Breathe In (2013) Poster

(2013)

User Reviews

Review this title
54 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Delicate and refreshing take on a tired subject
Emma_Stewart26 July 2013
Unhappily married man falls for beautiful woman half his age whom he believes will free him from his imaginary prison: this plot has been done so many times, very rarely with any creativity or passion, and so Drake Doremus' latest addition to the anthology, Breathe In, doesn't inspire much excitement at first glance. But Doremus successfully sidesteps the staple clichés of the infidelity drama and has crafted an oddly delicate, taut, and surgical film that captivates and succeeds in spite of a few minor plot conveniences.

Keith Reynolds (Guy Pearce) is an ex-guitarist whose passions and hobbies have been stifled in favor of a suffocating teaching job and a quiet home life in a New York suburb with wife Megan (Amy Ryan) and daughter Lauren (Mackenzie Davis, a real find). During Lauren's senior year of high school, the family hosts pleasant but guarded exchange student Sophie (Felicity Jones), whose presence chips away at an evidently already fragile marriage and Keith's resentfully upheld responsibilities.

Doremus' breakthrough picture Like Crazy (also starring Jones) drew its fair share of detractors for its unconvincing plot developments and shockingly naive characters. He still doesn't have a complete handle on how to let plots develop organically, and Keith and Sophie are destructive and weak-willed if not naive, but Doremus is clearly growing as a writer: the bumps are less jarring, the characters more understandable. Breathe In is expertly precise and poetically delicate: sensational arguments and wild sex scenes are excluded in favor of subtle tremors in relationship dynamics and a tentative, genuine mental connection between the two leads. A plot line that lends itself easily to melodrama is instead executed with restraint and grace: Keith and Sophie don't even kiss until over an hour into the film and instead grow closer through fleeting glances, shared passions, mutual desires to break free, and support and curiosity that neither have received from another person in a very long time. Refreshingly, for once, it's not at all about sex - it is sensual, but the leads connect on a profound, intimate level rather than a physical one and, strangely enough, there are times when you can't help but want them to be together.

Pearce gives his best performance in years here as vulnerable and secretly needy Keith; he perfectly captures the crushing regret and childish idealism of a midlife crisis, and his slow unraveling at Sophie's touch is beautiful to watch. Jones, for the third year in a row, deserves some serious attention for her work here - Sophie is a stereotypical faux-intellectual, confident she sees all and knows all, and Jones retains that adolescent conceit while imbuing her with a deep, affecting loneliness and pain and a quiet but steely veneer masking it from the world. It's less showy, but more intricate and adult than her work in Like Crazy. Mackenzie Davis' first major movie role is pretty demanding and full of pitfalls, yet she creates the most sympathetic character in the film. Amy Ryan unfortunately isn't given much to do, and occasionally her character feels uncomfortable villainized, but she gives Jones a look at the end of the film that says much more than a 10- minute screaming scene ever could and confirms that she is one of the most insightful and communicative actresses around. There's not much dialogue in the film, and most of it is layered with subtext rather than explicitly revealing, so a great deal of responsibility falls on the cast's shoulders, and they more than carry their weight.

Critics of Like Crazy probably won't be won over by Breathe In as in terms of direction, style and writing it follows many of the same formulas - a simple piano score, natural and unaffected cinematography, many close-ups and scenes where nothing at all is communicated verbally. The characters are less likable this time, and while they are more fleshed out and therefore easier to relate to, it's difficult to find someone to root for. But Doremus is maturing: there's less reliance on plot contrivances to move the story along, and instead he lets the tiny fissures, the soundless sensuality, and the growing tension drive the film to its explosive and agonizing finale. There is some great character- and dynamic-building here, and once Doremus has a better grasp of storytelling, he will really be a force to be reckoned with.
86 out of 104 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Breath of Fresh Air
Siren55521 January 2013
No mere love story, "Breathe In" is a quietly powerful film about two people who are eloquently and achingly swept up in a deep "connection" that defies description. To label this honest and beautiful film a "family drama" does it an injustice, but if that's what it is, then "Breathe In" is the best family drama I have ever seen. Felicity Jones as Sophie, the visitor, is captivating -- insightful, kind, and vaguely troubled. Sophie also happens to be a piano prodigy, perhaps an allusion to being a sort of "prodigal daughter." The film's atmosphere is masterful,an outstanding collaboration of cinematography, production design, and music. Breathe In maintains tension without ever becoming shrill,oppressive, or melodramatic, a balance that has been difficult to strike in so many of the "family dramas" that have come before it.
79 out of 100 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Such an intricate study of a few people
themusgrat2 December 2013
This film manages to capture so much in so little time. Rarely do I think about a movie long after it's over, but I will be thinking about this for days. I could go on and on about the acting, or the direction, but that would do a disservice to what was actually presented. This is an in-depth study of a family and how their relationships change as they welcome an exchange student into their home.

Everything works together so beautifully here, almost too well. In a very profound way, these people manage to represent a struggle which has been done over and over, yet is captivating.

I'll be honest. This was hard for me to finish. The emotions running through the course of the movie were much too strong for what I thought I was getting myself into. Most classical musicians would have a difficult time with this film. In a single word, "beautiful." And if it had to be two words, the second would be "wrenching." I think we all long for this type of connection, but how to maintain it is the question that is asked of us. This was an honest and obtrusive peek into the way we live our lives. That's what separates film from art. There are many painters, many musicians, but few artists. Art is all about pulling things from people they didn't know they had, and I think anyone could gain something from this, if one can only manage to think past the here and now.
30 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
'Breathe In' is a breath of fresh air.
thekashif20 October 2013
I watched "Breath In" last night with my wife and when its finished she said that "I just finished the movie and its so beautiful that I can watch it again just now" and this quote goes for me too. If you think we are exaggerating then go and watch yourself this movie and you ll agree with us.

I love the overall feel of the movie. Its a tiring subject which has been shown in movies many times but the way this movie portrays the same subject is outstanding and beautiful. All the actors did tremendous acting. I cant praise enough the scenes between Guy Pierce and Felicity Jones. I can watch this movie hundred of times and still enjoy it like I did in my first viewing.. What a beautiful wonderful movie. I also love the fact that there is no overly dramatic music in this movie and we just hear very beautiful piano notes and some outstanding cello which is well matched with the atmosphere of the movie.

I can say this without any hesitation that I have seen hundred of films this year but this is easily the best film of 2013 I have seen this year. I wish they make more movies like this one. Usually movies like these are made by Foreign film makers so its a breath of fresh air to see American Directors are experimenting with such cinema too.
36 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Tedious? No way...this is a very insightful and well-crafted movie.
MartinHafer7 September 2014
"Breathe In" is a film whose plot sounds a bit salacious. And, considering it's a rated R film, I was a bit apprehensive to see the movie. After all, the film is about a man who falls in love with the high school exchange student that he and his wife took into their home. However, the film turned out to be extremely well made and not at all what I expected. And, I have no idea why it's rated R, as the film has no nudity, violence and the language is awfully tame. Overall, it's well worth your time finding this film--and it's available as of this week with Netflix.

When the story begins, Keith Reynolds (Guy Pearce) and his wife Megan (Amy Ryan) seem to have a very good life. Their daughter is a pretty high school athlete, they have a lovely home in the suburbs and the marriage seems strong. All of this is shaken shortly after they take in Sophie (Felicity Jones)--an exchange student from Britain. You begin to notice that there are some problems in the Reynolds marriage. Keith is a frustrated musician who dreams of leaving his teaching job to be a full-time musician. However, Megan won't even consider this and insists that he must continue working to keep the family just as it is now. And, she is quite dismissive of his dreams and seems to have little desire to connect with his love of music. Here is where Sophie comes into the picture. She is a great pianist herself and loves Keith's music. She also encourages him with his dream of joining a great orchestra. So, as the film progresses, the pair become closer and closer. And so, when they begin to feel inappropriate feelings towards each other (especially since he is her teacher), it's not especially surprising and, in some ways, it's expected by the viewer. However, and this is important, the film is NOT meant as a romance or endorsement for middle-aged men to have sex with young exchange students. Instead, it's a character study about loneliness within a marriage--loneliness which may push someone to consider making some very stupid choices.

So why do I recommend the film? Well, the film is so well made in so many ways. The acting (particularly by Pearce and Jones) is so good because it seems so real. And, the director did a nice job of combining this acting, a nice and provocative script and some really wonderful emotive music into a great little package. I also liked it because it really makes you think and assess where you are in your life. It really struck close to home for me and my own marriage. For me, it was actually very affirming because my own wife went through a mid-life crisis like Keith Reynolds--wanting to give up a very lucrative career as an engineer to become a fiction writer. But, unlike Megan, I thought this was great. Sure, it might mean giving up a lot for the family so that she could follow her dream...but we also knew it would kill her if she didn't--and she is worth the sacrifice. And, in the end, we are all so much better for it--she is quite successful and the change has definitely been for the better for not just her but the entire family.

As I mentioned above, this film just came out on Netflix this week and is well worth seeing--particularly with your partner or other loved ones. Don't worry about the R rating--it's also fine for you to see with your teens or mother! I also noticed a reviewer who saw the film as tedious. Well, I sure didn't and it kept my interest throughout.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
So much promise..
frode-hauge26 December 2013
I wish I could have given this a standing ovation, really I do. I loved the first half. The second could have been so good; all about impossible feelings and the characters accepting that fact, thriving on what little could be had and growing from it. But it was all squandered away in an apparent belief that "stuff has to happen."

I'll admit it would have been rather predictable even if it had been completed in a proper manner. But the mood and production was such that I don't think it would have bothered me. I am left with a fraction of the magic that could, nay should, have been here.

This ought to have been a strong 8. Instead I must score it a 6. And that makes me sad.
21 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
"Breathe In" Took My Breathe Away
pampowell525 January 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This film was an emotionally loaded, well-acted, deftly directly movie with a musical score that left me breathless!  I had the pleasure (and luck) to see this during its opening at the  Sundance Film Festival.  BREATHE IN starred Guy Pearce, Felicity Jones, Amy Ryan, Mackenzie Davis and  Kyle MacLachlan along with many other talented actors.  However, there was another standout that didn't appear directly on the screen.  This was Dustin O'Halloran, the extraordinary musical composer.  The film in and of itself was wonderful, but the music added another level of emotion that  truly did leave me breathless in parts.  

BREATHE IN was about a foreign exchange student who spends a semester with a family in upstate NY (my home territory).  The apparently happy nuclear family of three, one being a daughter, Lauren, who is a senior in high school (another way I can relate), welcomed this newcomer into their family.  However,  Lauren (Davis) and her father, Keith (Pearce) have some reservations for their own reasons.  Sophie, the exchange student from England (Jones),  seemed unwittingly to create a wave of destruction with every step that she took.  In the short time she was there, Sophie managed to alienate Lauren and start an affair with Keith, the father.  We watched as emotions and lives changed.  

Again, this was a captivating and emotional film.  The writing was superb and the direction, cast, and skills of all those involved couldn't have been any better.  As all these aspects of the movie effortlessly combined, it enabled the viewer to have empathy for each of the characters. How often does this happen?  This is a must see movie when it is picked up and distributed.
19 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hesitate no longer
anabbxs1 November 2013
The only reason you are reading this review is because you want to watch Breathe In. In this case do so now! Read no more! You will not be disappointed! It is beautifully done. Both Felicity Jones and Guy Pearce play an outstanding role. It's so intense. This is the sort of movie where you can't figure out what exactly is going to happen in the ending and because of this it makes it that much special. There is a beauty behind everything that happens which is definitely amazing. How timing can be so crucial and change each ones circumstances is incredible. Loved it! Pretty sure I am going to watch it all over again and enjoy it just as much.
21 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Cold and melancholic, but it has a heart buried deep down that wins you over.
Sergeant_Tibbs28 November 2013
It appears Drake Doremus is fascinated by English-American relationships to the point of obsession. I didn't see his previous film Like Crazy as it was a little too close to home for me and I didn't wanna risk the potential dreary things it had to say. But then, maybe Doremus is just fascinated by Felicity Jones. Although I loved her in Cemetery Junction, I haven't seen any of her films since. She has a strange screen presence where she can go from charming to icy, perhaps at will. And maybe that suits this quiet and subtle film. Much like the perspective of its protagonist, a stifled artist played by Guy Pearce, Breathe In plays its first hour deliberately close to the chest with cold mundane sequences detailing the characters plain routine of life. It captures it in voyeuristic cinematography, saturating their world in dull blues and greys.

With improvised dialogue from the actors in an attempt to feel its way through the drama of the film, acting can sometimes feel natural but more often than not, it can feel awkward. It's a double-edged sword in its style of choice, one that's a risk in if it'll pay off. It's a slow build, and unfortunately one that feels like it's not setting up enough. But this is a difficult topic. Older man and younger woman relationships can often feel uncomfortable, especially when it's a challenge to get the audience to sympathise with such privileged characters in the first place. If there was one thing that could save Breathe In from averageness, it was making the core relationship sincere. And a pleasant surprise, it won me over. It taps into the human condition and reveals the emotional needs that bind us all. That connection bolsters the film significantly and makes its relatively urgent third act all the more compelling. While it can feel unnecessarily melancholic, Breathe In is a film of rewarding delicate touches if in small doses.

7/10
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the very essence of love
trippy-681-9657417 September 2015
Drake Doremus can film the very essence of love like no one else - he did it in Like Crazy and he did it here again. For me personally this movie is a way to remember how love is felt when it comes. Love in this movie is felt through natural directing and operator work, beautiful music, nice cast and simple but emotional story. Felicity Jones contributes to the whole impression greatly by her lyrical and mysterious character which is very attractive. Guy Pearce does a solid job too performing a character which can be argued a lot but one can find a true human emotion in it. And this movie is not even about having a good cast, script or camera work... it's about making you feel the same feelings that there are on the screen. One who experienced it in his life will catch it here. This is the true magic cinematography and art in general can give and Drake Doremus is a person who makes it feel real from the screen. Astounding.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The choice should be in your hands
July_Faraday19 September 2014
At some point in the movie Sophie says to Keith: "You just have to make sure that you're choosing it. I just don't wanna be living a life where I'm not choosing stuff", which is so profound and one of the few real truths of life I think. This movie shows the struggles in life, the awful truth that after 17 years a father, who made sacrifices for his family is not happy being a music teacher and living in the outskirts of New York in a small quiet town. The arrival of exchange student Sophie is the trigger and a wake-up call in his life and marriage. The tender love story is portrayed brilliantly and the paralyzing hit of reality is so profound it will make you think deeply of your own life. This movie is worth the watch.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Boring, Predictale, and Beautiful
dansview19 October 2014
One of the problems with casting a person for a teenage role who is actually way older, is that you get an inaccurate depiction of what a teen is really like. This is true in terms of both looks and emotion.

I admit that I've met some 18 year old girls who seemed way older. But I never saw them deal with life crises. I bet they would not have dealt with them the way a 28 year old would. Felicity Jones was much older in real life than the character she played. In reality the male lead was only 16 years older than her. But he is probably supposed to be about 25 years older.

The attractive young woman who shares the male lead's interests and passions is a symbol of the disappointment of his life. His wife cannot relate to him, and perhaps never could. She was probably just humoring his musical lifestyle when they were young.

Ironically, the young girl will probably grow up to be just like his wife. She'll want a house in the country and a husband with a steady conventional job.

Not much happens in this film. It is all innuendo and atmosphere. But both of those are done beautifully. Upstate New York looks exquisite, the shots of the beautiful young woman are artistically pleasing, and the classical music fits the scenes perfectly.

Credit is due to the actors for portraying longing, and stifling dissatisfaction with aplomb. You feel their desperation without them saying much. Having said that, I would have appreciated at least one monologue from the male about how he really feels. If he could take down his guard for a few minutes and let it all out, that would have made the film. You could still keep all the subtle moments, but let him break down once and tell us something about how it feels.

My favorite scene is when the neighbor guy cavalierly says what is on both their minds. That was refreshing. He simply states that his neighbor has a hot young thing living with him and asks him what it's like. Then he says that it would be great to be young again.

This was a piece of self-indulgent art, but certainly worth viewing if you have the patience. Great cinematography, stellar acting, and plenty of mood music.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It could of have been a great romance film!
monberger21 October 2018
"Breathe In" is forbidden love story. Pierce and Jones are great!!! they have great believable chemistry. the music score is endearing to desire. unfortunately, this film falls short at the end.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's a quite saccharine 'Tender is the Night'
chinwags4 March 2018
Warning: Spoilers
TITN was an almost forensic examination of the pathology of failure in a married life. The wife feels shut-out of her husband's life because she has no insight into his wonderful creative capacity (as a writer). Their lives decay because they cannot sustain this "passing like ships in the night" between them.

And so in this movie, Keith's wife's lack of support for his dreams drives him into the emotional hands at least of Sophie. She understands his wants and aspirations to be set free as that professional cello player, being so extraordinarily gifted as a piano player. The movie resists the temptation to indulge that oh so overused trope of teacher/pupil relationship; but instead becomes a beautiful study in frustrated desire, distantly glimpsed dreams, grasped at in the full grip of yawning temptations fueled by unfulfilled desires; yet it never accedes, never does the easy thing. Sophie awakens something in Keith, and Keith remains strong and faithful enough to keep loyalty to those who love him the most. And for that reason, the movie stands above a stereotypical genre movie. And is all the stronger for it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Slow, turgid, awkward, embarrassing
davek285 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Very slow and meandering. Annoying hand held camera. Unintelligible dialogue (and no subtitles on the Blu-Ray). Washed out colours. Poorly improvised dialogue. Predictable plot. Awkward and embarrassing throughout. Quite nice music when it's not being intrusive. Saw the car crash coming a mile off. Lots of significant, meaningful looks. Watched the minutes slowly counting down on the player's display. Glad when it was over. A shame, as I quite like Felicity Jones.

Annoying hand held camera. Unintelligible dialogue (and no subtitles on the Blu-Ray). Washed out colours. Very slow and meandering. Poorly improvised dialogue. Predictable plot. Awkward and embarrassing throughout. Quite nice music when it's not being intrusive. Saw the car crash coming a mile off. Lots of significant, meaningful looks. Watched the minutes slowly counting down on the player's display. Glad when it was over. A shame, as I quite like Felicity Jones.
14 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No, no, no...
seangores27 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This movie really failed to do anything besides show bad morality looks like. The entire premise of this movie is WRONG. The characters in this movie are not believable.

Let's start with Keith (the father). Keith is a married man, with a job as a music teacher, who happens to not like teaching. So he is auditioning for first chair in the local orchestra. He gets the job, then decides to elope with Sophie (the exchange girl). First of all: you get the job you want, then, out of some undemonstrated hate for your kid AND your wife, you decide to elope with a stranger you met only a couple of weeks ago. Hmmmm... I totally believe this.

Then Sophie (exchange girl). An girl goes on an exchange to the US, without really researching where she'll be staying (who the family is), then decides she will not play piano in the house she's staying at because she wants to "have the choice". So... you go on an exchange to study music... to not study music? How many students do you think do an exchange without researching the family where they're staying? Hmmm... I totally believe this.

The actual movie was slow, and no real problem was ever presented. Only near the end, when Keith and Sophie decide to elope, is there some conflict; but Keith fails to address any of it with Megan (the wife). Things could have been SLIGHTLY interesting if we saw some kind of interaction addressing his eloping, but all we get is dry screenplay with little material to keep us watching.

The movie is ridden with unnecessary family drama, violin concerts, and piano lessons. I don't recommend this movie whatsoever, unless you want to learn how to be a sex offender. Maybe go read Oedipus Rex, and you'll get a taste for how disgusting and implausible this is.
15 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Beautifully cut film
dreamdigital-smith23 October 2013
Loved this film. Guy Pierce, as always, gives a great performance. The movie I thought ended well and this is a story where you feel for everyone involved. There really is only one person in the story that you really don't like and this individual is not that much of a main character. Very well edited film and the music was great to listen to. Like his last film, he allows the actors to act and doesn't take out their performance in the editing room. This film is artistically driven with it's shots and use of the music to help you feel what the characters are feeling. All of the Actors in this film deliver to help you appreciate the gravity of the situation that is this story.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
The best is subtle and searing--but then the plot goes for cheap sensation...
secondtake25 February 2015
Breathe In (2013)

An exquisitely written story that belies its simple arc of a plot. On the surface this looks like a story of a married man falling for one of his students—been there done that so many times it might not survive another iteration. But here that basic hook is used to dig rather deeply into the problem of this man's life—not only why he might be tempted into a foolish affair, but why, in a weird way, it isn't (for him) foolish. The first half of this movie plays this out with finesse.

The teacher is worked to a delicate balance by Guy Pearce, an ever thoughtful actor who seems perfectly cast. He's a musician who has turned to teaching music to make a living, and he clearly appreciates art and good music, always for the poetic depth it gives him. His wife (Amy Ryan) is superficial to a perfect degree—her interest is collecting cookie jars. And their daughter is a swimming star, cheerful but not a bit deep. Neither of them gives him a bit of what he really needs.

So when a foreign exchange high school student—a budding pianist—arrives in their house, an obvious opportunity arises. And I don't mean for some fun or an emotional sidetrip, but for a revival of honest feelings for life. Felicity Jones plays this out with an expected mix of shy expectance and seductive depth.

The second half of the movie, unfortunately, lets some of the restraint and delicacy crumble, and the more it descends (or rises, if you like excess) into unlikely extremes, the more it is just a story told for its plot twists. For me that became less interesting, especially because I so much liked the subtle writing in the beginning.

The final scene brings home that the point of the movie really is about that pretense of happiness upper middle class (or upper class) families work so hard to keep. To everyone's detriment. There is a lot here to like in an ultimately compromised plot.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Breathe In is a tedious drama
Argemaluco19 June 2014
Breathe In is developed with measure and subtleness, until the ending comes and co-screenwriters Drake Doremus (who was also the director) and Ben York Jones realize the fact that not many things have happened. It's only then when they set the characters free to manifest the explosive emotions which were slowly cooked during the rest of the film. However, it's already too late to save this tedious film, whose good performances can't compensate the lack of energy and of an interesting screenplay. We can imagine the route the screenplay will take from practically the first scene. Keith is happy with his wife and daughter, working as a music teacher in an exclusive local academy; but at the same time, he misses his youth, when he belonged to a rock group, and wonders whether his life could have taken a different road. Then, the attractive Sophie, mature for her age, comes full of life and passion... and the rest of the screenplay practically writes itself. On the positive side, we have competent performances from Guy Pearce, Felicity Jones, Amy Ryan and Mackenzie Davis. However, as I previously said, they can't compensate the fact that the screenplay is developed exactly like we expected, and even though the ending tries to throw some curves, they don't feel like an integral part of the story, but like a desperate strategy to simulate complexity where there wasn't any. In conclusion, I found Breathe In a boring and uninteresting drama, and I can't recommend it.
10 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lolita, but not like before.
face-819-93372617 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Yes it is a very deep drama, full of excellent direction, and acting. I found myself drawn to each character, and you could very easily feel for each of them at the same time. At times this is a very dear family film.

The story does not get too bogged down ever, there is a constant flow, as the leaves change and we move from summer to fall. The Director did an excellent job of capturing the sorrow of each family member even in their happier times.

This is never a teen romp, or a creepy older man trying to seduce a younger woman, or even an evil girl trying to ruin a family, this movie is just life, and what can happen when you through a big adorable wrench into it.

The rest could be considered a spoiler, but to me it puts the whole movie into perspective: Not the best idea to bring an 18 year old exchange student into your home who has a shared interest in your husbands life's passion, and put her in a school where he teaches, worse yet in his class. You just don't do that! But this woman did, and because of it I just watched a very good movie.

Enjoy!
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Improvised dialogue and ordinary plot sink this indie tale of suburban marital infidelity
Turfseer19 August 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Keith Reynolds was a rock musician when he was younger but now aspires to be first cellist in a local symphony orchestra in suburban Westchester. That way, he can quit his regular job as a music teacher at the local high school. He's a grim-faced sort of guy who never laughs (nor do any of the other characters in 'Breathe In', a lugubrious melodrama starring Guy Pearce as a wayward musician). He's married to his non-descript wife, Megan and they have a daughter, Lauren, who attends the same high school Keith teaches in.

The Reynolds decide to sponsor a British exchange student, Sophie, for a semester, and right off the bat you can guess where the plot is going. Sophie, only 18 years old, is the prescribed home wrecker. The only question that remains is what kind of home wrecker is she? Perhaps a demon seed who ends up murdering a principal or two in the household? Not quite. We finally find out that Sophie is a near genius pianist who demonstrates her extreme competence, when Keith insists that she introduce herself by playing a classical piece before his high school class.

After that it's a long drag as Keith and Sophie grow closer to each other. Eventually, they find themselves cuddling by a lake in a local park and there's finally one rather chaste kiss. Much to daughter Lauren's chagrin, she spies her errant father canoodling with the sultry exchange student. Since Lauren was also rejected by her first time sex flame, the combination of the two bad actors (daddy and ex-boyfriend) is too much for her to handle. She gets behind the wheel of her car after swigging some alcohol, and gets into a possibly fatal accident as she veers off the road into the woods, to avoid an oncoming truck.

Of course this dark moment at the end of Act 2, occurs precisely around the same time Keith lands the job as principal cellist in the orchestra and is playing for the first time in the big seat. He's also decided to run off with the young Sophie but just as he meets her, he learns of Lauren's accident.

After Megan trashes the house after realizing that Keith has run off, she meets him at the hospital, where she gives him a decidedly negative reception. Fortunately, director Drake Doremus doesn't go as far as to kill off the daughter, and make this a real heavy-handed tragedy. Instead, poor Sophie gets a double dose of bad stares from both Keith and Megan when they return home and her days in America have decisively come to an end.

David Lee Dallas of Slant Magazine perhaps puts it best in his review: "Breathe In masquerades as a sensitive character study, seemingly high-brow because it's so low-key, but underneath that veneer is an inert, thinly plotted melodrama premised on trite characterizations that would be offensive if they weren't so absurd."

Part of Breath In's problem is that most of the dialogue feels like it's improvised. Indeed, director Doremus worked from a 60 page outline and not a full-blown script. After numerous takes, Doremus has been quoted as saying that the actors simply "knew what to say." Some may find that inventive, but I do not.

As Breathe In plods along, one finds oneself mildly interested in how the story resolves itself. But once all is said and done, this earnest little tale of infidelity proves to be ordinary as they come.
9 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Slow Storyline! 3/10
leonblackwood12 October 2013
Review: This is quite a deep drama that it pretty predictable from the get go. The problem isn't the performances from the actors, it's the slow storyline that takes some time to get going. The director made the movie to be quite realistic, but for entertainment, you really need to be in the mood for a moody drama that is mostly based around feeling more than dialogue and action. The ending seemed pretty rushed compared to the big build up, and there wasn't that much explanation about the girl character, but I think that's because the director wanted to keep the whole story of her life, a mystery. In all, a pretty average movie that we have seen many times before. Average!

Round-Up: It seems like Guy Pearce has to make a few independent movies along with his Blockbusters, just to stay grounded. For his style of acting, this movie was a good choice and it really shows how far he has come from starring in Neighbours, years ago. From Prometheus to Lawless and Iron Man 3, it's obvious that Hollywood has taken to Guy Pearce and he can, more or less, pick and choose the roles that he wants. As for the other actors, I haven't really seen them in much so I can't comment on there careers, but they all made the movie feel realistic.

I recommend this movie to people who are into the emotional dramas about a family who takes on a exchange student. 3/10
20 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A gently mesmerizing love story
johnanchovie23 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Set against an upstate New York backdrop and textured with virtuoso musical performances is a sublime tale of love unrequited. The film teases out the sexual tension between the lead roles exquisitely executed by Guy Pearce and Felicity Jones. So much ground is covered with a glance, a pause, a reticent moment. Each of these is profoundly affecting in its restraint and yet serves to drive the narrative forward. The director manages to draw performances not just from the actors but from the spaces and the objects that inhabit them. I am reminded of Visconti's 'Death In Venice'. It is in the same vein. Each element speaks, each supports the whole. I will be looking out for great things from Doremus as he moves his career forward.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A nice drama movie about silent love
alpa225124 October 2013
It is very much movie out there intended to entertain us only and not about acting performance who really capture emotion of the audience. 'Breathe In' is one of those rare movies. Of course, wonderful performance from matured Guy Pearce and beautiful Felicity Jones lifted this 'slow' movie from the start. While i did not like very much at the end, overall this movie catch the audience feeling through its music/orchestra background which made the movie enjoyable to watch with. I would not go to the story line, i suggest you not to see movie review before see this movie, because it will ruin your expectation. I wonder if Hollywood would make much movie like this in the future. Must see movie, and it is easily the one of the best movie of 2013!
6 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Until loneliness did us apart
cheer8829 August 2015
This movie is profoundly impacted in various levels. Two lonely people sought for a meaningful companionship despite their ages. It was prone to be tragic Romeo & Julia only in a sinful way.

Loneliness is fatal to the marriage. It might sieve through unnoticeably when two partners no longer communicate. Then the marriage is inevitably in jeopardy. As the connection with inner souls is in demand it challenges the long marriage even more. Humen are habitual creatures. We might merely care to talk to each other when we used to each other's existence. This movie at least served us as such a cautious tale.

The movie gradually divulged the discontent of the husband's life and yearning for intellectual companionship and stimulate. The prelude somehow strongly indicated the sinful and disastrous outcome might be brewing in the future. Nevertheless, as the quiet before storm looming it was coincidentally inverted by the twists of fates.

Reexamining our lives, we might find ourselves in those situations sometimes. Those impediments make us see what we really inquire.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed