School of Rock (2003) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
503 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Unbelievably - does what it says on the packet
Chris_Docker18 February 2004
A quick glance at the story or trailer tells you that School of Rock is probably the cheesiest, gratuitous, airhead excuse for a movie in ages, but if you thought that was a good reason to avoid it you'd be wrong. Jack Black plays the slightly past it rocker, stuck in a groove of 70s heavy metal rock and roll and refusing to move on – until his (more up to date) band fire him. Struggling to pay the rent, he takes a phone call intended for his schoolteacher flatmate and accepts a job as supply teacher at a top school. Soon he has the kids not only studying the history of rock and roll, soundproofing the room and playing rock instruments, but actually competing in a major ‘Battle of the Bands' competition.

Unbelievable? Yes. What's more unbelievable is that somehow the whole thing works – Jack Black's over-the-top enthusiasm for his subject is contagious, the edge-of-disaster suspense is continued throughout the length of the movie, and by the end the audience is so desperate to see how the kids (who they all play their own instruments by the way) perform in the concert that seat wetting would probably go unnoticed. Joan Cusack, as the gobsmacked headmistress, delivers a performance that is worth the price of your cinema ticket in itself. Achieving such tears-down-the cheeks laughter and adrenalin-packed excitement for air guitar music is nothing short of miraculous.

School of Rock is a movie that promises entertainment and delivers. Everything is as it says on the packet. For sheer feelgood factor, this movie is unbeatable – and you can even take the kids!
151 out of 164 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Jumpin' Jack Black, It's a Gas, Gas, Gas
ferguson-67 October 2003
Greetings again from the darkness. With so few good comedies these days, it was pure joy to laugh out loud a few times during this Jack Black showcase. Is he over the top? Absolutely. Is his humor and delivery similar to the great John Belushi? Yes, down to the arching eyebrows. And I say SO WHAT? Jack Black is hilarious in this movie and director Richard Linklater (the underappreciated gem "Dazed and Confused") uses his spot-on observations of Rock music and school days to deliver a wonderful film going experience. Writer Mike White ("The Good Girl") also plays Black's wimpy friend and former bandmate. Although his acting is fine, it is White's writing that will make him rich in Hollywood. The kids in the band are wonderfully cast and appear to be very talented musically as well. Special recognition to Joan Cusack, who just nails the role of the uptight private school principal who is just itching to be unleashed. I would have enjoyed a bit more of the Rock History tossed in for the sake of today's youngsters, but the tributes to Pete Townsend, Jimi Hendrix, Zeppelin and the Ramones are much appreciated. Look for Nikki Katt in a brief role, but mostly just sit back and enjoy a pure comedy that truly ROCKS!!
72 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Jack Black is Back! Better than Ever!
babiedol1218 December 2004
Finally! Somebody has done right by Jack Black. Somebody has actually made a movie where Jack Black can be the man and show off his talents. This is Jack Black at his best and I feel privileged to be alive while this guy's star continues to skyrocket!

Dewey Finn (Jack Black) loves rock and roll. He is the consummate fan who knows every worthwhile group and song. He is a singer, songwriter, and guitarist in his own band called "No Vacancy." But other members of the group have grown tired of his immature stage antics, such as 20-minute solos and stage-dives. They vote him out and hire someone to replace him for an upcoming Battle of the Bands contest.

Downcast and distraught, Dewey doesn't know what to do. Plus, his usually patient roommate Ned (Mike White), a schoolteacher, is being pressured by his aggressive girlfriend (Sarah Silverman) to make Dewey pay the money he owes for rent or get out. When a call comes in to Ned asking him to serve as a substitute teacher at the prestigious Horace Green Elementary School, Dewey decides to assume his identity and take the job.

Of course, faced with a class of fifth-graders all nicely clothed in their school uniforms, this rocker doesn't have a clue as to what to do. So he tells them to chill out and enjoy some downtime. This scheme works for a little while but then Dewey visits the orchestra class. Lights go off in his head and bingo! -- the new class project is to form a rock band. He decides to teach them everything he knows about rock with lectures on its history, the evils of "The Man," and the essentials of playing rock songs.

Dewey's spirits are lifted when he realizes that there are some talented musicians in the class including Zack (Joey Gaydos, Jr.), the lead guitarist; Katie (Rebecca Brown) on bass; and Lawrence (Robert Tsai) on keyboards. Freddy (Kevin Clark), the class rebel, turns out to be an eager learner on drums, and Tomika (Maryam Hassan) surprises him with her unusual singing talent. The smartest girl in the class, Summer (Miranda Cosgrove), gets her chance to excel as band manager while others serve as back-up singers, special effects wizard, head of security, and the official selectors of the band's name.

The humor quotient of the film is heightened by the funny performance of Joan Cusack as the uptight and unlocked principal of Horace Green Elementary School. When Dewey discovers that she is a secret fan of Fleetwood Mac, they are able to connect as friends. The rock fan gets his wish when he has the class entered in the local Battle of the Bands. By the end of this rollicking film, you'll happily be chanting, "For those about to rock, we salute you!"

Overall: 9/10
178 out of 208 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
For Those about to Rock, We Salute this Movie
AngusYoungBinge11 December 2005
What can I say? I'm a rockaholic. I eat, breath, and dream of classic rock and it's glory days. I listen to only rock radios, and every other morning I go on an AC/DC Binge. Rock is pure, and beautiful.

Unfortunately, it's not the only music out there.

Pop culture today sucks, putting it nicely. All that stuff out there is ruining the minds of people of today. For a little while it seems like rock disappeared, hiding underneath everything else, being disregarded by fans today.

Then 'School of Rock' came along.

Dewey Finn (played by Jack Black) is a bum who gets himself kicked out of his own band because of his unruly antics. To top this off, his substitute teacher roommate Ned and Ned's girlfriend Patti begin to nag Dewey for rent money. Dewey can't pay it off. After spending some time trying to sell his personal belongings, a phone call from a prestigious prep school looking for a substitute teacher catches Dewey's attention and he parades around as Ned, hoping to just walk in, let the kids do what they want, get some money, and be gone like nothing every happened.

Until he finds out that the class of fifth graders he has been assigned to teach are musically and vocally talented.

This sparks an idea off in Dewey's mind, thinking that he can turn his group of fifth graders into a rock group so that he can win 25,000 dollars in a contest called 'The Battle of the Bands'.

This is a wonderful, classic - rock fueled movie. Jack Black is hysterical as Dewey Finn. The children are all talented, particularly the ones on instruments and vocals.

If you want to love rock music, go watch this movie.

If not, then you'll have missed out on something great.
125 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Maybe it's not intelligent - but it's funny and it rocks!
Wizard-810 October 2003
Glancing at what other people have written about this movie, it seems that these individuals are taking this film a bit too seriously. Worrying about the "messages" this movie is delivering? Come on, there is no way that the con that Jack Black's character pulls off could ever get far in the real world! I don't think any sane person watching this movie would take this seriously. This is a comedy, for crying out loud, made to make us laugh!

I thought Black was fine in this movie. Sure, maybe his character is a little one-note with his proclamations of "rock on" and "stick it to the man", but Black somehow manages to do it over and over without being boring. He's unbelievably energetic AND versatile, delivering these same things in different ways each time that prevent the movie from getting into a rut. I think it's safe to say that only Black himself could have made this role work so well.

There is plenty of humor and great music. Even my senior citizen parents kept laughing, and told me after it was over that they enjoyed the rock soundtrack as well. It's a great movie for the whole family. Why was this rated PG-13? Sure, there are some references to stuff like alcohol and groupies, but they are not emphasized at all in their brief passing - and your kids will already have seen these kind of things treated much worse elsewhere! In fact, here in British Columbia, the ratings board gave it a "G" rating.
121 out of 144 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great, hilarious performance by Jack Black
Frettan15 November 2004
Dewey Finn is a lazy freeloader and a guitarist in a rock band who plays gigs every night and sleeps every day, in his friend Ned Schneebly's apartment. One day as he shows up late for band practice he notices a new guitar player who is replacing him. Poor Dewey feels so bad about it and also about Ned and his girlfriend threatening to kick him out since he doesn't pay any of the bills. After a few days of trying to sell his guitars, which doesn't go very well, the head of a school calls and asks for Ned Schneebly, who is a talented substitute teacher with a good reputation. In a desperate attempt to getting money fast, Dewey impersonates Ned and conveniently finds himself the teacher of a third grade ( or something like that ) class for several weeks ahead. Yet another one of his crazy ideas strikes him and his plan to turn his class into a rockband to win the Battle of the Bands competition is set in motion.

School Of Rock is a great feel-good comedy, fun for just about anyone of any age, kids or adults. Jack Black does carry a lot of this film on his own but I won't be too harsh on the kids in the movie, they did very well also. If anyone else should play Dewey Finn rather than Jack, it just wouldn't be the same. Since Jack is actually in a rock band in real life, and has played a few characters in films before who are also into music, he just seemed to fit right into this film. His real passion for rock music helps a lot in this film, and makes Dewey Finn one hell of a good character. The plot to this film is really good I think and Mike White did a great job on the screenplay. As did Linklater on the direction of the film.

This comedy should not be ignored just because there are kids in it, I enjoyed it a hell of a lot and you probably will too.

9/10
65 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
You are not hardcore unless you live hardcore.
hitchcockthelegend15 June 2014
The perfect vehicle for Jack Black, a film to show that given the right material he's a bona fide comedic actor of some worth. Plot has Black as Dewey Finn, a wastrel musician who has no job prospects and who spends his time mooching off of his best mate Ned Sheebly (Mike White). When Dewey is fired from his rock band he's left in limbo and in danger of being homeless. But when he answers a phone call offering Ned a job assignment, Dewey decides to take it upon himself to impersonate Ned and take the employment himself; as a schoolteacher!

So it's Jack Black in a classroom full of kids, it probably shouldn't work, and even might seem like some sort of cruel and unusual punishment to anyone with an aversion to Black, but this is feel good nirvana and a paean to rock and roll. It's perhaps unsurprising that it's crammed with clichés from the classroom splinter of moviedom, the kids a roll call of characters we have seen numerous times. The spoilt swot, the roughneck, the one suffering parental peer pressure, the weight issue one and on it goes, but boy can they play music when Dewey takes them out of classical mode and into rock central.

How nice to find that director Richard Linklater and writer Mike White have managed to rise above the clichés and avoid syrupy fodder, there's such a zest and earnestness to it all, and the kids acting is high in quality as well, led by the big kid himself, Black on full tilt. But most of all, even as the morals and life affirming threads come wading in with the pulsing rock soundtrack, it's a very funny picture, the gag quota enormously high. Be it Black trying to bluff the kids, the kids trying to bluff everyone else - or the wonderful Joan Cusack as the scatty stickler for the rules Principal Mullins – a laugh is never far away. Rock on! 8.5/10
11 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
brilliant
kennethraine10 June 2014
When I first watched this film I did not know what to expect. But was entertained and delighted by its content and spirit. My first thought was how come nothing quite like this has ever been attempted before. It had all the elements that go to make a great story,the enthusiasm of a yet to make it musician, a responsive youthful group of teenage, gifted but unrealised musicians, a controlling, misguided, but persuadable Establishment, and in the blend, the unauthorised teacher of the group nearly discredited. To top it all a contest was entered by this new group of hopefuls, and after initial resistance and disappointment, a final electric performance, gave them all the prize they deserved. There,s only one thing left to say, "they stuck it to the man".
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Tailored for Jack Black
claudio_carvalho11 November 2005
After being fired from his own band, the guitar player Dewey Finn (Jack Black) needs to raise some money to pay for his rent and his bills. When his friend and school teacher Ned Schneebly (Mike White) is called to a temporary work in an expensive private school, Dewey pretends to be Ned and accepts the job. He finds talented young musicians in his class, and he decides to form a rock-and-roll band with the students and win a competition called "Battle of Bands" to raise the prize and be recognized in the show business.

"The School of Rock" is a very funny and politically incorrect comedy tailored for Jack Black. He steals the movie and rocks in the role of a rock-and-roll lover, who dreams to be successful as a guitar player. Most of the lines belong to him, and I believe this movie is his best individual performance in his successful career. Joan Cusack is excellent as usual, and Miranda Cosgrove seems to have potential and be a great promise as actress. The soundtrack is a great homage to rock-and-roll, with many classics including Led Zeppelin's "Immigrant Song". The DVD is full of worthwhile Extras, and in the end this film is an excellent funny entertainment. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Escola de Rock" ("School of Rock")
60 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sound of Music
jakemsn49 January 2006
Has anyone noticed that School Of Rock is like a modern, rock version, and 10-millions times better version of Sound Of Music? Both are about a teacher who spends time with a small group of kids and inspires true music in them. Anyone who is 50-90 years old loves the Sound of Music, as a member of the younger generation today I think it's safe to say The School of Rock is the "Sound of Music" version of the new millennia, because I doubt another movie in the next 100 or maybe even 1000 years with the same plot (teacher inspiring kids with music) will do better than School Of Rock, just like no movie between 1900-2000 did better than the Sound Of Music in this regard.

Jack Black's passion for the music is obviously sincere and true, just like the teacher lady in the Sound Of Music passionately cared about music and proceeded to teach the children the basic of doe ray memes while running through grassy fields. The Sound Of Music is the mushy Brady Bunch goody goody corny serious set-in-world war II version (which can be enjoyable), the School Of Rock is the hard and humorous and much more up to date version. In the Sound Of Music the main character's main plight was surviving the harsh realities of Nazi World War II along with her love interest; in the School Of Rock, Jack Black's main plight is to survive the commercialization of music (instead of Nazism), i.e. getting kicked off his own band while his band members replaced him with a gorgeous dude with a great body who is more marketable, and seeing that today's elementary kids are fed nothing but crap music. See how it is all modernized more up to date? Basically, the School of Rock ROCKS!
76 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Definitely worth it!!
Sweetestsixteen29 October 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I really didn't want to see this film at all. I just saw it as another Sister act minus the nuns, choirs and Whoopi Goldberg, but I was very surprised.

The children were very talented, they played instruments and sang so well it was impressive and you had no choice but to smile.

The music was catchy and realistic to what young children their age would have been able to do.

Jack Black was so funny. Every time something bad happened to him you couldn't help but feel his pain because he was entertaining and down to earth.

Even though the "music competition" is so often used in movies, it is different this time.

Basically give this film a chance. It is humour, sadness, great feel good music but realism all rolled into one.

What are you waiting for?
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good G-Rated fun
Blueghost6 July 2017
I wish they made more of these kinds of films. It's refreshing to see a G-rated comedy that had kids but was also funny without having to resort to body function jokes.

It's a film about accomplishment. It's a film about deception to achieve your dreams. It's a film about how children can achieve remarkable things. It's a film about how they can still make good clean movies, even if they're made with kids in mind they can still be funny without being too saccharine.

I just don't get why they don't make more movies like this. Jack Black is in his usual rare comedic and terrific performance form. And the supporting cast is also dynamic, especially the kids who do a bang up job.

There's a bit of three stooges here. There's a little bit of Jerry Lewis. There's a healthy dash of classic post 1950s rock injected into this film, but again clean enough that children and their parents can enjoy it.

The plot is pretty basic, a conman of a want to be rock star who's on the outs with his former band and one friend, does a bit of double dealing to help bring rock to young minds, enlighten their parents, and make his way back into the thing he loves most; music.

Definitely worth streaming, possibly buying the bluray when it becomes available for your library.

Enjoy.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my favorite films
trhodg1 February 2016
I love School of Rock.

This movie is very funny. Mike White wrote a great script with hilarious and memorable jokes.

Jack Black perfectly delivers many amusing jokes. He is supported by many other strong acting performances by Joan Cusack, Sarah Silverman, and Mike White. Even the children have decent performances as the students.

Richard Linklater, one of my favorite directors, does a marvelous job of directing the kids.

Also, the music in this movie is great. Many great songs were on the soundtrack, including: "Sunshine Of Your Love," "Immigrant Song," "Back In Black," and way too many more to name.

This movie could've been bad in many ways: Jack Black acting stupid, lackluster acting, bad/child jokes, etc., but none of these things happened at all!

This movie is one of my favorites. If you are debating whether you should watch it or not, WATCH IT!! It is, in my opinion, the most underrated film of all time, and everyone should watch this movie.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I know it's only rock'n'roll, but I like it!
fishwife4715 September 2004
I like it, I like it, yes indeed!

With a Judy Garland/Mickey Rooney plot, this movie takes a terrific comic and musical turn and is a totally enjoyable, fun, and informative ride!

I liked that Jack Black always treated his students with positive reinforcement, which is really important if someone is ever to have the guts to go on stage. He was never down or discouraging unless it was a very funny down and

discouraging! And never about the students themselves.

I like Jack Black, I love this movie, and I love rock'n'roll above all else!

Forget the clichés. Let yourself have fun.

And stick it to the man!!!!!!
25 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Jack Black's Best Movie
slightlymad224 January 2015
I don't know if this role was wrote especially for Jack Black, but it is a perfect fit for him.

Plot In A Paragraph: Dewy Finn (Jack Black) is a wannabe rock star, who gets kicked out of his own band. In need of cash, he poses as his flatmate who is a substitute teacher, when a prep school calls wanting to hire him, He sets about trying to turn his class into his next rock band.

All of the child actors are superb, especially Miranda Cosgrove, Joey Gaydos Jr, Rebecca Brown, Robert Tsai, , Kevin Alexander Clark, Maryam Hassan and Jordan-Claire Green. Brian Falduto had me laughing a few times as Liza Minelli fan Billy, Black nicknamed "fancy pants" It is surprising to see that with the exception of Cosgrove and Green the child actors have not acted since, Brown has one more credit from this year 2014 and that's it.

Of the adult cast, alongside Black, Joan Cusack is great as Principal Mullins, Mike White and Sarah Silverman are both good too.

I'm always humming the song "Teachers Pet" for ages after watching this. Jack Black's best movie.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
If there was an inspirational rock movie then here it is.
braddugg20 September 2014
If there was an inspirational rock movie then here it is.

All through my engineering that is from 2004 October (when I first saw) till the end of my studies and even today, this movie inspires me with its flamboyance of the JUST DO IT spirit. It's a well written tale and extremely well directed. To take this screenplay and bringing it to life and to extract such great acting from the kids is a serious director's job and kudos to Linklater for having done that so well.

It's a tribute to all those rock bands that have inspired over the years and this movie played a big part for my introduction to Rock music. A bunch of school guys form a band with the help of their teacher. Rather the teacher forms a band with help of school kids assigning them a job and its their journey from becoming a band to making songs. Passionate is how I would say the acting of Jack Black was as he lead the film all through bearing the weight solely on his shoulders.

There was no big star cast except him in the movie and this modest film budget did not allow the movie to explore may be. However, this movie is extremely well made in all departments. Production deign, editing must be given appreciation. editor for sure would have had a major job to have the unwanted and unnecessary things out.

The music selection is also top notch with apt songs coming at the right time.

It's 4/5 for one of the best musical movies ever.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This must be one of the best "feel good" movies ever!
teleadm-persson7 October 2005
I'm just like the pupils in this movie! I know nothing about Hard rock, Heavy Metal, or Led Zepelin! But still! This is as good as a "feel good" movie can ever be! Can Jack Black ever top this? One of the few movies that I wish was 15 minutes longer. And those kids! They are marvelous! not like the typical kids in movies (With huge crocodile tears). Snow White and the seven Dwarfs, modernized. Jack Black was throwned out into the world because a rock band thought he was too wild. Snow White Was throwned out of a castle because she was too beautiful, by an evil stepmother (or a boring ego tripped band leader, or a step-mother using witchcraft). Jack Black found new faith and hope and energy in all those pupils (Snow White found the same in the seven dwarfs)
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Tale of Two Bands
lovinyakees23 February 2015
Dewey Finn is an arrogant, outlandish musician without a cent to his name; however, he is a catalyst to pursuing ambitions. Through its humor the movie is able to relate to the dreamer that will never quit in every viewer. School of Rock is an inspiring movie about children and young adults not only pursuing their ambitions, but also inspiring and encouraging others to pursue theirs, even through opposition.

The perception of Jack Black's character Dewey Finn is an overweight, washed-up, broke musician. Despite the criticism he receives, he refuses to be anything other than a musician. Ebert says, "Dewey Finn does not start as a disreputable character and then turn gooey. Jack Black remains true to his irascible character all the way through; he makes Dewey's personality not a plot gimmick, but a way of life". Black is in almost the entire movie and wildly entertaining in each scene. Whether he is dancing like a maniac in front of his class or singing math songs, his mannerisms and facial responses are the highlight of the comedic genius in School of Rock.

After being kicked out of his rock and roll band, Dewey finds himself at a crossroads: be poor or give up music. Desperate to pay rent and still be a musician he steals a "gig" from Ned Schneebly, his friend and his landlord, as a substitute teacher at a private school. This uptight private school is the last place a person of Dewey's crude personality and short temper belongs. Ned is Dewey's ironic antagonist; he represents what would happen if Dewey gave up on his dreams; but unlike most antagonists, he is soft spoken and a pushover. Ned (Mike White) is a dullard who says few words in the movie, except when he tells Dewey that he misses music everyday. Dewey is dumbfounded when he realizes a substitute teacher is more than just a "temp" who sits behind the desk quietly; this shocks him into realizing that he does not belong in the classroom. Rainer points out, "His fifth-grade class doesn't know what to make of him, especially when he declares an all-day recess and, hungry, swipes a sandwich from one of his students." Dewey hatches the idea to teach the children about the only thing he can teach: rock and roll, or what he considers real music. Holden says, "Dewey is flabbergasted when his students cite Christina Aguilera, the musical Annie and Liza Minnelli as their musical influences and claim total ignorance of Dewey's personal hard-rock pantheon." In order to culture them, he teaches them more than just names and songs, he teaches them how to act like rock and roll stars. Motivation to be productive as a substitute comes to Dewey when he recognizes that the students are talented and they need someone to enhance their rock and roll abilities. Dewey is energized at the chalkboard when he draws an intricate diagram covering the vast topic of rock and roll. He turns the dry, mundane classroom into a creative space that is unique for each student's passions. Holden says, "Those who are not musicians design lights, costumes and sound, or serve as roadies." Dewey explores what each member is capable of and uses it to enhance the band as a whole. School of Rock connects with viewers by attesting to the fact that no goal can be accomplished without overcoming some obstacles. Lawrence, a keyboardist, tells Dewey that he "is not cool enough to be in the band"(School of Rock). Dewey tells him, "you could be the ugliest sad sack on the planet, but if you are in a rocking band you are the cat's pajamas"(School of Rock). Dewey has personally faced many critics for his appearance or how he is not cool enough but continues to perform regardless. Tomika (Myra Hassan), another student, asks Dewey if she can avoid preforming because she is sensitive about her weight. Ebert notes this scene, "You have an issue with weight? " Dewey asks. "You know who else has a weight issue? Me! But I get up there on the stage and start to sing, and people worship me." This touches on the fact that most viewers have felt inadequate in the pursuit of his dreams; but in the achievement of his or her dreams he or she becomes adequate and even prodigious. The most worthwhile lesson Dewey teaches the class is about "sticking it to the man" (School of Rock). Dewey has all his students get heated and tell him off. Lawrence, generally quiet, tells him "he is a fat loser and has body odor"(School of Rock). The students have all gained a backbone, and some, since the beginning of the movie when they were conformists to their systematic school. Whether the school is enforcing the strict dress code or the student's parent is yelling at them for listening to rock and roll, the students have learned to think for themselves and do what they believe in. The students are diverse; there is a grade grubber, a stereotypically cool kid, an insecure girl, and every other type of child. The children connect with Black convincingly throughout the entirety of the movie, whether they are supposed to believe Black to be their new substitute or their fellow band member. As a band, Black and the students are able to "stick it to the man" and pursue their ambitions despite the negativity they receive.

School of Rock ends with a grand finale at the Battle of the Bands with a conglomeration of the parents, teachers, the former band, and the new band, School of Rock. Despite the fact that the entire movie is about performing at the Battle of the Bands, it becomes less and less important as the movie progresses. School of Rock becomes more about how finding a passion that gives you joy and pursuing is greater than focusing on being the absolute best.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Black attack
Buddy-5120 December 2004
After distinguishing himself in any number of memorable supporting roles, Jack Black finally comes into his own in "The School of Rock," a sporadically funny comedy that is part "Sister Act" and part genial spoof of all those movies about a "super teacher" who brings meaning and purpose to the lives of his students.

Black plays Dewey Finn, an aging rock'n'roller who is still awaiting that moment when he will "make it big" in the music world. He lives with Ned Schneebly, his longtime rocker buddy, who has traded in his dreams of musical glory for a nagging girlfriend and a job as a substitute teacher. Desperate for money to pay the rent, Dewey pretends to be Schneebly and takes a job as a sub at a snooty, tradition-bound prep school, where the last thing the administration and the parents would want is a Jimmy Hendricks knockoff teaching their kids. And since Dewey really only knows one thing, this uncredentialed professorial imposter decides to make rock'n'roll the sole focus of his curriculum, turning these inward, shy, nerdish kids into a viable rock band - all under the radar screen of the ever-watchful administrators and parents of course.

Although the storyline wends its way along a predictable path, writer Mike White and director Richard Linklater find a great deal of warmth and humor in the material. Dewey's utter obsession with rock music and rock history is reflected in the fact that he leads the band members in a prayer to the "god of rock" before a concert, and screams in frustration - "What have they been teaching you kids at this school?" - when he finds out his pupils have never been educated in the basics of Hendricks, Led Zeppelin and Black Sabbath. Dewey is so preposterously well-meaning and good-natured that the audience can't help but root for him and his students as they embark on their mad quest to appear at a local battle of the bands competition, unbeknownst to the powers-that-be at the school.

The children playing the students are all winning and charming, and Joan Cusack cuts a sympathetic figure as the uptight school principal who harbors a little bit of Stevie Nicks under her prim and proper exterior. But it is Black who makes this film his own, turning what might have been a buffoonish caricature into a fully-rounded human being. Black is not afraid to cut loose and take over the screen when necessary, hitting heights of unbridled mania to rival the master, Jim Carrey. Yet, he also realizes that he is part of an ensemble effort here and understands the importance of integrating himself into the material and not always dominating it. As a result, even when certain elements of the film fall flat, as they frequently do, Black is always there to prop the movie back up.

"The School of Rock" is an entertaining little comedy, but unlike a real satire which would skewer the conventions of the genre it is attacking, this film loses its nerve and winds up endorsing those conventions. Dewey, for all his talk about defying "The Man," is really a rebel in name only, and the film reflects the kind of feel-good populism that no true hard line iconoclast would be caught dead supporting. I guess it's too much to expect a mainstream Hollywood comedy to launch a truly savage assault on mainstream values (in the way rock, at its best, often does). Still, it might be nice to come across the unexpected sometime (after all, movies like "Dr. Strangelove" and "MASH" were able to do it).

Until then, we'll settle for what we can get. And Jack Black is good enough for now.
48 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Feel Good Movie With Attitude
nbwritersinbox18 January 2013
Pleased to see IMDbers award School Of Rock a worthy seven on the "watchability scale".

The film's a well-cast, entertaining journey. It features some hilarious plotting and writing sequences. It's one of the best kids movies I've seen. But calling it a "kids movie" does it a disservice. It's really a good, old-fashioned family flick with a few surprise twists.

The cast here are obviously having fun, fuelled no doubt, by the boundless energy of Jack Black Himself. This casting decision to hire Jack to play Dewey, an unappreciated musician with a deep-seated desire to perform, elevates this film into a joyous occasion in which we can all share.

The young actors are worthy of mention. Fortunately, the film's an almost perfect vehicle for their talents. I'll also give credit where its due to Joan Cusack. Playing opposite Jack here as a repressed, but lovably human head mistress, she seems to be having as much fun as everyone else.

So we get laughs, good acting and a rocking soundtrack. I don't think we could ask for more.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Jack Black's School Of Rock And Roll
Chrysanthepop15 November 2008
Director Richard Linklater and writer/actor Mike White come up with a hilarious rock and roll comedy casting Jack Black in the lead. 'School of Rock' does in a way fall on the same lines of 'Sister Act' and at the same time it, funnily enough, mocks all those teacher-student bonding movies about the meaning of life etc. As a teacher, Black's Ned aka Dewey breaks all school rules. Screw maths. Screw History. Screw all academics. He pretty much gets his initially timid students to throw away academics and eventually to solely focus on one thing only, and that is rock and roll. Although the thought might pop up 'come on, rock and roll is good but academic studies are important too', Dewey doesn't care and, as the film proceeds, neither does the viewer. 'School of Rock' is a Jack Black film. The actor uses his fantastic flair for comedy to the max. For me he is one of the funniest actors. But, 'School of Rock' is very much a collaborative effort as the kids are very good too and their interaction with Jack Black are among the highlights of the film. Joan Cusack holds her own as the uptight principle who does have a wild rocker in her and Mike White is likable too. Sarah Silverman is annoying but, thankfully, she's only there in a few scenes. The cast and crew clearly, as is evident in the special features, had a lot of fun in the making. The soundtrack is a must-have. 'School of Rock' does follow the path of 'safe' Hollywood films as the storyline isn't exactly novel but the director and writer infuse excellent materials of humour making the experience great fun with loads of laugh out loud moments. Moreover, watching the DVD is a bonus as it has some awesome special features that only contributes to the laugh out loud quality of the film.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The perfect film for a Sunday afternoon
SimonCooper945 October 2019
I love this film. The plot and concept is just so original. Jack Black's best role by far! The music is great. The kids are brilliant. This is the perfect film to watch with your wife on a Sunday.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I loved it
disneyemily3021 October 2006
I loved the movie i thought is was very inspiring for younger kids like me who have big dreams. I've always wanted to be an actress in the movies so its good for people like me that want to make it in the big times but don't know how to and don't think i have the quality to do that but the movie made me get a feeling inside me saying that i can do it if i put my mind to it.

I thought it was very funny and the kids were very good at acting i see many movies when i kids do not act good but they were very realistic. The kids are around my age when they were acting and i thought if they could do it so could i.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unbelievable, this was such an awesome movie!
Smells_Like_Cheese12 October 2006
School of Rock, well, it rocked! I had to say that I had my doubts, I mean, I love Jack Black, but this seemed like most of his movies where he just plays the typical junkie and probably has either the same or lame humor. Don't get me wrong, I love Jack, just I was starting to get worried about him being type cast. But School of Rock proved not only to be great, but an incredibly touching movie with some great humor.

Jack plays Dewey Finn, a guitar player who has just got kicked out of his band. He also owes his roommate, a substitute teacher, a lot of money for the rent. So, when Dewey answers the phone that was meant for his roommate and takes a job, posing as his roommate, as the new substitute teacher at a high class prep school. Since he doesn't really care and just wants the money, he just sits back and relaxes. He wants to get back at his band still by competing in Battle of Bands, so he takes these kids and turns them into his rock band, better, into the School of Rock.

This has endless humor and just over all a terrific story that is so touching and I think anyone can appreciate. Even though the ending is just a smidge unrealistic, it's what everyone wanted, and I think we can say that it rocked!

10/10
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Awesome movie!
Infraspinatus5 June 2006
Can a movie with Jack Black, an insanely excellent comedian, combined with a bunch of insanely talented kids and the insane rock music be anything else than insanely fantastic? Nope. Jack Black really gives it all whenever he's in a movie and he's also a musician, actually. It's pretty impossible not to roll on the floor laughing when he gets his crazy attacks and rock 'n roll visions. The kids in the movie aren't older than 11 or so, but they're already better musicians than what most adults are these days. The story actually surprised me in a good way too, still at the very last moments i thought it was going to end in a cheesy way, but it didn't. It's entertaining and funny from the very beginning to the very end, i can tell.
11 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed