Loaded (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
18 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
likeability issues
SnoopyStyle17 July 2018
Four friends Josh, Leon, Watto and Ewan become loaded after selling their app game Cat Factory. They start spending their money in wild and crazy ways. Josh is their mild mannered leader obsessed with his ex. Leon is the aggressive one. Ewan is the often ignored co-founder. Watto is the mercurial one. Their new American boss Casey (Mary McCormack) arrives demanding changes.

This is essentially the British Silicon Valley. The difference is really the characters. I don't find these guys particularly loveable. At times, I find them infuriating especially Josh and Leon. At other times, I do find them cluelessly hilarious. The arrival of Casey does help to soften their edges. She's a good foil for them to gain some likeability. I grow to like them somewhat but the show is cancelled quickly after only one season.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved It
foxyfox-2890828 June 2017
I absolutely loved Loaded. The first episode was really good and the series got better as it went along. There were, of course, some silly British moments in it, which were great and had me laughing out loud on the train. I really didn't want this programme to finish and only hope the writers are completing another series right now.

Does anyone know if there will be a second series ? Loved it !!
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Highly Enjoyable
iambenetsimon8 June 2017
Solid British comedy with many laugh-out-loud moments, this show started well and keeps getting better. How very British to see making lots of money as a natural source of problems and conflict. Reminiscent of classic Ealing comedies, with a superb cast and solid one episode cameos. Great to see Nigel Planner as the miserable old school teacher that one time, I wish Brit shows didn't have such short series runs. Please let there be a second season!
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Watchable but not sure its worth another series
mail-2389928 June 2017
I get the premise. What happens when 20 somethings hit the jackpot with their business and sell it to a big corporation? I liked the different types of characters that play off each other. The party animal with little technical talent, the geeks, the oddball genius, etc.

Definitely a series that requires watching a few episodes to appreciate what they're trying to do with this setup.

The biggest problem is that none of the sub plots and story lines really go anywhere. None are delved in to deep enough to make them interesting, none of the character's back-stories are made compelling enough to care about them. You're left just watching these 4 likely-lads and their farcical antics.

There's also some rather glaring plot holes and stories that are started and cut short for seemingly no reason.

The series finishes with a half-baked story-line option for a 2nd series but I can't really see where it could go from there. Maybe spend more time with each character and have one good story-line rather than lots of half decent ones.

The casting is great, can't knock any of the actors. But I think this may not get a 2nd series.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unique and English
arm-5662329 May 2017
First episodes are usually bad. This pilot shows promise but by no means is the best. So my review is comparing it to other comedy pilots.

This is for fans of comedy like Uncle, Witless and Phoneshop.

I noticed one other review from someone clearly not a comedy fan nor a nerd. This is for those that get British sarcasm. The lady reviewing clearly doesn't get awkward comedy, sarcasm, word play and dark comedy. It should be noted she also classes the latest Bridget Jones' movie as good and thinks tropes and clichés of girl power make for good stories. That should tell you something about their ability to review.

This is a loving laugh at the games industry and how a country famed for games devs is now reduced to mobile phone games. Also deals with the litigious nature of IPs.

great acting with a natural script.
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
beautifully human
reimermar3 June 2018
I just watched Loaded and I enjoyed it tremendously.

Looking when Season 2 will be released I got quite a shock.

I wanted to write because I think it was great! Some critics said the characters were to mean and unlikeable, but I would like to disagree. They were human, and most humans are not very likeable. The decisions of the characters and their flaws were portraited very believable and that is what good writing should be. I am looking forward to see more great shows like Loaded even though it won't be season 2.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Utter rubbish
creativelefty23 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
British TV series humour is more often then not the best in the world without even trying, and it is often so good that it spawns new 'lesser' versions of itself overseas. So a show about 4 nerdy brit game devs who hit it big looked like it was going be awesome. Absolutely not in this case. I have been trying really hard to like, heck, trying really hard to watch without fast-forwarding, this show but the writing is just absolute utter rubbish. The 4 main characters are completely unlikable, boring, annoying and all that, and not in the good way other brit shows have been able to achieve similarly annoying characters. The general idea has so much potential but up to half way through episode 7, which is as far as I managed to make it before giving up, they have fallen way short. This is a shame, since the actors have all done much much better stuff before.
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just awful!
KathleenK2223 May 2017
Some people may like this but I watched the first episode and could not bear to watch any more. I found it simplistic and gauche. My husband could offer nothing to defend it and was as unimpressed as I was. The script was probably to blame for its failure to appeal to us which gave little for the actors to work with. I am sure someone will write a positive review but it did not seem possible for me. It was almost black comedy because although it should have been a joyful time for the characters it was the opposite. There is nothing deep and meaningful about it. It is not clever or subtle. It is just mundane.
15 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I love me some British humor
sestaberger9 January 2019
Was by far the funniest comedie I have seen in a long time on Netflix. Unfortunately all the series were about weirdos, psychopaths and murderers and kind of depressing. Loaded is also about a bunch of weirdos but in the good way. My god. Give me moah!
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this show
danibecca13 October 2018
This is the best new British Netflix show out there.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful story about potty-mouthed men doing absolutely nothing.
docterryc29 May 2017
The concept is quite good, but the execution is infantile! The story is about four men who have spent years developing a computer game. At least one of the four is in overdraft at the bank when suddenly they hit the jackpot and sell their game for nearly 250 million pounds. However, unlike the clever series "At Home with the Braithwaites" where they added the twist of the Jackpot winner keeping her winnings a secret from her dysfunctional family; these four potty-mouthed simpletons hire a male quartet to sing a vulgar ditty at the doors of people they didn't like.

The story continues and deteriorates from here on. They gather their staff in the office, and drink champagne, dance on the furniture and act like drunken teenagers. One of the partners gives an attractive girl an 18,000 pound bonus, which slowly balloons to giving all the staff the same bonus. None of this was funny nor did it didn't advance the story line. Indeed all it did is confirm that these are pre- pubescent teenagers masquerading as successful entrepreneurs.

A sitcom with nothing funny is bad enough, but there was some hope when they were unexpectedly sued by an ex-employee for copyright infringement. However, they quickly settled this issue in two or three minutes--so not even a whisper of drama. The only reason I watched the episode to the end was because half way through I started checking my library for something more interesting. Fortunately, I had a print copy of "Watching Paint Dry for Dummies" which saved the day!
10 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just enjoy it
and-wahid15 June 2019
* Nice settings and atmosphere * Interesting characters * sometimes too shallow * i assume it contains hidden "easter eggs" * all in all quite good
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Used to be very awesome
yibs24 May 2020
Really really loved it until you decided to over gay it up
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Loved it!
jtcmobiledj18 June 2018
To say I'm british and don't really enjoy british tv shows, I absolutely loved this. I hope there will be a second season.
3 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Can't wait for season 2
kristoffergg6 August 2018
This is my kind of series. I love it. When is season 2 coming?
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
nice comedy
mitsioscharalampos10 April 2018
Can you hold your laugh while watching these first episodes? I can't... love it
2 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
george_d118 January 2020
Person that hates another people just because they invented something that gave them money, spits in their dishes, breaks theirs prizes, person that calls himself a communist is kinda positive character? Really? After millions of people killed by communists all around the world, same stuff again? Episode about award. Of course, the list of persons for award is only "white male privilege" and there are no non-white people, women or castrates because mean white evil people don't let them get to the list of successful persons. How these kinds of people could be there if commies hate to be successful / rich? OMG it's so primitive, it's such a cliche and it's stupid as hell. It's not just another typical leftist propaganda, it's even more stupid. Dear commies, you are not humans and it's another proof to this rule that would save millions of my (and other) country (-ies) citizens if they knew that once. Don't waste your time, it's extremely bad even if there were some funny jokes in the middle of the season. Primitive. Boring. Propaganda. Commies. Stupid. Awful. Don't watch it.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Please give us a Season 2
toolatenow11219 August 2019
This is an awesome show. Could someone please create a second Season? I'm tired of rewatching the first season 20+ times.

Thanks.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed