The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon (TV Series 2014– ) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
69 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Steve Higgins Is Too Weird
stanheckjr15 June 2017
The Tonight Show needs an overhaul! The shows host acts like a drunk frat boy and his sidekick (Steve Higgins) is weird & not funny. Jimmy Fallan also has these stupid games he plays with his guest and they are boring to watch.

Jimmy has an obvious "FAKE LAUGH" that gets on my nerves. If your looking for him to be a great interviewer don't bother. He has softball questions and never has follow up questions. With Know follow up questions that tells me "He isn't paying close attention" to what his guest is saying. He will ask a question and listens to when they stop talking so he can "Plug" his guest projects.

Steve Higgins jumps in too much during the monologue and he doesn't help. He comes across as dad that laughs at his own jokes
27 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Jimmy Fallon is annoying and childish
futurechange5 June 2015
I use to watch Letterman just because he was calm and grown up even if boring. I find Jimmy Fallon and his false sounding,extremely worded appreciation of every guest and their talent as about untruthful as I have ever seen. Most guests look so uncomfortable. His laughter is forced and false as if him laughing will make things that are not funny magically become so to the audience.

I know the man has some talent in some areas but I do not think hosting a show is one of them. The other new guy does the same but just a little less teenage type. Is there no research done on guests so you can learn something unique about them as Graeme Norton does ? It looks so old fashioned and without class.

I think they should have chosen a woman as the men are horrible. So many to choose from and we get two duds. Someone off the street could do better, I dare the networks to try it.
58 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
"The Tonight Show" without class
jmcd200718 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
To sum it all into perspective, I cannot stand Fallon. I tried watching a couple of episodes of his version of "The Tonight Show" but just couldn't go on. Carson would be rolling in his grave. Whatever class "The Tonight Show" once had is now gone and has been replaced by immature tomfoolery. What probably annoys me the most about Fallon is his over-emphasized laughter over the littlest things and the worshiping of his guests, which is absolutely atrocious and unnecessary. These things make him look immature, fake, and desperate for the attention and ratings. Although some of his games aren't bad, his monologues are weak...but nowhere near as bad as Letterman's, whose monologues and humor are about as dry as a desert. Anyhow, Fallon's house band, The Roots, also look like they were picked out of an alley from the 1970s. The set and furniture are bland, and so is Fallon's brand of humor. If you like toilet humor and other jokes that you'd probably hear in a middle school hallway, then this show is for you. Furthermore, if you like a "host" that lollygags around the set while barely giving his guests enough time to talk during an "interview," then this show is for you. Many of the once great hosts of late-night have either retired or are starting to wear out their welcome. For instance, although I was glad to hear that Letterman finally decided to retire, I cringe at the fact that someone like Stephen Colbert will be taking over for him come May 2015. Kimmel isn't bad, but could be better. Late night is dead, folks, and NBC just helped put another nail in the coffin here.
35 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
So much for maturity!
brianyru17 June 2019
Letterman was entertainment. Fallon is an immature child. He acts like a 12 year old. He has no business trying to entertain adults. He sounds insincere, disinterested, and forced when interviewing guests. The only time that he seems genuine is when he is doing stupid immature jokes or games that aren't any better than fart jokes. He is a child.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Poor Jimmy......a real snooze.
lfletch0316 July 2014
I watched 10 or so shows, thinking Jimmy needed to "warm up". But the show is just terrible. It might be better without the loud mouth, obnoxious side kick. I have always liked Fallon and thought he'd do really well with this show but not so. I feel embarrassed for Jimmy. I don't care how you cut it; this show simply does not work for Jimmy. I agree with the reviewer who said something like: this is a teenager in a 39 year old's body. Monologues are corny and the skits are just horrific. I can't imagine what has happened to Jimmy. I just loved his humor but no more........not as a host anyway. He seems very awkward and unlike himself. I was really looking forward to the show as I never did warm up to Jay Leno....Jay repeated his jokes too much. I still love Jimmy Fallon but I feel very badly that he can't seem to carry this off. Like I said, it might be better if the sidekick is removed or replaced. Steve Higgins is SO loud and SO irritating. Sad, really sad !
53 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Weak and getting weaker
jidavis-225-54984629 January 2015
Agree with reviewers who say that Fallon can pull off some funny bits but doesn't have the stuff to produce a consistently funny and entertaining full show night after night. Understand that a younger guy is supposed to appeal to a younger audience but the incessant giggling/shouting/screaming/hiding under the desk makes it unlikely that he will ever graduate from the third grade. He doesn't engage very well with guests on the show; the silly games are not a substitute for either serious or comic interaction with those appearing on the show. He might consider letting some of his accomplished guests, Seinfeld for example, do a comedy bit on their own. Also agree that the band doesn't add much to the show; would be better just to have higher quality musical guests and have them do two performances as on SNL. Bottom line - Comedy has a lot of staying power but silly gets old in a hurry; Fallon doesn't seem to know the difference between comedy and silly. At the end of the day (haha - get it?!), Jimmy seems to have succumbed to the same problem that plagues SNL; maybe he spent too much time there - take a one-time clever and humorous idea and then repeat it over and over until viewers are sick of it.
37 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No longer watching the TONIGHT SHOW
duraflex8 January 2015
Jimmy Fallon has a modicum of talent and can pull off some funny bits but hosting the 60 minute TONIGHT SHOW 5 nights a week is obviously more than he can handle. He seems like an okay guy but he's an example of The Peter Principle in play.

Johnny Carson was the Gold Standard for hosting this show. He had charisma and depth. He could do political and social commentary, do comedy skits and handle all kinds of interviews from the serious to the silly. I still watch him on DVDs - stuff I've seen and enjoyed before.

Leno was good and usually worth staying up to watch. Politically, he leaned left but Obama was easy fodder for his jokes. Leno's interviewing skills didn't match Carson but he could handle man-on-the-street stuff and showed us how ignorant too many Americans are.

I've given Fallon about 10 tries but concluded he's not worth staying up for or even setting the DVR. The band is absolutely awful. Don't know what Fallon's ratings are or how long his contract runs but I will not be among his viewers.
39 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
He would be great if he can just stop talking all the time.
ShadeofMisery1 August 2016
Fallon is that kind of a friend who always needs to have the last word on everything. Like, if a topic comes up he just happens to know something about it or has to say something because he wants people to know that he's so smart and worldly and funny even though his facts are wrong. He's an okay, decent human being but I don't want to be around him for ten minutes.

As a host there is much to be desired. From his fake laugh and awkward clapping to his exclaiming that he loves everything and down to the poorly constructed jokes that he passes off as comedy. But it's okay because his flaws are a bit endearing.

However there is one thing that pisses me off so much. He constantly interrupts his guests. His need to always be the center of attention derails the show. For example the episode with Whoopie Goldberg where he asked two audience members to be the host for the night. I thought we would get 5 minutes of two strangers talking but instead Jimmy focused all the attention back on him by taking a selfie.

The most recent transgression is the episode with Martha Stewart. He acted like such a spoiled attention-seeking child, screaming at Questlove and Martha who were trying to make themselves heard.

This is a pattern he has with all of his guests. Whenever they talk about something or explain something or relate a story, Fallon will interrupt them with a story of his own.

The most obnoxious thing is when he does his interruptions he almost always stutters.

If you watch the show you know that he always does this. Like he can't form a coherent thought before opening his mouth.

That alone is what makes him the most incompetent host the world has ever seen.
19 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Worst host ever of The Tonight Show
bushape116 July 2014
My wife and I never like Jimmy Fallon. what is with the crap about reading those annoying cards? We never could understand that. Every host brings their own sense of humor and style. I just happen to not like Fallon's style. Even though Jay Leno left after screwing Conan out of The Tonight Show, I believe that NBC should of offered the job back to Conan instead of Fallon. Conan paid his dues at NBC and worked harder and longer at NBC than Fallon ever did. So I believe The Tonight Show should still be Conan's and I refuse to watch Jimmy Fallon. Maybe I am wrong but that is my choice. There is probably so much of behind the scenes that we don't see or even hear of. The ultimate decision will be made by the viewers.
40 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jimmy Fallon is Doing Just Fine
gregtheassilian21 February 2014
Let me start out with saying that I have been a long time watcher of all late night talk shows and consider my self an aficionado in the topic.

With that, I question all the complaints against Jimmy Fallon and how he is running the Tonight Show. He is taking the show in a new direction and for that I applause him. I've been watching every single tonight show this week to observe how the new set up is unfolding. Fallon brings an incredible, positive energy to the tonight show that I have not seen since Carson. He's constantly happy and lively, making the show as positive as ever.

Let me also in the past, I enjoyed Jay Leno and Conan O' Brien as hosts and they did a fantastic job with their humor and making celebrities comfortable. Fallon does the same in a peppy, great attitude towards all his guests, as well as showing how humbled he is to be hosting this legendary show. His monologues and sketches are relevant and very funny due to his amazing performance abilities and the way he executes them.

In conclusion, I'd just like to say Fallon is taking the Tonight Show in a new direction and I think it's a great one. It's 2014, we can't always compare all these hosts to Johnny Carson, that was 23 years ago. Fallon relates well with this new generation as well as still retaining the older audience with his polite, humble personality. I think great things will happen with the Tonight Show in the hands of Jimmy Fallon.
43 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dumbest host ever
mohancraig1 June 2014
Even worse than Leno, is NBC allergic to real late night comedy? Who's funny? Craig Ferguson, Jimmy Kimmel, David Letterman, Stephen Colbert... even the watered down version of Conan Obrien on TBS is still funnier than the comedy bereft Fallon.

Fallon is funny if his material is scripted and rehearsed as in the movie TAXI or on SNL but left to his own devices he fails to deliver anything other than just goofy and that gets old real quick, most likely if he fired that rasta band and quit smoking so much weed he could actually deliver some punchlines that wouldn't make a real comic vomit his liquor lunch.

I hope if NBC keeps this guy they go completely bankrupt for having the stupidest idea ever, it would be a well deserved closure.
37 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Fire Higgins and get rid of the games
Sober-Friend26 May 2019
I have given this show plenty of chances to improve and it doesn't it get s worse. From the increasing annoying Steve (Greasy) Higgins and his stupid games its a chore to finish and most of the time when it goes into a commercial breaks in the 2nd half I fall asleep. If you watch the 2nd half there is a real long string of commercials. There is 5 minutes then a quick promo from Jimmy then another 5 minutes.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Crapp
jmedinajm29 April 2019
I'm sorry just crap..... I like most of the talk shows. I've tried to watch Fallon but I just don't connect it doesn't feel authentic like his emotions are not genuine it's not funny. It's really hard to watch his interviews are boring. It's actually frustrating the interviews I don't know why he is there I really don't.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Jimmy isn't funny
plargreg16 February 2019
HOW CAN JIMMY FALLON CANCEL NORM MACDONALD WHAT A WIMP! way to defend yer fellow snl comedy roots you dork instead lets watch two b list celebrities try and make each other laugh over some lame party games instead of having an actual funny person on
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
do you like butt kissing?
plargreg11 February 2019
Jimmy fallon isnt fun or funny HES SO FAKE! also he was the weakest link on snl when he was there how did he get his own talk show? because on weekend update tina carried him 100% GARBAGE SHOW
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Talk shows hosts have their own way, and that's that
randyw015 March 2014
Fallon doesn't have the raw guttural humor of someone like Ferguson, nor should he expected to be. Fallon's semi-worship of guests has actually toned down a bit....it may drop as he ages, or not.....sometimes people just don't change.

He does not have writers that create some of the inspired bits of other shows....maybe it's not that easy to find people like that. This show is more like a very conventional show than something created with a niche audience. He'll find a way to survive.

As for people making political accusations here, you sound like very grumpy people who can't watch anything on TV without demanding that everything should be your way.
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Train Wreck...I give it 6 months at best
qormi19 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Jimmy Fallon is absolutely talent-free. He is immature, awkward, and clueless. He's a 13 year old trapped in a 39 year old man's body. His monologues are so lousy as to make one uncomfortable...I even pity him at times. Whenever he interviews a guest, Fallon shamelessly kisses their butts like there's no tomorrow, eagerly giggling at everything they say. I believe NBC made a huge mistake in dumping Leno for this amateurish fool. I predict that once the ratings hit the cellar, NBC execs will look back on what made Leno Number One...talent and the ability to connect with people. Leno will be back hosting the Tonite Show by September...from beautiful downtown Burbank.
31 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jimmy Fallon is the greatest man in the universe
daveydavid135 March 2014
After reading some of these awful reviews, I thought I might have accidentally pressed the The Tonight Show Starring Jay Leno. He was awful, they needed a fresh face and a person who could resurrect the Tonight Show to its previous greatness. They hired the right man for the job, Jimmy Fallon. Jimmy is an outgoing, nice, talented and a great guy. His sketches are very funny, the monologues are interesting and funny, and the interviews are great, but some of the interviews vary in funniness, depending on the guest. Fallon is always very respectful and nice to the guest. Leno was getting old and he wasn't funny, it wasn't because of his politics. Jimmy Fallon is a lot more engaging with guests and more talented then Jay Leno. Yes, Jimmy is liberal, but he doesn't showcase his political views and is usually very fair when making jokes about conservatives and liberals. And really you shouldn't decide whether you like someone or not, because of their political views. If you do, then you already dislike 60 million Americans. These reviews of Jimmy are rather unfair, and I think you should watch a couple of episodes and judge for yourself. If you like him, then you can go to bed with a smile on your face, if you don't, then you get an extra hour of sleep. For what I've seen, Jimmy Fallon will do a great job as the host of the Tonight Show. Also, (Steve) Higgens is great and hilarious. I expect Fallon to be on air for the next 20 years. Thank you for reading my review.
27 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Where's Johnny?
rob_419 October 2018
What was NBC thinking? Jimmy Fallon is not funny! It's an embarrassment to that great institution.Jay Leno did his best and actually paid homage to the show. Late night comedy is a thing of the past now. Nobody is funny.......only using their venue to spread hate.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Spoiler ALERT!!!
lopez-danm23 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Jimmy Fallon lacks pizazz. There spoiler alert. There is no excitement; just a drawn out set of routines. Where is the authenticity? or any sense of chemistry between the host and guests. Rapport building is what is missing from his show; instead it's shallow, and monotone...From beginning to end..Each guest is used as a means to bolster his show, as opposed to giving the viewing public an insight into those he invites on.

In order for this show to have any sustainability it will need to have some heart, have some spirit instead of feign interest. Ultimately, it comes with who Jimmy Fallon is as a person and whether he cam emit a persona that draws in the audience. In other words, he needs to come into himself if he can garner more confidence, and give an authentic piece of himself into the job; perhaps, he may have himself a legacy. If not, I suggest NBC produce, a Last Comic Standing, with established Hollywood type comedians, as well as up and coming comedians, i.e. Gabriel Iglesias....that's a guy with talent, and whole bunch more that would draw TV viewers their way.
14 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Steve Higgins is too weird and annoying
Hollywoodwhore9916 March 2017
If you are under 50 you know miss the good old days of "The Tonight Show" with Johnny Carson. The "Johnny Carson Era" is the gold standard. When Jay Leno hosted it least we had more clever segments and a funny opening MONOLOGUE.

However Jimmy Fallon show is not clever or funny. It needs improvement fast! Plus he has an annoying phony laugh.

His side kick Steve Higgins looks like a refuge from the 1950's. His "Games" are stupid and boring to watch. At times the guest look bored playing them. His interviewing also weak. .

If you want to watch a late night show that has better jokes watch his completion.

Jimmy please stop your phony laugh. Get rid of Steve Higgins and those games. Steve Cobert is beating you for a reason.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Just not funny
chiguy171 November 2019
I never understood how Fallon got the gig. When he was on SNL, he was the least talented of the cast, and couldn't even stay in character for a full skit. I've accidentally tuned into his version of the Tonight Show just because I was already watching NBC, and just shocked at how unfunny he is. The only thing I can think of is that they're going for a super young audience (which doesn't make sense in the late night crowd).

It's just pathetic. How has he lasted this long? From what I've read online he's basically just a mess (too fond of the booze). You'd think they'd at least employ halfway decent writers to make the monologue and major bits funny, but it's like he thought them up on his way to work (w a major hangover).

Tonight they were playing VR Pictionary. Just not funny or even mildly entertaining. It's just an awkward mess, like a HS talent show (only there you might see some actual talent).
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This guy needs a life
mpminvicta5 December 2018
I would give him a zero if there was one.....one star is too much....All Fallon can do is mock our president. I am so sick and tired of his crummy comedy routines and poor monologue. This guy is weak. Definitely the worst since Conan O'Brien. I'm sure Jay Leno shivers when he sees him is his place. What a poor selection for such a great show. Grow up Fallon. If you don't like this country there are others that will let you mock their president for about one day., then you'll get what you deserve.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This is made for children
rmkellync31 October 2018
Sorry Jimmy. The 1230 slot was fine for what Jimmy Fallon and team were doing, and it worked for me there as a progression of Letterman to Conan to Fallon: in that time slot.

What NBC said they didn't like about Conan I guess castrated anyone's creative juices and what we have now as The Tonight Show is not memorable. You can't force things to be interesting and go viral just by saying so. It might work for the one Trending blip, but Suzy Twitter isn't watching the Tonight Show on her local affiliate, or buying the products the advertisers are selling. More importantly: she won't be watching late night talk shows with any regularity like this show needs. The Tonight Show even in Leno years produced things people talked about organically - and I hated Leno. Carson and Leno held an audience night to night which this show can't do. Slick production value, limitless budget, A list guests, even with Higgins carrying a heavy load during the monologue, and the courage of the Roots to have stuck it out: it's unwatchable. It's like you're being told to have fun and it's not fun. I've removed it from my queue, don't seek it out on Hulu. Live I'll watch Colbert, on demand Kimmel.

This Tonight Show seems better suited to be on against Ellen in the afternoon.

The biggest winner is Seth Meyers of course who has emerged as the best network late night host bar none and solidifies the long term Lorne Michaels legacy when NBC stops throwing money at this show.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Purely Advertisment
pourdamghani9 October 2018
This show only aims for advertisements, no more or less. It has "fun" sections in between, but they are far from other late night shows. The only point about it worth watching is their music group, roots.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed