Goliath (TV Series 2016– ) Poster

(2016– )

User Reviews

Review this title
590 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
One of the best dramas I've seen this year
feelinesound15 October 2016
Binged-watched this one in 3 days and it was an absolute pleasure. It's not that the story itself is so thrillingly addictive, but mainly that almost all of the main characters are so fascinating, well crafted and brilliantly performed that you just keep wanting to go back and discover more about them. All of them deeply flawed, and yet vividly human and (for the most part) to at least some extent likable. Furthermore, the sheer amount of fully fleshed out, round and interesting characters that the show manages to create and build in just one 8-episode season is seriously impressive - there must be around 10 main supporting characters and by the end none of them feel under- served.

It helps of course that the cast is one of the most talented and charismatic ones put together for any show this year, with special mentions going to Thornton, Maria Bello and Nina Arianda, though literally everyone (down to even minor characters like the judge) is at the very least very good, if not excellent. It also helps that the show is masterfully written and beautifully shot, has a very strong visual identity and takes great advantage of LA as its location, particularly with the driving scenes and time- lapse shots.

Don't be fooled by people calling it a legal drama, it might have a lot of lawyers and a few courtroom scenes but the way it's shot and paced, the amount of detective work involved, the score and the atmosphere the show maintains make it feel much more like classy film noir than any legal drama I've ever watched.
180 out of 214 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
And it just keeps getting weirder.
em-gliss6 October 2019
I'll keep this short. Season 1 was fantastic. Season 2 was one giant WTF, and not in a good way. And season 3 feels like they're ripping off Twin Peaks in terms of style and tone...and I'm only 2 episodes in.
44 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Season 2 Is an insult to Billy Bob's Golden Globe
patondaback19 June 2018
The first season was fantastic and BBT deserved the award for a fantabulous performance. Season 2 is an insult to BBT and a lesson on how to screw up a fantastic series franchise. The writing can be described at best as amateurish. The plot is wafer thin and has gaping holes in the story line. The way they ended the season is testimony to the fact that they didn't know where to take it or collapse the sub plots. The only saving grace once again is BBT. Please don't hire these writers for Season 3
138 out of 173 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Billy Bob Kills It
Tactrix17 October 2016
First let me say that billy bob was built for this role. Picking him was the obvious choice because there is almost no one that can play a washed up brilliant drunk the way he can.

Now as for the actual series. We have Billy, who's a retired defense attorney thrown back in law after he gets tossed a case about a guy on a boat that blew up. At first it just sounds like a regular case, and then it quickly becomes apparent that there's a lot wrong with it. The long and short of it is that this series is layered perfectly, you never see what's coming because they scripted it in a way in which you don't get to see around the bends.

10/10 great acting, great directing, and an amazing script.
103 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Watch Season 1 then...stop!
okstate1418 June 2018
Season 2 is so bad Amazon appears to be blocking user reviews on their site. It is so disappointing in every regard it would take me all day to express all the ways it fails. Here is a quick summary:

Dialogue - Awful

Story line - Disjointed and almost uncomfortable how it flows. I think I (with zero experience) I could have written and directed better. Awful.

Acting - Awful. Not sure if its the actors because there are many that I like or if it is the story line and the actors just can't save it.

Directing - Clearly, awful!

Producing - I assume the Producer is responsible for the overall quality of the product. If I am correct than the Producing is awful.

But seriously, if you have zero to do and this is what's available. Do nothing.
113 out of 142 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
What is going on in Goliath season 3?
garnet-303069 October 2019
I've been a fan of Goliath seasons 1 and 2, that's why I'm enthusiastic about the latest season 3. But what's going on? I've been halfway thru the season and yet nothing's happened, except, the main characters getting drunk and getting high ! I'm disappointed, really. I felt I just wasted my time watching it. Sorry.
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Season 3, seriously?
mwen001-27 October 2019
What happened? Why is Season 3 being so weird? Everyone good bored in the writers room? Great acting, except for Dennis Quaid! But what happened to this show? TWIN PEAKS meets CHINATOWN meets LSD! Big disappointment!
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I wish I had not watched the 2d season.
jolnugent19 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I have rarely written a review of any of Amazon's customarily excellent original series even though I usuaIly enjoy them immensely, like last year's 1st season of Goliath. I am an attorney and relish an intelligent and suspenseful legal drama. I so looked forward to the 2d season of Billy Bob Thornton as the jaded lawyer who dropped out of the profession only to be wooed back by his need to help the underdog facing his too-smart, too powerful colleagues in the legal (and not so legal) profession. So I binge-watched the 8-episode 2d season as soon as it was released. In the end, I was very disappointed. Not by the plot, which kept my attention. Granted, there were a few things (relationships mostly) that were supposed to be real head-turners that I guessed at and figured out before I should have. I could have handled that and still enjoyed the series without the need to write this review, but what I found despicable was, first of all, the periodic dismemberment of living human beings and, second, tying that to a sexual fetish. It was unnecessary, superfluous, meant to shock the unsuspecting viewer, which it did the first time, though merely repelled the 2d, 3d and 4th times, but did nothing to move the plot forward. In my humble opinion, It detracted from what could have been, in the hands of perhaps more skilled writers, an excellent characr study. I actually wish I had not watched it.
117 out of 150 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Maddening...
brian-milligan8 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Season 3 is seriously the most annoying thing I've even watched. Brilliant lawyer Billy McBride, Who employs no security team, knows the people he's suing are bad yet he continues to stay in the hotel they own and they keep getting away with dosing his food and booze with hallucinogens. And hes too dumb to realize it. It's silly and no one would get away with it. That casino would be shuttered soon as they reported it to the FDA. On top of this the human body has defense mechanisms in place. 98 percent of the time you would know you have been drugged or someone close to you would and you could explain it. Moreover there are no such thing as warlocks. This show just doesn't know what it wants to be. It's a legal thriller, it's a comedy, its torture porn like in S2, it's a love story, its horror. It's all over the place and the viewer just gets fed up and turns it off. It also would be illegal for the most prominent rancher( who the county is named after) to be head of the water board making the case open and shut. It would literally take 2 mins in court. I could point out several more plot holes but why bother? How does this stuff get funded?
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
The first season was excellent!! What happened season 2?
rona-7292819 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The first season was excellent!!! It ending with me rooting for the "Billie" team! The second season was the absolute worse!!!! What happened???!!! It was nothing but a long drawn out gory storyline that went absolutely nowhere! As great as the actors are... they should have better writers! It left me feeling annoyed and empty! What was the point? I watch this show waiting on the moment he defeats Goliath!!! NOTHING!! Ugh! I waited too long on this season to be so disappointed. I don't know about next season... pls bring the writers back from first season!! No more cutting up body parts pls!!! Ugh!!! The worse!

This season went nowhere slowly!!!!
106 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
what happened to the writers from season 1???
chancebox17 June 2018
I thought season 1 was great and looking forward to season 2. However, the storyline was a bit boring and didnt care much for any of the characters. Very disappointed with the second season. Please dont bring back the writers from season 2 if the creators plan a season 3.
89 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Season 2 sucks so bad it's hard to believe you're not hallucinating ...
jballard70118 June 2018
Headline says it all. This utter piece of crap should never have been released. It's as though some drug-addled rather dim-witted 12 yo were given free rein to write and direct the second season. Not even Billy Bob's massive talents can save this trash. Amazon, wtf???
80 out of 102 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
What a waste of potential
hradayesh17 June 2018
First season was good. Second started good but went to drains in no time. Out of the eight, there was only four episodes worth of watchable content. Talk about anti-climax!
63 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
rrpauleyjr17 June 2018
Everything the first season was not -- joyless, absurdly plotted, pointlessly depraved, and just generally miserable. It seems the trend now is to see how we can out-sicken ourselves in the pursuit of storyline entertainment. The irony here is that as new and creative levels of ugliness are achieved, bad clichés and stereotypes are recycled. Some ideas, stories and characters really should not be extended beyond their organic lifespan. This concept and program was a one-season pleasure and should have stayed that way.
71 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Epic Fail; How can I count the ways?
siri-9849219 June 2018
I was not prepared for the dismal writing and plot development of Goliath's Season 2. What a huge disappointment. The original team of characters, Billy McBride's rag tag brilliant low life crew, was turned to cardboard and moved around the stage like pieces of furniture . How did the writers lose their way? An asinine sub-text completely hijacked the main story line. I realize violence is the new sex, I get the contemporary recipe, but the writing team must have crowd sourced every single plot twist from a band of nineteen year old boys with a grudge against women and depraved predilections. Wow, I could watch the gratuitous violence and voyeuristic fétiche sex one time through but more then that ? To what purpose? None of it advanced the story. Bad, bad, bad....
54 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Great first season, terrible second season
ash_financial18 June 2018
The first season was great. The second season was lousy. Unless you enjoy watching amputee sex and people getting amputed, don't bother watching this season. I kept hoping that despite these horrendous and totally unnecessary scenes, there would still be something redeeming about this season, but my hopes were in vain. Even Billy Bob Thornton was nowhere as good as he was in the previous season
105 out of 138 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Season 1 was great. Season 2 was awful.
billthecat-1410523 June 2018
Really enjoyed season one. However, season two is likely the worst television series season ever. The writing was terrible and the directing was terrible. The actors are good but the show was simply so badly written and directed that the actors couldn't carry it.

I thought it would improve. Never did. Was terrible right up until the last episode credits.
70 out of 90 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Who Wrote This Mess?
smith78-928-6339487 October 2019
Loved this show, until this season. Love the entire cast. But, whoever wrote this season has no clue about continuity. It bounced around so much from now to then and back, that it was almost impossible to follow.
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't waste your time
jenniferdweiner18 June 2018
Season 2 has no redeeming qualities. Gruesome freaks who don't even exist to advance a semi-believable plot. Ugliness for the sake of ugliness. Billy Bob Thornton and the other good actors in this mess should be ashamed of having it associated with their names.
73 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
C'mon!!! For the love of Pete....
BlobbyLight7 October 2019
... please stop with the wannabe Lynch-esque random LSD drug trippy in the desolate desert crap.. get back to the urban gritty streetwise IDGAF BBT detective show!! Next time, develop a better plot and execution thereof. Season 3, like 2, was a, at times very annoying and literally sleep inducing, chore to watch!!!! So much potential...
31 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Season 2 a disapointment
billking666615 June 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Spoiler. The first Season knocked it out of the park, but Season 2 is substandard. The worst part is the coincidence of an innocent kid going to the crime scene, with the intention of gunning down those who were gunned down by somebody else (on the same night, at the same exact time, on video) was too hard to handle. It was probably the most contrived plot setup I have ever seen. Thornton is great, but I hope the rest of the writing will not continue on this level of absurdity.
38 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Season 1 Awesome, Season 2 lost opportunities
Ppalmiotto17 June 2018
Session 2 was a mess. Started off amazing then got weird and incomprehensible. The acting is awesome but the writing totally lost me the second half of season 2.
42 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Season 1: great, Season 2: yawn, Season 3: hot mess
Siddhartha1416 October 2019
This show started off great. You almost can't go wrong with Billy Bob Thornton leading the charge. I was really looking forward to Season 3 as Season 2 was quite disappointing. Season 3, hard to describe other than a hot mess. It's just awful. I was embarrassed for all of the actors involved in Season 3, most of whom did not deserve to be in this total disaster and meltdown of a show that started off great.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Series 2 review
mf281218 June 2018
What the hell happened?!

The first series was excellent and I loved the courtroom drama side of it so was looking forward to seeing where they would take it. Right from the off it was obvious they were creating a brand new story for this season. But fair enough. I was willing to give it a go. Cracking additions to the cast as well, especially Mark Duplass. But this is now am absolute mess of a storyline that veers so far from what made the original so good. I've never seen a series go from the sublime to the ridiculous so quickly. They've turned it into a Hostel meets Breaking Bad and not a very good effort at that either. Very disappointed. Season 1 - 8 stars / Season 2 - 4 stars (and that's being generous)
46 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Season 1: fantastic. Season 2: awful, just awful
mcmahjw13 July 2018
There's nothing to say here that hasn't been said. Season 2 is dark and disturbing but more important the writing and plot is just terrible. I watched it through hoping for some gleam or redemption but it just never happened. I've never reviewed before and set up an account just so I had an outlet to vent. Billy - why???
41 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed