RWBY (TV Series 2012– ) Poster

(2012– )

User Reviews

Review this title
59 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A great new show from the makers of Red vs Blue
MrChr158 October 2013
I'm not going to sugar coat it. Yes, most of the episodes are very short, even by anime/cartoon standards, and the voice acting is sometimes a bit off.

Saying that, this is the first time that Rooster Teeth have attempted this kind of show, so this season is basically a test run. As with all of RT's productions, you can tell that they are making this because they WANT to make it, not just to widen their appeal. When comparing it to other anime shows, you have to take into account that most of them have quite wealthy companies producing them, and this is being funded by Rooster Teeth alone. There wouldn't be much point pouring lots of funding into something that could be a complete failure. Expect a lot more from the next series.

The characters have plenty of room for character growth and when the fight scenes happen, you are so amazed by them that you no longer care how rare they are.

Overall, I would say that while there is lots of room for improvement, it is a great series to watch when you just want to take it easy and have a good time.
39 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An Honest Look at RWBY
ace3nigma10 October 2019
RWBY is a good show. Really, it is. Is it an absolutely immaculate show? No. Is it great? At times, it's awesome. But it has it's flaws.

It's also an indie web series production that, with every minute of viewing, you can sense the passion and work that went/still goes into it.

I felt the need to write this review as Volume 6, the volume many agree to be the best written volume of the series, ended months ago and Volume 7 will be starting soon. If you've researched anything RWBY related online, you might notice there are a ton of "hit" pieces online on it. For reasons that are, to a fair extent, unwarranted (don't want to get too spoilery), this show is notorious for attracting one of the worst "hate-doms" I have ever seen for a show ever (worse than many shows that are of much lower quality). I felt that especially after Volume 6, RWBY deserved to be reviewed fairly.

Now, before I go off on praising the show too much, let me explain the three biggest issues it has.

The first is potential. This show has a ton of potential. Why is that bad? Because the budget and writing is not always able to live up to that. This problem is LARGELY mitigated if you're binging the series, since you don't build unrealistic expectations or "head-canons". However it is still a present problem that (if recent signs are any indication) is something they're improving on.

The second is budget. From it's inception RWBY's budget was not the best, and it's early animation (Volume 1) can probably best be described as that of a DIY project. This changes quite a lot over time, and part of the fun is seeing the massive leaps in graphics as each season progresses. However, this leads into the last problem.

It's overly ambitious. Aside from one unfortunate volume that suffered from internal issues at the parent company (Volume 5), it is extremely apparent that the staff of this show pour a lot of time and effort into it, trying to realize the vision that RWBY's late creator (Monty Oum) had for it. However, because of it's indie nature and budget, it falls short. Episode runtimes range around 12 - 30 minutes on average (~5-10 in Volume 1) and, with a story and world of this scale, and a very large cast, some plot-lines are not always fleshed out to the extent other shows are capable of. In fact, you might say it's quite an achievement that it's been able to do as well as it has. As a result there is quite a lot of head-canon out there to cross the gaps in information, that when disproven, seems to contribute to the hate-dom overall.

Also on another note, while Miles and Kerry, the writers of the show, are pretty good (at their best, e.g Volumes 3 and 6) they, along with many involved, are not seasoned hollywood veterans, which sometimes reflects in things like dialogue. The fact that in spite of everything, this show manages to be more interesting and engaging than half the live-action shows on television, I think says a lot about it.

TLDR: This show is called RWBY, and like it's title, it's an imperfect gem. There is definitely something magical about it's appeal, despite it's flaws. I recommend giving this indie show a try and sticking with it.

Unfortunately, I cannot say the same about it's "fanbase" (especially on sites like YouTube). If I were you I'd avoid it like the plague unless you're able to find a good smaller community to engage with.

Also one final note: Volume 4/5 have some pacing related issues. Before Volume 6 I would've given this show a 7/10, but afterward I can definitely say it deserves the 8/10 rating it has now.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An achievement beyond my comprehension
artur-artborg13 February 2016
I first became acquainted with the RoosterTeeth anime-not-anime when one of my Canadian friends posted the "Red Trailer" on facebook. I assumed it was a trailer for a video-game, but really liked what I saw. I watched the three successive trailers with much delight, but then managed to forget about the series.

Around late 2014/early 2015 I re-discovered the series, and absolutely adored the first volume. There was something about the notion of Red Riding Hood - aided by Goldilocks, Belle and Snow White - decapitating an enormous monster raven by means of a machine-gun-scythe that I found VERY enjoyable.

The second volume continued on the tradition of the first, becoming a highly entertaining and emotionally satisfying webseries masterpiece.

Since then, with Volume 3, Miles Luna, Kerry Shawcross, Gray G. Haddock and the rest of the geniuses over at RoosterTeeth have honoured the memory of the irreplaceable Monty Oum and crafted an unbelievable saga, a truly exceptional experience: well-conceived, well-written, well-directed, well- designed, well-acted, well-composed... I could go on for quite some time.

"RWBY" is, quite simply put, one of the greatest narrative achievements. Ever. Of all time.
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Just sit back and enjoy it for what it is :)
kungfu9997030 November 2014
RWBY is an anime style show from Rooster Teeth, the makers of other shows like Red vs. Blue. It's very simplistic yet at the same time very enjoyable! Writing in RWBY is just OK and the animation in vol. 1 was lacking...vol. 2 however has been a major improvement in my opinion. Vol. 2 still has writing that is alright but not great, but animation has improved and the fighting scenes are VERY fun to watch. Even with the not so great writing it manages to have cool characters with some of the most unique weaponry I've ever seen. Voice acting is sometimes a problem and can be a bit wonky or even cringe-worthy, however most of that has to do with the poor writing in most cases. Even with all the bad in it I still can't help but love it! Maybe its my love for Rooster Teeth but all I know is RWBY is very enjoyable if you just sit back, relax and don't judge too harshly. :)
17 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I am not a fan of rooster teeth
gman-066348 February 2016
I'm not a RT fan, however I am a RWBY fan. I understand if someone doesn't like it or it isn't there thing, although I urge anyone who wants to watch this to continue despite the "soso" beginning. Yes it has some major programming flaws for the characters movement in the first volume, but after that it improves greatly. In my opinion volume 3 is a masterpiece thus far (February 8). So I strongly urge you to continue at least to the beginning of the second volume. Then decide if you like the story itself or not, unlike some people who given reviews based off of the little they saw from volume 1. Unlike those with a biased opinion due to having seen other RT series like RVB (which I still haven't seen).
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprising
Dfilono29 November 2014
I've come to expect a lot out of Roosterteeth, and their attempt at an anime show worried me. The first episode of RWBY did have me worried, with a bizarre animation style and story. The action was cool and the voice acting spot on, but I was still worried. Now, I am through season 2 and I love it. The music is great, the story is interesting, and the animation fits the show perfectly. While the episodes are short, they do rival their TV counterparts in quality and length doesn't make a difference. RWBY is better quality than Cartoon Network shows and is definitely worth the watch. It stands up to RT's Red vs Blue, and is more family friendly. The main characters are very good and can be related to. This show is overall very awesome, but it does have an acquired taste. It isn't for everyone, but everyone should give it a shot.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sit down, shut up and watch for awhile
benjaminscheppmann11 September 2014
This show is amazing. The first season is a little hard to get through and seemed a bit lacking but I love it just the same. There are some animation glitches, voice acting bugs and what not but it's still amazing once you get past that.

Now the second season really gets better with animation quality and voice acting (still bugs and glitches in both but less) the story really gets good as well in recent episodes. Start with watching the character trailers and then the first episode. There's enough there for you to get hooked in. Points are only taken off for technical glitches and what not.

Trust me, I'm on the internet for hours each day.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I just could't stop watching
prothessden3 October 2014
The show was developed in a way that I would never expected.It's semi-3D style with shadows and shading distinguished itself from any other animations.The stylish style makes it look like Soda51's video games. There are voice-acting bugs and animation glitches.However,once you get past them,the setting,the characters would get you hooked in for a long time. The story goes smooth at a proper rate despite its short episode length.But everything about this show lives in the shadows of Japanese animations.Although RWBY might be struggling imitating Japanese animations,they did a great job keeping up.Nice work! The void acting and musics are another story.They are just as good as Disney masterpieces!
13 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
An incredible series as a whole, but has some issues that might detract from the amazing bigger picture and deter potential fans
purpleoj22 August 2018
I am a huge RWBY fan. With the combination of a very original idea, insane but believable fight scenes, and (normally) well-written characters that you either love or love-to-hate, it has the makings for a real hit. At the very least, I fell in love with it. However, there were some stumbles along the way that might turn off potential viewers.

The first - and most obvious - of these stumbles is the animation of the first and (at times) second season. Even the most avid RWBY fan will admit that the first season's animation is problematic. However, this problem is mostly remedied by the second season, and the third season is masterfully made. The fourth and fifth seasons use a different animation engine, which radically improves the overall look of the show while staying true to RWBY's core art style. Beautiful.

Another major stumble is the show's pacing and writing, especially during the fourth and fifth seasons. The one of the reasons behind this particular problem is because Monty Oum, the creator of the show, passed away in the middle of the third season. Without his vision, there are times where the show kind of slumps where it really shouldn't. Monty was also one of the show's primary animators, and as he choreographed many of the fight scenes, they also tended to suffer (although it seems that the creators of RWBY are stepping it up in this regard).

Apparently, many fans out there have problems with the voice acting. However, besides the rare display of Annoying Voice Syndrome and some occasional moments where I wish things were said differently, I've never really had any problems with the voice acting. To each their own, I guess.

Yes, this show has some problems. Yes, it isn't perfect. But you'll almost never find a show that meshes out-of-this-worle action, a compelling story, and feels to boot. IMHO, the show's strengths greatly outshine its weaknesses; without spoiling anything, there's a reason I gave this show a 9 out of 10. Come into this show with an open mind, and your mind will be blown.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Animation got a lot better after Season 1
derrikmullinjr10 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This show was a little questionable when I fist started watching it do to the very short episodes and choppy animation and no shading. As we get to season two the show time doubled, shading was added and the animation wasn't choppy anymore. Come Season three they mastered the art of computer animation and the shows story lined smashed together in a very good way. Bad reviews on here may have a point but rudeness is uncalled for. I see this show as very creative and also find it very sad that the creator died from a surgery failure half way through season two. I love the show and the story is good. It got very dark at the end of season three with two character deaths (Pyrrha Nikos and Penny Polendina) and then the severing of Yang Xioa Long's arm. A very good show over all
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A brand new flagship title for Rooster Teeth
abreadhoff19 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Out of the gate many familiar with rooster teeth should know that any project that comes out of Rooster Teeth Productions will have a lot of heart and soul behind it, and RWBY is no different. With Monty Oum as director, fantastic writers Kerry Shawcross and Miles Luna, a riveting score by Jeff Williams, and a passionate team behind them, RWBY will turn out to be a new flagship title for the Rooster Teeth Productions Studio.

Story-Taking place in the world of Remnant, the story follows Ruby Rose and her team members, Weiss Schnee, Blake Belladonna, and Yang Xiao Long, as they attend the prestigious combat school, Beacon Academy, in order to train to be Huntresses, master combatants who help protect the world from the creatures of Grimm, horrific monsters who try to destroy humanity, and other forces who wish to destroy peace.

Video-Animated with Poser Software and Motion Capture,the serious enjoys many movements and gestures, but occasionally suffers from some odd animations but are minor and forgettable. Characters designs are rich and unique many alluding to fairy tail elements and various other stories such as Joan De Arc or Hua Mulan. The action scenes in RWBY are eye candy and are beautifully rendered and smooth.

Audio-Another great score by Jeff Williams who will leave you wanting more, ranging from exciting rock scores to elegant orchestral pieces, the music is grand and adds much to the budding series. Sound effects are great and match many of the set pieces, weapons, and movement in the series.

Cast & Voice Acting-Many of the voices used in RWBY are in-house employees, but still provide a stellar performance. Newcomers include Lindsay Tuggey voicing Ruby, Kara Eberle voicing Weiss, Arryn Zech voicing Blake, and Barbara Dunkelman voicing Yang. Actors including veterans Shannon McCormick and Kathleen Zuelch who voice Professor Ozpin and Glynda Goodwitch respectively, director Monty Oum and Writer Miles Luna also provide voices in the characters of Lie Ren and and Jaune Arc. Other actors include many Rooster Teeth Staff such as Co-Founder Burnie Burns (Red Vs Blue), Micheal Jones (Achievement Hunter), and Joel Heyman(Red Vs. Blue) along with various other employees.

Episode Runtime: Around 12 minutes. Many episodes were divided into part which led to some discontent amongst fans, however in their full length the range from around 10 to 15 minutes a piece, with many episodes leading up into one another.

Overall:9.6/10 With some hiccups in animation and some episode being divided into parts, the series has left some undesirable traits, the series is still a joy to watch and listen to with its original storyline, great action, and beautiful score. The series overall has accomplished much with it limited development time, production not having started until near the end of season 10 of Red Vs. Blue, and and some videos being released showing updated models and animation, the future is bright for Rooster Teeths new series and I cannot wait to see what is in store for the future.
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome
darkspeed1113 October 2014
With the series almost half-way through the second season, I thought that this would be a good time to comment on the show.

First of all, I must admit that I had certain doubts about the show at the start. But it's developed in a way I would never have expected, and become one of my favourite shows currently airing.

Plot The development of plot as the series progresses is amazing. While initially somewhat slow, the plot is now developing at a steady rate despite the short episode length (15 minutes per episode is what the last few have been.) It's kept me hooked, and I've gotta say that season 2 is better than season 1 so far.

Animation The quality of animation is stunning. It's done in an anime style, but with a semi-3D style created with effective use of shadows and shading. It's dynamic, and for the most part motion seems natural, usually on exaggerated for comedic effect, and leaves nearly nothing to complain about. There have been a few kinks along the way that have been worked out (like the use of 2d animations in early episodes, which are no longer used) but that's to be expected of a new and developing style of show. Monty Oum has done an amazing job with his team. The fight scenes are quick and not hard to follow like some can be in other shows, and always keep you glued to the screen, yet the show doesn't have to rely on them to keep viewers, the story working with the animation and music does that.

Soundtrack This is amazing. From the theme songs which pull you in, to the background music which is never out of place and always follows with the tone of the show.

Overall, this show is amazing, and I expect much more to come.

Edit: With the end of Volume 2 I've found something interesting to point out. Despite the show being centred mostly around team RWBY, with JNPR getting less screen time and therefore less devlopment, I find the character of JNPR (Jaune, Nora, Pyrha and Ren) to be far more interesting than the fairly straightforward team RWBY. I kind of wish they'd switch the focus, as I really want to know more about and see more of these four characters.
9 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Everything comes too easy.
jaharow212 November 2019
I started watching this with my niece and had to stop. While the dialogue is entertaining I find the characters to be one dimensional..especially the males. There are no real challenges for the females as their all bad to the bone and can handle everything at all times.

This is one of those shows where there gonna say it's not for males (which makes no sense to me) because all the men are significantly weaker and Inept in comparison to all the females, to the point where it becomes annoying.

A show can have competent characters of both genders but based on this show males are either evil or inept. Its not something I'd recommend to any kids to watch as its very lopsided.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I REALLY WANTED TO LIKE THIS! BUT...
mkonyar25 January 2019
I've heard about this series and I've heard many good things about it, so naturally, I was curious. After watching it, I thought it was OK. But later on I started getting more and more frustrated because this show could've been so much more but it doesn't go that way. Season 1 is frankly unwatchable, even the fans say that too. Season 2 and 3 got better but that was because something was happening. Season 4 and 5 have better animation but it still goes no where with its narrative and it's very predictable. The voice acting was atrocious at first, but later on it got better, however Ruby's voice is very annoying (No disrespect to Lindsay).

And to be honest, the story is a mess and doesn't go anywhere. Any heavily arching story that goes on for 10 seasons is bound to be frustrating and bad. Stories like Avater TLA, Star Wars, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings and Steven Universe knew to keep their stories short and sweet (around 7 seasons at most). And it's not completely the writer's fault because the creator died (RIP Monty Oum), and these writers are trying to work off of bullet points he left for them and trying to make a story out of it. Kind of like what Spielberg did for AI after Kubrick died. Oh and the action is not all that good, but that's JUST me.

The fans also contribute to the problem. They hype it up like it's the next Star Wars or DBZ, but then it turns out to be average. The fan art and fan fictions I don't mind so much, but the shippings and the Hype surrounding it is very toxic and annoying. And you know what, while I enjoy anime's like DBZ, Code Geass, Death Note, Final Fantasy, Seven Deadly Sins, One Piece, and Naruto, I also happen to like shows that also have problems like Sword Art Online, Dragon Ball GT, and High School DXD. I even like the DC movies (even though they are littered with problems). But This show just doesn't do it for me and it upsets me how fans are too blind to see any of those problems and aren't saying anything about it. Maybe I'm wrong, maybe there are fans who think the same way, but I haven't seen them yet.

But why did I give 3 stars if I hate it so much? Because of a few reasons: One is that the world building and the concept of the show is phenomenal and creative. Second are the art designs of the characters and monsters, they are beautiful. Third, it's got a lot of potential to be amazing. And finally, I think it's very cool how the studio wants to finish the story to keep Monty's dream alive.

I wanted to like show, I mean I REALLY did! Unfortunately, I just find the show boring and wasted potential. If they are decide to make a second series like Dragonball Z and Super or Naruto Shippuden, where they aren't bound to plot points on a sheet of paper and they can do what they want, then I will check it out. But for now, it's not good enough to keep me invested and it sure the hell isnt going to interest me anytime soon.

If you like it, that's okay, you should be able to enjoy anything you see fit! But I hope you guys respect what I had to say and I hope that this show fixes its problems.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun, a bit lacking, and a lot of potential
Arogath_Oblivion20 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I went into RWBY almost entirely blind as to what it was, and I've just finished the first season in a single sit-down. What initially caught my attention were two things, the fight scenes I'd found in some amv's, and the weapon Ruby uses. The fight scenes are incredible, at least the bigger ones (my unquestionable favorite was the group fight against the bird creature). They're fluid, creative, beautiful, and exciting. Unfortunately, that's the only time I could call the animation any of those things, but it's my understanding this show doesn't have the highest of budgets, so I can let that slide quite easily. Ruby's weapon is one of the coolest things I've seen in recent years in terms of weapon design, and the styles of each character in the show are usually just as visually pleasing to match. I'd love to see what this show could do with more money in the aesthetics alone.

My main problems with the show were the voice acting and the writing. The voice acting ranged from pretty good to terrible, while the writing, at times, felt a little too contrived and forcefully "anime-ish" in style. I understand the show is meant to take from that form of media, but a lot of the stereotypical tropes it tries to pull come off as out of place and uncomfortable, which may possibly become less of a problem with a better voice cast and quality of animation - maybe. Some characters are better than others. I absolutely hate Yang's character and actress, while I love Nora's, Jaune's, and - at times - Pyrrha's.

Yang as a character is boring and predictable, her lines are delivered dryly, too quickly, or just poorly in general. So poorly, in fact, there were times I had to stop the episode and go back a few seconds to understand what she'd said. Nora is genuinely funny, Jaune's lovable and is, even though he suffers from some of the previously mentioned overused anime tropes/clichés, maybe the the most human and relatable character on the show. His relationship with Pyrrha is fun and often cute to watch, and they have great chemistry together. There were moments from all characters that made me roll my eyes or wonder who thought it'd be a good idea to fit that embarrassing line into the script, but nothing that made me want to turn it off.

Conclusively, I found the show to be worth watching, not only for what it is right now, but for what it might be in the future. If you like exciting battles, cute girls, and creative ways to make those cute girls do exciting things, I recommend it. If you want incredible writing and peerless acting, look elsewhere or wait until the show improves - which I think and hope it will.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Truly Has Lost Touch with What Made it Great
KingCritic29 July 2019
I feel like RWBY would be a much better show if it had ended with Volume 3. Yes we would have a million different questions un-answered, but considering where the next three seasons have gone and where Volume 7 is going to go, leaving an open ended inconclusive end to where the story was going to go is much better than a show that is a shell of its former self.

Sure the show was left with a cliffhanger that clearly teased a fourth season, but considering how cliched and boring the reveal ended up being and how little it impacted the characters' development, it might as well have been nothing.

RWBY was a show that truly had its heart and soul behind every aspect of its production. Even if it wasn't exactly professional or high budget, it at least tried. I'm only watching out of obligation to see where this ends at this point, not because I care or like the show now, which is not a good thing.

Let me recap each season quickly.

The first volume introduces the world and characters rather well although messily. Ruby Rose grew up reading tales of how Huntsman and Huntresses protect the world from evil and wants to train to be one, and will do anything to be a hero to keep fighting against the evil monsters called Grimm.

A bit cliche as we've seen this sort of main character a million times before but still, she's a good enough starting point for the show. Then she's enrolled at Beacon Academy, becomes the leader of a team of other Huntresses in training, her half sister Yang Xiao-Long, a stone cold heiress Weiss Schnee, and a mysterious introverted girl Blake Belladonna.

The first volume has some cool fights, but the animation, voice acting, and writing looks like a PS1 game and gets by by the skin of its teeth.

Sure the focus and execution is a bit all over the place, but it does enough to get you to like the characters and see where they go. How volume 1 ends is formulaic but still left me wanting more.

The second is essentially pure filler and set up for the third volume, but has enough cool fight scenes and character moments to get you to keep watching and feel invested. A weak season on its own, but cool and fun enough to be just that cool and fun.

The third is by far the show's peak. New characters, plot and character development, and stakes are introduced and the status quo is really changed. Before this point, where the plot seemed to be going and the tone and feel of the show really seemed to be clearly a fun little action romp with what're essentially character shorts in-between to give the action some background.

Then it all changes, that's all I'll say.

Volume 4 is when things start to get... bad. None of the interesting new character directions the girls were left with after the end of Volume 3 seem to impact them in any way. They don't really grow, change, or mature. They just sort of bumble along with the plot with the occasional action scene, which really has gotten worse since many of the animators of the previous volumes were either let go, fired, or passed away (Rest in Peace Monty Oum.)

So basically, you have a set of characters bumbling along with the plot while not really being developed in any way, with action that used be its selling point now thoroughly diminished.

But because the plot was pretty messy to begin with, and is now rushed, inconsistent and boring, and was never the highlight of the show, making it the selling point all of a sudden when everything else is mediocre at best is pretty strange.

You can see why the show has begun it's downward spiral (TM of Emplemon.)

The next Volume does not improve on this at all, as well as the sixth. Neither rectify the fourth volumes pacing and character development issues, instead it seems to amplify them.

There are some hidden gems in the rough though. My personal favorites in the mediocre boredom of Volumes 4-6 are between characters we've rarely seen interact such as Weiss and Yang, and Yang and Raven.

Unfortunately these scenes leave a lot to be desired, and the characters never build new dynamics because the show refuses to let them interact with each other in new ways. It's always Qrow and Ruby or Yang and Blake, never Ozpin and Blake or Weiss and Jaune who seemed to have a great dynamic that was suddenly dropped somewhere in Volume 2, or anything that you know, could be compelling?

I've talked about all these problems with RWBY, the worsened fight animation, weaker character writing and now boring plot, and I haven't even mentioned Rooster Teeth's questionable handling of the production and execution of its trademark and best known property. Now Volume 7 seems like it will as bad if not worse than the previous three, and I don't see any saving grace in all this except that people will eventually stop paying Rooster Teeth for pumping out this stuff on a rushed schedule when they're focusing on other products.

Final Thoughts: I hope that RWBY will pick up the slack, take it's time in creating new and interesting plot and character threads, deliver the same fun and tense action we got in the first three seasons, and actually stop and think about where it's going. But considering the past three Volumes, this seems to be wishful thinking. I really miss how the show used to be, now it seems realistic to call it a slowly worsening mess that people are watching in the hope that it will get better.

Final Score: 7.0/10 (Very close to a failing "D" grade). This show is barely passable because the first half and about half of its second half are pretty enjoyable once you overlook all of its problems. Needs some serious improvement, and am hoping to see it step up its game.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Let's stop pretending RWBY is awesome...
fadohacolu-451347 May 2016
RWBY is watchable. RWBY is enjoyable, even. In fact, I'm willing to admit that I really like the show.

However, RWBY does more things wrong than it does right.

First of all, the dialogue and characters are downright cringe- worthy awkward. At all times. Watching RWBY is like being at an anime convention, surrounded by people who are trying way too hard to behave "anime". The protagonist especially behaves this way. It almost feels like the creators of the show (who were clearly anime enthusiasts) put just a bit too much of themselves into the characters, instead of stepping back and simply creating art. They were living vicariously through the show they were creating.

Secondly, the animation is pretty rough in a lot of places, to the point of distraction. Watching the opening sequence really got me excited for this show, however usually the animations are akin to what you would expect to see on the cut scenes of a 3DS title. Not bad, just not... pleasing.

Thirdly, RWBY really tries to make itself into an anime, complete with all the tropes. Hell, the characters even attend a school. I have no issue with anime, but RWBY tries so hard that it seems to miss the potential it began with. The show could have been more interesting and more mature if it had avoided such an alarming amount of anime tropes and behaviors, and simply been itself.

All that said, I would certainly recommend watching it. It IS interesting, it IS different, and it's somewhat of an important meta-experience to watch an anime made by anime fans. It's like trying a new food. You might not like it, but the experience was worth it anyways.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
From a Roosterteeth fan of 10+ years
afrobeaves11 February 2016
I've followed Roosterteeth for a sizable portion of my life now, and while I want to talk about RWBY and what I view are its own merits and faults, this is still inevitability a factor and context in how I feel towards the show and the company. This may also alienate me from any (relatively) newer and younger fans, for which I can only ask for some understanding. I feel that since around 2011 - 2012 (Roosterteeth Generation II) that Roosterteeth is no longer the indie darling they were, and so I can't readily fall into the reasoning that they're some underdog and that their show has room for improvement. They have over twenty-times the employees they started with, with new employees and outside hires coming in every year and every season, and the only things that can attest to this is the drastic reiterations in RWBY's visual quality and new voice-actors per new season. But there's a certain tragic quality in that the story, which in my view should be the most important part, is the major problem, and that it should have been given a higher quality and care from the start. RWBY should have come out of the gates with a more competent sense of itself.

The story itself occasionally feels like it takes backseat to the action sequences, and that makes it seem like this show is merely a product to feed to their fans. Listening to the commentaries, the writers (Miles Luna and Kerry Shawcross) admit they write the show piecemeal at a time and thus trip over their own consistency (annual festival, the number of kingdoms). That attests more than anything else that what I am most disappointed in is the lack of care and attention given to the story, the characters, and their dialogue. The writing scheme feels reversed, so that the story/dominant plot points dictate the characters, which then dictates their individual dialogue. I find this to ironically be the very antithesis of the "individuality" speech given in Volume 2. Speaking about individuality does not necessarily make it individual nor unique, despite the variety of Gaia Online-looking characters throughout the show.

I can't help but feel that the writers are very fan-conscious who, even before writing the first draft perhaps, think of moments that would be "cool" to see rather than actually being unique or containing depth, or even being conjunct with the story, and this swiftly lends itself to the whimsy of cliché. Cliché harking back to previous anime and to general plot devices (blatant tripartite arcs, for example). All-in-all, they have a very poor and sloppy sense of scale which makes most new additions feel like a sore thumb.

This can be a fun show, but I cannot find much by way of depth. RWBY does not necessarily offer anything new, but it is giving anime clichés its own phrasing. I've heard the Harry Potter comparison before in that it's mostly akin to an internal drama or plot with fairy-tale influences being mostly peripheral. However, perhaps unlike Harry Potter, there is little to no feeling of progression in the seasons. Both not in the characters learning anything in particular, nor in them actually becoming stronger or smarter. At times the characters even seem weaker than they did since the forest scenes in Volume 1. I personally am not caught up in the excessively shallow fight scenes (referring especially to Volume 3), for there is little to no believable emotion behind them that the writers do not force in your face with a shameless banality fit for pre-teens. I am not taken in by the 3D animation, which to my mind should have given a wider range of imagination and practicality that 2D animation would find much harder to pull off (again a writer's mistake). Occasionally, the detail in the background environments can clash with the squishy-looking characters in the foreground, but that doesn't detract much. The composer is also very good in his orchestral work, though I far prefer his atmospheric work over his character-theme reprises during certain climaxes. The insert songs, however, are very artificial.

(**Slight spoiler territory) The largest and most illustrative issue I took to with the show recently is the warning they added into the description of the show during the last few episodes. The warning essentially states that the content rating has slightly changed and that anyone who shows it to their kids may want to watch it first and think it over for themselves. Now I have no problem with this so far, but they also justified it as a way of saying that as the characters in RWBY grow up, they acquire new and more mature perspectives over the years. This, in my opinion, shows how misguided the people who run show truly are. The content of a show is not at a complete unity with how we see and experience the show via its characters. That characters are rarely hurt or die until a certain point is not because of their perspective, it is the writer's content that existed underneath from before the very start. This post not only felt like it displayed more of an awareness in marketing than care, but it also gave an indirect spoiling of any spontaneity in the show. I have to ask the writers, is this show something so artificial like that, with the awkwardness of trying to guide the viewer and suggest how to feel and what to be excited about while also having only a vague notion of what you want to show them? It all rests upon the whimsy of their own emotion and cliché they derive from pop culture in themes and plot points that are hijacked and hardly given a new, individual life. improvements. No wonder they rely on their swansong of senseless fight scenes (V01E08) more than the system and logic of their own continuity. Fans deserve more.
10 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
The single most poorly animated TV show I have seen in my lifetime.
dejomasters23 February 2016
This show looks like an Indie game from the early PS2 era. It looks like it was animated by those companies who make ripoffs of Disney movies that you find at the dollar store. It looks like it was made by a 3-year old who just took a "My first animation" course, which he failed, because he's 3 and can't grasp the concept of computers yet. Things phase through each other like it's nothing, there's no shading, and, for being made for English voice actors, it makes it all the sadder that the lips movements never sync up with the dialogue. I have nothing against Rooster Teeth, I really don't, and my friends even recommended this show to me repeatedly, but I found the animation so jarring and uncanny that I can't give it anything more than 1 star.
21 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Entertaining to start, excited to see more!
Nyincanada22 January 2014
RWBY is definitely the kind of show that appeals to a certain kind of audience. I happen to like the fantasy genre and perhaps am biased towards it, but that doesn't change my opinion on the overall quality of the show. Roosterteeth is known for putting out quality internet humour and while this isn't their niche, I think that the show is really good for what it is. I've seen a lot of people on the internet hating on it, because it's "much lower quality than other animes" but that's because it's not trying to be on par with Japanese animation companies many of which have well established companies with hundreds of employees. Roosterteeth has approximately 25 people actually working on RWBY and considering the level of quality that comes from that, it's something to be in awe of. The show itself is a more creative style of animation using 3d rendered models instead of 2d drawings. The fight sequences are definitely the highlight of the show, with beautiful choreography and interesting aspects to the fights, such as weapons. The characters leave a little to be desired as they have not really gone into depth about their individual character traits, back stories or interactions between one another, but i expect them to be planning it for one of the upcoming seasons. All in all, RWBY is an amazing fantasy animation show that will provide plenty of entertainment now and in the future.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
About what I expected and still room to grow.
omarf199614 November 2013
Wow, I really don't understand the Rooster Teeth fan base raving on about this series. It's been enjoyable so far but no where near any animation series I have watched in the past. Obviously the people at Rooster Teeth have less budget than the regular cartoon/anime big shot company. But when watching this from an objective view and treating it like any other show I will say this.

  • Unique animation however it does look awkward to me in certain instances, this can be improved however as I said it's one season in. -Dialogue was passable whilst occasionally cheesy. - Characters still have room to grow. (not really a bad thing if I'm honest) -Fighting scenes were well choreographed but are often dragged and sometimes simply fodder driven with the occasional spark of creativity.


Overall I really liked it. A six star is a good rating I just don't think it deserves any more, obviously as a new series appears it can improve upon the score but as of now it's alright, it's no Red Vs Blue but soon enough it can reach those heights.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A little standard with an unplaceable special something
shadowaurax11 December 2013
I started watching the show out of sheer boredom one day after seeing the trailers and honestly I thought it was pretty wretched for the first episode or so, but I figured, since I gave Naruto back on cartoon network 5 episodes before discarding it, I may as well do the same here.

I don't regret the decision one bit. -

The show is certainly flawed; movement animations are stiff and a bit choppy, the story isn't looking to break into anything new(and frankly rushed character development a bit too quickly to be reasonable), and the voice acting instantly brought memories of 'Jill sandwich' to surface anew when I first heard it. Despite all this however, it has more promise than anything else I've seen recently.

There's something beautiful in the simple, but defined art style. The story leaves room to grow despite having and initial rush to it and while (as above) it's not breaking new ground, it's dancing on a sort of middle ground that's taking a bit from everything people have loved and putting it into a well made collage. The voice acting is up to improvement with time and the rather strange tone to it feels almost fitting by the end of the season. The animations may always seem a bit off, but I don't think you'll ever mistake RWBY for another show. -

Somehow this show grows on you, if you can get over the somewhat painful initial viewing. I'm definitely interested in what's to come in the future.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Actually Amazing
jdunn-325162 July 2016
Appears to starts as a semi-professional comedy series, and hides it's true colours throughout the first two volumes, where the more serious tones and emotional moments are few and far between, but in volume three and beyond it really shines, with mature storytelling, and a much darker tone.

The characters and location are fairly unique, with characters especially receiving development, becoming both three-dimensional personalities, and all are either likable, or 'love-to-hate.'

The animation is only good where it needs to be at first, getting better into volume two, and hitting a high standard for volume three. Likewise, the voice acting improves considerably as it progresses. The soundtrack is amazing throughout, and is worth a listen by itself.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Awesome Show! Deserves a Chance!!
mercfma24 October 2015
My first reaction was "..i think i could make something better in my 7th grade computer class..", but that completely changed as soon as it got to the first action scene and thats when i realized why this show has the hype and fans it does. The fight scenes are completely amazing, some of the best I've seen from any show but what brings it all together for that spine tingling effect is the freaking sick soundtrack perfectly sync'd with the amazing fight scenes(really all the scenes but its the fighting ones that really blow you away). Now the animation is the weakest part of the show in some aspects but its also part of the greatest, you can really feel how much effort was put into animating so many little details and then you can see where they kinda completely skipped some haha but the pros outweigh the cons. The music is absolutely stellar! The soundtrack can break or make any show and for this show it's its wings. The music will blow you away, make the hair stand up on the back of your neck, & literally make you feel like your going to squirm out of your body. The voice acting is amazing, the script is just so stupid and funny. Not many shows can smoothly keep you laughing but these guys are great at it, even when somethings not expected to be comical they'll have you chuckling. The story itself isn't deep at first but thats only because your still in the beginning of the story itself, the scene is just being set! There's so much potential for the characters development & the plot, i cannot wait for the seasons to come!

4/5:Why not 5/5? Animation is like a 3-3.5/5 sometimes and then others its like a 6/5, so this is my main point killer, but it does improve in the seasons to come. Music:5/5 Amazing, it makes the show what it is. Character Design: 4/5 Everyone is simple and yet unique, they really have a nearly perfect balance. Plot: 4/5 There's a lot of potential, so many places to go but not ahole lot revealed yet thus my hopes are high! Give this show a shot, i know the animation turns many people off instantly but if you give it that small chance i can almost guarantee you'll enjoy it far more than you thought you would have.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A great start
dartblaze18 November 2013
Warning: Spoilers
RWBY, the newest series from Roosterteeth, is far from perfect.

That said, for a supposedly amateur web series, it's pretty darn incredible.

Set in a world of magitech and highly implausible action scenes (read: everything is guns), RWBY follows a basic plot of a group of girls learning to fight monsters at a legendary academy. It may be fairly generic, but this is easy to overlook; they're clearly not going for a groundbreaking story-line here, and are instead focusing on RWBY being a tribute of sorts to a number of other shows.

Despite the fact that we've had an entire season thus far, the plot is still in its infancy; what we've had so far has been mostly establishing the characters and tossing out random, in-universe terms that we're apparently supposed to swallow without question. 'Dust', 'Aura', 'Semblances' and the like are casually mentioned then brushed aside, as if they were self-explanatory, leaving the viewer somewhat in the dark. Given the brevity of the episodes, however, this lack of exposition is forgivable, for now at least, particularly since it means we get more action.

Oh yes. The action. One aspect in which RWBY is nearly flawless. Monty Oum has certainly outdone himself with the fight scenes. Each one is meticulously crafted and an absolute joy to watch (and re-watch...and re-re-watch...). Sure, it's slightly unlikely that a teenage girl with arms smaller than pool noodles could rip of a giant bird's head with a scythe bigger than her body, but hey. The world of RWBY makes it plausible.

The characters, despite there being little time for development, are mostly likable, though the show doesn't seem to be able to make up its mind as to who deserves the starring role. Ruby herself seems to fade from prominence as the spotlight is passed from one character to another (never stopping on Yang, unfortunately, who out of the four girls is probably the one with the most personality). However, it is nice to see the supporting team (JNPR) have their time in the limelight, if only to ease the constant threat of RWBY transforming into a 'girl-power' series (given Monty Oum's involvement, I think we were all fairly surprised that there were actually going to be male characters. With speaking roles, no less).

The animation acquits itself fairly well, though not without a few awkward blips that could've done with some polishing. Most of the attention in this area is given to the fight scenes, which are rendered beautifully, whilst ordinary scenes can have their fair share of wooden movements and (on occasion) Voldemort-level awkward hugs.

Finally, the voice-acting is, for the most part, acceptable. The voices of the four main girls are well-suited, whoever is behind the voice of Roman Torchwick deserves an Oscar, and a majority of the supporting characters are at least bearable. There are a few wooden performances behind some of the lesser parts, but these are easily ignored.

Overall, RWBY may be just starting out, but it's made a fantastic start. If it wants to keep developing, it's going to have to start expanding on its own universe; maybe stop every now and then to define a few key terms. However RWBY's action scenes are second to none, its main cast likable and ripe for growth, and the groundwork for future plot lines has been nicely laid. The team behind the show definitely deserve praise for their efforts thus far. Now all that remains to be seen is what they'll do with season 2.

(if you're looking for suggestions, maybe make the episodes longer. Waiting a week for less than four minutes is agonising).
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed