The Eric Andre Show (TV Series 2012– ) Poster

(2012– )

User Reviews

Review this title
44 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Great Show
Doctor-rockzo2914 August 2012
I'd disregard taking any review into consideration from someone who says for Adult Swim to play more Family Guy and American Dad.

This show is great, the comedy can be in your face or really subtle and witty at times. Eric Adre's skits are well thought out in my opinion, and Hannibal is one of the funniest co-hosts on any television show I've watched.

The guests are great, the sketches in between the studio shots make me laugh harder than anything. Telling the Tea-Party that they "forgot their masks" was one of the greatest things I've seen on Adult Swim in awhile, and I've been watching since the beginning.

TL;DR-At least give it a shot once, there's not one bad episode
61 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Another great absurd show from Adult Swim
ducreux10 August 2012
I've been watching adult swim since I was a young buck and they've managed to surprise me once again by how far they can take comedy away from the norm. I didn't expect much after watching the commercials but after I gave it a try, I became addicted. It's unlike any talk show I've seen before, the discomfort and awkwardness in the guests is clearly visible, partly due to Hannibal standing behind them during interviews. The sketches are original and hilarious and the comedic timing of Eric Andre is amazing. This show is better than Family Guy or Robot Chicken by a mile. The interview with a grizzly bear is one of the funniest things I've ever seen in my life.

Eric and Hannibal make a great comedic team, give this show a try.
42 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Catharsis over wasted years
jukeboksi-5244217 August 2016
You flip through channels and you've seen it all. Building suspense over the most worthless of things, only to not even deliver on what's promised. Story lines that get rehashed over and over until you know exactly what's gonna happen next, when and how. Obviously staged happenings acted poorly with stunted emotional growth. TV, it's nothing but mindless drivel.

Tim, Eric and Doug Lussenhop share my hate for TV (even the whole of entertainment business) and what it has become, what it may have always been. If not hate, apathy. Now, they have a new tool in their box, to unleash their furious vision over and on viewers lost in the void of the remote: one Mr. Eric Andre, supported by Hannibal Buress mainly.

TV being mindless drivel, a show that is purposefully and deliberately mindless drivel is the logical next step. No ground is broken here, references are all over the place, conclusions aim to disappoint, segments are filtered through low-brow running gags. If you let yourself get agitated, you have lost.

I love the creators of this show for giving us this fine fifteen minutes ten times a year. This show lets you release all the pent-up anger you've built over the years over crappy, boring and never-ending drama, entertainment, sports and news. Release all the dread you realize over the time spent on watching screens with moving images and sound through-out time. Just, forget it all and linger in the actualization of the insane that is and envelopes this world. Anything can happen next and the beautiful part is: you cannot prepare for the future, just let it in.

I love this show. It does not look to cater to anybody. It does not deceive you into viewing. It does not exploit your emotions or deeper needs. It is openly, honestly and proudly what it is and as such transcends all media. It might treat the viewer like crap, but if you can't take it, you deserved it.

"Hey, you're watching Bird Up! The WORST show on television!"
26 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worst Show Ever
rajatbarman-8050225 September 2016
I just finished watching 20 episodes of this show, I loved it. The show has great energy and insanity embedded in every frame, I recommend everyone to watch it with their families. Season 2 episode 10 had me doubt my sanity. The show is humorless, the host of this show "Eric Andre" keeps on vomiting and farting most of the time and that disgusting visual is supposed to be funny. The randomness and unpredictability of the show will keep you entertained, some bits are pure genius which can be observed only if you watch it with full attention. This show isn't for kids, and avoid seeing it with your parents/families at all costs. The show keeps repeating the same pattern, destruction of random things, crying, naked body, vomit, farts, emotional dramas, Sherlock, poems, piano, planets, Saturn, hawk and Obama.

Overall the show is funny and hence humorless.
34 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
masterful deconstruction of late-night talk shows
uzumakiharikari22 January 2013
The Eric Andre show is a parody of every terrible art school party, every terrible noise show, and every stand-up act that was only laughable because of how bad it was. These flavors are combined to create a deconstruction of the talk/skit late-night show that occasionally ascends to brilliance.

The sublime intro sequence begins slowly but rapidly advances in tempo as mr. andre destroys his set and clothes in an escalating fit of madness before, suddenly clothed again, sitting down exhausted. As a new curtain descends behind him and a fresh desk pushed in front of him the audience is left with the illusion that this act repeats week after week and the show is performed in the expanding refuse of previous sets.
26 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Is This Comedy?
diesixdie21 May 2012
I'm not sure this is comedy. It presents itself as a talk show. The host, Eric Andre, seems to be trapped in the role. The show opens with Eric absolutely destroying the set. Within seconds, like in a bad dream the set magically reassembles itself and the show continues, the host, his defenses momentarily derailed declares, "I'm dying". There is something that appears to be comedy, but, all the while, the participants seem to be holding back a pent-up fear and generalized hostility, if not disorientation. The participants don't quite seem to be in control, and react to the hidden forces around them with horror. At one point, the show subjects Andre and his co-host to an insane game show, without warning, where Andre is drenched with scalding hot coffee after every question. We seem to be viewing some sort inescapable closed universe containing nothing but an endless slightly nightmarish talk show. It feels like a bad dream, half remembered. It feels like there's some unspeakable horror lurking just off-camera that the people on-stage can see, but, we can't, and they can only stay safe by pretending to ignore it.

I like what the show is trying to do, even if it's more unsettling, then funny, much like "Tim and Eric's Awesome Show, Great Job", produced by the same production company. There's just something kind of compelling, here. More so than most of Adult Swim's live action shows. It'll be interesting to see where they go with this.
56 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
PIZZA NEVER ARRIVED
jaysonpullen4 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
WTF BRO, I ORDERED AN EXTRA SUPREME, TWO DIET DOUBLE DEWS, WITH ANCHOVIES AND MY ORDER NEVER SHOWED UP. I DEMAND A REFUND AND EXTRA CREDIT FOR MORE OTHERWISE MY REVIEW WITH REMAIN UNCHANGED. DON'T EAT HERE.
15 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A breath of fresh air for adult swim, and TV in general
teteter20048 December 2013
The past year Adult Swim has shown me nothing new or exciting, every show is either competing with Tim and Eric, or mimicking it. Although their style is genius it was gotten a little dry since the billion dollar movie. When i first saw the trailer for the Eric Andre show I was even more disappointed, ready for yet another tim and eric knock off. After watching the premier episode I felt as if I had never laughed before. Everything was unexpected, and completely over the top in a way that nobody has ever gotten close to. I never know what to expect, and the commercials for each episode have entirely no footage from the actual episode. The Eric Andre show refreshed the talk show vibe with original pranks, and a surprisingly deep layers of humor. One must watch each episode 3 or 4 times to really see everything they pack into it. What i'd really like to see is everything that doesn't air.
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best thing that has ever been made ever?
jambalulu11 July 2019
I would say that this is at least like the best comedy thing that has ever been made ever.. The unimaginable absurdity that constantly flows from the brains of Eric and Hannibal, the way that they constantly fool celebrities and troll them into a shocked and traumatic state, the ridiculousness of the stuff that they film out in the streets, and the random incoherent way in which it is all edited into a show.. it's just some of the most perfect, flawless comedic brilliance that a human mind can possibly conceive.. Watching the Eric Andre show really is like being hit by a suicide bomber of comedy, and once you start to feel like your'e fully getting an idea of what the show is actually about it just becomes funnier and funnier, as you understand more and more how it's not actually about anything, as literally anything can happen in this unexpected universe of madness that adult swim has allowed Eric Andre to build for us all.. I would honestly say that this is better than any sitcom, any movie, any other show\book\stand-up routine or anything else, literally nothing can make me laugh as hard as I do when I watch bits from the Eric Andre show.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
best show on television
fedebjerg27 February 2019
One of the only funny shows still airing on television
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not only a great show, but a life changing one for the open mind.
derekhill159421 December 2014
I have never loved a TV show more than The Eric Andre Show. This show speaks to me so hard it's unreal.

The main theme of the show is mental chaos. Eric is one crazy individual (like myself) who knows exactly how to grab people's souls, shake it around, and throw it back without hesitation. His actions are so subtle that he leaves his guests struck with all kinds of emotions. Hannibal, too, but he is a little more reserved about it.

Before this show, I never really understood social norms (or at least how they were used in context). Growing up, I wasn't too much of a social kid, but only because I wasn't raised in a social environment. I was always interested in being social, however. Watching this show has made me realize something important. Social norms don't really apply to you if you have little to zero knowledge about them. For example, Eric goes out in public and makes a fool of himself. In reality, he's actually making YOU look like a fool. Eric doesn't give a crap how people view him, so, in his mind, he is not acting like a fool. In his mind, he is acting how Eric Andre would normally act, even if other people think he's totally lost it. He knows what to expect except everybody around him.

The key message this show gives to the world is timeless: All of humanity is going to act how they want to act when they want to act and, overall, there is nothing you can do about it. You can't force people to act a certain way, especially if you care about that person/they care about you. Whatever is happening up top in THEIR head is out of YOUR control. Sally will always act like Sally and Joe-Bob will always act like Joe-Bob. A perfect example of this is at the very end of Season 1 Episode 10. Eric does a bit where he falls onto his knees on a busy sidewalk dressed as a homeless man, crying as he pretends to have lost all hope in himself as a person. The people around him BARELY react. A few people glance over at him, but that's it. Most people just walk past as if nothing is happening. Those people had no idea that he was faking it for a TV show, so those are AUTHENTIC REACTIONS. This shows a lot about the society we live in today. Even if you have hit rock bottom and are giving up hope completely, people don't give a damn, especially if they don't know you. What if that was a real-life situation? What if that "homeless man" really WAS completely giving up hope in himself and his last chance for relief was a stranger assisting him in some sort of way? The next option for a person like that would most likely be suicide. Do you know how good it could feel to supply happiness into a stranger in a random act of kindness? You'd never know unless you'd try.
17 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
this show is amazing, comedy for people who do not understand comedy, AVANT GARDE
justindemus10 February 2014
PRETZELS IS THE SAME

DUE PROCESS AND THE COURT OF LAW AND ALL THAT LOOK AT MY SUIT

haven't laughed this much since the first season of bob's burgers

ten lines, sch-men lines

this show is not for racists and/or conservatives

everything is well planned and a lot of people just don't get it. it has a constant charm of everything falling apart, yet it is meticulously crafted. Andre and Hannibal compliment each other well and one cannot predict what happens next

which is great.
23 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very different, very brave
loki_mon8 November 2019
There is catharsis to be found in this utter sea of chaos. The trolling is completely harmless and fascinating, the reactions of the unknown to the sheer absurdism adds to the brilliance.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
merek-5659311 July 2019
Almost every episode has had me teary from laughter even on the second or third watch. This show, however, is not enjoyable unless you have a certain type of humor. If you like ironic, awkward, and cringey humor though, you will adore this show.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It's been a long time General.
merlinmunstache3 July 2019
I'm from the UK, so I only discovered The Eric Andre Show last year. I have always liked my humour dark & weird, and this show is what I've been waiting for since Reeves & Mortimer's output has fizzled a little of late (although House of fools is pretty damn good). Unfortunately I feel i'll be loving this show alone, as even my friends & family who like R&M will find this too weird. I love the 1 star reviews on here 🤣 - clueless. Stick to Everybody loves Raymond

LEGALISE RANCH!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The epitome of American comedy
philarenberg5 February 2019
This is the cream de la cream of American comedy, loud, entertaining, craziness. I love it and I highly recommend it. I mean I don't think most people will enjoy it, but if you like controversial and dark humour you should definitely give it a try.

Every time is see it, I laugh.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
funniest show on TV
user-540-24491924 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
It is in the same tradition as Andy Kaufman and brilliant! often the funniest show on TV. his street stuff is without fear and wild and original.yet it is where (real) actors, actresses go to die. rare is one of the real guest able to match or keep up with the host, who is fearless and seem to love watching guest die. i hope guest get paid a lot to be on there. i hope the show returns for another season. it looks like the show has gone through with added editing ? to make the street scenes shorter and more concise.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pretty good stuff
heryffernllsc27 March 2018
Nothing can prepare you for this show. It is unlike anything else on tv. It may at first seem crude and immature to some people, and i will admit it takes a certain type of person to enjoy this show. If you are easily grossed out or prefer a sort of sophisticated sense of humor, then this isnt the show for you. That being said i think this show is great. It will get you to laugh at stuff you never thought you would laugh at. Its essentially a prank show, in the fact that it frames itself as a legit late night talk show and gets unsuspecting celebrities to come on, then proceeds to devolve into usually some gross stuff happening and Eric breaking his desk. You'll get to see your favorite celebrities like you've never seen them before, which is wierded out and having no idea what is going on. It is always interesting to see celebrities out of their comfort zones and their unfiltered reactions to stuff as well. I read a youtube comment that once said "this show is like a fever dream", and that pretty much sums the eric andre show up. If you're looking for something weird and different, i recommend this show.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Either you get it or you don't
metaick2 December 2019
This show is genius and will only appeal to a certain audience. If thisnis your type of comedy then stap in and get ready for one heck of a ride! I binged these episodes whenever I've watched them and busted a lung laughing my ass off! The guests reactions on here and skits are next level!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The funniest show I've ever seen
ajaymadala-6745028 October 2019
I don't know why but the Eric Andre show is just the most consistently funny show I've seen. It's one of the few shows that makes me laugh so hard that I tear up. It's just so weird and like nothing else. Some people will definitely hate it but I recommend it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Genius
alexanderjgt21 September 2019
The only talk show worth watching. Every episode is a hit
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
12 minutes of at Least a few big laughs
joehonaker14 December 2013
Eric's show is different and does a lot of out of the norm thing that end up giving the viewer a big laugh.In just 12 minutes you can expect at least 3 big big laughs. I normally watch them 5-6 at a time on the DVR when I'm in the mood. I love the destruction of the set and the shock value he does to his guests. The Maria Menounos episode was perfect " Pick a person" and when she finally picks a person, that person is immediately shot. Pure Genius! I love the band and Hannibal who is always funny. Everyone welcome James Van Der Beek, cut to a shot of the guest band leader vomiting, how could anyone not understand the genius of this show? I hope he keeps this show or gets a bigger one.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
ranch mouth toasthype
cjprusi2 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Sqeeezue it up broh. This shows a full on yup yup yup yup. Clowns man, you get it. It's a big old sneeze.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
PEPPERCORN BING BONG
hunter_m29 December 2019
Peppercorn bing bong! Um You know it's brilliant when half the reviews are 1 & 2s by those who think the show is truly atrocious and half are 10s who get the crazy, wild, intelligent and avant-garde humour. Best show to come out of 'Murica in a long long while. Hopefully it's notoriety doesn't completely ruin the celebrity experience and/or the public bits. Also, I bathe in ranch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This show should be ripped up like his set
webanalyticsstudents27 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I've seen plenty of existentialist BS about this show, but frankly it is just lame. no reason to dig deeper and try to make something valid out of something that isn't. It's like making a child's doll out of your last turd. Seriously...It's that bad. It smells that bad, it is that bad. I am so disappointed that I lost my time to this turd. So I'm looking in the mirror, admitting it, and moving on. I only wanted to warn the next person. If you want to watch a turd circling the toilet there are easier ways.
15 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed