih1 October 2018
After a point, you'll discern between a good movie and a mediocre one with your favorite actor in it. It's worth watching if you have an obsession with any actor involved in this (most of them bring their A game), but not a good movie.
18 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nothing new
Rendanlovell30 September 2018
Gus Van Sant brings great energy to the project and it benefits from a strong leading performance. The film isn't anything really special or unique and it doesn't exactly explore things with much depth. Yet, I still enjoyed the energy of the filmmaking and found myself having a good time with it.
13 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good arthouse-style biopic drama movie, effective direction
svhot23 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Joaquin Phoenix shines in this biopic movie as the real life paralysed cartoonist Callahan. Viewers are given the opportunity of getting to know his story through a series of flashbacks. He is shown speaking at Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, being feted at some function / event , interacting with skate kids, getting positive / negative / controversial responses to his cartoons.

We also get to see on screen the tragic incident ( drunk-and-drive type accident, actually) which paralysed Callahan. Phoenix will definitely be remembered for this fine, artistic performance as a paralysed cartoonist. Mr Gus Van Sant has done an effective work as a director on this movie. I would love to become a story-writer for movies. You can contact me on svhot34@gmail.com
14 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Strange to today's streamlined borg that internet 2.0 has created
ReadingFilm3 June 2019
It creates a contrarian zeitgeist; part of it is mobile while everyone watches everyone then cinema has become our lives. Though there's a barrier, the effect is still the same which streamlines us in a self-directed way. Then what is this is the opposite of the 'borg'. "Be yourself." A bunch of eccentric free spirits going around being peculiar. It's a freaky and proud treasure. A discovery found on the side of the road. Like a failed mid-2000s indie oscar bait that never saw release. Some of it, such as being paralyzed, he can't reach for the drink and the music is swelling with tragedy. It's so simple I'm surprised I haven't seen it before. The infinite amounts of weird characters are a delight: Jonah Hill has completely lost his mind. The dr who's really forceful about her methods. The ER doctor's unusual tone. Cancer heart lady. Chuckling librarian. All the young who take to him. Jack Black, somehow it's his same effect except you fear him. What it's all doing is showing the ingredients and colors of life as preposterous, which would formulate into cartoons. So it reverse engineers his drawings into life but not as cartoons come to life, but what would channel via his imagination into them; so it's a mildly strange earth. This could be contrived and overdone. But it's expressionistic more than anything. It's crazy stuff. Everyone in this, background, extras, are all weirdos and characters. Also there is something worth saying about alcoholism as the corruption of the soul, and art being on the same curve. That drinking is the inverse impulse as art. Interesting that his jokes, no one would get away with them, so being disabled they are just happy he's doing art--but he's actually a subversive comic underneath and being in the chair somehow gives him the platform to tell the brutal truth. Something about Joaquin Phoenix when he works in something, it extra works. "All art has craft, all craft has art." Well it's better films about art don't verbalize it, because it's so inherent--always--any time a work comes within a mile of art the entire production is defined. Generally when we speak of the utopia it always goes with, 'once freed by the survival requirements of existence, it will lead to a state of pure expressive creativity.' AKA everyone will go around as musicians and painters and writers. Rather I think the mass alcoholism would come first.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Worth to see for Pheonix and Hill
Alexander_Blanchett20 February 2018
It was a tolerable drama about a alcohol addict who is bound to a wheelchair after a drinking caused car accident. The film shows how he cope with both his addiction and the new situation with the wheelchair. It is also a biopic about artist John Callahan. Joaquin Phoenix wonderfully portrays that troubled character and gives a great performance. He is one of the main reasons why this movie should be seen. Another powerhouse performance he can add to his resume. Jonah Hill also absolutely shines. He has one emotional scene towards the end that once again proves what a great and talented character and drama actor he is. I am glad this talent is noticed after his two Oscar nominations and that he keeps getting those roles. Rooney Mara was a bit wasted. She was lovely and had a lovely character but really not all that much to do in the film. Gus Van Sant delivers most of the time, but the film had too many lengths and I wasnt a fan of the time shifting he used. Still a good film for sure, especially to watch Phoenix and Hill.
17 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Watch this movie!!!
cheefn278 November 2018
I just read a bad review of this movie in The Guardian. I was shocked. I guess some people just don't get it. The acting in this movie was phenomenal. I know it wasn't an exact representation of the true story but it was moving to say the very least. Don't Worry, He Won't Get Far On Foot should be up for an academy award. I know that is a bold statement but it is none the less true. If the movie isn't nominated, I have no doubt that Joaquin Phoenix certainly will be for his part. He only seems to sign up for the most difficult roles now and once again, he nailed it. Watch this movie and then go to The Guardian and tell them that they don't know what the hell they are talking about.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Enough of Joaquin's face already...
kaptenvideo-898751 September 2018
Sometime during the first hour of watching this, I started feeling a distinct sensation of displeasure, and suddenly realized that I've fallen out of love with Joaquin Phoenix, the movie's star.

I used to really like the man. It's not that he appeared in interesting projects only, but he was, you know, really cool.

This unique and expressive face, this strange heaviness he always carried, how the first name is pronounced, the family history, inclination to method acting...

Then he decided he was done with acting. But knowing what one is sick of doesn't mean that one knows what to do instead, so he returned. But the magic was slowly but steadily declining.

He's still good actor but I just can't take any more of his pompousness; how seriously he seems to take himself as a true auteur; how the camera often centers on his face (because we should admire his method acting as close as possible?); the decision to do only "ambitious" roles now...

"Don't Worry..." is a perfect example of how too much of a good thing can be bad.

It actually has a lot of commendable stuff going for it. But the writer-director Gus Van Sant has turned the result into overlong tedious bore which prefers showing Phoenix's bloated mug to everything else, hoping this will mesmerize the viewer for two hours.

On paper, there is an intriguing real-life story of alcoholic seeking redemption and failing even after having a terrible accident because of drinking.

There's also semi-interesting subthread going on about the differences between art and craft - the central hero is a controversial cartoonist - but it's too fleetingly used to really make a mark. As a result, he seems much more annoying and much less inspiration as surely intended.

What's overused, on the other hand, are lazy monologues, sometimes disguised as dialogues. This is what the movie really has in abundance, in addition to the leading man's face.

Also, there's a cool supporting cast including Jonah Hill and Jack Black who have relatively little screen time but turn out to be way more captivating and colorful than the grumpy drunkard at the center of the story.

Hill has never looked cooler on screen, too, like a hipster Jesus. Black, on the other hand, showcases this delicious dynamic energy that his fans may remember from his earlier career, before all these mediocre projects that he has appeared in during 2010's.

To be fair, "Don't Worry's" s failing is not mainly Phoenix's fault. As a filmmaker, Van Sant has often veered dangerously close to getting too artsy for his own good.

This is not even the worst example of his work turning limp and lifeless as a result of it - that honor probably belongs to 2002's "Gerry" - but the situation is bad for sure.

So, I have had enough of Phoenix, and "Don't Worry..." turned out to be my breaking point.

Don't even know how it happened - I usually don't tire of favorites no matter how much similar crap they offer, even Nicolas Cage, Dwayne Johnson, or Adam Sandler.

All in all, I'd advise against seeing this movie. It's tedious and slow, not as smart or funny as the authors probably imagined.

The only project I have really liked after Phoenix's second coming is "Her" which is much less about him being such an amazing genius and relies on good old moviemaking qualities such as intelligent story and deft execution.

I am happy that I don't watch comic book based movies anymore, so I don't have to endure Phoenix as the next Joker when this plan bears fruit.
26 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
road to recovery
ferguson-620 July 2018
Greetings again from the darkness. Being neither an alcoholic, an artist nor a quadriplegic, I found myself wondering if I would be able to connect at all with the real life story of John Callahan. At most, I figured another stellar, oddball performance from Joaquin Phoenix might keep me engaged. It turns out, director Gus Van Sant (GOOD WILL HUNTING, 1999) focuses more on the quite interesting road to sobriety ... a road that also happens to lead directly to a reason to live.

Based on Mr. Callahan's autobiography, the film stars the enigmatic Mr. Phoenix. First seen as a 21 year old (a bit of a stretch) slacker who constantly needs a "fix" of alcohol, no matter the time of day, the talented actor excels after the alcohol-induced car accident that robs Callahan completely of the use of his legs, leaving him only minimal function with arms and hands. Even this doesn't inspire Callahan to give up the bottle. However, a vision of his mother does. Callahan's mommy issues are a key element of the story, as she gave him up for infant adoption - leading to many years of drowning his self-pity in whatever type of alcohol was in the glass.

The film picks up some momentum once Callahan begins attending AA group therapy sessions conducted by Donnie (Jonah Hill). Donnie is part Zen sponsor and trust fund guru. It's a wonderful performance from Mr. Hill, who makes the most of each of his scenes. Others in the group include a terrific (musician) Beth Ditto, Kim Gordon (of Sonic Youth fame), (German icon) Udo Kier, Ronnie Adrian and Mark Webber. Individually they don't have much to do, but they do make for a fascinating group. Also appearing are Tony Greenhand as Callahan's attendant, the fabulously talented Carrie Brownstein ("Portlandia"), and Rooney Mara as Callahan's physical therapist-turned-girlfriend. Ms. Mara is especially short-changed in the script.

It was 1972 and Callahan was 21 when the car accident left him a quadriplegic. Slowly, he discovered his talent as a cartoonist - albeit a controversial and darkly funny one. In today's climate of political correctness, it's likely Callahan would find no audience, but at the time, he developed a national following. This was the time of other single panel cartoonists like Gary Larson and Bill Watterson.

Attempting to avoid the traditional and familiar biopic structure, director Van Sant (who has a cameo) chops the movie into bits that work better individually than as a whole. At times it plays like an advertisement for Alcoholics Anonymous. But some of the bits are outstanding. The film is somehow both funny and sad, and includes a terrific scene near the end with Callahan and Jack Black's Dexter reuniting for the first time since the accident. It's a powerfully honest scene.

A destructive lifestyle doesn't always lead to good things, and substance abuse is not very entertaining - though, the road to recovery can be. Getting of glimpse of the 12 step program, we see that not drinking is merely the beginning. It's like a runner who must first lace up his shoes before beginning the actual run. Callahan died in 2010 at age 59, but his impact continues.
12 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A lot of love in this film
ThurstonHunger29 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Not just the sweet nurse/stewardess/wife, nor the disco bear for his chaotic piglets, but Van Sant for John Callahan. A small favorite is Callahan with the editorial staff of the school paper too. The talented Joaquin Phoenix almost disappears into the Callahan role, who almost disappeared to drink.

Something about a Phoenix working with Van Sant, and then those scenes with the Portland skate youth, felt like a glimpse of the GVS' Own Private Portland.

For a redemption story that bends towards hope, I actually thought it avoided some of the saccharine others complained about. Surely there's love for the 12 Step Program, but if something works to saves lives....and it seems it did for Mr. Callahan, then halleluiah be Chucky's name.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Solid film
brianj106621 October 2018
Ay, I love a good addiction addiction flick. I think it's a nod to my days of psilocybin binging. I remember always thinking, "hey I could live like this every day," before sobriety eventually crept-in and I'd convince myself to live with half-hearted purpose. I have some type of backward, misguided envy for addiction. Not to sound insensitive to those afflicted by addiction, but this genre is like fantasy for me. Plus, who doesn't love a good comeback story? Well, I guess I don't. The partying and boozing scenes were great! Jack Black hilarious! But the recovery scenes were meh. Not even Jonah Hill can make AA propaganda look cool.

Still, I like Joaquin Phoenix and I think he did a great job of playing a pained, needy man. I've watched that speeding wheelchair scene about a dozen times. There are enough good scenes in this flick to give it a watch.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Paints a pretty clear picture of a real-life person without ever feeling like a typical bio-pic.
Pjtaylor-96-13804429 October 2018
'Don't Worry, He Won't Get Far On Foot (2018)' is sometimes unfocused - in fact, often so - but it is also always engaging and, though it usually focuses on hardships, entertaining, too. There are several human moments that break through the flick's messy structure and occasional tonal hiccups and, though it's never incredibly emotionally impactful and feels far too long, it's always compelling and paints a pretty clear portrait of a real-life person without actually feeling like a bio-pic at all. This is helped by the fact that it's backed by great performances and a dedication to see them brought to life in as real a way as possible. In fact, 'dedication' is a term that's very applicable to this particular picture considering that it has been in 'development hell' since the late nineties. 7/10
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great movie - great acting, moving and funny at times
manuel_medeiros27 December 2018
Was drawn to the movie because of Jonah HIll and Joaquin Phoenix, as lot of people probably were but was not disappointed by the overall film, and there performances were very strong indeed.

Don't Worry, He Won't Get Far on Foot he is heart-warming (true) story about cartoonist John Callahan and how he surpass the self-loathing of being both an alchoolic but also of aving the missfortuned of being in an accident that made him almost quadraplegic.

Still, the story does not enforce drama and or eye-tearing situations - actually feels much more like a Woody Allen movie in the sense you are just accompanying this man's life and his struggles without any particular ending to drive to.

It is often funny as well, which is a plus in my view. And not only because of the real cartoons done by Callahan which are showed in the movie.

Definitely worth watching.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed