Downhill (2020) Poster

(2020)

User Reviews

Review this title
106 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Skip this and watch "Force Majeure" (2014)
leezureworld5 February 2020
As the other user review suggested, this film has already been made, it's called "Force Majeure" and it's outstanding.

It's a complete ripoff of "Force Majeure" without any apoligies. "Downhill" lacks the character and emotional depth of "Force Majeure", plus it's sorely miscast in every way.

If you're at all interested in "Downhill", do yourself a favor and watch "Force Majeure" instead.
89 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Enjoyable, as long as you know upfront it's primarily not a comedy
2001ASOfan14 February 2020
First, and most importantly, know this is not a comedy, it's a serious, purposefully slow-moving character study with a few very funny, even laugh-out-loud moments. Knockout scenery (and if you've ever been a skier you'll be craving time on the slopes immediately after viewing), this is the kind of film that inspires wanderlust, but some will find it too subtle and quiet. I liked it, but there were elements that bugged the heck out of me, especially the non-development of the two sons as important characters--they remain blank stares and mysteries for the entire film. Julia Louis-Dreyfus is very good here, Will Ferrell good but mostly one-note: The film is definitely given a shot in the arm by actors in supporting roles. Overall a recommended watch if you enjoy character studies where simple, subtle facial expressions and body movements are as important as dialogue.
40 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I wished I was killed in the avalanche!
son-of-odin17 February 2020
I am fifty years old. This was the WORST movie that I ever saw. It was depressing and even stressful at times. I couldn't leave early or even fall asleep. I was desperately waiting for any form of redemption... it never came. Save your time and money see anything else but this!
33 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why would Hollywood remake a perfectly fine film? Why?
marco-grix26 January 2020
This film already exist, and it's excellent. Simply look for "Force Majeure (2014)" or "Turist (2014)" -- same film but different title in different countires. It places people in a somewhat unexpected, yet perfectly realistic, situation and shows how their lives gradually implode in the aftermath. It shines a light on ordinary human weaknesses, and how pathetic many of us really are. It forces the viewer to reflect upon their own strengths and weakness: what woud YOU have done? And it does it really well. Why whould anyone see the need to remake this? And with as terrible an actor as Will Ferrell, of all people? Is Hollywood really so desperate, having no original ideas of their own anymore? That's just ridiculous. I'd encourage each and every potential viewer to avoid this pitiful copy and watch the original instead. Boycott is the only way to force Hollywood to stop with this nonsense. No more recycling! Grow a pair and take some chances, make new things!
75 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not a single enjoyable minute
matthew_weiss_531514 March 2020
Joyless and boring. I couldn't wait for it to end.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Cringeworthy "Comedy" to Avoid
jamuckley11 February 2020
Julia Louis-Dreyfus and Will Ferrell star in "Downhill," a new comedy that comes out on Valentine's Day, Friday 14, 2020. The film was directed by Nat Faxon and Jim Rash.

Billie (Louis-Dreyfus) and her two boys barely escape been buried alive during a "controlled" avalanche, while Pete (Ferrell) runs for cover thinking only about his self. The scary ordeal causes them to take a fresh look at their marriage and their future together.

I had high hopes with the pairing of Louis-Dreyfus and Ferrell and what kind of comedic caper on the ski slopes might ensue. Unfortunately, this film was disappointing. This isn't the kind of "feel-good" romantic movie to take your significant other out to see on Valentine's Day.

The film isn't mushy and doesn't "resolve" like a bow on a pretty package. Instead, it is more of a "warning" in relationships, showing how miscommunication, self-centeredness, defensiveness all can contribute to breaking down bonds in relationships. The humor in it is how the couple fails to address the issue directly causing further distance, bringing others into it to plead their case, and even puts the kids in the middle. There were some cringeworthy moments throughout.

Some of the film's less flattering moments include an awkward scene with a ski instructor, crude sexual humor, and drunkenness without any really point.

I would recommend steering clear of this one, in favor of a nice evening in, preparing dinner for your partner, snuggling up on the couch and dreaming together about your hopes for the future so you don't end up like Billie and Pete unsure of what is next in store for your relationship.
28 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really bad
sixhoos13 February 2020
Rehash of a better movie. Not funny. Boring. Vapid. Can't think of enough ways to describe this waste of time. Just don't bother.
28 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Worst movie we've seen in years of Friday night dates.
rbeetcher15 February 2020
Torture watching this movie. Would have walked out but my wife liked the Austrian mountain ski scenes. Nothing else about this movie was worthwhile. It struck me as a movie where the stars agreed to do it to support a family member who was trying to get into movie production but had no experience and no skill.
23 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Flat As A Fart
vengeance203 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I vaguely remember seeing a trailer of this once & have generally heard little of this film. Then when I saw it was a "last chance" screening at my local & thought to watch cos I saw Will Ferrell was in the cast & thought it was be a comedy so I thought why not.

The film follows a family who retreat off to the Alps in Switzerland after the father of the family is grieving the loss of his father who died 8 months prior. But after an avalanche incident, the divide between the the father & the rest of the family deepens. The film from then on has the family punish Will Ferrell's character as he tries to make amends.

The film is flat. Really flat. No comedy. No laughs. Not even remotely 1 redeeming feature. The film just drags & drags & drags, with the main chunk mostly focusing on the family being miserable & moody. There's no oomph or any upbeatness to be had. It's just a bore-fest. But given this was suppose to be some character study I can kind of see why. Still, when you see Will Ferrell in the cast, along with the word "comedy" you're going to assume the film is going to be humourous in some way or another it wasn't.

Ironically enough the title fits because the film really did go downhill fast. It's boring & forgettable. And just when the film actually finally gets somewhere it ends! Making you think "That it!?". All the dreary crap & that's the thanks we get? Poor. The film is purely depressing & is enough to put you to sleep.

This hands down has to be the worst comedy film I've ever seen. I usually don't mind comedy films (even american ones). But this boring, depressing 80 minutes tripe was rubbish. I also learned now that this is a remake of a European film released back in 2014 under the name Force Majeure. Never heard of it, but it would probably be more memorable than this bland & mundane excuse for a comedy!

1/10
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wasted potential due to terrible script.
knudson9815 February 2020
Saw this opening night and was expecting a great new comedy..... big mistake. The story and script were terrible and not fun to watch. I wanted to laugh, but there was nothing funny at all. Sad addition to the resumes of 2 great actors. Save your money on this turkey.
16 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie will cause divorce
mattmcniff14 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I made the mistake of going to this movie with my wife for Valentines's Day. Please heed my warning. This movie is going to cause some couples to divorce after they watch this.in short, we have a slow motion train wreck with no recovery. I had hoped that at least there was going to be a payoff at the end but it ended poorly too. The humor in it was just enough to keep you there for the whole thing hoping that there would be at least a redeeming joke or something. Nope. Awful. People are going to watch this and if hey see themselves in the characters, it will likely speed up their impending divorce, not stall it with nostalgia and discovering why they fell in love in the first place. Basically you see two people staying in a loveless marriage just long enough to see their kids out the door so that they can finally sleep in separate bedrooms or get the sweet relief of splitting up.
31 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Dreadful
perogy415 February 2020
I feel badly for Julia Louis-Dreyfus because her character is so unlikeable, in a movie that's equally unlikeable. Like watching a slow motion train wreck. Wish I could have that 90 minutes of my life - and my money - back. 3 stars, only for the scenery.
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A real miss
bef199115 February 2020
I was interested in seeing this film because I love Julie Louis Dreyfus' acting and Jessie Armstrong's writing. To be fair I'm not a fan of Will Ferrell but I thought with a good leading lady, good writing and a wonderful story..how can you go wrong?? Boy did it go wrong. Boring dialogue, slow and tedious, bad acting (Will Ferrell) and no real story.

It was neither a comedy or a drama. If it was intended to be both it failed on each front. The intended comedic/dramatic lines were dull and pedestrian. Although I'm not giving up on Ms. Dreyfus or Jessie Armstrong's genius, I'd recommend just skipping this one.
12 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Don't go to the theater to see this!
gator-7093416 February 2020
I'm a huge movie buff. One of the worst movies I ever seen! I walked out of it halfway through. I even asked the theater if I could get my money back because it was so bad!!
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Skip This Movie
ajhallochak15 February 2020
Unlikable characters, boring dialogue, very little comedy. A flop for a Valentine's date! I started looking at my watch at an hour into the movie, and was shocked to find another 30 minutes were left! Would have walked out, but was with my wife. Forgettable film!
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Waste of time
mgoose-9378115 February 2020
Don't bother watching, No real plot to the movie, boring and lame. Nasty bathroom scene as well. Don't waste your time watching this movie, you will regret it
16 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A downer for a Valentine's Day release
trinaboice11 February 2020
IN A NUTSHELL: Inspired by the 2014 Swedish movie Force Majeure by Ruben Ostlund, this depressing comedy is directed by Nat Faxon and Jim Rash. Jesse Armstrong helped them write the English version of the aftermath of a family who experienced a brush with an avalanche while on a ski vacation. The film premiered at the Sundance Film Festival last month and is being released by Searchlight, with the previous name of Fox missing from the title since the Disney purchase.

I love movie titles with double meanings, but in this case, it's not a good thing. While the movie features a family on a downhill ski trip in the Alps, the title of the film best describes the direction the marriage is going in throughout their adventure. Timed perfectly for a Valentine's Day release, it really isn't the fun rom-com you're thinking it should be with comedy giants Will Ferrell and Julia Louis-Dreyfus. In fact, it's a bit of a DOWNer for the most romantic day of the year.

TIPS FOR PARENTS:

Crude language, profanity, F-bombs Talk of being nude in a spa Talk of intimate relationships. A woman tries to pleasure herself. Alcohol, bad drunken behavior

THEMES:

"Every day is all we have." - Pete (Will Ferrell) Relationships, marriage, perceptions of other people's relationships Expectations Survival Family Live for self or live for others Aging Identity

THINGS I LIKED:

Julia Louis-Dreyfus was outstanding in her role. She is a talented comedienne who is very believable in a drama too. The nuances on her face were perfect and spoke volumes. My husband and I saw the movie together and both felt sorry for Will Ferrell's character, who is a complete wuss during the story. My husband was especially frustrated that the character was never able to quite redeem himself. Miranda Otto, who plays Charlotte, will look familiar to you but you won't quite know where you've seen her before. Suddenly, you'll remember it was in Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers franchise where she played Eowyn. Her character in this movie doesn't have an ounce of integrity like Eowyn did in The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. Fans of The Office: The Complete Series will get a kick out of seeing Zach Woods. What's funny is his character's name is Zach in this movie. When Kirstofer Hivju first appeared on the screen in the movie, you could immediately tell there were Game of Thrones:Season 1-2 fans in the audience. There were some laughs and even a few quiet cheers, as his character, Giantsbane, was always a fan favorite. When the movie ended, the lady sitting behind me in the theater said, "That's it?" but I actually thought it was an insightful ending. You get to see some beautiful Austrian mountains.

THINGS I DIDN'T LIKE:

I haven't seen the original movie that this is modeled after, but everyone who has, says the first one is sooo much better. Sooooo much bickering. That's neither enjoyable, nor funny. It definitely needed more humor to balance out the drama and depressing moments. The actors who played the sons did a good job, but they sure aren't like most realistic, rambunctious boys that age that I know. Instead, these boys are super mellow. They're played by Julian Grey and Ammon Jacob Ford. Lots of awkward moments.

You can see my full movie review on Movie Review Mom (dot) com and on my Movie Review Mom YouTubee channel.
14 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible.
hornerb-5648117 February 2020
This movie was so boring I actually wanted to miss this movie and take a piss. Like for real.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Disappointing remake
rann_rushing16 February 2020
Ferrell was stilted and out of his element. Dreyfus was the highlight, but was not able to carry the entire movie. The writing was uneven and created side stories that really did not fit the characters. They created such awkward situations that made viewing painful.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
a mainstream remake
ferguson-613 February 2020
Greetings again from the darkness. Overwhelming apprehension. That's the feeling I had walking into the theatre for the Americanized re-make of one of my top 10 favorite movies from 2014 ... FORCE MAJEURE. Sure, it's common practice for U.S. filmmakers to farm international cinema for "new" projects, but when they mess with the really good ones, I can't help but feel nervous to the point of dread. A sliver of hope existed since this new version was co-written (along with Jesse Armstrong, creator of "Succession", and Oscar nominated for IN THE LOOP) and co-directed by Nat Faxon and Jim Rash, the creative forces behind THE WAY WAY BACK (2013).

Julia Louis-Dreyfus and Will Ferrell star as married couple Billie and Pete. Along with their two teenage sons, they are on an Austrian ski trip meant to help Pete get through grieving his father's death, and bring the family closer together. If you have seen the original or the trailer, you know what happens next. Pete's reaction to a near catastrophic event creates a divide between him and the family ... especially Billie, who is left shaken. This part is all quite similar to the original film, yet this version is different in so many ways.

Casting two brilliant comedic performers in the lead sends a strong signal that humor will play a role, and that the exceptional gravitas from filmmaker Ruben Ostlund's FORCE MAJEURE will be softened somewhat. Both of those points hold true. However, surprisingly, this re-make manages to still generate some of the shaken-to-the-core emotions that come from having trust broken in such a startling manner. Ms. Louis-Dreyfus is especially strong here, and carries a much heavier load than Mr. Ferrell. As she is balancing her shock, frustration, and anger, while still attending to their equally shaken boys, Mr. Ferrell is relegated to spending much of the film wearing a wounded puppy look as he attempts to move on without addressing the issue.

Adding to the comedy elements are Zoe Chao ("The Comeback") and Zach Woods ("The Office") as Pete's friends who get drawn into the fracas. Miranda Otto takes a break from her usually dramatic roles to play Charlotte, a wacky resort employee whose personality is a bit out of step with normalcy; although her zaniness succeeds in preventing the weight of the event from crushing Billie. Fans of the original will recognize Kristofer Hivju, who plays a resort security advisor this time. Another difference is that the kids (Julian Grey, Ammon Jacob Ford) play a bigger role in the family dynamics and fallout.

It's clear that filmmakers Faxon and Rash set out to purposefully make a more mainstream, accessible movie than the Swedish version. The film remains effective at generating conversation about survival instinct and protecting one's loved ones. It should be mentioned that this is not a typical Will Ferrell movie, and anyone expecting Frank the Tank, may only be pleased with one brief scene. Instead, this is about a man coming to grips with how his actions affected his family, and even his view of himself.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Not a Comedy
tsdennison-6337022 February 2020
I thought this was a comedy. It is not. Also, it is not a drama. It's like watching a home movie with two people who don't really love, or like, each other very much. And then nothing happens. Two of my favorite comedic actors are in this bucket of boredom and that makes me sad.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Downhill
timothymarshall-5585516 February 2020
It's called DownHill for a reason. Absolutely the worst movie I have ever seen. I wish I had read a review before seeing this. Every minute is excruciatingly awkward and uncomfortable.
16 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Candidate for WORST movie of the year
tom_l_mcl15 February 2020
Very depressing, boring and certainly no comedy. With these two actors I would expect more/ Generally Ferrel is kind off off the wall. But this movie was awful.
17 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hollwierd on Full Display!
blondejen12315 February 2020
I just assumed, mistakenly, that this movie would be funny and entertaining because, hello, Will Ferrell and Elaine! Nope! Horrible waste of talented actors. Terrible story line. Who wants to be in the middle of two parents awkwardly screaming and and fighting with each other? Not me! And to have Hollywood's weird lack of morals forced down our throats? No thanks! Your way is not better! Cheating on your spouse IS wrong! And not all dads are bad and stupid and losers! And not all women are right just because they're women! No person, woman or not should be justified in screaming at their spouse and acting like a lunatic. What an awful movie! Wasted money. Wasted talent.so disappointing.
19 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
This movie depressed me
lacroix19542 March 2020
This movie depressed meI got so depressed watching this movie. It reminded me of who's afraid of Virginia Woolf
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed