Spider-Plant Man (TV Short 2005) Poster

(2005 TV Short)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Silly British humor...I love it!
Boba_Fett11383 August 2005
Fans of British humor pay attention. This short is a must see for you! This little short mainly of course spoofs "Spider-Man" and "Spider-Man 2" with lots of typical priceless British humor and with some good well known British comedians in it.

I never can really look at Rowan Atkinson and not think about him as Mr. Bean or Blackadder but in this short he was really good and he made me believe he was Peter Piper aka Spider-Plant Man. The movie is filled with many more well known British comedians in small parts such as Mackenzie Crook, Simon Pegg and Tony Robinson who are all very enjoyable in their roles, no matter how small.

This little short features some highly good laugh-out-loud moments and is highly enjoyable to watch. Of course you must be able to appreciate British humor in order to find this short funny and enjoyable but then again, who doesn't love British humor?

It's silly, over-the-top and totally ridicules...I love it!

8/10

http://bobafett1138.blogspot.com/
33 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
come on its not that bad
Ash-is-evil20 December 2005
this isn't a bad comic flick. it has the supporting roles of nick frost, simon pegg nd i think the street sweeper guy was edgar wright, I'm not 2 sure tho. I'm a big simon pegg fan nd of course a fan of mr. bean! this is a good spoof and is funny in places. a good parody.

I may not be totally for this flick but it is worth seeing! the ending is pretty funny and the f.f.j part is just ace. atkinson plays a good role an d the support of all the other characters is good. nd lets face it we all love rachel stevens.

fans of mr bean or any simon pegg fans will like this, maybe not love it but be able to appreciate it.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Problem of being Superheroes
king_vsjn5 May 2007
Warning: Spoilers
Almost everyone know being superhero is not easy. You'll be risked of being laughed by wearing ridiculous spandex costume, you miss your old glorious time. Can't help to laugh when I saw Batman doing curhat *) to Spider-plant Man or saw the reporter's comment on those superheroes.

It may not be the best of Rowan Atkinson but I didn't see him as Mr. Bean anymore in this movie.

From the title itself, it is clearly the parody of Spiderman. The opening credit sequence would reminded you the opening credit sequence of Spiderman 2 which show Alex Ross' version of the first Spiderman's story. The first three scenes was a parody of the first movie of Spiderman. The background music was clearly taken from Spiderman's (, isn't it? ).

It get better when Batman appeared on the screen. For those who think Batman and Robin should not played by middle-aged men, apparently, you missed the joke. Begin as the parody of Spiderman, it grew to a critic of Superheroes movie.

I only regret the movie was too short.

*Curhat: It is a slang of Indonesian Language. It means, telling someone about your problem, about how you feel about your problem, to get other's sympathy.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Spider-Plant Man
jboothmillard3 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
This short comedy spoof film was part of the Comic Relief 2005 programme. Rowan Atkinson (aka Mr. Bean and Blackadder) is in every Comic Relief, in 2001 he was a Popsters judge, and in 2003 he was Martin Bashir meeting Michael Jackson (Lenny Henry). In this short film he is the new Tobey Maguire playing Peter Piper/Spider-Plant Man. Also starring celebrity stars the gorgeous Rachel Stevens as Jane Mary, Jim Broadbent as Batman, Tony Robinson (aka Baldrick) as Robin, Peter Andre, Mackenzie Crook as Scientist, Nick Frost as Scientist and Simon Pegg as Reporter. The crappy effects, witty dialogue and pieces from the Spider-Man story, and of course Atkinson in the tights make this a very good spoof film, especially for Comic Relief. Very good!
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Broadbent makes this worth a watch
Horst_In_Translation27 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
This is a British 14-minute short film from 10 years ago starring some of England's acting elite. The title character is obviously a spoof on Spider-Man and is played by Rowan Atkinson ("Mr. Bean"). I have to admit I've never been a fan of him and his turn here does not change my opinion. But Crook gives a good performance as always, Rachel Stevens is a true looker who I loved since her "S Club 7" days and Academy Award winner Jim Broadbent as an aged shabby version of Batman is just so much fun. The script is also entertaining occasionally, not always, but sometimes. Maybe the most annoying thing was the far-too-frequently-used laugh tracks. And Atkinson wasn't that great either. I guess there's a reason why Broadbent won an Oscar and Atkinson never got beyond BAFTA TV glory. The reporter part was not too much fun, but the references about fathers fighting for their rights gave this a nice contemporary touch. All in all, a decent short film. Not great, but at least Spider-Man movie lovers can give it a go.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Spider-Plant Man
WeAreLive18 February 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This parody of the first spiderman movie was absolutely funny. Even though some of the name changes like Peter Piper (Peter Parker) and Jane Mary (Mary Jane) were kind of weird but it was funny.

The funny parts were when Peter Piper gets bitten by a Spider-Plant, when Batman came out of nowhere and threaten Spider Plant Man, when Robin rejected Batman and when Batman steels a kids scooter.

Rowan Atkinson was funny in this. We also get to see Simon Pegg and Nick Frost at the beginning.

Overall funny.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Unfunny and kinda irritating Comic Relief spoof
davideo-215 September 2005
STAR RATING: ***** The Works **** Just Misses the Mark *** That Little Bit In Between ** Lagging Behind * The Pits

A spoof comic relief take on the re-generated comic book movie trend, with Rowan Atkinson in the lead as Spider-Man (a.k.a. Peter Piper!!!) and Jim Broadbent and Tony Robinson as Batman and his sidekick Robin.

Atkinson was reportedly going through a bit of a bad patch when this was made, and it shows as this is certainly not one of his best works. The main running (and most obvious) joke ('oh, look out Spider-Man, it's Batman!!!' 'No, it's Fathers 4 Justice!!!') gets annoying and over-used and I don't think Batman and Robin were meant to be cast as two middle-aged men who're famous for appearing in more high-brow stuff than this. The supporting cast, from rising comic talent Mackenzie Crook to singing hottie Rachel Stevens, don't add anything that couldn't have been done (potentially better) by anyone else. The spoof Michael Jackson interview Atkinson did a few years back for CR is an example of how he can make this kind of thing work, but this is one to avoid. *
9 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed