The Gong Show (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Cheeky Monkeys Who Like Summer Camp
atlasmb7 July 2017
It's a given that some people will not get this show. But you can't call a show "cheesy" that aspires to be cheesy. There is some real talent on stage, but "The Gong Show" is not about that. As host Tommy Maitland (wink) states, "It's for funsies." What I like best about this show is that it successfully captures the spirit, the mien if you will (or even if you won't) of the original Chuck Barris clapfest. Expect the unexpected--with a helping of whipped cream and a pair of jockey shorts.

I do miss Gene, Gene, The Dancing Machine, but they have done their best to recreate the whimsy of the original show. And even if The Unknown Comic never graces this stage, Murray's spirit still shines through every clever punchline.

Besides the terrific host-age of Tommy, the guest panelists are fantastic, fully embracing the craziness for its own sake. Elizabeth Banks even evokes the horny orneriness of J. P. Morgone.

Take off your thinking cap, abandon all hope of tasteful talent and embrace the tongue-in-cheek-and-elsewhere extravaganza that is "The Gong Show".
21 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best thing on TV
cgpmg3 August 2017
A refreshing break from all the Reality, celebrity worship, big brother BS. Simple predictable slap stick comedy from the genius of "Tommy Maitland". Great mindless family entertainment. Super talented house band, awesome guest judges, snappy set. In fact, hack entertainer's like Mike Myers might want to pay attention, they could learn much from TM.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love the New Gong Show
mfknight-9619025 August 2017
What I enjoy is simple entertainment at it's best. The Tommy Mateland character is funny and to watch him converse with the judges with simple adult humor is delightful. I also think the contestants are very brave to know they are performing in front of a real audience and on TV for the folks at home. Some contestants are very talented and this could be the venue to show off their craft. I also enjoy the good old fashioned sing-a-long, not found in too many establishments today. People of all ages are in the audience and they seem to enjoy themselves without any scripting. No laugh tracks it's amazing. Keep up the good work.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure Summer Silly Fun
pensyl-8103013 July 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The show is great. It does not take itself seriously. The judges are having fun and make good comments about the low practice acts, that even if some are really silly or odd they've practiced to show off their skill as odd as it may be. First game show in awhile I find fun, and simple, do not make a ball dropping or a call from the banker take 15 mins... Hope it has a 2nd season. Just good fun.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
True family fun
larryahernandezjr2 September 2017
Expected so little,got so much. You can tell the judge's remarks are are real and unprepared. The acts are not always great but they are always entertaining. Some of the judges are very kind,funny and humble(Brie,Dr Ken,Arnett), just like Tommy. Others are cold. and to self absorbed to be bothered by these acts(J Aniston,J Black), sadly both were on same episode.All the episodes are really good except the one with Aniston and Black. Best Hour of Summer T.V.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
True to the Original. Hope it lasts.
patrick_frank18 December 2017
I used to watch the original with my Dad. All the talents that envisioned bringing it back are spot on. Thank you all for producing a program that I can share with my kids.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally! Real Family Entertainment - "Just for Funzies!"
trisha-g-s8 October 2017
Pleasantly surprised that "The Gong Show" was not just recreated, but actually could be! We love host 'Tommy Maitland;' Mike Meyer is an iconic comic in his own right and Chuck Barris is probably looking down chuckling with the rest of us. I think this first season had some growing pains, as some of the early judges didn't seem to 'get it,' (never saw the original?) looked very confused and gonged way too many people. As the weeks went on, the judges got better, the audience finally 'got it' and the acts were more and more creative.

Refreshing and enjoyable! Looking forward to more!!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Maitland is golden!
bobbikayebk3 August 2018
Wittiest guy I've seen in a long time! Love this show!
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A good reboot
bruceflashback6 October 2017
I am a fan of the original Gong Show from the days that Chuck Barris put in on TV in the mid 70's and am probably one of the toughest critics of any reboots of the show.I did not like the 80's version or the Extreme Gong Show.So when I decided to check out the 2017 version,I expected not to like it.

However, it surprised me.The set ,the style the mood and most importantly the acts were reminiscent of the original .The acts had the crazy feel that I thought would be lost in any new versions of The Gong Show.

The weak link, in my opinion , is the host. He is kind of lackluster ,but that doe snot lessen the show for me.

It is definitely a good 21st century version of The Gong Show.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Show the acts already.
craig-muth-817-7173605 August 2018
Too much time spent showing the host, judges, and audience. The acts are bad - that is the point - not watching the staff trying to be funny
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Can this show please gong itself?
rogerdob2 July 2017
This is a sad reconstruction of the 1970's show. The producers completely missed the mark on why the original was a hit...the original did not take itself too seriously, the host loved the show and did not mock it, the judges seemed real and unscripted.

This version has big, big production values (a huge stage, a huge gong, and an audience made up of good-looking Millennials (why no older people or no schlubs?). Mike Myers parades around mocking the show, himself, the acts, and the judges. The camera cuts to him whenever he does some lame schtick. The judges laugh at EVERYTHING? The audience laughs at EVERYTHING. I guess the producers feel that if everyone is laughing the show MUST be funny! Many acts on the original, although dumb, were at least entertaining. Most of the acts on this show are dumb for the sake of being dumb. The judges, who do not look like they really want to be there, in an attempt to be funny, will gong acts just because they think its funny to gong acts. However, the downside of this, is that a couple of genuinely clever acts were eliminated while other, less creative, acts got high scores.

Finally, the show seems to be completely fabricated in the editing room. Reaction shots from the audience do not feel real...they seem like they were acted out on direction of the producers ("now, we want you to laugh as if you just saw something funny."). And acts are cut out...at the end of the first show and at the end of the second show, when all the acts are brought out on stage, there are a few that were never seen during the show.
18 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Lightening doesn't strike twice
ktyson942615 September 2018
Like most other re-boots or re-makes... This misses the mark as a continuation of the original Gong Show. What viewers of the modern Gong Show probably don't get is the original was made by stoners for stoners... But was silly enough it slipped passed most straight people of the 70's.

The Gong Show was great simply for being at the right place at the right time and was a chaotic mess based on mindless entertainment. It was made during a time when rules and regulations weren't as controlled, and fact this show was fueled by weed and cocaine was an open secret.

More acts than not, they were just goofy and silly acts that made absolutely no sense and were done by oddballs that just wanted to be on TV. Look up acts like Gene Gene the Dancing Machine, the Unknown Comic, the "Popsicle twins", or the time one of the shows judges, Jaye P. Morgan, flashed her tits... And try to tell me that show is reproducible. That kind of genuine spontaneity can't be reproduced.

This version of the Gong Show comes off more as some kind of cheap knock off of America's Got Talent with mildly funny actors.... than a show worthy of the namesake the Gong Show. As far as I'm concerned it's something that was thrown together by some people trying to use the name familiarity of the Gong show to pick up nickels and dimes off the street using the. I also personally suspect Michael Myers, who's in some weird make up and doing an oddball accent, is more embarrassed by this show than anything else and is doing his best not to be recognized.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun and overproduced.
txafox2 July 2017
Pros: Very nice set. Mike Myers mostly manages to play his character convincingly. Contestants are entertaining and often surprise.

Cons: There's more focus on our zany host and judges than the contestants. The show winks at itself so much that contestants can come off as contrived.

Overall Feel: A scripted wedding reception - without booze.

Takeaway: The show doesn't know what it wants to be. The bigger idea they are after here would be better constructed as a Mike Myers variety talk show: Mike Myers would host as different character each show, some we know, some we don't, maybe he'd host it as himself on occasion and bring in some SNL friends.

As The Gong Show currently stands, I'd like to ditch the judges in favor of audience approval and see how Austin Powers hosts it.
7 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Brain dead
danielsohl1 July 2018
Stupidest show ever in the history of television brain-dead television it physically makes me mad and sick its so stupid
3 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Gong show,sucks
cathy-jarzombek6 July 2018
Omg this show sucks! Please gong it out of the line up!!!!!!
3 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Don't bother with the show
JapanMovies19 August 2018
OK had again this site takes down review that had no merit for doing so. No matter how much formal facts you put down even if it's from the source from the same site (from this site) I'm posting on. There is bias people pulling down innocent reviews.

Will Arnett needs to get his face off this production. He was Writer producer for the first season 2017, but for some reason 2018 now he's not on it. Hence he put some self in the limelight of the judges which really destroys the quality of this programming.I really enjoyed the show as Said during my first review said. but what Will Arnett is totally destroying this show focusing not on the acts but the judges know many people have complained about the same thing. And it seems like the only person to blame on this is Will Arnett. Since he was the producer or some type of production manager in the first season. Now that's sad if this show is to continue will Arnett needs to get his face off the screen. He's not funny, nor does he have any value to the show. This horrible version of the Gong Show is supposed to be about the Acts not the judges. Now I want to see more focus on the acts. charge if they do this this show is going to be a wonderful experience. But having the judges take up majority of the Screen Time really puts a downer to this production. Arnett removed from the 2018 production as a director producer etc, made the show better, but he's annoying judge mental bullying at times of the other judges makes this show on unwatchable.
1 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great show!!
pugsleyus11 May 2019
Anyone Hear if this show is coming back with a new season!!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed