Kung Fu Panda (2008) Poster

(2008)

User Reviews

Review this title
398 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Are you prepared for AWESOMENESS
vivekreddy-17 June 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I really wasn't expecting much, other than a few laughs, which would have been OK for a Dreamworks animation movie. But KUNG FU PANDA exceeded all expectations. The story is simple but the execution is superb. It would be really difficult to find something to improve on the production. The voice-overs are really good, esp Jack Black and Dustin Hoffman. The animation is very rich and the colors are crisp and bright. The action sequences are breath-taking. The laughs are mixed in at the appropriate moments. The theater was full and it was composed of a mixture of Adults and young kids. This is a fun for all movie. A testament to this fact is that almost the whole crowd stayed for the end credits. This is a very rare occurrence nowadays.\

Oh.. and I hope this does not count as a spoiler. I absolutely loved the Samurai-Jack type animation for some scenes.
153 out of 171 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Wasn't Expecting much - Got a very good movie
I was almost dreading seeing this movie - we won tickets to the screener and from the first scene I found myself laughing out loud. The movie is so much better than I thought it would be (and that was bad) - I expected the comedy to be slapstick/junior/potty but it wasn't. The story was also good enough to keep my kids focused glued to the screen. The animation is wonderful. Music is tasteful. I can't imagine anyone but Jack Black pulling off the voice though - he definitely made the movie for me. The only thing distracted me was that most of the movie I spent trying to figure out who was doing the voice of Tai Lung (Ian McShane). As mentioned previously in the forums about the pop culture references in this movie - I don't remember one - very nice indeed - it works with some of the other movies but I can do without. This is the first movie in a while I'd like to see again.
179 out of 206 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Entertainment in its purest form
jacob-noergaard7 June 2008
Like many others, I saw the "trailers" featuring Jack Black. The featurette made me think "Okay, at least I got to check this out". Not much more. It didn't make me think "This is gonna be awesome" or anything like that.

Boy, was I ever under-expecting.

At first I thought it was quite okay, decent entertainment and at least not totally crap. But then the really funny scenes and details kicked in, after Po gets into the temple. From then on, it was laugh after laugh, excellent voice acting, amazing CG animation (but this is Dreamworks so I expected that).

The whole deal simply hit home run for me. Spot on. I love martial arts movies, I love Dreamworks CG movies and I must admit I find Jack Black amazingly funny (saw Be Kind Rewind the other day and loved it). There was so much charm and amusement in this movie. It's without doubt the best animation from Dreamworks since the first Shrek.

Now, I am not saying this will be for everyone. There IS a lot of fighting going on, and while it is (for most of the movie) comical (yet amazing to behold) violence, it might not be suitable for the smallest of children. But for any healthy kid aged 6-7 or above (especially boys), this will be kick-a**! I cannot really put my finger on anything bad. Sure, the movie is filled with clichés, but sometimes you can go a long way with those. And this one serves them perfectly. I even rated this higher than Ratatouille, due to the fact that it took me totally by surprise. With Ratatouille, I EXPECTED it to be great. Kung Fu Panda I only expected to be decent, but it was awesome. That deserves the last point.
145 out of 166 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally, Dreamworks Animation has a classic.
da_flipboy9 June 2008
After various 3D animated movies ranging from lacklustre "star" movies ("Madagascar"), boring tripe ("Shark Tale", "Bee Movie"), and over-rated, over-hyped overkill ("Shrek"), Dreamworks can finally be proud of a truly great film. (Sidebar: I actually enjoyed "Flushed Away" and "Over The Hedge".) First, the bad. If I could complain about ANYTHING it may be a few of the voices. Besides Po, Shifu and Oogway, the rest of the cast seemed pretty 'phoned-in'. Thankfully, those characters are pretty inconsequential so they're not really missed.

Now the good... or rather great. While classic kung fu movies are poked fun at, Kung Fu Panda does an excellent job of treating the genre with great respect in a movie geared towards kids. And while it IS kid friendly, it is not dumbed down to the point where it's childish. All the classic elements of those great kung fu flicks are there, while still keeping it pleasantly G-rated.

Let me get this out of the way: this movie has some of the greatest 3D animated fight scenes. Ever. What elevates them from good to great is that while I expected the unbelievable, gravity-defying stunts that are REQUIRED of a good kung fu movie, there is an amazing amount of 'realism' to the physics in this movie. Just watch the jailbreak and you'll understand.

Speaking of animation, the cinematography, character design and backgrounds are all done very, very well. Whether it's flying through the air alongside a leaping character, the painting-like backgrounds, or the wonderful opening sequence (reminiscent of Samurai Jack), they're all beautiful. Snap zooms, slow-motion, and flying cameras are also used with great skill to further the experience.

Even the music and sound is outstanding. Asian drums rumble in the background of intense fights... stones shatter and crumble away... fight sequences rise and fall with each of the music cues, or is that the other way around? Beautiful.

What helps make this a new classic in my eyes is what it doesn't have. There are no Matrix, Spiderman, or other dated references. There are no inside jokes related to the voice actors. There isn't even any double entendre or unnecessary crude humour. Much like "Finding Nemo" or "Monsters Inc", there's just plenty of pop-culture-free goodness that is terribly entertaining.

The last great part of this movie is often the most overlooked part of a good family film... heart. This movie has oodles of it. Other movies have tried to have a lesson in the end like 'be yourself' ("Shrek"), or 'the value of friends' ("Madagascar"), or... 'be yourself' ("Shark Tale"), but "Kung Fu Panda" has genuine cinematic moments with dialogue that carries real weight. Best line: Oogway regarding yesterday, tomorrow and today.

So, finally, as a complete sucker for Pixar animation, I'm glad that another animation company can actually put proper thought and execution into a FAMILY movie. What else can I say? Congratulations Dreamworks. 10 out of 10.
196 out of 230 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Kick ass movie, almost note perfect
bennyking8128 June 2008
I saw this movie in the Cinema last night. I can not recommend this movie highly enough to kids of all ages. it is a long, long time since i have heard a Cinema audience laughing so much during a movie ( i think the last time was during Gigli!).

Finally Dreamworks have managed to surpass the achievements of Pixar. All the elements are beyond anything i have seen in an Animated movie since The Lion King. the animation is hugely detailed and achingly beautiful, the script is the best i have come across in years. the only bum note in this symphony of fun is the fact that some of the immensely talented voice cast are badly underused. i can only remember hearing Jackie Chan's voice 3 times at most. having said that, the movie rests on the shoulders of jack Black and Dustin Hoffman. while playing their parts in a very different manner to each other, both are note perfect. they invest their characters with an energy (Black) and dignity (hoffman) that i could not find any fault with, even if i wanted to, not that i want to.

Lastly, i believe that Oogway is the best animated character ever rendered, his facial expressions are hilarious and-surpass any previous attempts to give a character convincing facial expressions (i consider Gollum to be a CG character, not an animated character, for the record).

in short, this is an utterly fantastic movie that everyone should watch 9/10
84 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dreamworks hits a HOME RUN with this one!
abecipriano8 June 2008
From the very beginning, Kung Fu Panda had me practically falling out of my seat --- laughing. It was the perfect blend of comedy, heart, and action, all necessary elements in a successful and great animation/CGI film, in the tradition of The Incredibles and (less action, but containing the heart and laughter) Ratatouille, Finding Nemo and Monsters, Inc.

I took my wife and nephew and niece to see it on a Friday night and they enjoyed it, too! We were totally laughing, smiling, and guffawing at Po, the main protagonist (voiced by Jack Black) and his misadventures at becoming a Kung Fu expert. This was certainly a flawed character, one that a lot of people can relate to because he dreams, he's funny, and he can laugh at himself. Also, the story was pretty clear and easy to follow because the storytelling was well crafted, and the animation was paired well with characters brought vividly to life by some of the most famous names in Hollywood.

Jack Black and Dustin Hoffman are downright excellent as the main characters, and Ian McShane as the bad dude gave it the right fearful presence. Other big name stars don't shine as much, but that's because their roles are rather limited in the film. But that's still okay because the animators should be given equal credit (if not more) for delivering the funny, action and heart elements of this movie in an effective, amazing and (I've got to use this) AWESOME manner. Visually, this movie is stunning (notice all those scenic shots of the Chinese mountains, bodies of water, and the bridge scene; not to mention the action animation version of "The Matrix" with slow-mo)... simply a delight to watch.

It's clear that Dreamworks has gotten back in the animation game with Kung Fu Panda, after slight ho-hums in Shrek 3 and Bee Movie (call me crazy, but I liked Over The Hedge more than those two). Hopefully, it should earn well over $500M worldwide because it is so good.

This movie rightfully belongs in the top animation movies of all time (okay, let's not include the classic fairy tales of old; let's begin with the 90's onwards), alongside my faves "The Incredibles" "Finding Nemo" and "Beauty & The Beast." Has the makings of being a classic.

My wife and I enjoyed it so much that we saw it again the night after. And maybe another time... haha!

Enjoy!
177 out of 214 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Exceptionaly visual, funny, action packed and intelligent movie for all ages.
jakubs-228 June 2008
One of the best comedy movies I've seen, this animation feature is both packed with action and intelligent at the same time. It's yet another variation on "You can do anything if you believe in yourself" and carries strong morale and educational message. But the way it's done, the incredible visual side of the story, as well as the dialogs, is just exceptional. You can't but love the fat Panda boy who's dreaming about being the greatest warrior of all China only to wake up to the reality of hawing to serve noodle soup in his father's shop. Unlike his father, who also dreamed but never found the courage to act on it, Panda follows his calling and by "luck" get chosen to be the legendary Dragon warrior by the Kung-Fu grand master, the old turtle, to defeat the evil tiger. That's when his training and troubles start. It's really for anyone between 3 and 100 and I laughed and loved it from the titles in the beginning to the very end. Much recommended.
46 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jack Black is the Greatest Panda in the World!
yellocar4 June 2008
Caught a screening of "The Panda" and all I can say is wow! I took my 6 year old daughter, who has the attention span of a 6 year old, and she wants to see it again. So do I!

Jack Black is not only half of the greatest band in the world, he is also a fine voice actor. His flawed character, Po the Panda is very refreshing. So is this film. After having to sit through the boring "Over the Hedge" and the last two "Shrek" messes, I really appreciated an animated feature form Dreamworks that didn't have too many celeb voices all competing for screen time. This is Jack Black's movie. He has 75% of the lines in the script and that is not a bad thing.

Don't just drop the kids off to see Kung Fu Panda. Go with them. I think it's one of those rare movies like The Incredibles and Finding Nemo that adults can enjoy as much as the kids.
241 out of 299 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Cute animated comedy that inspires lessons in life
the-movie-guy6 June 2008
(Synopsis) Kung Fu Panda is the story of Po, (voice Jack Black), a sweet, but clumsy Panda who has dreams of fighting with the legendary Furious Five and protecting the city against all threats. The only problem is that Po has no real life experience of kung fu, and his real job is serving noodles at his dad's noodles shop. News of selecting the Dragon Warrior is sent out from the Jade Temple, and the whole city along with Po, go to the celebration. The competition is between the Furious Five: Tigress (voice Angelina Jolie), Viper (voice Lucy Liu), Crane (voice David Cross), Monkey (voice Jackie Chan), and Mantis (voice Seth Rogen). Po accidentally enters the contest and is named the Dragon Warrior. Master Shifu (voice Dustin Hoffman) must find a way to train Po and make him a Kung Fu Master, especially, after they learn that the snow leopard, Tai Lung (voice Ian McShane), is headed their way.

(My Comment) This is a cute animated comedy that also inspires lessons in life. The audience can relate to people who have dreams of doing the impossible, just as Po. Po ultimately learns that if he believes in himself, he can do anything. Jack Black (Po) and Dustin Hoffman (Shifu) voices were just right for their parts, and the chopstick fight between them is fantastic. Ian McShane (Tai Lung) was also wonderful as the villain, and his battle sequence on the rope bridge is spectacular. This film is for the whole family, because adults will enjoy the movie just as much as their children. (DreamWorks, Run Time 1:28, Rated PG)
94 out of 114 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I just saw the screening of this movie in the Chicagoland area
Kimberlyjeana17 May 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I Love it! The story was great and the background was beautiful, it really felt like an ancient Chinese city. This original story is one of the best since Shrek. And the meaning behind the story may be even better! The story is about Po, an overweight panda who is the son of a noodle maker, who dreams of Po following in his footsteps. But Po longs to be a ninja fighter. Po is as you know is a panda bear and the film's unlikely hero: as the bigger than life and completely lovable bear voiced by the comic genius Jack Black. Po is a Sweet but clumsy, bear who hears the news the ancient and long awaited dragon warrior will be named, so he runs (as much as he can) to hear who will be named at the celebration.

Without giving too much away, when an "accident" seems to name Po as the dragon warrior (much to the horror of Master Shifu (voiced perfectly by Dustin Hoffman) and the disappointment of Furious Five: Tigress (Angelina Jolie), Viper (Lucy Liu), Mantis (Seth Rogen), Crane (David Cross) and Monkey (Jackie Chan). Shifu must find a way to train him. One hilarious moment after another continues until Shifu recognizes Po's true driving force. This is just in time as the villain Tai Lung (Ian McShane), a snow leopard has returned as he believe is the true Dragon Warrior.

I can not recommend this movie enough. Certainly this is marketed for the kids – but the whole family will enjoy it.
171 out of 227 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A True Warrior Never Quits
claudio_carvalho18 March 2011
In China, the big, fat and clumsy Panda Po is a great fan of martial arts and worships The Furious Five - Tigress, Crane, Mantis, Viper and Monkey – and their Master Shifu. He works in the restaurant of his father specialized in noodles, but he dreams on being a kung fu hero. When Master Oogway summons the population to announce who would be The Dragon Warrior, he surprisingly points out to the slacker Po, frustrating the expectations of Master Shifu and Tigress. Po joins the academy of Master Shifu that does not believe that Po might be The Dragon Warrior. Meanwhile the evil Tai Lung breaks out the high-security prison where he has been arrested for twenty years and heads to the temple of Oogway, expecting to get the Dragon Scroll and becomes more powerful. The Furious Five tries to intercept Tai Lung, but they are defeated. Now the only chance to stop Tai Lung is the glutton Po.

"Kung Fu Panda" is a very funny and entertaining animation, with the delightful story of a clumsy Panda that dreams on being a hero. The computer-animated heroes and villain are hilarious, supported by the voices of Jack Black, Dustin Hoffman, Angeline Jolie and other magnificent actors and actresses. Po is tailored for Jack Black and I can not imagine this character without his voice. Dustin Hoffman also makes the difference with the voice of the wise Master Shifu. I just regret that I did not pay much attention to this animation before and only now I have watched it. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "Kung Fu Panda"
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Recommendation from a Chinese
ying_huang18 June 2008
First I need to make it clear that since I was born and grew up in China, this review might be biased because there is so much more I appreciate from the movie, given my cultural background.

There is a specific category in the Chinese literature history called Kung Fu fictions and it had spread among generations currently between 12 - 60 years old. Have to admit, this movie touched deeply on that, far more than any Jackie Chan or Jet Lee movies. Because it is animated, it leaves more rooms for imaginations.

I am very satisfied with the movie, though I watched it with my American-born kids. It is still a typical Hollywood production, but somehow, it touched my Chinese heart.

It is a simple story, yet deep. See it if you haven't already.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Kung Fu + Computer graphics = a winner!
Joejoesan22 May 2008
Warning: Spoilers
When you watch Kung Fu Panda you can't help but wonder: why wasn't this done before? Kung fu and CGI make a terrific mix in this entertaining tale of a clumsy fat panda who becomes a true kung fu master.

The story in short: panda bear Po (voiced by Jack Black) is a big kung fu fan. He has all the action figures of his idols, Master Tigress, Viper, Tigress, Monkey and Mantis - also known as the Furious Five, and dreams of one day becoming a kung fu master himself. In the meantime he sells noodles. When evil leopard Tai Lung (Ian McShane) escapes from prison a Dragonwarrior is chosen to defeat him. Yes, our reluctant hero Po turns out to be the one! He gets a kung fu training from Master Shifu (Dustin Hoffman), who - after a few disastrous attempts - discovers that the only way to teach Po real kung fu is to lure him with food. But will Po be strong enough to beat Tai Lung?

Kung Fu Panda doesn't start with a bang. The first laughs are results from the slapstick humour. Po is a lovable creature and everyone can relate to a person who dreams of the impossible. When Tai Lung escapes you're really into the story. This particular scene is pretty spectacular. It takes place in a dark cave and the way Tai Lung jumps around really gives you the impression that he's an enemy to be reckoned with.

What also works in the movie is the chemistry between Po (Jack Black) and Master Shifu (Dustin Hoffman). The latter easily steals the show as the grumpy kung fu master who doesn't believe in his mission to guide Po. The scene in which Shifu has a food fight with Po is an instant classic. There's also a great action scene in which Tigress, Mantis and the others try to stop evil Tai Lung. They fail, of course...

And the down side? There aren't that many bad things in Kung Fu Panda. Hoffman and Black make the movie. The role of Tigress (Angelina Jolie) could have been done by many other voice actresses. Jackie Chan (Viper) only has three or four lines and that's a shame. The final fight is - at some moments - rather violent. That can scare away some of the younger (3-6 year old) kids.

Dreamworks wants to turn Kung Fu Panda into a Shrek like franchise. They're right. There's enough material in here to make at least two more sequels. And CGI animated kung fu kicks really work on the big screen! So let them make a Kung Fu Panda 2. As long as they keep Dustin Hoffman as Master Shifu in the story!

8/10
20 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Best Animated Feature in the Past 2 Years !!!
3xHCCH8 June 2008
I LOVED this movie!!!! I even daresay that this is the best animated motion picture I have seen since "Cars" two years ago. Although the whole story of an underdog turned champion is admittedly an oft-told retread, the treatment is original and amazing and very engaging, and not corny (unlike a lot of the recent animated films). I cannot stop singing praises to this one. The artwork of the whole movie is fantastically rendered, no exquisite detail was spared in the scenery, the architecture and of course, the lead animal characters.

The action and fight scenes are very well done and memorable. I enjoyed watching the fight scene between Po and Shifu for the last dumpling, the fight of the Five vs. Tai Lung at the Bridge, and the climactic fight scene of Tai Lung with Shifu, and then with Po. Very exciting. My daughter even spontaneously applauded after that last fight sequence.

There were also a number of beautifully-crafted emotional moments throughout. I loved the inspirational talk of Master Oogwei and Po (loved those words of wisdom), the talk of Master Oogwei and Shifu with the peach blossom petals, and of course the touching moment of Po and Shifu after the battle, and even in that small extra scene after the credits.

The voice acting was also very good. Jack Black as Po, so natural the comedian, wow. Dustin Hoffman as Shifu, really great. I did not expect it to be him. If was fun to discover after the movie that is was Angelina Jolie who voiced the Tigress, Lucy Liu, the Viper, and Jackie Chan, the Monkey, among others. And even more minor characters like the menacing head of prison security rhino Commander Vachir voiced by Michael Clarke Duncan, all very good.

Overall, a fantastic movie experience that I would not mind watching over and over. There is something for everyone -- action, drama, and comedy. It is an animated classic in my book. Very highly recommended indeed!
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow.... Dreamworks' finest.
piggypony30 June 2008
When I watched the trailers to kung fu panda, I scoffed and sneered at the stupidity of a rude panda barging in and demanding to learn kung fu. If someone had asked me to go to that movie, I would have laughed in their faces, but gone anyway for the popcorn. As I watched the preview, I thought "Well there's a waste of time and money, There's something I would never like."

...Boy was I wrong. Kung fu panda has splashes of children and adult humor, done by the perfect Jack black, who fit so well with Po, the roly poly, cuddly panda. The scenery was breathtaking, and most of the time I forgot that the majestic shimmering water and lovely smooth trees were fake! The Thins that most surprised me was all the heart put into it. On the previews they are targeting mostly youths and younger audiences with their humor, but really the thing that I found sweetest of all was all the heart. The moral was so touching and sweet, that I could have never expected Dreamworks to pull it off, after their recent garbage like "Over the Hedge" "Shark Tale" and others.

The scenery was beautiful, and the animation was outstanding! The characters fit so well with their voices, especially my all time favorite character Master Shifu voiced by Dustin Hoffman. True, Jackie Chan and the furious five didn't have too many lines, but this does not stop the upbeat trhill and flow of the movie. I am Definitely buying this movie the second it comes out on DVD, and have seen it 7 times in the theater. The battle scenes are superb, and my entire family is getting sick of me talking about them. The storyline is very original, and bright, but within all the humor there is a heart, and other emotions,such as sadness. One of my favorite scenes is the one in which the Brave Master Shifu battles with his former pupil, the vicious (and I mean vicious) Tai Lung.

All the characters add their own little sparkle to the story, like sweetness being added to a cake. I really can't express my utter love for kung fu panda-It would be like trying to type out love, or music- it just can't be done.

Sincerely, Piggypony
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Not only Good but also Makes me think.
honorhorror16 June 2008
Kungfu Panda is marketed mainly as a children's movie with very childish style of cartoon-making and Jack Black. But it turned out to be eccentric and wonderful, a good story to bring your family to. If the box office becomes a flop(which is already impossible), it should be attributed to the marketing only.

As the tag line says, "Prepare for awesomeness." Even after so many positive comments, I still have no idea what the movie will come out like. One reason I couldn't figure out what the movie will be about is the super-simple title. Will it be just another Forbidden Kingdom? Or another Mulan? Or will it even turns out to be another Bulletproof Monk, which is among the disgraces to the Chinese culture? Sorry about this but I've seen too many movies portraying Chinese culture too superficial, which assumes Chinese philosophy established on either Buddhism(usually fake Buddhism) or some ridiculous superstition. So first of all, I am glad to say Kung fu Panda is the first Hollywood-made Chinese movie ever to make me feel proud for my ancestors' culture. If I haven't guessed it wrong, the writers really took some time digesting Chinese philosophies like the relationship between "Beings" and "none-beings", and other basic Chinese ideas about life and faith. No matter how old you are, the movie will make think for some time. It discussed some deep topics about human desire, confidence and destiny. After seeing it, I sincerely think that human desire can be used for good, for our bodies are like super-advanced machines and if you manage it in the right way, it won't be harder than controlling machines. Ancient Chinese assimilated so many nutrition from nature that they have a vision to achieve a balance between everything, that is also a reminding to me as a Chinese, which makes me proud.

The visual style of the movie completely beat my expectations. Everything is animated in a Chinese paper art style and the color red is so widely used as the main theme color. It touched me deeply because it reminded me of the glorious days of Chinese cartoons. It's like a combination of Matrix and traditional kung fu movies.

For many obvious reasons, it has the potential to win the Oscar. I am looking forward to some better cartoons this year. But at the same time I want Kongfu Panda to be the best animated feature of the year.

9/10 Almost excellent.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One of the five best CGI animated films ever!
pvd00727 May 2008
After the disappointing SHREK 3 and the only "cute" OVER THE HEDGE, DreamWorks Animation finally delivers another highlight to the CGI animated universe.

I got used to the rather simple story of MADAGASCAR after watching it again, I really liked SHREK and even more SHREK 2 (am I the only one?). I never liked the cultural references they built in, because I think they only work in their time (but in their time they worked great!). So for me KUNG FU PANDA is the first great "classic" DWA film. Go see it, it also works for adults. If you have seen some of the classic martial arts film (Jackie Chan, Bruce Lee etc) you will even more enjoy it. The voice talent of Jack Black, Dustin Hoffman and Ian McShane is perfectly used. The other voices are OK.

It will be a big hit for DWA, north of 200 millions domestic, eventually even 300 mil.

That said, my favorite CGI's are 1. THE INCREDIBLES, 2. RATATOUILLE and 3. FINDING NEMO and closely followed by KUNG FU PANDA. Looking forward to seeing KFP an second time and then maybe it will become my new Nr. 3.
133 out of 223 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome....Awesome!!!!!
niranjan_anand20053 June 2011
What a fabulous movie...great output from Dreamworks...This is the film, can be watched by all section of audience...very entertaining...The artists selection was too good....Jack Black the real show stealer...I don't think there was any expectations about this movie before release, but if you go with high expectations, definitely it reaches beyond.

The story as follows, Po(Jack Black),a panda who helps his father make and serve noodle soup. One day,an ancient tortoise named Oogway believes that Po is the Dragon Warrior. Po can't believe it, and neither does Master Shifu(Dustin Hoffman). When Master Shifu learns that a certain evil villain named Tai Lung escapes from prison, trains Po to defeat Tai Lung.

Don't miss this movie at any cost. Kudos to the makers. 2nd part is on the way, hope that will be a stunner than this part.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Best after the Nemo.
AshokePrabha28 June 2008
Saw this movie today. It was both entertaining and imbibing good values. For kids a definite watch. For adults too.

The story is a well known moral story of don't judge by the appearance. It is about a Chinese town in the valley where a kung-fu rule is about to be seized by a evil spirited tiger who wants to become The Dragon Warrior, the great. And a Panda comes in his way to achieve it.

The script is very good. Dream works artwork team has proved one more time. It was very funny from the beginning to the end. And some philosophical moments too. The music and colors used in the movie reminds Chinese in every aspect and mainly kung-fu. It no way is lesser than ordinary kung-fu film. Kung-fu fight scenes drawn with such a clarity. Colors used are mostly red and yellow. Some flash back and magical related scenes have been drawn to bluish grey. The effects came out were extremely good. My credit goes to directors who could imagine the whole thing in their minds to make this film.

Animation films have been reaching new dimensions. Though this one did not create any new dimension but will be still one among the classics. Liked a few 'Zen'nish philosophical lines of the Master Turtle character such as 'there are no accidents'.. "i am the big Panda'..'past is history... future is mystery... and present is the only gift you have that is why they call it as 'present'...they have most profound meanings which the film could casually spill it on its way.

Ver good movie. A must watch.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally a Film About China the Chinese Love
Pelrad25 June 2008
There have been many films about China that the Chinese themselves didn't like. They didn't like Disney's "Mulan", they didn't like "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon". This list goes on. Westerners have westernized the stories or included elements culturally offensive or unintelligible, and humour that, in the Orient, just isn't funny. Well, all that has changed. Last night I went to see Kung Fu Panda in Shanghai (in English with Chinese subtitles). Shangahai is the biggest city in China. The cinema was packed. And from start to finish there was non-stop laughter, excitement, and joy. The humour was universally funny, the culture was dead-on, and the story hit home with the Chinese. They could relate to the characters and their situations. They laughed. They laughed until they cried. Visually, the movie was just beautiful to look at. As an adult, I usually don't enjoy watching cartoons. But this one was more fun I've had at the movies in a long time. The timing of the film's release with the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing coming up is perfect. A job well done to all involved with the making of this little gem!
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome movie! I've seen this in cinema for twice!
Ericwenzhe21 June 2008
I can't exactly describe my feelings when I first saw this movie yesterday. It's awesome. The dreamworks has done really a good job in expressing Chinese cultural elements! It made me and my friends and all the audience laughed from the beginning to the end. When the movie came to its end, 90% of the audience didn't leave the room as usual. They stayed until the HP picture came out! Every scene is so precious and lovely that everyone didn't want to miss it! As a Chinese citizen, my feelings are complicated when I saw that the culture are so nicely expressed on screen by some foreign movie makers, but it's good, isn't it? Chinese movie makers should learn a lot from Hollywood.

I think Kung Fu Panda perfectly gets together several important Chinese cultural elements: traditional Chinese Kung Fu Tactics, traditional Chinese fighting story, traditional Chinese jokes, traditional Chinese scenes, traditional Chinese music, even traditional Chinese legends! I also like the song after the movie.

Thank you, Dreamworks!! I'm seriously considering to go to see it for the third time!
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Nutshell Review: Kung Fu Panda
DICK STEEL6 June 2008
It seems like this is a movie made for all the fanboys out there, regardless of what their obsessions are about. You know, being one who idolizes certain somebodies or some things, and given a day that Fate decides to throw you a curveball and give you that one opportunity to come up close and personal to meet and greet your idol in the flesh, or be thrown into the exact situation that you've always been dreaming about. What would you do, and would you go weak in the knees or be overcome with disbelief that you're actually, finally, realizing your dream? Panda Po (voiced by comedian Jack Black) epitomizes exactly that in Kung Fu Panda, and that struck a chord in me and with many in the audience as well. And for that, no matter how cliché the story would become, it had already done its deal and made the connection. It is no wonder it is rated G here, and I expect that the holiday season would allow cash registers to ring, for animation fans with the different styles utilized to tell the story (you must be on time and not miss the opening sequence), for kung fu fans to get a kick out of classic kung fu moves personified in their animal forms - Tigress (Angelina Jolie), Crane (David Cross), Mantis (Seth Rogen), Viper (Lucy Liu) and Monkey (Jackie Chan) - collectively known as the Fearsome/Fab Five, and for the kids, given the obvious reason that hey, the protagonist is a cuddly bear. The marketing department, if not already done, should stock up on the plush toys, not only of the hero, but the supporting casts as well. And make their younger forms available too, for they will sell. Story-wise, I can't help but to note its tip of its hat towards the Jackie Chan martial arts movie of the past like Snake in Eagle's Shadow, Eagle Shadow Fist, etc. The formula which follows a misfit with weak or zero martial arts background having to undergo harsh training under a kung fu master, finally realizing his true calling in time to defeat the villain everybody fears. With the Jackie Chan movies, the demise of loved one always trigger off a chain reaction, but since this is G-rated, you won't have the pleasure of having blood spilled, but with so many splatter-type movies in recent times, I have to admit this was refreshing, and even having animated animals that talked, didn't irk me as they are just so lovable here, in their own right. It's an excellent and very even mix of comedy and drama, even though they are quite cliché at times if you grew up with the formula, but I thought that was the point. While the trailers might have given away some stuff, there are still lots more available which are hidden up the sleeves, and some minor word replacement such as "suck" to "stink", though you would likely be able to stay a step ahead throughout and even guess whatever secrets the movie have, actually are. For its stylistic training sequences, they became a throwback and a link to the fore-mentioned Jackie Chan movies. The fight choreography isn't done shoddily too with its designing of fights true to the characters' forms, and integrating them all in a manner rarely seen before. Since it's an animated flick, it was able to, and probably ramped up whatever's possible in the kung fu fantasy realm, to give us everything from rooftop flights to an incredible prison break. It didn't waste any effort in tapping from the wealth of kung fu material, what with the various names of deadly moves, secret manuals, teacher-student feuds, and the best part of it all? Humour being quite unexpectedly well placed, with more hits than misses to break out into a hearty laugh by the panda antics. For all its A-list voice actors in the movie, with the likes of Michael Clarke Duncan, Dan Fogler, Ian McShane and those who provide voices to the 5 key animals, Kung Fu Panda is clearly a Jack Black and Dustin Hoffman vehicle. The bantering between the two is priceless as the latter plays Sifu (duh) the master teacher, a highly-strung and serious character who has a past they are shameful about (don't they all). And as his own teacher Oogway (read: Wu Gui, aka tortoise, voiced by Randall Duk Kim) advises, herein lies an opportunity for Sifu to rediscover himself when training possibly the next-big-thing (pardon the pun) Po, whom he foretold as the mythical Dragon Warrior. So begins the forging of friendship, long lasting bonds and trust between the two, even though they got off the wrong footing. And you can probably feel for Po, because for a fanboy type, having your idols scoff at you at first opportunity, is actually quite painful. As a kids movie, there's almost always a message to take away. Here, it's a reminder to believe in oneself, which I guess is a universal theme to instill some confidence in the young ones. You might not look the best, nor are the best amongst your peers, but so long as you have that attitude to want to learn, that should put you in good steed. As a summer blockbuster movie, it's fun, thoroughly entertaining, and doesn't try to be too smart. It's likely to be a crowd pleaser across all age demographics, and an ultimate popcorn fare, so long as you manage to keep the popcorn away from the thieving hands of the panda. And with this release beating local film Kung Fu Gecko to the screens, I wonder what's the status currently on the Nickson Fong project.
99 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun animation from DreamWorks
Tweekums18 June 2011
Warning: Spoilers
I hadn't got around to watching this film but as I'd heard good things about it I thought I'd check it out when it was on television. Initially I wasn't sure I'd enjoy it as I'm not really into 'talking animal' films; soon I was ignoring that and enjoying the humour and the story. The story itself is hardly new but tat didn't stop it being entertaining. Po is a panda who dreams of becoming a kung fu warrior fighting alongside the greatest warriors in China; unfortunately for him however he seems destined to become a noodle chef! One day the local kung fu master Oogway prophesied that a dangerous former student is going to escape from prison and return to seek his vengeance and steal the scroll that will make him the legendary Dragon Warrior. Oogway decides that he must find a new Dragon Warrior first; to this end he gathers everybody together to appoint the new warrior. Po is desperate to see the ceremony and in his efforts to see finds himself at the centre of the ceremony and being selected himself. Not surprisingly the five greatest warriors and their trainer are not impressed that a fat panda has been selected over them. When their enemy does indeed escape they head off to meet him while master Shifu attempts to train him. As is the way with such films Po finds that he has hidden depths and learns kung fu, the only question is will he learn the secret of the scroll and defeat the dangerous Tai Lung.

While the two films are very different I couldn't help thinking about Star Wars due to the relationships between the main characters; Shifu was like Obi Wan as his best student turns bad, Oogway was similar to Yoda. I'm not sure if this was a deliberate reference, it didn't matter if it was though as they never really laboured the point; in fact the film was refreshingly free from obvious pop culture references which I suspect will lead to it having a greater longevity than some other Dream Works animations. The animation looked pretty good in a way that made the characters believable even though they are talking, kung-fu fighting animals! The voice actors did a decent job; they avoided giving their characters 'cartoony' voices that can be a problem with animation at times. Over all I'd recommend this as it is a good family film with nothing too offensive for children or too childish for adults; it might not be as good as Pixar's best but then what is?
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesomeness of the cute Panda
nikhil_280727 June 2008
My opinion:-- KungFuPanda is the best animated movie so far. I have seen almost all of them (toystory,incredibles,ratatullie,shrek,iceAge you name it). But KungFuPanda beats all of them. I enjoyed it thoroughly. It made us laugh like anything. Very good comedy scenes, well crafted anime art, Good action sequences, good Chinese landscapes, and very well told story. The screenplay is great. Special mention to the voices. Jack Black Rocks !! He blends into PO as if he was born to voice for PO. Dustin Hoffman suits perfect for Master Shifu. Dreamworks has surprisingly given an awesome anime picture.

My 10 out of 10. I'm gonna watch this movie again.

Highly Recommended.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I went to theaters to see it twice!
yarianyg18 June 2008
I enjoyed this movie a lot. Funny from beginning to end. Great special effects and animation. Engaging story and great voice acting. Jack Black really pulled it off and the complementing voices of Angelina Jolie and Jackie Chan really made this film shine.

Jack Black brings his characteristic humor to this movie with great lines such as "There is no charge for awesomeness, and attractiveness." and a general style that makes him...Jack Black!

The story was not only engaging but had real life lessons that are good for anyone to learn. It gave what seems like a child movie some depth. It might not change your life, but it sure is worth the $9.50 price of admission where I go to watch it.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed