Tangled: The Series (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
30 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Tangled Series
dkemptkg25 May 2017
The episodes in the Tangled Series are very creative & engaging. Our whole family (even daddy) looks forward to watching them. It is entertaining for kids, teens & adults. The characters are fun-loving, and the humor is delightful...it's a great way to unwind from a long week of work, school, etc. PLEASE KEEP THEM GOING.
30 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome...great series. More needed.
esthercedar10 July 2017
We all love it and there just isn't enough in the first season. The witty humour is as always exceptional and once you get used to the new style of artwork is highly entertaining. Very glad there is a second season on it's way!

10 out of 10, we all need more wholesome, funny cartoons in our lives.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Awesome series continuation, has a Princess Bride feel
sarahedgewrites11 June 2017
As a fan of the original Tangled, I was curious where they were going with this series. Happy to say if you're a Tangled fan the series follows the film almost seamlessly.

First there's the TV movie, Tangled: Before Ever After, which I personally didn't care for too much. It was a bit too hammy and moralistic, low on humor and cliché. "Stubborn princess disobeys father. Father doesn't understand stubborn princess." We've seen this story play out so many times.

Now the SERIES on the other hand really gets things going. I would still recommend watching Before Ever After because you get explanations for some major plot elements of the series.

First there's the humor. I think Tangled the Series is really funny. It's anchored by being set in a renaissance / medieval period and it manages to work the period into its humor, which is really great because it reminds me of things like The Princess Bride or Monty Python and the Holy Grail, other films that did well with not taking the setting seriously. That's a huge plus for Tangled.

Then there's the voice cast which is awesome since it's being helmed by the original voices. You never get a sense that you're not seeing Rapunzel or Flynn being the way they are, and the voices really help with that. In fact one of the best things about Tangled is that we get to see more of Flynn and especially Rapunzel. As much the film developed her character, it was still limited by the runtime. The series really fleshes her out and we have a more defined idea of who Rapunzel is. Flynn was always flashy and we get a lot more of Flynn, the arrogant side and the deeper "Eugene" part of him. Although we really should be calling him Eugene since that's what he goes by in the series. There's also a new character who is just fantastic, Cassandra. The banter being Cassandra and Eugene is one of the running jokes that the series plays with really well. As a trio, they work really well together.

It's also nice to see Rapunzel and Eugene "dating" in a sense. Since the film went by so fast, we have more of a chance to see what their relationship is like.

So far I've been really loving this. It's like an expansion pack of the original movie - more insight into the kingdom, more insight into the characters and a bigger setting to play around with.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Genuinely good series!
gabrielpappel22 December 2017
I don't know what I expected from a series made from Tangled, to be honest. I liked Tangled, didn't think it was the best thing ever but definitely a good time. This series however went up and abound my expectations! I didn't expect it to start (in the Before Ever After-movie) with Rapunzel feeling trapped again and not liking her happy ever after, even though Flynn/Eugene settles in like it's the best thing ever. It's so realistic though, for a character that have always been locked up and a character that used to have nothing. Not to mention I have yet to see a tv series EVER to portray such a good, healthy relationship as Raps and Eugenes. All the characters are cool, though slightly more one dimensional at times than the movie. The new characters (Cassandra and Varian especially) are interesting and gives us fun relationship dynamics. There is some silliness that might be a bit much at times but mostly the jokes are genuinely funny. The animation is really nice, and the colour setting in this series is to die for! I couldn't give enough praise to the people working on the colours in this series. The music is also surprisingly good and catchy for a series, things you find yourself humming all day.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bestest show on Disney
jayrogen28 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Bestest show I've ever watched, thank you so much Disney if your reading this, we really love this show, "we" as in me, and it's the best please don't stop and thanks 10/10. This show has been so funny and full of adventure😘🙂 I love Rapunzel so much, I wish I could meet her and be such an amazing person like strider or rider. I love all the new characters also, thanks Disney plaese more episodes and yeah.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Seen only two episodes of this show so far good
lisafordeay1 April 2017
Warning: Spoilers
As you probably know I love the 2010 film Tangled. Its my all time favourite movie from the 00s and I loved everything about it. The animation,the music,the charcthers,the voice acting everything was top notch in this movie. In 2012 we got a short on Rapunzel(voiced by former pop star Mandy Moore)and Eugene Fitzherbert(voiced by Zachary Levi)who get married,and then that was it, until in 2017 Disney decided to bring back Tangled again,except make it into a TV show/special with Tangled Before Ever After which centres on Rapunzel dealing with being a princess and now we have come to this TV series dubbed Tangled:The Series. So is it any good since I only seen 2 episodes of it so far. Well lets find out.

Season 1 What The Hair: Is about Rapunzel who dreams that Mother Gothel comes back again to get her back to the tower again,and Rapunzel and her friend Cassandra visit this eccentric inventor that tries to help Rapunzel with her magical hair that grows back again since the Before Ever After TV special movie and it backfires. Rapunzel doesn't tell Eugene about her hair because he has a habit of not keeping secrets. Overall this episode was good and enjoyable. Eugene is still hilarious as he is in the 2010 film.

Season 2 Rapunzel's Enemy: This one is about Rapunzel who gets booed by a man named Monty who dislikes her for some strange reason,and Rapunzel's partner in crime Eugene Fitzherbert tells her that its OK that no one will love you and not everyone will. So Rapunzel tries her best to impress Monty even donning a disguise as Missy sporting a brown wig and a ridiculous dress(how she was able to put her 70 feet of hair under that wig was beyond me). But will Monty ever like Rapunzel?

Overall you guys I am happy with Tangled coming back again. I loved the film since 2011 and I was always a fan of Mandy Moore.Zachary Levi(who stole the film from the original)was still the same as he was back then.

Now I have to come clean. I just can't get this hand-drawn style of this show. I wished they used another software so that it can have its true animation like its original counterpart. Yes I know that the original film used expensive technology but how come How To Train Your Dragon got a TV show and kept its animation and Tangled didn't.

But still I did enjoy the show so far. I hope they will add new songs soon cause I miss the songs from the original film.Mandy Moore does the theme song for this show titled Wind In My Hair,while UK singer/songwriter Natasha Bedingfield sings More Of Me To Give during the ending credits.

My final rating a 7/10
8 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A wonderful addition to a wonderful movie!
elliemehaffy16 April 2019
The original movie is my favourite Disney film and when they announced the series I was obviously skeptical. However, this series has proved time and time again that it isn't just a money grab. It's so well thought out and planned and you can really tell that the creative team care about these characters and their stories. The twists and turns are greater than that of a movie sequel could ever wish to achieve and I for one am so glad that we get even more plot than we would have had in a feature length movie sequel. There are some glorious songs written by the wonderful Alan Menken and Glen Slater, and with original voice actors Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi back, there's nothing to deter you! As a theatre fan I really appreciate the additions of Eden Espinosa, Jeremy Jordan, and James M. Iglehart just to name a few - all of which are wonderful in their roles! This show is not only for children but also the fans who resonate with the original movie and want more from these beloved characters. I encourage everyone to give it a go!
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best thing Disney has ever made
alvincat9917 April 2019
Beautiful animation, songs by the guy who wrote the songs for The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, Aladdin, and many more, and a riveting story full of plot twists that will leave you on the edge of your seat.

Season 1 has a few kiddish/non-plot essential episodes, but don't let that deter you. Episode 16 is where it really starts getting good.
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Disney Channel Animated Show!!!
magee-4274528 January 2019
Fun, funny and entertaining. Disney needs to air more of this show. I've rewatched season 1 and 2 twice so far. Hopefully more coming soon !!!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Mad at the writers for the 180 change in story direction
bhazn6 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Tangled began with whimsical and humorous episodes bringing us into the kingdom of Corona and did a splendid job of developing the characters in the story. You really get to know Rapunzel, Eugene and Cassandra well, and the side characters too. However in episode 16, the writers went into a completely different direction with the story, making unbelievable changes in the characters and events. It felt like they needed to abruptly and forcibly change a character simply to have a villain, but the execution was terrible. After this episode, season 1 became a crazy, magic meets science fiction mad alchemist mess.
7 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Show Ever!
alexamg-1736122 April 2019
This is such a great show and this last season was EPIC. Everyone should watch it, it's much more than a kids show. It has great songs, both Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi reprise their roles, as does almost every other side character from the film. Eden Espinosa and James Monroe Iglehart (Broadway) are both series regulars with amazing roles and Jeremy Jordan is the voice of a well beloved side character. The visuals are beautiful and the animation is spectacular, it keeps getting better and better. It's as good and probably better than some of the original animated movies we have from the 1940s-70s. The style may throw you off for a second because it's not how the movie looks, but they can't make a whole show using the same tech for a film. The style is so beautiful and is meant to mimic Rapunzel's drawing style, and it does a great job. This show is for EVERYONE, I can't get enough of it. Please watch and support!
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Up-lifting, positive yet heartfelt and humane story-telling for adults & children
avelaresteban22 April 2019
Tangled the series has a unique up-lifting, positive yet heartfelt and humane story-telling that you just can't find nowadays neither in live action nor animation.

Ducktales brought sci-fi/fantasy & exploration to Disney Animated Series, Mermaid added music, Aladdin made it dramatic, Gargoyles had long, interesting story arcs & complex characters, but Rapunzels Tangled Adventure has it all!

I really LOVE and appreciate all of the inspiration it takes from ancient tales, novels and sci-fi like 1001nights, Jules Verne, Shakespeare and Emilio Salgari.

It is an amazing adventure with humor, passion, love and friendship, action, sci-fi & mythology and music/singing that adults, youth and children will enjoy.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great continuation
romanedgar17 September 2018
The series is funny and very enjoyable. Every character has a moment and the episodes are like short movies. Very well done show.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very exciting,must seen
neamamabrouk3 January 2020
This show is awesome . It shows us the sides of our lovely characters and has very exciting stories.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Season 3???
jim92197728 November 2019
So I've been waiting for season 3 to return. Found out it'll be back in January. Sadly season 3 is the last season. I really enjoyed the series, maybe there'll be something after "Ever After"?
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Starts Slow, but Finishes Amazing
cullenarmstrong5 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Tangled: The Series may at first seem like a generic slice-of-life cartoon with mediocre animation, but give the show a chance and you will find a surprisingly compelling story waiting to be discovered.

Animation:

Probably one of the weaker aspects of the show. The animation is merely serviceable, but isn't ugly. I appreciate the choice to use 2D animation, but it doesn't seem like the show was given the budget to really take full advantage of the medium.

Characters:

At first, I was worried that the main character Rapunzel would turn out to be a Mary Sue, and her character can come off that way in earlier episodes. However, the writers thankfully decided to give her flaws such as irresponsibility, naivete, and being pushy. Not only that, Rapunzel must make difficult decisions, and reacts to tragedy and grows in an organic manner.

The two other main characters, action girl Cassandra and the dashing but vain rogue Eugene, are also delightful. Their enmity and repartee are a joy to watch, and they both come in handy to Rapunzel when she needs them. I like that Cassandra doesn't hate femininity like many warrior women in media, and also faces pressures from trying to live up to her father. Eugene also faces a tough road while trying move beyond his criminal past.

The supporting cast is serviceable. Rapunzel's father King Frederic is one of the highlights, as an overbearing yet ultimately loving man who constantly butts heads with the free spirited Rapunzel.

However, overshadowing even the main cast is the character of Varian. A brilliant young inventor whose impulsiveness often gets him into trouble, Varian is an adorkable character you can't help falling in love with. Varian's resourcefulness and the lengths he will go to help the one's he cares about make him the best thing about this show.

Music: The soundtrack is decent, and many of the songs that are included are a bit unmemorable. However, two songs in particular are stunning and practically cinematic. Jeremy Jordan, who plays Varian, stands out as an amazing singer who can really use song to help the audience relate to his character's struggles.

Story: The story of Tangled begins light and episodic, with a focus on comedy over drama. Sometimes the main characters will come off too one note in these early episodes, and in a few episodes Rapunzel comes off as a Mary Sue. However, once the show finds it's footing, it really gets good. Around Episode 16, the show shifts in a more dark direction and Rapunzel must make hard choices with lasting repercussions. From that episode onward, the show only gets better and better as twists and challenges culminate in an emotionally charged and powerful climax.

Verdict: I would like to give this show a higher score for its final episodes, however it is held back by a weak opening. Too often, children's entertainment is afraid to take risks. Tangled: The Series shows that when television trusts its audience to handle a more serious story, the result can be magical.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love it! Love it! Love it!
mickeyb-4815413 October 2019
Feels like classic Disney, such high quality everything! The original songs are so good and the show just has a real heart to it that isn't very common in Disney or any TV and animated shows.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best still running Disney shows
jr-6744217 July 2019
I was a big fan of the animated Tangled movie from 2010 so I got super excited when I heard they were making a TV show to the movie. Now, 2 years after the show premiered, I still love this show as much as on the first day I watched it. The show brings back the original characters (including their amazing voice cast Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi) but also adds new lovely ones. It recreates the feeling from the movie 100% while still adding a new, fresh touch to it. I am very excited to know how the plot continues with the upcoming season 3!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not bad for general audiences, but disappointed for old fans
pikachuu_tseng24 August 2017
I have watched Tangled Before Ever After (TBEA) and ep1~11 season 1. These are half of the first season.

If Tangled TV series was an original story, it would be definitely a qualified TV-Y7 series. Many fun and crazy things are taking place, hilarious enough for kids, enjoyable for family, also the art style is adorable. However, Being a variation of well-reputed animated movie Tangled (2010), if you are a big fan of Rapunzel and Eugene and eager to see deeper development of this couple and their family (Rapunzel's parents), You have better to low down your expectation. The character setting of Rapunzel and Eugene are gradually drifted away from the original movie. Instead of further developing from the existed elements, Lots of Isolated events and new things are introduced, but they are mostly shallow.

There are a few well written episodes, but more are forgettable. I give TBEA very good rate, but the following TV series do not keep the same level. I have to say very frankly, I love Rapunzel and Eugene because of their great image in the original movie; If I skipped the Tangled movie and directed go to the TV series, I won't love them that much.

I list the major disappointments:

1.Eugene: Before the show released, when the first time I knew a new main character, Rapunzel's lady-in-waiting Casandra would be introduced, I started worry that Eugene would be less important in the show; seems it gradually becomes reality. Eugene didn't get the portion and respect he deserved in the show. He becomes more cheesy and dumb in the show, useless in the most time. He is more like a jerk in front of most people except Rapunzel. He usually makes improper jokes in the wrong moments, instead of being humour, it just looks dumb. He degrades to one of Rapunzl's many sidekicks. Eugene is way more than that in the original movie. This makes me convinced that Disney would rather put more effort on female characters to meet most audience's desire.

2.Rapunzel: While watching TBEA, I felt they were in the correct way because I saw enough depth in it. Rapunzel was truly struggling in her new position, having disagreement with her over protected father. In that time I supposed Rapunzel's learning process and the relation with her parents would be an important part in the show. I was totally wrong. When the TV series started, suddenly Rapunzel has freedom to go anywhere inside the kingdom without an army of guards; it could have been a process which turned out a good episode, but it wasn't. Rapunzel has no struggles in the TV series, being good in everything, being welcome and turning almost everything in the way she desired; basically, becomes some sort of Mary Sue. Sometimes she was too naive and too annoying, her sense of human boundary was ridiculous; Yes she was trapped alone in the tower for 18 years, but in the original movie this was not that obvious, she doesn't has to be. Learning process was not part of the show, in ep10 and ep11 we just knew Rapunzel is getting well in the royal public presences, but it was never mentioned 'how'. In addition, being kidnapped and trapped for 18 years was highly likely to brought some trauma to Rapunzel and need to overcome, but it looks like these has nothing to do to her characteristics. Maybe this show is for young kids and they avoid the serious parts.

3.The relation: This is one of the most disappointed parts. Rapunzel and Eugene's bound is greatly weaken in the show. I haven't seen they work together very well in any single episode (have we?), seems they are no longer be the best partners. In most time Eugene is just one of a follower/supporter of Rapunzel. Quote from someone else, Eugene is more like going with a Mary Sue girlfriend, do whatever she want and no matter she cares about him or not. I almost forget they were such a great and tighten couple in the original Tangled movie.

4.Barely invisible the king and the queen: It makes every sense that we should see the king and the queen often in the show. There are plenty of rooms to developed good back story for them, and how they fill the 18-year-gap with Rapunzel should be important parts. Then, we get more Cassandra. I can only assume that they don't want to see adults too often in a Y7 series.

5.Story composition: Essentially, it's totally different making a 3 seasons 78 episodes show than a 2-hour movie. You can easily focus on a few points and a few characters in a movie, but it is almost impossible for a long TV series. Therefore we have a Tangled series that each episodes are basically independent, the continuation is low. It's usually happened in TV cartoons, I just want it could be more structured.

About Cassandra: being the only new introduced main character, Cassandra has strong traits and is somehow controversial. Her strong self image, great desire to prove herself and to achieve her dream meets the expectation of many audience, a brave girl that speaking for herself. However, she comes from a very different background comparing Eugene and Rapunzel, She received many dislikes by intervening Eugene and Rapunzel, conflicting with Eugene .etc. Cassandra is a character that "Lover is going to love, hater is going to hate", but that is a main propose of this character: bringing conflicts that a drama needs, and apparently it works. Since Cassandra is a new character, there is no continuity or recapturing issue such as Eugene and Rapunzel; and apparently, Cassandra has the greatest development potential. I only care about how they use this new character properly. If the order turns to Rapunzel > Cassandra > Eugene, I would be very, very disappointed.
7 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So bad it actually made me angry
valadaemalek29 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Tangled is officially dead and this idiotic, abscess induced hot mess is what's dancing on its grave. The only saving grace for this series was Jeremy Jordan as Varian. I've never rooted for a villain to win more than him in the end because the rest of the characters were so disgustingly stupid and selfish. Seriously avoid this if you love the movie.
6 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing series adaptation
Chloeekittena22 April 2019
The show only grows better and better as it goes on. Sometimes it almost feels like the movie is just simply prologue to this show! The story is a good continuation of the movie and makes sense with what we already know while adding move loveable characters and even answering the unanswered from the Tangled movie in a plausible way. Not only do we see Rapunzel and Eugene grow leaps and bounds as characters and as a couple but also Rapunzel's parents, the tavern men from I Have a Dream, and the royal guard members become more established as well (just to name a few). The music is also quite spectacular as per usual for DIsney, particularly in season 2.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely Amazing
novabelle21 April 2019
This is one of my favourite shows and I love it so much! Eugene and Rapunzel's relationships is literally goals they are so cute! And the songs are really fun and catchy too
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best show that you're not watching!!
kaylakahn-0056320 April 2019
Incredibly well written, and engaging for both children and adults alike! The new plot lines are extremely interesting and keep you on the edge of your seat!
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Nice show
commelinales14 April 2019
One of the best Disney shows, full of surprises and of course, "entanglements". Most stories are well designed and played, and every person has their unique character, which makes this show more engaging and funny to watch. Season 1 is mainly focused on rapunzel's daily life, although sounds dull, it turned out to be rather satisfying for kids and adults to enjoy, Season 2 is about rapunzel's adventure outside her kingdom, along the way, all these tangled affairs, mysterious persons and places are really fascinating. I love this show, a lot. You should really give it a chance.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor Writing, Pacing Issues, Casual Racism
sospookalicious23 April 2019
We rejoin Rapunzel in Corona, six months after she and Eugene Fitzherbert have met, and find her adjusting to life as a Princess. Mysteries unfold as she recovers her hair, discovers enemies, and learns about Gopher Grab.

Wait, what?

This is a show that tries too hard to be too many things. Is it a children's show, a little girl's Princess story, or an epic adventure for the ages? The plot can't seem to decide. It yoyos rapidly between oft unnecessarily gruesome dark twists and turns, and substandard animated children's lessons about making friends. Neither aspect is done well, unfortunately, nor does the show seem to be able to pick what side it wishes to maintain.

One could argue the lighter episodes are to breathe levity into what is a stale attempt to keep you on the edge of your seat, but these episodes are barely watchable. Skipping them often doesn't affect the plot, at all, so you could watch the entirety of the so called plot in only as little as 9 episodes, when the show is nearing 50 episodes total.

Season one fared better in terms of pacing, at least, though both seasons are riddled with filler. The first season was capable of setting up a villain, motive, and his action all within a season. (Though we have no resolution on that, yet.)

Season two danced around the issue for the better half of a season, only to try and cram as much plot as possible in the last two episodes before the season finale. A surprise villain, a surprise lore twist; all without the foundation to support either. Worse, they had to rely on a cliffhanger in hopes of bringing people in for a season three.

If your show is struggling, a cliffhanger will often alienate your viewers. Especially when the resolution isn't due for nearly a year.

Not to mention the casual racism and homophobia. Taking a step back to the 60s, perhaps, we have tired old tropes like Roma woman being a con artists, our villains being presented with Jewish or biracial features, and an antagonist being written as a gay trope.

All in all? The show isn't groundbreaking, it is not revolutionary, but if you're looking for mindless background noise? It's as good as anything else.
3 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed