Blue Mountain State (TV Series 2010–2011) Poster

(2010–2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
47 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Surprisingly awesome series
monika_cosic26 December 2012
I did not expect much from this show at all. Some friends were watching it and I just caught a few minutes. One night I got bored and noticed that it was available on Netflix. I was hooked from the first five minutes, and I finished watching every single episode within three days. People say that the humor is similar to American Pie, but I disagree; it is more fun by far! The characters are perfect, and the actors have done a magnificent job. The jokes, the scenes and the actors together make this show the funniest I have watched in ages. I could not stop laughing. All I can say is that if you have a sense of humor and a love for stupidity in all shapes, you will love this show. I was really surprised, in the best way possible! Enjoy!
39 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
this TV show was amazing
heaphymichael29 November 2012
I am a TV lover. I'm into everything and its not often that a show gets me as excited about seeing it again and again and again . really !! this show has got to be the best TV series i have ever seen to date and I've seen a lot. i cannot believe that spike decided not to launch a 4th season. if there is any chance of the show been brought back to life it would make my life a hole not better. this show has given me so much laughter even when things are bad i look to the watch BMS and by the end of one single episode i have a smile and feel great. this show was and is the best TV show i will ever see. please bring it back !!!(please)
34 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hilarious television
syrupcheer@hotmail.com19 March 2010
I came across this show when I was flipping through the channels just this past Tuesday. I was on the floor laughing my butt off before it was halfway through. Afterwards I watched the rest on the spike TV homepage and just couldn't stop laughing. This show is awesome and I love the acting by the main guys. I used to watch Darin Brooks on Days of Our Lives and just thought he was amazing and with this show he has taken it to a whole new level. I also remember Sam Jones from Smallville and think he is just so talented. I forgot the other players name but he is too funny. So glad it was renewed for another season. Now instead of wondering what to do with my Tuesday nights I will definitely tune in to this show. It has by far become one of my favorite comedy's to date.
85 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This show rocks
captain24066 September 2012
Slap stick simple comedy that brings about all the joys of college. Its really a shame this show got canceled while "reality" TV continues. Probably one of the best sport shows ever for comedy. The supporting characters changed a lot, but that was great because it provided a dynamic environment for the comedy. Guest stars were great, seeing Chad Ochocinco and the Captains ceremony made me laugh out loud. I do wish they had a few more actual football scenes, but maybe the actors weren't athletic enough. The show probably lack in the female audience as it was very much geared towards guys with all the themes, but a great guy show it was. All in all though a great show.
37 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
bring it on.. Its hilarious
la_lith11 April 2010
Actually i never thought this could be this much fun. Its a non stop fun express.. i would love to see more of this.. i just cant wait to catch the next season.

Great characters,plot and comedy is of the chart.. i laughed non stop and I'm addicted to this show..

I recommend every one to give this show a shot.. i promise you will not regret it not a bit.

Im from India and i love American television very much.. they rock.I almost watch every show except reality and soap.Enjoy guys greetings from India

Blue mountain state rocks a non stop fun show..
122 out of 159 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
American Pie: The Series - Good for what it is
julemanden46 November 2010
9/10

A series about a football team with loads of sex and drugs.. So, college. This is a great series for what it is, but not much more. It has a lot of good jokes and a lot of good characters. The 'bully' and captain of the team is hilariously insane, and the story is compelling to any teenager. If you've come for intelligent television, you're looking the wrong way, because this is pretty dumb television, but I enjoy watching it.

Watch it if you like movies like "American Pie", "Dude, where's my car?" and similar teenage movies.

Also, am I the only one who thinks the main character is sort of like a younger Johnny Depp?
64 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So sad its over :(
kevin-0759127 May 2015
Honestly i just watched all 3 seasons start to finish and I've never been so sad to see a series end! You guys should make more episodes please! Like make 4 or 5 more seasons and start advertising yourselves right crazy and get a huuge fan base going on! That'd be right gnarly! Yup throughly enjoyed this series. Your always laughing and its just right crazy, and the stuff they do is just ridiculous. Cant wait for the movie wonder how its gunna go. actually watching it right now and its just a roller coaster of wickedness. id have to say my favourite character would be Moran, hes pretty funny and hes usually chill 'bout everything. i guess thads alright hes pretty funny too.
16 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
More than your typical college.
drzahm16 April 2011
Warning: Spoilers
Blue Mountain State is a genius parody of college life. The characters are larger than life in all the right ways. The writers hit the college comedy dead on in every episode. I skipped over this title in Netflix, but my husband decided to check it out one lazy afternoon. I knew I loved that man for a reason.

Darin Brooks makes debauchery delightful as Alex Moran, the second string quarterback for the Blue Mountain State Goats. His second string status allows slacker Alex to have high social status on campus while taking on very little responsibility. His dry humor and quick wit make him a hit with the ladies, but his womanizing ways don't alienate female viewers. His loyalty to long time best friend, socially awkward Sammy the mascot, lends some heart to this otherwise stereotypical man's man.

Alan Ritchman is consummate blonde and self-obsessed captain Thad Castle. Thad's only setting is full speed ahead. He is an overly confident idiot. The confidence with which he spouts his idiocy just serves to amplify the fact that the whole world is in on the joke except for Thad. He just blithely marches on with all the sincerity in the world, but not a clue as to the truth. His ignorance often leads Thad—who I'm almost sure is straight—to emit homo-erotic vibes that everyone perceives as weird and disturbing. Well, everyone except his sidekick and fellow defense man Larry, who picks up Thad's mixed signals loud and clear.

Fellow teammates include a kicker who is obsessed with drugs and likes the smell of his own genitals on his fingers; a white lineman whose halfro hairstyle and crazy actions make him look like a clown; and a narcissistic quarterback with his own hyperbaric chamber in his dorm room who required the goats to have a personal "problem solver" before he would agree to attend BMS. Somehow these characters manage to make up a championship football team.

The team is lead by Ed Marinaro as Coach Marty Daniels, a gruff "who gives a crap" alcoholic coach whose passion is football—and needling his cougar ex-wife and her new husband, the intelligent but not all that smart Dean of Blue Mountain State. Daniels' nonchalance seems like the best way to handle his team and keep some grip on his sanity. As he watches the bizarre hazing and other off the wall antics of his team, the message his body language (and sometimes his mouth) portrays is usually a slightly bewildered, "What the hell are they doing?"

Full of college characters and college humor; don't expect much college level thinking from this show. It is one absurd half hour packed with stereotypes of college life that are so exaggerated that your jaw will inevitably drop—either as you gasp for breath in laughter or as your mouth hangs agape in horror. If it's the latter then you've taken the show and yourself far too seriously. Lighten up, crack a beer, and enjoy a taste of college.
19 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Everything a middle aged guy would love
mikelunemann24 May 2010
Warning: Spoilers
This is a hilariously, sometimes over the top, show. The first few episodes i was almost crying from laughing too much. The way that the writers of this show contrasts the characters, allows for most times a hilarious joke to form from what would most times be unavailable. I would definitely say that the show is a mix of Van Wilder and American Pie. It brings back the hilarity from both and amplifies it. The first season takes you through the beginnings of getting on a team, from the initiation hazing, partying, and then with bowl games and rivalries with other schools. If you haven't seen this show, don't knock it until you try it.
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
COLLEGE! COLLEGE! "It's not gay! Stop saying that!!!"
smestad118 July 2010
Warning: Spoilers
As my friend showed me this show I was thinking gaaaah.....I thought it was gonna be American Pie - The Series -.- and I gotta be honest...i find the American pie and the other teen movies even crappier every time, but Blue Mountain State....college is soooooo awesome!

The characters are just brilliant except sometimes(but not often) there are jokes that leaves you thinking "yeah......hm..". Alex Moran joins Blue Mountain State's football team and well....if he doesn't need to be on the field....he can't be arsed to go to the field...and as a second string quarterback he is not the most important man on the team and he sure as hell doesn't want to be :) He can party, get all the chicks...he's just plain cool actually haha. Sammy on the other hand...is kind of a loser, pathetic or just weird...but still i believe he's a genius and he is very likable...Chylo or w,e he's called...meh OK..Thad or w,e HIS name is...AWESOME haha. No he's not gay all though very often seems to be...all the characters just create a great great envoirement and funny situations and a hell of a good show!

-smestad1
24 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Season 2 please
delinqvent22 May 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Well, I was surfing the net and I found some posts about BMS on a site (irelevant), bored as I was I tried to see what's the deal. Little did I know that I would find a genius combination of Van Wilder & American Pie (2 of my favorite movies), thing is the funniest part for me was that all of those things really happen in college, me being a first year myself. Annyway this is incredible and I was amazed of the characters being so cool and well played. If it's worth anything i highly recommend this to anyone, and for those who are in college and don't have that much fun, learn from it, you will have the time of your life. I sure hope season 2 comes quick cause i can't wait!!! GO GOATS!!!
22 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My favorite series ever!
jonathan-petter2 November 2013
As a person whom doesn't enjoy all these mainstream thing right now like Breaking Bad or Game of Thrones. I really had a hard time finding something to entertain me with, until i found this series.

I can safely say this is my favorite series ever. I've re-watched all the seasons many times, I even watched a whole season in one day.

The simple but brilliant humor will entertain for hours and hours. Many people say this is like American Pie. Surely it has the same kind of humor but with a whole 'nother story behind it, and that is what I love about it. I really feels like all of this would happen at a college and the whole setting of the college is so realistic and all the characters are very love-able.

If there is any series i would watch for the rest of my life, it would be this one.
21 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring Back Blue Mountain State!!!
jfilipiak1010 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
The best sports/comedy TV series I have ever watched.

Man the reviews seem so good I can't come up with a reason why Spike would drop it.

I first watched it and was sold on the first episode! I went and told all my friends, who told all their friends and this is all we talk about everyday.

Ironic how at the end of each season BMS loses or messes up a bowl game haha!

All I can say is in the words of Thad Castle I hope that somebody finds some "namaste" and brings back BMS Football.

Go Goats!!!!!
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Blue Mountain State
dennis-reynolds-662-43909215 February 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I came by this television series by an accident, and I gotta say; some accidents are worth it! I laughed my ass off! In fact, I almost began crying of the 3 episode, which is the funniest yet! The whole show is a deliciously funny mix of National Lampoon's Animal House and Van Wilder(THE FIRST ONE!)(!) It is on Spike TV and is aimed at young adults, which it hits, hard!

Darin Brooks play the main character Alex Moran, a freshman quarterback who is Van Wilder incarnate with a really slacker mode. He performances beautifully, he is as ironic and iconic as the Van The Man. Alex always hangs around with Sammy Cacciatore(Chris Romano) who is the insane team mascot and also Alex's roommate. Alan Ritchson(Aquaman) plays Thad Castle, a team captain mega jerk jock. He was so serious in his role as Arthur Curry in Smallville but he pulls it off, big time! I was shocked at his performance, really. He almost lays Steve Stifer of American Pie to waste. He is hated by everyone, and he is a top hazer, and yeah; he has a pocket p***y, and banging that thing is like banging a sunset over the ocean. How he can channel a superhero and a bastard so good is a mystery. Thad gives the series so much! The show also has another Smallville character who proves he can be more than a sidekick wannabe, Sam Jones III plays the role of Craig Shilo. He is a hard working football player who almost every time get in trouble because of Alex and his friend Sammy. He has a girlfriend who is a fascist and a total lunatic.

I've seen 4 episodes now, and I gotta have more! Please give this funny and morally lacking series of booze, woman and college life another season! I love it's spirit, it's feeling and tone. More GOATS! MORE GOATS!
15 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
If Van Wilder was a TV series. A Must See!
Coreyw968 September 2014
For those of you who like American Pie, College films and immense humour you're in for a treat.

When I first stumbled upon Blue Mountain State I was expecting more teenage comedy than priceless hilarity. However, from the opening minute of the opening episode, I was crying with laughter! A phrase often thrown around but in this instance, truly living up to the standard. If Van Wilder was a television series, then Blue Mountain State would be it's name.

All three series remain equally brilliant, and after the third finished I found myself quite lost, but with the recent news of a Blue Mountain State movie, I couldn't be more overjoyed, because this series is honestly exceptional.

My advice, just watch!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Greatest and Funniest ever comedy TV series ever make.
d-ender8528 October 2011
one word awesome. People who tired, stress, bored, heartbreak, can't get laid and saying that life is suck. All this easily been heal and forgotten. This is like the imaginably or dream come true. Some say college is hell and some say is heaven. This show u get to watch hot sexy babes and naughty girl in action party. Your dirty mind is coming true on television. OK, i bought this show in Singapore. After watching i laugh like never end. I say the best of the best. I half nerd and half sport elite. firstly study is for future but fun is unforgettable. Because i never appreciate my college year and never having a single girl to date till now. This football player wish we could be like them having multiple girl. having multiple game tournament. and having become football superstar. This is why this show is best.
32 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Alan Ritchson is so good
cejno213 March 2011
10/10

I think Alan Ritchson is the best comic character in the filmography life.

I recommended everybody to watch this TV Series.

It's kind of American Pie, but much more better than American Pie.

I don't know why people are not aware of this movie, because it is so good, and anybody I see, I know I said to them watch it, its perfect.

Especially at the second season the performance of Alan Ritchson is worth to see. It's the first time I see him in Blue Mountain State, and I will look his other movies, series.
31 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fun ride for me, but certainly won't appeal to everyone
cadiomals20 November 2011
Warning: Spoilers
First let me say that no one can defend this show in terms of quality programming. It's unoriginal with no real substance, and there is a LOT of gratuitous sex, drinking, and partying, half the time irrelevant to the actual plot. But that's what it's supposed to be. A fun ride that does not require a brain.

The show certainly will not appeal to certain people. Mainly women. 99.99% of the ones in this show are nothing but dumb sex objects. You will have the occasional one who maybe has a brain in her head, but they never stay for long. Also, kids under the age of 13. Any minor older than that, it depends on their maturity level. The content may be overwhelming for some of them. Lastly, conservatives, for obvious reasons.

You'd better leave your brain at the door if you want to enjoy this show. It follows the standard sex comedy formula: a bunch of guys get into crazy (often sexual) situations, and do something crazy to get out of it. It's one of those where you just have to sit back and enjoy the ride. If you do too much thinking about it, you will realize how disgusting this show truly is and will want to turn off the TV and throw up. I never actually take the time to watch the show when it originally airs. I record it, and one day when I'm bored and tired and just want to relax I'll watch it. And when I do, it's a fun ride. The jokes don't require a lot of intelligence to understand, only a bit of knowledge regarding sex.

Let me add that his show has almost nothing to do with the actual sport of American football. It is simply just a background theme. What this show is really about is a bunch of college football players getting drunk and having sex constantly. So if you want a real football show, this may not be for you.

The only thing good about this show is the over-the-top characters, which I will describe below:

Craig Shilo (Sam Jones III, season 1 only, unfortunately) seems to be the only guy with his head on his shoulders. He relieves us from the brainless antics of the other characters. This is mostly due to his controlling girlfriend, who is a virgin and makes sure he thinks before he acts. Later on however, he breaks up with her, and it seems as though he has become one of the guys, meaning his girlfriend was probably the only thing keeping him sane.

Alex Moran (Darin Brooks) is another guy who seems to have a brain on the inside, but he is always succumbing to the college social life. His philosophy is that this will be the best years of his life, so he is going to take advantage of it. Oddly, despite having sex and getting drunk all the time, he still seems to have some sort of moral fabric underneath. I would consider him the main protagonist of the show.

Sammy (Chris Romano) is just the weird, awkward guy of the group. I don't really find him all that interesting. He's just weird and awkward.

Kevin "Thad" Castle (Alan Ritchson) is the captain of the football team. He is always the one doing crazy things in the group. I like him because while he tries to wear a tough exterior at all times, he is constantly revealing a more sensitive, effeminate side. I'm pretty sure he is at least bisexual. Definitely the most interesting character on the show.

So really the only good thing about this show is the characters. The plot-lines themselves are absurd and unoriginal, but the characters do well acting them out.

FINAL VERDICT: Not the best, but nevertheless a fun ride that doesn't require a brain, when you have some extra time or need a pick-me-up.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Blue Mountain State
allessior-756-6683884 August 2013
Warning: Spoilers
This show is THE BEST on TV or Cable, period! I have watched each episode of all three seasons at least 20 times over and can pretty much tell you everybody's lines in each episode.

The great mystery is, why did Spike cancel this show! It deserved a shot at one more year even though the ratings dipped in the third year. I think they dipped because of the lack of continuity with "Radon Randel", but still, it was a great series in the 3rd season anyway. Check out viewer-ship on Netflix.

Imagine a fourth year, where Alex and Thad are drafted in the final episode, perhaps to the NY Jets, who are desperate for a quarterback and a linebacker.

Too bad Spike, you had a great opportunity. Perhaps it's not too late. I am sure that if you resurrected the show with the same cast, including Radon, you would have another great show on your hands.

Bring back BMS!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
BMS is amazing Movie kickoff starts tomorrow
Wakeup_board_turner14 April 2014
Blue Mountain State Movie kickoff is tomorrow put on by Thad himself. Support him. This was the funniest show I have ever seen. Imagine if it was on HBO now. I put this series up with my californication, entourage, game of thrones, etc etc. Everyone that starts watching is immediately hooked. with only 3 seasons it was all but to short and there where many questions unanswered. All the characters seemed to be perfect for there roles like Radon Randell, Alex Moran, Sammy, Mary Joe, Hammond, and without doubt Thad. I was extremely disappointed to see the series end. I only started watching it last year and boy did I miss out when it was on spike.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Spike TV's best show
tockwork7 October 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I went on NetFlix after my friend told me about a show where football, sex, and drugs reigned supreme. This description didn't fall short and nor did the show.

-slight spoiler from season 1- The characters are great while the 2nd and especially 3rd season fell a tad bit short with the absence of Shiloh who was the best character in season 1 since we watched him develop from the 1-girlfriend mentality to being king of the school. We really looked forward to him returning but ended up disappointed.

Aside from that one flaw: the entire show is about the development of 2nd string QB and every episode seems to teach him different aspects of playing college football.. which is one of the series's strong points.

The show will challenge authority as it reveals a dark side of college ball: Strict and questionable NCAA regulations, crazy football fans, rape allegations, and flat out DIRTY coaches.

To sum it up: This show will show you a good time, it might inspire you to live your life more, and at the same time give you a glimpse at the sad dog-eat-dog attitude of college ball.

Recommendations: The series has been over for a little under 2 years so I suggest you watch the TV series at a good pace.. I regret watching the entire show in 24 hours but I'll have my favorite episodes (Like "Drug Test").

A movie MAY be coming, so keep an eye out.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best TV SHOW ever
tzacanel26 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
A series about a football team with loads of sex and drugs.. So, college. This is a great series for what it is, but not much more. It has a lot of good jokes and a lot of good characters. The 'bully' and captain of the team is hilariously insane, and the story is compelling to any teenager. If you've come for intelligent television, you're looking the wrong way, because this is pretty dumb television, but I enjoy watching it.

Best TV show ever! My life change after this movie. Long life BMS. How about season 4 ? Thanks for this best movie. TzaCaNeL from Romania.

Great characters,plot and comedy is of the chart.. i laughed non stop and I'm addicted to this show. I recommend every one to give this show a shot.. i promise you will not regret it not a bit. Blue mountain state rocks a non stop fun show.. Its a non stop fun express
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Troll
slappyjoker16 April 2013
Obviously the latter two of the reviews left by viewers of this show weren't paying full attention or are just looking for a reason to be negative.

Pull up your panties and stop being so sensitive. It's raw, post teen/pre-college humor. Either you never have experienced that point in your life or you did and you were not "part" of it so now you must judge a television show that by all rights took many minds/writers and a CRAP TON OF MONEY to bring to production....must not be too bad, it got a green light for 3 seasons.

Lighten up. Sex, yeah we are humans. From time to time.............wait for it.......... EVERYDAY it is the butt of jokes among friends, family etc.

Give your high horse a rest, it's knees are tired and weary from carrying your lazy internet ass.

BMS!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Whoever made this is a genius
yairdabush12 February 2020
Whoever made this series was 100% high on weed the whole time he wrote the script. This is an absolute banger. love it. a lot laughs.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bring back another season!!!!
nickadecicco1215 January 2020
I came across this show by accident and it became one of my favorite shows of all time.

This show ended way too soon, the movie was a nice treat BUT it's not enough!!! What do we have to do to have another season or two made?
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed