The One I Love (2014) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
91 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Good episode of the Twilight Zone
voyou-703-65535028 August 2014
I rarely watch a romantic comedy, and I wouldn't have watched this one based on the IMDb plot description, so thanks to the then 15 reviews that changed my mind. That was a very pleasant hour and a half.

I like to be told a story, and that's what the movie does. This story is completely centred around its characters, the young couple next door, portrayed with simplicity and in a way that lets us relate and empathise. They also act and react like sane and sensible people, which is so uncommon nowadays that it's worth mentioning.

I'll sum it up as both intriguing and amusing, a double source of entertainment. One way to achieve that is to confuse the viewer as much as the protagonists. A very right thing to do, and done in the right proportion in my opinion. We can get confused for a minute, yet we always understand what's happening. There is also a constant undertone of drama. The ending alone can be felt very differently based on our mood of the moment.

Rich writing and solid delivery can satisfy you on several levels. A theatre screen is not necessary though; renting it is fine if you're on a budget.
71 out of 89 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
From Malcolm McDowell's son...rom com grows a brain
bob_meg24 August 2014
It's hard to relay the joy I felt watching The One I Love, Charlie McDowell's first full-length feature. It's the kind of film you'll remember for a long time because it breaks so many boundaries. It's the kind of film Spike Jonze might come up with, minus some of the academic pretensions he sometimes clings to.

The trailer for The One I Love is almost perfect. It doesn't spoil the premise of the film, and neither will I.

Mark Duplass (who also produced along with his bro, of course) and Elizabeth Moss are excellently cast as Ethan and Sophie, two not-so-newlyweds who are encountering all too typical problems "relating."

At the suggestion of their therapist (Ted Danson, in a just-right cameo) they spend a weekend at a rather large rental house, unsuspecting of the lengths their counselor is willing to go to in order to motivate them to "connect."

The One I Love is a high-wire act by anyone's standards. The script is especially brilliant, but it doesn't spit its brilliance in your face constantly and then ask for your approval with laughter or the occasional tear. Instead, it dabbles in elements of Sci-Fi and Fantasy but doesn't let the main characters (or the audience) off easily by subjugating the human story to questions of logistics. In other words, this isn't a movie for the compulsively left-brained and anal. The performances and plot are engaging enough to make you accept this often absurd but always engaging film for what it is.

It takes guts to break the rules, even more talent to make it work. With The One I Love, Charlie McDowell seems destined to reprove the adage that talent runs in the family.
65 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Pretty outstanding
Red_Identity17 August 2014
Boy, was that so not what I expected. That's all I'm going to say though, anything else would be a disservice to those who haven't seen it. All I'm going to say is that it's a splendid film. Endlessly intriguing with some superb writing and directing, and two absolutely fantastic leading performances. I remember Mark Duplass from Your Sister's Sister, and he's even better here. A guy to watch out for. The main reason I sought this out was because of Elisabeth Moss, who's already given one of my all-time favorite female performance on television with Mad Men. I was pretty excited to see her for the first time in a film, and as a fan, she still surprised me. She's enormously talented, and her work here isn't unlike her work in Mad Men. She's subdued, and always giving the impression that she's portraying so many different facets of her character beneath the surface. If Duplass is great, Moss adds that extra dimension that makes her work here nothing short of outstanding. It's the best female performance I've seen all year, if maybe only rivaled by Johansson's turn in Under The Skin. And, well, the entire film is one of the best I've seen this year. I strongly recommend this, and recommend everyone sees it without knowing too much about it.
50 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Unique and Superbly Executed Relationship Study.
readybrek8225 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Pros: - Two incredible central performances from Mark Duplass and Elisabeth Moss. Both of them overcame the challenge of having to play two very similar but crucially different characters each.

  • A refreshingly new study of relationships. Themes such as the idea that both a husband and wife are different people during the courting period/start of the marriage than they are years into the marriage. Also, the theme that everyone behaves differently depending on who they are with and that flaws in a relationship can be a good thing and that a perfect relationship isn't necessarily the happiest one.


  • The tonal balance between drama and comedy is admirably achieved by first time director Charlie McDowell.


  • Writer Justin Lader's script also contributes this and is both very real and refreshingly, playfully profane at times.


-The existing music and originally composed score both do an equally admirable job in achieving this tonal balance.

-The subtle aesthetic differences between the clothing and accessories of the four main characters is cleverly used to avoid confusing the viewer and to accentuate the similar but uniquely different personalities of the four main characters.

-The almost photobook perfect setting is the ideal staging ground for the dark and dramatic events that unfold later in the movie.

-Ted Danson has a short but sweet cameo.

Cons: -The movie is caught somewhere between fully explaining the science fiction elements of the story and not explaining them at all. The movie would've worked perfectly fine without any explanation of the phenomena but once the scene with the laptop popped up, it should've fully explained things or otherwise should've been cut.

-Sometimes the interactions between the characters and issues touched upon got to be annoyingly familiar and repetitive.
24 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the most original movies to come out in a while. I loved it & highly recommend this. Just don't tell anyone about the twist
cosmo_tiger2 November 2014
"We had two completely separate experiences with each other that neither of us remembers." Ethan (Duplass) and Sophie (Moss) are married and are having problems. When their therapist recommends a weekend getaway they jump at the chance. The night starts off great with a romantic dinner but then things start to happen to each other without the other one remembering. What starts off as confusion becomes something that no one can or wants to believe. This is a movie that can not be spoiled. The trailer does not give the main idea away and if you have seen it please don't tell anyone else about it. The only way to describe this is that it has a very Twilight Zone feel to it. This is not a typical romantic comedy or even drama. What I will say is that this is one of the most original movies that have come out in a while and I absolutely loved it. This is a movie that must be seen and recommended but not described. Much like the sixth sense it will be ruined if you know the twist. Overall, one of the most original movies to come out in a long time. I loved it and highly recommend this. Just do not tell anyone about the twist. I give this an A.
37 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
You can't always get what you want
ferguson-620 August 2014
Greetings again from the darkness. Starting out with a typical marriage counseling session, director Charlie McDowell and writer Justin Lader lull us into a movie-going comfort zone based on our experience with such Hollywood fluff as Hope Springs and Couples Retreat. All that should be said at this point is ... not so fast!

A crumbling marriage and the subsequent lack of success with communication, leads therapist (Ted Danson) to recommend a weekend alone at a private country estate. The twists and turns that await Ethan (Mark Duplass) and Sophie (Elisabeth Moss), take marriage counseling to an entirely new spectrum. Sophie wants to reignite that early relationship spark and Ethan just wants things back to normal.

The setting does justice to the legend of beautiful California real estate, but things aren't all they seem as Ethan and Sophie bounce back and forth between the main house and guest house. It's in these moments where the big relationship questions are addressed ... and the script is smart, funny, creative and dark. It's not likely anyone can watch this without having some inner dialogue, and probably even some real discussion afterwards.

Mark Duplass ("The League", Safety Not Guaranteed) and Elisabeth Moss ("Mad Men") not only carry the film, but also take on significant responsibility with wide-ranging personality traits and subtle physical changes. Duplass is exceptional and easy for most guys to relate to in how he handles the challenges. While I've never been a big fan of Ms. Moss, her performance here is quite impressive. Whether "together" or "apart", they complement each other nicely.

The closest comparison I have for this one is Ruby Sparks (2012), but this one will have you questioning what makes a relationship work and what should we really expect in our partner. The idea of recapturing the initial spark is absurd, but that doesn't lessen the need for realistic expectations. For the first feature from director Charlie McDowell (son of Malcolm McDowell and Mary Steenburgen) and writer Justin Lader, the unique and creative approach to such a complex topic make these two people to keep an eye on.
30 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"A bit different" and excellent
MovieSonic19 October 2014
I really enjoyed this film. It makes a refreshing change to all the comic book, action, romance, vampire, tween-type films out there most of which I do enjoy but it's nice to watch something a bit different every now and then.

What I enjoyed the most was the simple storyline and the wonderfully subtle acting. There was no convolution, there were no red herrings, the story progressed at a good pace and there were no over the top acting moments.

The gist of the story is that a couple are struggling in their marriage and they go away together for a nice weekend. Things quickly get strange after that. And that's all I'm going to say. Don't watch any trailers or read up on the storyline because films like this are really only enjoyable because of the mystery and atmosphere they build while watching. If you already know what's coming, it massively takes away from the enjoyment.

The entire story develops really well from beginning to middle to the end although whilst it was a good and fitting ending for the film, I have to say that I personally didn't like it. I'm not going to say anything to spoil it just that I didn't think the ending made sense after the speech the husband gave just a short while earlier. I wish they had spent more time figuring out a more unusual ending which would complement the film and leave a lasting impression. Also, I wish they had explained more about the therapist but overall the film is unique and interesting enough that these small flaws really don't matter.

9/10
26 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Fun, farcical doppelgänger tale devolves into weak Twilight Zone-like episode in second half
Turfseer6 February 2015
Warning: Spoilers
"The One I Love", a successful entry at the Sundance Festival, was released for a limited run in August of 2014. It was originally conceived as a 50 page script by Justin Lader and director Charlie McDowell fashioned it into something longer, after encouraging the principal actors, Mark Duplass and Elisabeth Moss, to improvise.

Lader's script veers between farce and science fiction. The first half is more farcical and reveals a coterie of truths concerning relationships between men and women. The second half is less successful, with an unfortunate attempt to emulate "Twilight Zone." The story begins with great promise. A troubled couple, Ethan and Sophie, are seeing a therapist (Ted Danson) in order to re-establish some kind of intimacy in their relationship. The therapist recommends a weekend retreat to a secluded estate.

Andrew O'Hehir of Salon Magazine describes where each of the two principals are at when they arrive at the estate: "Ethan has the wounded pride of a guy who thinks he has done quite enough apologizing and now suspects he'll never get anything right; Sophie has the prickly, passive-aggressive demeanor of a woman who's searching for the guy she fell in love with but isn't sure he still exists."

The story becomes quite engaging with the inciting incident, when Ethan insists that the good sex Sophie claims occurred the night before, never happened. Soon Ethan and Sophie discover that there are Ethan and Sophie doubles who have been pretending to be them whenever they enter a guest house by themselves.

Both doubles are supposed to be idealized versions of their real counterparts but Ethan's double is much more distinctive than Sophie's (it's much easier to recognize him since he doesn't wear glasses, unlike the real Ethan). Double Ethan impresses Real Sophie when she discovers him painting her portrait—when she finds the portrait a bit dour, he owns up to being a "lousy painter." Real Sophie is disarmed by his honesty. Later, Double Ethan admits to his earlier infidelity (the main cause of their marital discord) and Real Sophie completely falls for him after he promises to make amends.

Screenwriter Lader shows a great talent for farce with his depiction of Real Ethan's burgeoning jealousy. The fun stuff reaches its apotheosis when Real Ethan enters the guest house pretending to be Double Ethan and makes love to his real wife. Elise Nakhnikian of Slant Magazine understands that Lader's script is getting to something much more serious underneath the lighthearted goings-on: "It's an inventive way to surface issues like how romance tends to lose its spark and people tend to get set in their ways in long-term relationships, becoming less attentive and appreciative of one another—and how the bad feelings let in by a breach of faith can harden into an impassible barrier."

Unfortunately, around the mid-point, the fun dissipates as the doubles reveal themselves as a "team" and meet real Ethan and Sophie at the main house. Double Ethan is no longer the "new and improved" Ethan and reveals Real Ethan's deceit when he took his place and made love to Real Sophie. The bizarre socializing (including a dull poker game) slows down the manic proceedings and it feels that the earlier premise has been altered and the narrative has now worn out its welcome.

Double Sophie soon provides Real Ethan with a convoluted explanation as to what's happening. As the doubles repair their relationship, they'll be allowed to leave but as the real Ethan and Sophie continue to bicker, they'll remain trapped. Nonetheless, Double Sophie volunteers to help Real Ethan and Sophie escape as she doesn't want Double Ethan to run off with Real Sophie.

The Twilight Zone-like explanation that the doubles are real people planted by the therapist doesn't appear to be worked out very well. Nakhnikian in Slant Magazine feels that the explanation "raises distracting questions." She asks, "How do the doppelgängers manage to look so much like Sophie and Ethan? How does the therapist keep them trapped in the guest house? And who's the therapist and why is he playing God like this?" The ending is equally unsatisfying as Real Ethan runs off with one of the Sophie's merely on his gut feelings; as it turns out (SUPER SPOILERS AHEAD) he chooses the wrong one. Meanwhile, Double Ethan remains unconscious at the estate after running into an unexplained force field that suddenly pops up, as he attempts to run away.

"The One I Love" could have assuredly utilized a better explanation for the presence of the clone-like doubles at the estate. That way the premise could have been more convincing, based on some kind of verisimilitude. At a certain point the fun is lost, and the narrative turns a tad bit nasty. Still, "The One I Love" is a very promising start for the first time writer and director.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not what I expected... it was better!
richard_robinson_89 August 2014
This is listed on our cable service as a romantic comedy. It's not, it's better than that.

I agree with other reviewers that the less you know about it the better. It has what all great movies have - it makes you, no, it actually lets, you think about yourself, other people, and emotional situations in new and different ways.

Hard to believe you can get all that out of a such a small cast and such limited locations. Many thanks to the writer, the director, and the editor. Please, does anyone know where this was filmed??

Give this movie a watch and you'll see.
36 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
WAAAY more cynical than it seems
charmadu1 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This is a film that totally sneaks up on you. It starts out as a boring, straight, white, well-off couple goes off to "refresh" their troubled marriage at an idyllic California-looking private retreat. In the end they each willingly choose a Fantasy Image of their partners over their real partner. For Sophie that means choosing a Fantasy Ethan who appears on the surface to be more attentive to her and for Ethan, that means choosing a Fantasy Sophie - a bona fide Stepford who will go along with whatever/whenever/however he wants. The Real Ethan is so clueless, he can not even distinguish between the Fantasy Sophie and his own wife. But of course, it's the real Sophie who gets the short end of the stick - there is no reason to think she won't be betrayed (again)by the Fantasy Ethan (who has betrayed the Fantasy Sophie) in the future and now it is she who is trapped in the Guest House.
30 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Works for about 45 minutes, but can't sustain a feature running time
TheMarwood20 October 2014
The One I Love isn't the easiest film to review without giving too much away, so I'll be brief with the details. A couple who are coming apart at the seams, are given a getaway destination by their therapist to heal their relationship and rekindle their passion for one another -- but this is no ordinary destination. In what would be a great short film or half hour TV slot, this runs completely out of steam by the 45 minute mark and drags its repetitive corpse with its thin narrative threads to the feature finish line. It tries to deconstruct a failing relationship with a clever gimmick, but has nowhere to go but in circles and just becomes obnoxious. This feels more like a filmmaking exercise than an actual film and Moss and Duplass don't feel believable as a couple - there's little content for them to work with and they can't outwit a gimmick that has nowhere to go.
47 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Playful, Surprising and Ambitious, It's Not Your Typical Romantic Comedy
drqshadow-reviews12 November 2014
A forehead-wrinkling bit of relationship fantasy that'll stick in your teeth for days. I found a lot of thematic similarities between this one and Being John Malkovich. Though it's not nearly so dark and grim about it, The One I Love delights in asking similarly deep, puzzling questions about the root of an unhappy relationship and the sense of futility that's so often associated with mending something so broken. Of course, like Malkovich, it's also based around a weird, jolting plot device that skirts explanation for its own benefit. The real allure of that vehicle, of course, isn't with the solemn inspection of its construct, it's with the games it directs with the main players. Usually I'm the first to complain when such an elephant is left ignored in the back of the room, but in this case (if you'll excuse the string of metaphors) I think it would be a case of missing the forest for the trees. It's not perfect - the false-finish is telegraphed and the second act sags at times - but it deserves praise for trying something so fresh, and for evenly exploring both sides of the central relationship. Men will see the movie one way, women will see it another, but both will leave with a better understanding of the other's perspective.
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Don't read this or any other review!
soncoman7 May 2014
Well, OK. Read this one.

I just caught this film at the 57th San Francisco International Film Festival. It was a last minute addition to the Festival program, and it was probably the best film I saw there (though my attendance this year was, admittedly, limited.) After an evening of seeing two mediocre films, I was seeking out something to end the evening on a high note. Playing at 9:15 was a film entitled "The One I Love" starring Mark Duplass, Elisabeth Moss and Ted Danson. As there was nothing in the program about the film, I grabbed the ol' smart phone and started to do some research. The first thing I found was a plea to STOP reading about the film and JUST GO SEE IT. Needless to say, I found this very intriguing… so I did just that. And I was glad that I did. I will say little about this film and what I do say may not generate any interest in the film for you, but if you like films with terrific performances and an original thought behind them, then consider checking this film out when it plays in your area.

Duplass and Moss play a married couple whose relationship has grown stale. Seeking the help of a therapist (Danson, whose on-screen time is probably less than five minutes), they agree to go on a retreat and try to rediscover and reignite the feelings they once had for each other.

And that's where I have to stop.

Screenwriter Justin Lader was in attendance and had a great Q&A session with SFFS Programmer Rod Armstrong and the audience but I can't even discuss THAT as it too would spoil your complete enjoyment of this film. Hell, I went looking for a trailer to post for the film before I realized that there isn't one because… well, you know what trailers usually do.

So take a chance. Resist the urge to figure out what I'm NOT trying to say. "The One I Love" is the kind of movie that can generate hours of post-film discussion, particularly with your significant other. If you love movies, then you should respect that.

www.worstshowontheweb.com
24 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Solaris without the sci-fi
Tenate916 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Starts off well… and then dips it's toes straight into complete 'pedestrian' nonsense. It feels like a play, adapted or 'expanded' for cinema. With only two protagonists, the actors have to be good - or at least convincing?

Miss.Moss, I like her, can relate to her, imagine her to be sparky and interesting off screen. She's not the greatest actress, but I'm sold on her.

Mr.Dull, sorry, Mr.Dulpass on the other hand… well, what kind of actor is he? A comedian, an anti-hero, an everyman or a leading man. Is he a good actor, is he even likable? My opinion, for what it's worth… is that maybe he should stay behind the camera, or well away from cinema altogether? There are two of him in this film and that's 'two' too many.

The film is pleasantly shot, it feels like a sophomore effort, or a clichéd film school... "got to have a twist"project. If you can't fathom the ending, by half an hour in mark... you've probably had a recent lobotomy.

In conclusion…yes, the person we might 'magically' want our partners to be, isn't actually who they really are. So, if they were suddenly our 'idolised image of perfection' …they wouldn't be, who they once were. In fact, our loved one... would now be a stranger to us. But I don't think you need this film and especially the presence of Mr.Dull, to tell us this.
18 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Great surprise but that's quite just it
Seraphion21 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The story is about how Ethan and Sophie's marriage is on the brink of divorce, so they go to a marriage counselor, who then sends them on a holiday at a country house. One night they fight because after having an intimate intercourse, Ethan denies Sophie he had the same experience. They let it go that night but when the the subject reemerges the next morning, Ethan, suspecting something, then goes to search the house. They then find that there are two people, who are their exact copies. They scoot out of the place at first. But due to sheer curiosity they come back and each take 'sessions' with the copies of the spouse. They both soon find that the copies are the better version of them. Ethan can shake away the temptation to 'cheat' with Sophie's copy, but Sophie gets more and more attracted to Ethan's copy.

He then take Sophie and confront the copies. Ethan's copy considers that the whole condition is just something ordinary. Ethan's copy asks the group to go on hiking, which Ethan and Sophie's copy declined. Sophie's copy tells the truth that there can only be two people leaving the place, and that she is not willing to have Ethan's copy to leave with the real Sophie. With Sophie's copy, Ethan sneaks in and talk Sophie out of going. Ethan's copy, after a brief confrontation with Ethan, storms out to go out on his own. But he is stopped at the gate. Ethan then takes Sophie, one of the Sophies, to leave the country house, while the other Sophie is kind of stunned watching the whole ordeal. Back in their house, Ethan and Sophie get their marriage back on track, or is it the real Sophie?

I like the surprise of the copies that the movie presents. I've seen the similar concept depicted on the movie +1 (2013). But this movie takes it a bit further by exploring more on the side of relationship between the real persons and the copies. But it also can kind of makes it a little bit harder to follow which ones are the real persons and which are the copies, due to there are many scenes with fast flow where the characters changes clothes.

The mood of the entire movie is, unlike +1, is kept at the lonesome gloom. While on the other hand the pace of the story flow is done interchanging from slow to fast to slow again. Yet they're done predictably, enabling the viewers to barely hold on to the story despite it's quite absurd nature. The terminal twist after the confrontations are also a nice touch to the whole story. They make the movie quite worthy to be mention as a mystery genre movie.

An the acting side, Both Mark Duplass and Elisabeth Moss did just an okay performance. Their performance wasn't any special because the viewers still find a bit of difficulty in distinguishing between the real characters and the copies, beside the help of the physical distinctions.

My opinion for The One I Love (2014) is that it's worth a recommendation to go and see. It's just regrettable that the surprise element is juts it's only fun factor, thus I give it only a 6 out of 10 score.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Premise interrupted
nancyldraper27 June 2019
An interesting premise, or was it? To my mind, it had the beginning of a unique premise but they didn't work out the how the the premise worked. It didn't have an internal logic. SciFi films don't have to be real but they do have to build (and then be faithful to) an internal structure, which I don't think this did. And, the final twist was entirely predictable. The beginning was boring and poorly written. I thought there was little chemistry between Sophie and Ethan. But the middle was interesting. Not resolving the premise was the problem for me. So, poor beginning, predictable ending without resolving the underlying mystery - I give this film a 6 (fair) out of 10. {SciFi Mystery}
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Not what I expected...
MaximusNerdous23 October 2014
I was in the mood for something light hearted as it's been a tough week. Comedy, drama, and romance; sounds like it should fit the bill right? Wrong.

Comedy. Little to none unless you think awkwardness is funny.

Drama. Yep, lots of that.

Romance. I guess, but not really.

I'm not going to say this was a bad movie. I don't care for Mark Duplass as a leading man, but he managed to eek it out. It had a fresh and unique story (other than the total lack of explanation of the situation).

However, I carefully chose this movie for the mood I was in and was not happy it turned out to be falsely advertised. Whomever categorized this movie really dropped the ball...

I believe the most important thing a movie should do is entertain. In the end, I walked away disappointed and even more sour than when I walked in.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
For the curious...
roberthmyers11 August 2014
Since I can't discuss the plot, what i'll do is attempt to outline if you're a person who would enjoy this film - ready?

If you're OK without being told everything that will happen in the first ten minutes, and why it's happening by the end of the first act, you'll dig this film.

The acting is phenomenal and a true accomplishment. The film has an overall; fun, playful, introspective vibe that will more than satisfy those that enjoy a little philosophy in their movie-watching experience.

If you enjoy a nice tidy narrator-granted set up to the plot and the a giant arrow pointing to what's going to happen at the end, like so many Hollywood tropes, this is NOT the film for you. Please, try and find your ROM-com fix in the next Katherine Heigl vehicle.

Did you finish college and even enjoy some of your classes that required original thought? Do you enjoy be challenged and saying things like: "what?!!? - no seriously, WHAT?!?" during the course of some films you watch? Are you OK with not getting 100% satisfaction at the end of a film and being left to draw your own conclusions about aspects of the what you just saw - and then WILDLY enjoy the ensuing discussion with your friend/husband/wife/fellow viewer? If you answered yes to any of these, this is worth your time and you won't be able to shut up about it to everyone you know/work with/ever met... just don't ruin it for them.
10 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Interesting concept wasted on this slow paced, dull film.
d_m_s9 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
The One I love started off pretty interesting after the couple that are the focus of the film are sent to a country house by their psychiatrist to try to patch up their differences.

I recently watched Coherence and this film went a bit Coherence-y when the couple discover an alternate version of themselves living in the guest house of the country home.

Although the 'rules' are never explained, it seems (in the beginning at least anyway) that only one of the couple can go in at a time and whichever one goes in sees the alternate version of their spouse. In other words, whenever the husband goes into the guest house he only ever sees the alternate version of his wife but never himself, and vice versa.

This makes up the bulk of the film, with them each taking turns at going in and interacting with the alternate version of their spouse. It's here that the pace slows and the whole thing becomes quite dull and repetitive. I lost interest quite early on and the film never got any better. At the end the alternate versions of them reveal that they knew what was going on the whole time and that in order for the alt versions to leave the guest house which they are trapped in, the original versions of the couple must take their place. What complicates matters is that the original version of the wife is falling in love with the alternate version of the husband, which was pretty predictable. The ending, where it turns out the husband unknowingly left with the alternate version of his wife was obvious and predictable too.

Overall I was pretty disappointed with this film. Like Coherence, the concept was good but it was executed poorly.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Quantum disentanglement?
The_late_Buddy_Ryan7 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
A Netflix reviewer suggests that anyone who gives this film a bad review "has never really loved." That's way harsh, dude!

I'm glad folks are enjoying this one, destined to be a cult favorite, but we started to tune out at about the halfway mark. The suspense-fantasy plot is ingenious but a bit coldblooded and not really all that involving past a certain point, IMHO. I felt like the screenwriter was making the audience work too hard while letting himself off the hook by invoking some supernatural agency—sorcery, quantum entanglement or whatever it's meant to be ("alien technology" as someone suggested on a bulletin board?).

Elizabeth Moss is always watchable—big props for an improv scene where she explains how a set of matryoshka dolls all have different personalities—but Mark Duplass is a little stolid, doesn't really have the chops to play (spoiler alert!) a tricky double role like this. Here, I think, the script is partly at fault, since the two sets of characters aren't all that sharply differentiated to begin with—compare the alternate versions of Nicholas Cage in "Adaptation," for example.

Apart from being the director's stepfather, Ted Danson seems like the perfect choice for the sketchy marriage counselor, kind of a rehearsal for his meatier role in "The Good Place." What's his (the therapist's, not Ted's) percentage in all this, btw? I admit that now that I've spent some time writing this review and scrolling through loony screeds on IMDb, I might watch this one again to see if it really holds up
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Falling in and out of love can often be the same thing.
schmdal25 October 2014
It's not often that I give a movie a 10/10, but this is an incredible exception. I stumbled upon this film a few weeks ago while researching Duplass, as I have been a huge fan of his show "The League", since it's first season and enjoy supporting the it's actors in the other works. I had no knowledge of the premise of this film going in other than the fact that it was a dramatic movie with a sci-fi twist. I've read a few reviews that state how dull the introduction and plot development is, but without giving away any spoilers, getting into the last quarter of the film the first 2/3 become so extremely vital, that the action becomes thrilling, I found myself on several occasions with an elevated pulse, and cheering for Duplass's character who seems to be trapped literally and figuratively. Overall this films is tremendous and to the right viewer, will be refreshed by the creative blend of a stock drama and a sci-fi thriller.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Good story but Too Indie
petitepearl28 September 2014
I recently watched The One I Love.

First of all this movie has been floating around with a very elusive plot and very few details about it have been shared since it wishes to remain a secret until you have watched it for yourself.

This of course intrigued me as it would anyone else and is genuinely a very clever marketing technique. I'm sure I could have searched Google and found out more about its actual plot without much trouble, but where's the fun in that? I decided to watch it instead.

The one thing that caught my attention first was the music and sounds. It was very simple and consisted of noises rather than actual melodies. Hallmarks of a truly hipster atmosphere. I can't say I particularly liked it; it did not provoke any particular emotions in me as maybe it was intended to. Most of the time there was no music playing but rather the sounds of the actions performed, which is all fine and good only the sounds were almost too loud, as if the sounds were echoing in an empty room. You could hear the fuzz from the microphones as if they had the overall volume turned up too high. It reminded me of the really cheesy low budget hallmark movies that display similar sound quality. For me, sound is a critical factor in movies and with this movie its sounds proceeded to make me feel awkward, as if I was watching someone's home-video. The sounds themselves basically broke the fourth wall for me and thus I could not become as fully immersed in the movie, let alone get emotionally attached to the characters.

Speaking of the characters now both Elizabeth Moss' and Mark Duplass' performances were sub par. I will admit though that Mark Duplass was the better actor of the two. They seemed very awkward with each other, not in the sense that they needed to be as a couple having difficulties in their relationship, but in the sense that they acted out their parts as if they were being filmed. If you can tell an actor is acting, then they're doing something wrong. Yet again this breaks the fourth wall for me and makes their performances seem halfhearted. Moss seemed to be the most awkward of the two because Duplass seemed to be capable of portraying a wider spectrum of emotion in his acting.

Without giving anything away, it was simple enough to follow along with the plot though it leaves the "whys" and the "hows" unexplained when the couple stumbles upon their unusual dilemma. The "whys" and "hows" are clearly not what the movie wants to focus on though. Instead it focuses on the way relationships change and can become stale over time. It tests the character's ability to love one a other and shows that these characters discover things about themselves and about each other that they were not aware of.

This movie's overall message was pretty good and was told in a way that has not been done yet, but the mechanics of the movie and the actors altered the final score I gave it. This is simply because I believe half of the movie's function is to deliver a believable and well put together work of art to go along with its story. If the actors were able to deliver a more emotional performance I would have enjoyed it a bit more.

Verdict: 5 out of 10
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Best way to describe The One I Love: Comedic Version of Jake Gyllenhaal's Enemy.
nick-dintino29 July 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I recently saw "The One I Love" at the Provincetown Film Festival and after watching I was left a bit perplexed on exactly how to describe the movie without totally ruining the plot.

Then I rented Jake Gyllenhaal's film "Enemy" from Redbox and found a comparison.

The best way that I can describe "The One I Love" is as a comedic version of Gyllenhaal's film "Enemy."

Like "Enemy", the "One I Love" has superb acting throughout. Moreover, both films do a great job of engaging the audience and carrying the plot along, while still leaving everyone in debate over what exactly happened throughout the story (and especially at the end).

"The One I Love" is a worthwhile watch for any movie buff. Especially, comedy and/or sci-fi fans.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Can't believe I saw the same movie as the other reviews...
ched-lugagne17 October 2015
If you go past the overall poor acting and flat dialogues, you get to a plot that might turn interesting. It actually managed to get me excited for a few minute, even if it was after a very long bored waiting for the pain to go. The characters are overly understanding, OK and chill with the whole situation. They even ask for more. You get so little attached to any of the characters that whatever happens is of little interest to you. Annoyment is also apparently the most they can feel and you would be probably less shocked by their behavior if they were teenagers, not a married couple. Some queues by the DP on his way to shoot the movie give away a part of the plot, luckily it's has no point in the end, as most other queues to a deeper meaning. In the end you get a poor Peter Pan story, a few nice shots (if you like trees and lens flare...) and the most expected, uninspired and badly brought over end you could find to this story. All this in the most convoluted package you could think off... It's sad, it was very close to a pretty good plot for a RomCom, but it doesn't get there. You end up wondering why they even bothered to make things so complicated... Bad enough to motivate my first written review on IMDb!
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Intriguing combination of humor and pathos
jlevy-244 May 2014
I'm a huge fan of the Duplasse brothers and of Elizabeth Moss and I saw this film at the Montclair (NJ) Film Festival and enjoyed it very much. The description doesn't do it justice BUT to provide a more in-depth description would have to include spoilers and this is a film that you DON'T want to have spoiled for you. Both Moss and Duplasse are charming in this clever dramedy with real meaning for those of us for whom a long- term marriage carries with it both discomfort and comfort. Ted Danson plays a marriage counselor who sends this couple off for a weekend that he guarantees will help repair their badly broken connection. But they are in for a wealth of surprises over the weekend. Lots of humorous bits but it is basically a serious look at long-term relationships and how people have to come to terms with what they truly want.
9 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed