Kung Fu Panda 3 (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
190 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A Quality Family Film For All Families.
HealthyLove14 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
In the Chinese Spirit Realm, Grand Master Oogway (Randall Duk Kim) fights against the spirit warrior and collector Kai (J. K. Simmons) and has his chi stolen, but not before he warns Kai that Po (Jack Black), the Dragon Warrior, will stop him. Kai disregards this and returns to the mortal world. Meanwhile, Master Shifu (Dustin Hoffman) announces his retirement and passes the role of teacher to Po. He discovers that teaching kung fu is hard, as the Furious Five members Tigress (Angelina Jolie), Crane (David Cross), Mantis (Seth Rogen), Viper (Lucy Liu), and Monkey (Jackie Chan) are injured as a result. Po is demoralized as a teacher, but is advised by Master Shifu to be himself.

Po heads home to his adoptive father Mr. Ping (James Hong) at his noodle shop where a panda named Li Shan (Bryan Cranston) breaks Po's dumpling-eating record. They both soon learn that Li is Po's biological father and they bond with each other much to Ping's jealousy. After introducing Li to Shifu and his friends, the Valley of Peace is suddenly attacked by past Kung Fu Masters turned into jade statues under the control of Kai. The team then learn through research that Kai was Grand Master Oogway's old friend who fought with him long ago, but was banished to the spirit realm for 500 years when he grew thirsty for the power of chi. Kai can only be defeated by a master of true chi, which they discover was an innate ability of the panda colonies. Po, at Li's suggestion, along with Mr. Ping, travels to the secret village where the pandas hide while Shifu and the Furious Five stay behind to investigate Kai's movements and defend the Palace. Although Po is eager to learn chi, he first learns the life of a panda in the village, which he feels grateful to be a part of.

After learning that all the Kung Fu masters are missing, Master Shifu sends Crane and Mantis to find them. Crane and Mantis join with other Kung Fu masters to confront Kai, but they all have their chi stolen. Kai then arrives at the Jade Palace and destroys it, then takes everybody's chi while Tigress escaped to find Po and warns him of the upcoming danger. Afraid, Li and the pandas prepare to run away. When Po demands that his father teaches him chi, he reveals that they had all forgotten chi, and he only wanted to save Po from Kai's wrath. Hurt over his father's misdirection, Po isolates himself and trains vigorously to confront Kai. Mr. Ping then comforts Li and admits he was initially worried Po would be taken away from him, but came to realize that Li being a part of Po's life simply added to his happiness, and that they should stay by Po's side as family.

Tigress confronts Po and tells him that he cannot defeat Kai without continuing to discover the secret of chi, during which Po confesses that the experience has him once more doubting his potential. Li and the villagers, having decided to stay, ask Po to train them so they can fight back. Po agrees and teaches them using their everyday activities as their assets and begins their plan to save their village. Kai arrives and sends his minions to capture Po, but they are held off by the pandas and Tigress, distracting Kai. The plan works, but ultimately fails when Po tries to use the Wuxi Finger hold on Kai, who reveals that it won't work on spirits. Kai gains the upper hand in their fight, but in a last-ditch effort, Po uses the Wuxi Finger Hold on himself while grabbing onto Kai, sending them both to the spirit realm. They fight again, but Kai defeats Po and prepares to steal his chi. Using what they learned from Po and about who they are, Li, Tigress, Mr. Ping and the pandas are able to use their chi to save him. Po, with the chi flow, suddenly generates a golden dragon-shaped avatar around him and destroys Kai by overloading him with his chi, freeing all of the Kung Fu masters in the process.

In an ethereal golden pond, Grand Master Oogway appears to Po, and informs him his journey has come full circle, revealing his role by selecting Po as Dragon Warrior is also because of his descent from the ancient pandas, and his embodiment of the yin-yang. He also reveals his role in alerting Li of Po's survival, and expresses his happiness to Po about how much he has grown. By choice, Po wields a mystic green staff bestowed by Oogway to return to the mortal world. Everyone returns to the Jade Palace, where Po proudly gazes upon his family, friends, and legacy in the spot where his journey began.
84 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
From complexity to oversimplification: the journey is complete
Semisonic13 June 2016
As a certain character once said, a James Bond movie is only as good as the villain. The same rule actually applies to just about any story with some kind of confrontation, with the best of such stories having villains which you even want to relate to.

Kung Fu Panda trilogy is no exception. One of the reasons behind the first film's excellence was Tai Lung, a character so intense, conflicted and deeply rooted in the history of the KFP universe, that his story managed to combine the vibes of two great confrontations: Obi-Wan vs Darth Vader and Darth Vader vs Luke. So it's no wonder that my greatest wish for every next KFP movie was to have him back somehow. Those vain hopes...

The villain's complexity became the foundation on which the rest of the story could develop. Including the main character. First film's Po was so great because he was a classic "loser with a dream" type of character: confined in his bleak reality but refusing to accept his destiny. Po's power was in finally letting himself pursue the dream he's been having on his own for so long, and in how a true dream can overcome any obstacle in its way.

The problems began when Po was raised to the supreme position. It's where the pursuit of a dream was replaced with a job. Po is not a leader, he's not even a hero, he's just a guy who does what he can because his heart tells him so. But letting him keep that spirit would mean losing pace for the franchise. So each next film was basically creating a new villain out of thin air (or, in this film's case, from the other world, literally) and imposing the duty of defeating him on Po, using it as a justification for granting him another magic ability.

The gods are what we create ourselves. And, at the end of the day, KFP3 finished creating a cult of the Dragon Warrior by transforming Po from a goofus with a heart and spirit into some kind of omnipotent golden Buddha, smiling and just-be-yourself-preaching. The complexity is gone, the humanity, with all its inherent flaws, is gone. The only thing that's left is the divine perfection and invulnerability. Maybe the kids will love such glossy happy ending, just like they love playing video games in god mode: easy win, plain and simple. But for someone more mature, that kind of easy is just boring.
44 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
awesomeness achieved
kieranbattams8 March 2016
Kung fu panda is a concept so ridiculous that we think to ourselves.. it is actually genius. Jack Black returns as the lovable Po, and shows us just why we missed him so much in the years we had to wait. These films always deal with acceptance and Kung Fu Panda 3 is no exception, with an added family element. I give praise for this for the simple reason that Bryan Cranston is AWESOME and really stands out in a movie that already has some brilliant stars, he was so funny and heartwarming as Po's biological father and makes a welcome addition to the cast.

The story follows Po as he is asked to teach the furious 5 so Shifu can retire and master 'Chi'. After a bad session he meets his father by chance and finds out about a new supernatural threat from the spirit realm, played by the brilliant J.K Simmons. He adds his own stamp to this character and gives us a badass villain, like Cranston becoming a welcome edition. Po embarks on a journey to a secret panda village to himself master 'Chi' and take out Kai for good. So for a start the story is brilliant, it keeps everyone entertained and never lingers on for too long. The members of the furious 5 however do get less screen time, even Angelina Jolie's Tigress although she does play the biggest role of the 5. The standout for the limited screen time he has is Seth Rogen's Mantis. I don't know what it is but i love this character and wanted more of him.

If you are a fan of the other films in the Kung Fu Panda franchise like i am then you won't be disappointed. The film manages to stay on par with both previous films and has all the humour and kung fu action you can expect from it. If the franchise ended here i would be happy, i would love more from the characters and the world built around them, but i really don't want the franchise to outstay it's welcome at the same time. But anyway, go see Kung Fu Panda 3. It is much better than the forgettable London has Fallen and you won't regret it!
39 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Whoooaaaahhhh!!!!
beandip5731 January 2016
So being a huge fan of Kung Fu Panda, I may be a little biased, but Kung Fu Panda 3 delivers!!! I was so excited to the see the movie as I think this story line has some aspects of awesomeness!!! Jack Black leads and all star cast of actors that bring not only great animation, but also solid entertainment from start to finish.

I went with my girl, who had to fight back the tears through parts of the movie, especially the end. Yes it was moving and had a great message. Family and knowledge are just some of the major points Kung Fu Panda focuses on.

But enough of the parent stuff, Kids will love it, so many little voices throughout the theater busted out in their joyous cute laughs, along with their parents. It has so much fun for children they will not be disappointed.

But for adults, lets say us men will love the action and some cool above normal animation which happen all over the movie to keep some of us action junkies enthralled. And women will love the messages of love, family and self-worth with some beautiful scenes of colors and imagination. Not to say I didn't enjoy all aspects of the movie.

As far as a trilogy goes, Kung Fu Panda, at least for me and my girl was as good if not better than its predecessors. Which to me was not easy to beat.

Jack Black brings to life a lovable, clumsy, hungry, Kung Fu Panda that anyone can relate to or enjoy. Kung Fu Panda 3 is a true treat on many levels and great for any family, date or lover of animation.

enjoy it!!! Skadooooshhh!!!
76 out of 129 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Another great movie
julie-renee-moore31 January 2016
I went with my 14-year old son to watch Kung Fu Panda 3. We both loved it. It's definitely a feel-good movie. We've watched every Kung Fu Panda movie, and we are definitely fans. The cast is incredible! Jack Black is awesome as Po, as usual. We particularly enjoyed the music score (which nicely emphasized the emotional parts) and the artwork. I appreciated that there were morals woven into this movie, especially with regard to finding your true self, appreciation of what it means to be a family and the importance of family, and Po's learning about chi, the life force in all living things. This all added depth to Po's character. There were, of course, many funny moments in the movie that made us both laugh. At the end of the movie (and we always stay to the very end, reading all the credits), the artwork was particularly beautiful, where they took images from the movie and made it look like an ancient, Chinese watercolor. We left feeling very good about having spent time together at this movie!
58 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sublime animated picture.
icheckmymailbox9 March 2016
The Good Stuff (in order of awesomeness)

1. Superb animation and various art styles used. Hits are emphasized well with excellent sound design and voice acting. Good action.

2. Jokes are (mostly) good, made me laugh out loud multiple times.

3. The plot and pacing is pretty good and character development is adequate.

The Bad Stuff (in order of amplitude)

1. Antagonist is not really memorable with vanilla personality and motivation.

2. Film is obviously meant for a young-ish audience and contains some irritating slapstick and bad jokes.

3. 99% of Panda characters are completely forgettable.

Should you watch it: Probably, yes. I can't stress enough how good some of the visuals are.
22 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just as awesome as the first two. Skadoosh!
Ramascreen26 January 2016
There's a reason why the "Kung Fu Panda" franchise is one of the most successful of all-time, and I'd like to believe that that reason is because the writers and the creative talents behind it know how to solidly move the story forward, even with the same characters, they know how to make them evolve without losing the charm and the heart that made the first and the second film effective.

In KUNG FU PANDA 3, Master Shifu appoints Po as the new teacher, a responsibility that of course Po is not able to handle, because he feels more comfortable just being the dragon warrior that saves the village whenever they need help. But that's the thing, once you've felt comfortable and you do only what you can, then you close any room for growth. But being a teacher is not Po's only new challenge. We know that it was just a matter of time until Po reconnects with his family, it was teased at the second film's end. Po's long-lost panda father reappears, just as the supernatural villain Kai, from the spirit realm, returns to the mortal world and vows vengeance. Each film has a certain kung fu style or a goal that Po must achieve, and in this one he has to master the Chi while at the same time learning to know what it means to be a panda.

I had concerns at first because "Kung Fu Panda 3" is released this month, and you know that January is a dumping ground for terrible movies. But now I see that this may actually have been a smart move on the studio's part because this is quite possibly the only great film this month, people will turn to "Kung Fu Panda 3" because everything else will disappoint them.

Just like the first and the second film, KUNG FU PANDA 3's animation is sharp and beautiful. The action sequences are fun and entertaining, and there's a little bit of a fish-out-water situation as well because our hero Po is pretty much new to this whole Panda village and they way they do things over there. But what rings true throughout all three films is that it's ultimately about Po's journey to become one with who he is. He accepted his destiny despite people's doubts, he let go of the past and found inner peace, and now he's put to the test once more, his confidence will be tried once more, and so seeing him be the underdog again is why root for Po. And on top of that, KUNG FU PANDA 3 never runs out of ammo to get you to feel emotional and they do it without trying too hard because it's done in a way that serves the story and the characters, the emotional scenes make sense, I often say that "Kung Fu Panda" movies faithfully follow Pixar's manual — the undeniable importance of a well-written story; one that goes straight for the heart and aims to inspire. KUNG FU PANDA 3 is simply awesome! And it's so cool if you think about it, this is an animated family film franchise that gets more and more solid with each installment, and that's rare.
61 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Good animation! Good 3D! Story wise same old! same old!
virtuallife881 April 2016
At start it felt like that I have entered that awesomely animated familiar environment of kungfun with our favourite panda.

Sadly the same feeling remains the whole time. Don't get me wrong, fights are still fun but story wise you get the feel they are just trying to make things up now. Also it doesn't help to keep similar story structure every time. It just bores you much of the time. Not caring about the characters as you already know what their fate is going to be, you have ample amount of time to appreciate the animation. I really liked the 2-D animation that is shown for flashback. Moreover there's so much pseudo philosophical drag & knowledge sharing going on that it makes you feel "ya ya! just give me some more kungfun already!"

Now children would definitely love this film. But for any adult who have already watched the awesome first part & then the follow-up later, it could still be fun provided you are in really good mood (& remain so while ignoring (virtually) repeated script and zero character developments) and ready to mentally kungfu-dance through whole film on the song "Everybody's kungfu fightin'..." :D
16 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Panda Team Has done it again !!
saywild6 March 2016
The 3rd part is as hilarious and awesome as the first two movies. Keeping up the story-line and interest in a 3rd movie is really difficult but the kudos to the whole team.

Though storyline is on the same lines of good vs evil but again told in a very outstanding way.

The best part of the movie is the humor and you are guaranteed to laugh every now and then.

The animation is of high quality and of course very beautiful cinematography.

Must watch for all 'Po' fans. His own way of saving the world and being the dragon warrior will stun yet again in a very grand and spectacular way.
23 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny and Gorgeously Animated
tjgoalie137 February 2016
Kung Fu Panda is yet another solid entry in the Kung Fu Panda film series. It should be noted that while it's subjective, my opinion is that Kung Fu Panda 3 is ever so slightly the weakest of the franchise, but that's not a knock on the film. Kung Fu Panda 3 is often funny, beautifully animated, and features great characters. This is another great animated film for the entire family, that will surely delight people of all ages.

The tone of Kung Fu Panda 3 is a somewhat silly one, much like the other Kung Fu Panda films, however it does a good job of balancing mature themes with silly humor. The film also does a good job of balancing both subtle and witty humor with more bombastic and silly humor. The humor is bolstered by the terrific voice acting of the entire cast, which is as per usual great. Many times throughout this film I found myself laughing hysterically.

Another impressive element of the film is the amazing animation in this film. It may seem like every animated film features beautiful animation, but the animation in this film is truly amazing. Another impressive element of the animation is the action, which in an animated film may not seem like something to watch for, but the action sequences in Kung Fu Panda 3 are amazing. Many times watching this film the animation is so good it looks real, which is in it's own right an amazing accomplishment.

The film's pacing is great, but what's even better is the character development. With a story that isn't the strongest, the characters keep the film entertaining. Besides the villain, a character who feels like a forced conflict thrown in just to give the film drama, all of the characters in this film have some kind of development. Many of the characters are relatable, which helps the audience care about them. With characters that the audience can relate to and root for, the consequences of the film feel even heavier.

In Conclusion Kung Fu Panda 3 is a great fun film for the entire film with a little bit of something for everyone. The film is gorgeously animated, features well developed characters, great action sequences, good voice acting, and a terrific sense of humor. Despite the weak villain, occasionally silly tone, and some clichés the film is still very enjoyable. If you have some young kids take them to this film you'll all enjoy it.
24 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Kung Fu Panda 3 takes it's next step in another beautiful and funny story about the martial arts
RforFilm1 February 2016
Time to go back into the world of DreamWorks animation. I had read more information about the company's corporate shakeup that not only involved several people replace and relocated, but it also involved the closing of the Northern California studios and the reduction of the output of feature films. It seemed like a formidable movie fiscally, until the release of last year's Home, which I mentioned that I didn't care for. I guess I wasn't the only one as the critical reviews were tepid, and the box office numbers were low (not a failure, but not even close to a hit). Has DreamWorks truly learned?

If the new original features aren't doing well, then the next strategy would be to take advantage of some of their past hits. Shrek, Madagascar, and How to Train Your Dragon seem to be the franchises that they like push and make more sequels and television programs. I like those movies (except Madagascar), though my favorite is the Kung Fu Panda films. This is the ultimate "don't judge by its cover" story as it's dumb title is really a silly martial arts story that teaches a lot about Chinese philosophy. Po's training is taken the next step in Kung Fu Panda 3.

Master Shifu (played by Dustin Hoffman) has announced that's he's stepping down as the teacher of the Furious Five: Master Tigress (played by Angelina Jolie), Master Crane (played by David Cross), Master Mantis (played by Seth Rogan), Master Viper (played by Lucy Liu) and Master Monkey (played by Jackie Chan). Shifu says that the only one who can teach them is the dragon warrior, Po (played by Jack Black). Po is still his silly self and doesn't feel like he can be a good teacher. It's evident on the his first day when the masters are unimpressed.

While visiting his adoptive father Mr. Ping, a large panda named Li Shan (played by Bryan Cranston) comes looking for his long lost son. Po is excited to finally meet his father let alone another panda, who were thought to have been gone. Shifu knows that the Panda's were masters of controlling chi, so he tells Po to go with his real father to discover chi. Within the hidden Panda village, Po learns more about being one of his own and learning more about his family.

Meanwhile, Kai (played by J.K. Simmons), a powerful spirit that can take away one's chi has entered the mortal world in order to gain chi from all the Masters. Tigress shows up at Po's village to reveal that all the masters have been taken by Kai and it's up to Po to fight him and teach Kung- Fu to all the pandas.

I really appreciate DreamWorks for not only taking Chinese martial arts and philosophy seriously, but for taking the story of a Kung-Fu fighting panda just as seriously. Not only is Po really learning more about what his skills can do, but really seems to be growing as a person…or a bear.

Kung Fu Panda 3 still boasts some of the most beautiful computer animation I've seen from DreamWorks. It is so atmospheric, that this is one of the few movie worlds I'd love to live in.

The characters from the previous movies are all back and play up their parts just fine. The newcomers Bryan Cranston and J.K. Simmons both bring in their own spark, fitting in just fine. Without giving anything away, I only have two gripes. While J.K. Simmons does well as Kai, he's not as intimidating as Gary Oldman from Kung Fu Panda 2. Also, when Po's father Li Shan make a big discovery about himself, it's a little rushed.

I'll give this eight Chinese scrolls out of ten. This is a part of a series that is just so funny and beautiful, that I find it hard to find much to nitpick. Kung Fu Panda 3 is a great piece of family entertainment that should get both the parents and children engaged. I hope these characters continue Kung Fu fighting for a while!
18 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Fails To Replicate The Formula That Made Its Predecessors Instant Classics Right Away
CinemaClown9 April 2016
The third chapter in DreamWorks Animation's Kung Fu Panda series may have the effervescent wit, lighthearted flavour & exciting kung fu action of the earlier chapters but it lacks a compelling story, weighty character evolution & the awareness of where to draw the line for this latest entry fails to find the near-perfect balance between its genre elements, something its predecessors excelled at with relative ease.

The story of Kung Fu Panda 3 continues the awesome journey of the Dragon Warrior as we find Po reuniting with his biological father in addition to being bestowed with the role of teacher, following Master Shifu's retirement. But when an ancient spirit warrior with the ability to steal other warriors' chi returns to the mortal world & hunts the Dragon Warrior, Po travels with his father to their secret panda village to master ways of defeating the enemy.

Co-directed by Jennifer Yuh & Alessandro Carloni, the issue I have with this feature is that its story lacks a coherent structure, it is difficult to connect with any of the characters for their arcs needed a lot more refinement, and there are plenty of moments that add nothing to the story. The previous chapters were able to find outrageous moments of hilarity in a well-timed & clever fashion but here its attempt at humour feels a bit too forced, needlessly silly & uneven for the most part.

Comedy when done right can amuse both the kids & grown-ups but the filmmakers have chosen to target the younger audience more this time. There are still plenty of laugh-out-loud moments that are done well but for the most part, it neither enriches the overall experience nor moves the story forward. The computer animation is still worthy of praise and retains the rich, colourful textures of past two instalments. Editing is a letdown for the narrative lacks a smooth, uniform flow. And Hans Zimmer's score isn't striking either.

On an overall scale, Kung Fu Panda 3 is an overkill for its emphasis on desperately finding ways to make its audience laugh ultimately backfires and while it works as a quite relaxing, enjoyable & amusing flick, it fails to duplicate the high scores that the previous chapters garnered in all departments of filmmaking. Certainly not worth the five year wait, exhibiting signs of weariness & marred by lazy writing, Kung Fu Panda 3 fails to properly implement the formula that turned the first two films of the franchise into instant classics right away.
23 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The most awesomeness of the awesome line of awesomeness filled awesome movies
soumyachat-985-8290725 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I loved the previous two movies. So when I went in to watch this, I had high expectations. By the end of the movie, I was in tears. I think I had not expected so much depth and....goodness from an animated feature film.

The basic premise is what you get from the trailer. Kai comes to destroy the jade palace and Po has to find out how to defeat him with the help of his new-found dad! However, what you don't expect is a perfect tale of eastern philosophy of life and the human spirit deliciously hidden inside a fun family movie.

** spoilers ** The best part of the movie is... Oogway! He is back in Yin and Yang (see the movie to understand what I mean, can't be described in words). And Po becomes the true dragon warrior. I was having goosebumps from that one scene. Also listen to Oogway's every word. The depth of this "person" may surprise even the most cynical among us. I so wish that he stays in future movies!
18 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Bearable
robsta2317 March 2016
Kung Fu Panda 3 meets the minimum requirements in what fans of the first two films would expect: jokes about weight, Po's still struggling with handling Kung Fu (even though he became the "dragon warrior" at the end of the first film) and questions of how to determine what true family is. Sadly, the film itself lazily meets these expectations without providing much else for its fan base.

We start with an uninteresting villain played by J.K. Simmons. He is an associate of Master Oogway, and that is how he is known (this joke gets really old really fast within the film itself). He manages to escape the spirit realm (this universe's equivalent of the afterlife) and is determined to take over the spirits of kung fu masters because.... well who cares? The film simply establishes he is a bad guy who wants revenge and to have control over the real world - you know, your typical one-dimensional children's movie villain.

Po's father, played by Bryan Cranston, finds him at the start of the film, which is really convenient because pandas are supposed to know about something called "chi" which is what the villain is after. Pandas were known to heal Oogway with this power in the past, and it is of course the only way to stop Simmons' character. This subplot eventually clears up what we did not know about the pandas in this universe, and of course the film goes to great lengths to make comedy out of how lazy pandas turn out to be.

The jokes used in this film are just rehashed jokes from the first two films, not providing great comedy as its predecessors since it proves to be unoriginal. Kung Fu Panda 3 is still enjoyable, but its strength lies on the theme of questionable identity posed by the two competing fathers of the film: Mr. Ping and Li. This is only touched on a few times throughout the film, but when it is touched on it brings up interesting questions about whether Po would need nature or nurture: that is, does he need his biological father or the one who raised him. These moments are the only ones of great intrigue within the film.

There is also a return to a cop-out fighting technique from the first film that makes the conflict of the story less difficult for Po to get through. While the film has the same spirit of its predecessors, Kung Fu Panda 3 is not a very fun film, but it is not terrible.

2.5/4.0
21 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Greatly disappointed
sarathchandradantu10 April 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I am a great fan of this franchise and I am very disappointed with this part. This movie had glimpses but it was not the complete movie like the last two. The beginning lasted till the end, and the end, ended abruptly where Po and rest of the panda's master the forgotten technique and defeat the most powerful Kai in a breath.

Positives: 1. Po meets his dad (Trailer gave it away anyways) 2. Cant find any other

Negatives: 1. No solid story line and no solid plan for Po on how to learn new stuff. 2. Well no plan needed as the villain Kai did not get a chance to display his evilness

Have to watch the first two parts in sequence to get my chi back.

I hope the makers crack their heads and give us a more complete movie where Po advances to the next level and teaches the world few new tricks.
25 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best of the series so far!
trooper57836 February 2016
I walked in Kung Fu Panda 3 with high expectations and they were met, and more! The other two KFP films are gold, and DreamWorks shows that they can top themselves every time with their characters and story lines. The fight scenes are amazing, the animation is top-notch, the characters are lovable and the voice cast is lively-what more can you want? This comedy had me and the audience laughing throughout the entire experience, and I don't have one complaint about this gem of a film! The 3-D effects are also worth the extra money- not the best I've ever seen from an animation, but pretty good. The score by Hans Zimmer is also beautiful, it's completely fitting for every scene. Get your kids, grab some 3-D glasses, get some popcorn and sodas and prepare for an awesome thrill ride.
21 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Who are you?
celestekent5 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Well this is the third Panda movie where this central question leads to the climax. While this may seem rather repetitious, it bears repeating. Can the viewers actually take this message to heart and apply it to their own lives, we'll see wont we.

Focusing on "who we are" is profoundly important and like an onion each of us has multiple layers so does Po the Panda. While it does include kicking a$$ and stopping bad guys, there are other dimensions which go beyond that, like allowing others to be who they are too.

Jack Black and crew do the same great job as the other two movies. Having this be an animated movie allows it to get beyond the natural physical aspects of the story line into the spirit realms.
15 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Every Bit as Good as the Others
ryanmark-579197 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
I enjoyed the first two Kung Fu Panda movies a lot more than I thought I would and I had a feeling that this one was going to be every bit as good as the others. I'm happy to say that I wasn't wrong. It's weird how well these films are able to combine humor and action while appealing to both children and adults. Plenty of other children's movies have been able to pull off the humor but the action has remained really well done throughout the entire series. Anyway, let's get to the plot.

This film follows fairly soon after the events of the second movie with Po (Jack Black) continuing his duties as the Dragon Warrior. Things soon start to change for Po when Shifu (Dustin Hoffman) gives him the responsibility of teaching the Five while he pursues the ancient art of 'chi'. In addition to this, Po's biological father, Li (Bryan Cranston), finally finds him and wants to start a new relationship with him. As if things weren't already complicated enough, Kai (J.K. Simmons), an evil Yak from the spirit realm, uses the chi from dead kung fu masters to make his way back to the mortal realm and starts causing havoc. Now Po has to travel to the hidden Panda village to learn the ancient art of chi and use it to once again vanquish Kai from the mortal realm.

Most of the cast returns for this movie and the few newcomers fit right in without any problems. Jack Black has really done a great job with the character of Po and it's hard for me to imagine anyone else stepping into those shoes. The humor and the drama seem to come surprisingly easy with Black and he's obviously comfortable playing this character. All of the returning actors and actresses also do an excellent job with their characters but the newcomers are the ones who really shine here. Bryan Cranston is basically amazing at everything he does and his Li is no exception. I know Cranston can do drama like it's no one's business but he also has great comedic timing. I especially liked his interactions with James Hong. We also have another fantastic villain with J.K. Simmons added to the mix. This guy has done quite a bit of voice acting in the past and his experience really shows here. I didn't even know it was Simmons until the credits started rolling which just goes to show how well this guy is able to change his voice and get into character.

The animation is once again beautifully done and the Panda village looks fantastic. At first I was disappointed that we didn't see more new areas but the scenes in the spirit realm definitely make up for it. The story delves deeper into Po's past similar to the last film but we get to see him interact with other pandas and even an old face from the first movie. There really isn't anything that I didn't like about this film. I suppose the story was a little easy to predict but that's not necessarily a bad thing. This is a kid's movie after all.

I'm not much for nitpicking and it's even harder when the film is this good to begin with. It's a great movie and I have to recommend it to anyone interested in these types of movies, especially if you have children that you want to take to the theater. This is an easy choice if that's the case.
18 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dragon Warrior Rising
coreyjdenford11 March 2016
This is my review of Kung-fu Panda 3 (Spoiler free)

Distributor(s): Fox/Dreamworks

Director(s): Alessandro Carloni & Jennifer Yuh

Cast: Jack Black, Academy Award Nominee Bryan Cranston*, Angelina Jolie, 2 time Academy award winner Dustin Hoffman**, Academy Award winner J.K. Simmons***, Jackie Chan, Seth Rogen.

Plot: Continuing his "legendary adventures of awesomeness", Po must face two hugely epic, but different threats: one supernatural and one a little closer to home.

The Dragon Warrior returns in the silliest and the darkest of the trilogy this time to face spirit warrior Kai (Simmons), who has returned to the mortal world to capture the Chi of all the warriors in China. The first movie back in 2008 was dark and thrilling and really quite fun, the second (2011) promised to be darker but didn't quite deliver.

With the same story as it's predecessors between good and evil this one is outrageously funny and sometimes a little bit silly the third and final film is fun for all the family, here are some points of why I think this film is a must see:

Hilarious Dialogue: The film has hilarious moments from start to finish especially between Po and Li-Shan (Cranston) some of the moments just made me burst out laughing.

Visually Stunning: Every single one of these films has had a gorgeous but this one probably has the best with some the amazing colours that just burst out the screen, the part that really stands out is the spirit world that just has an outstanding feel that just gives you a warm feeling.

This film just feels a warm hug that just comes out of nowhere Jack Black has really outdone himself this time as the lovable panda.

The one main fault and it's tiny is that some of the jokes go on for longer than they should but you should get over that.

The furious five have returned and this time better than ever.

This film is a must see for all the family especially with it's recent success in China, this film is worth every penny. Remember the secret panda village is waiting for you. A truly outrageous animation and a must see 9/10 (4.5 out of 5).

Verdict: Rather than the cynical "one last grab" of the series, Kung Fu Panda might actually be the best. Also this might be worth going to watch in 3D.

*Best supporting actor (Trumbo, 2015), **Best supporting actor (Kramer Vs. Kramer, 1979) & Best Actor (Rain Man, 1988), ***Best supporting Actor (Whiplash, 2014).
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I Love Kung Fu Panda
rinkutiwari17 February 2016
When Po's long-lost panda father suddenly reappears, the reunited duo travels to a secret panda paradise to meet scores of hilarious new panda characters. But when the supernatural villain Kai begins to sweep across China defeating all the kung fu masters, Po must do the impossible-learn to train a village full of his fun-loving, clumsy brethren to become the ultimate band of Kung Fu Pandas. Kung Fu Panda 3 is a 2016 3D American-Chinese computer-animated action comedy martial arts film, produced by DreamWorks Animation and Oriental DreamWorks, and distributed by 20th Century Fox. It was directed by Jennifer Yuh Nelson and Alessandro Carloni. The film was written by Jonathan Aibel and Glenn Berger, produced by Melissa Cobb, and executive produced by Guillermo del Toro. It is a sequel to the 2011 film Kung Fu Panda 2 and the third installment in the Kung Fu Panda franchise. I love KUNG FU PANDA
15 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Funny, but probably the cheesiest of the trilogy.
josiahliljequist29 January 2016
There's some good news about Kung Fu Panda 3, and there's some bad news. The good news is that it's genuinely funny at times and the animation is stunning(perhaps as good as we've seen from Dreamworks) and the movie works well enough to be enjoyable. The bad news is, it could have been much more. When Po meets his biological dad for the first time, it should have been an emotional, touching moment; instead it was played for laughs. And instead of making the villain Kai a threat to respect, they just made him goofy. Plus, the "Furious Five" get barely any screen time and the new characters are hardly worth mentioning. Also, the main idea of this movie being about "who am I", is practically a rehash of the first two movies. Yet with all its faults, the movie is still enjoyable if you take it for what it is, a funny, but cheesy third movie in the Kung Fu Panda trilogy.
22 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
weakest of the trilogy, but still a decent one.
tskhadadze_luka7 February 2016
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILERS

Kung Fu Panda 3 is an emotional family movie with interesting storyline, good humor and fantastic animation which is one of the best that Dreamworks has ever made. Every detail is carefully elaborated and the characters are extremely well designed. The 3-D effects are also good. The score by Hans Zimmer is also fitting for every scene.The secret village of pandas is memorable,cute and funny. The fighting scenes are amazing and tensed although some of them ended too quickly ( for example: the spirit world is gorgeous, but the fight between Po and Kai is very short and one sided.)

The idea of eastern philosophy is inspirational but still gets repetitive and similar to previous ones, dealing with same obstacles and dilemmas of finding yourself and going beyond the limits. The scene where Po meets his dad should have been more dramatic and emotional.The character of Kai could have been more profound, I could not catch why he changed so drastically, like if any other events intrigued his treachery and obsession towards power?The relationship between Oogway and Kai needed more profound exploration and depth. Giving Kai more reason, more depth could have made him much more memorable and respectable villain.

Overall, the movie is really worth watching. It offers a good pleasure,great action and outstanding animation although it could've been much better with more intricate story along with a better script and deeper characters.

Eventually, my favorite the massage of the Kung Fu Panda is inspirational and worth thinking about : "If you only do what you can do, you'll never be more than you are" -Shifu.
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Part 3
poewilson14 June 2016
It is part 3 of an animated film that should be enough to tell you the level of quality you shall see. It has the cash in quality of any animated part 3 or direct-to-DVD product out there. There is no story or pacing. The voice cast of the originals show up for two or three lines and then vanish simply to obey their contracts. It is one of the most overly used story lines in the genre and one just simply has to roll with the punches hoping your children laugh. It is a cash in and you are watching it for your children or something in that regard. Any other reason other than that leaves to me ask then why are you watching this?
15 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not bad, but not a grand installment or anything like that
KineticSeoul8 March 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Meh...It's alright but it's still the weakest in the trilogy in my opinion. The first one dealt with the build up of Po learning kung- fu and learning to become the Dragon Warrior. It's usually always intriguing to watch the underdog overcome obstacles. The second one dealt with Po putting his kung-fu skills to the test and is the most action packed one in the franchise so far. And revolved around getting over the past hurts and scars while trying to become a better person in the here and now. This one deals with Po finding his roots and origin. Like I said, it's a alright watch but it's actually quite forgettable. The action isn't all that memorable and the story just needed more meat to it. This would have been fine as a TV movie or 3 or 4 episodes as a Saturday morning show. It's a alright movie, that is actually quite watchable but I am not excited to see it again. The whole family dynamic aspect of this movie just wasn't all that fun to sit through. I give it props for trying something different and trying to bring in something more than just action. But I just couldn't gravitate towards it all that much.

6.8/10
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Feel the Thunder..again!
subxerogravity29 January 2016
The third installment of the epic animated Kung fu Franchise is here.

In this adventure, Po becomes Master of the school, just as he reunites with his long lost father and discovers a secret village filled with Panda's where he must learn his final lesson in order to defeat a new evil.

The animation in this movie is so beautifully done just like the first two movies. Po never stops being an amazing character. I hear the voice of Jack Black in Po, but together with the animators and character designers, they created something really special.

And it's just so much fun, filled with epic battles and brilliant sight gags that keep your eyes glued to the screen, and keeps a smile on your face.

Everybody is Kung fu fighting! fabulous
15 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed