The Hot Chick (2002) Poster

(2002)

User Reviews

Review this title
214 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Underrated!
dlozano5 July 2003
This movie is so like the other movies with Schneider and Sandler. It's funnier by far than "Waterboy". You'll love the warmth and message that's in every Sandler film. The actress who played the hot chick is soooo funny as Rob Schneider. She's not getting the credit she deserves.

The hot chick's little brother, her boyfriend (perfectly played by Matthew Lawrence!), and all the side characters from Ling Ling, Ling Ling's mom, and the hot chick's best friend are just fun to watch. This movie is funny, and I will end in saying Rob Schneider is sooooo good in this film. You'll get a lot of laughs!
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Could have been stupid, but was actually very funny
cine-1116 May 2003
Yet another variation on the "switching bodies" theme (Freaky Friday, Like Father Like Son, etc). This one was different, though, in that it involved a transgender switch and that, along with convincing acting by Rob Schneider, made it work. A little slow to start, but once it got going, I found myself laughing repeatedly throughout. A comedy well worth watching for lots of laughs.
69 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Surprisingly funny comedy
miguelsanchez6926 June 2003
First off let it be said, I'm a pretty big fan of comedies. I rather enjoyed Schneider's 1st film Deuce Bigelow, but gagged at the supreme awfulness of the Animal. The script to the Hot Chick is surprisingly good and well-organized (though it's premise is basically a raunchier riff on 80s body switch movies like vice-versa and freaky friday without any moralizing). It may not be original (similar to my other favorite comedy so far this year, old school) and it may not win any oscars , but it's funny, follows an established formula well, and doesn't deteriorate in the third act like a lot of comedies I've seen as of late into moralizing or seemingly tacked on drama. Rob Schneider and Anna Farris are incredibly funny together. Watch for a cameo by Adam Sandler. If youre in the mood for citizen kane or next year's oscar winners, look elsewhere. If you're in the mood for good, dumb, fairly raunchy fun to watch with a couple of friends - this movie's great.
69 out of 88 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Brilliant Comedy...
pidective20 December 2002
Rob Schnieder was great in this film. He adapted well to the character of a female. This movie was not dumb, it just wasn't made for those who had no sense of humor. The movie, I must say, was madly hilarious. At some points, I was rolling into the other seat.

Its not very easy for an actor to portray someone of the opposite sex, however, Schnieder did it better than anyone else could.

This is a great movie, however, if you are a 'party pooper' like the last reviewer...with no sense of humor...you more than likely wont like this movie..

Great comedy!!
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This Hot Chick enjoyed it
gusmcrae27 December 2002
I wasn't really looking forward to this movie at all. I haven't seen a lot of Rob Schneider, but what little I did see was usually grossout. Needless to say I was expecting more of that with this little flick.

The movie though turned out to be...well pretty awesome. It's not going to win an oscar, but it's certainly far from the movie I expected to see. Sure there were the cliches (popular blonde cheerleaders, fat chicks with food in their hands at all times, scary goths)...but somehow they worked together. It turns out that those cliches are simply empty pictures that we get of other people. Who know a Rob Schneider movie could manage to point that out??

As for Mr. Schneider....well he was pretty darn good. I thought it would be incredibly silly watching him as a girl. It was at times, but overall I think this movie pulled out some of his best comic acting. He was able to be sensitive and funny and pull it off believably. I'd like to see him at least nominated for his role ;)

The other actors in the movie...mostly a bunch of nameless beauties...also pulled their weight. The characters were pretty well fleshed out (which was nice to see since my last movie was MAID IN MANHATTEN where no thought at all seemed to have been put into character development.) Matthew Lawrence was looking hot as usual :)

I give the movie 9 out of 10 stars. See it if you want to laugh. It's actually worth the money :)
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A funny, interesting movie
maggien5 August 2003
I just saw this movie and I really liked it. It is funny, and yes, painful at times. But it has an interesting message - there is a scene where Jessica's little brother Booger is running after the family in the red high heels. Does his parents have a fit? No. His dad says, "if you are going to wear those, you better learn to run in them." Accepting and warning at the same time. You also notice at the end of the movie that the girls that were enemies at the beginning of the movie, have become friends by the end. They overcome their differences, work together, and resolve a problem.

This is a good movie, and I recommend it. Not every film you watch has to be Oscar level. Entertainment and education can come in many forms.
26 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I could watch this every day
superfly3215 July 2011
This movie was great in every way possible; it had such a funny plot of a high school girl being trapped in a man's body. I could never watch this movie enough times.

It has great actors in it. Rob Schneider, Rachel McAdams, and Anna Faris makes up for an all-star cast. This movie is truly one of the best comedies I've ever seen, and I've seen a lot.

The DVD features are great as well. The deleted scenes are almost as funny as the movie, and it has so many behind the scenes video. Rob Schneider couldn't have done a better job with this movie.

Any critics that say this movie is bad need to watch it again, because they're wrong

10 stars for this movie. It blew me away. It was amazing
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wildly funny comedy that is raunchy at times
Catherine_Grace_Zeh15 July 2006
THE HOT CHICK, in my opinion, is a wildly funny comedy that is raunchy at times. Despite the fact that's it's very funny, there aren't many raunchy things I can remember about it. Still, I enjoyed this film very much. When Clive (Rob Schneider) was eating nachos, I thought to myself, "Oh, gross!" However, when Jessica (Rachel McAdams) and Clive's bodies switched, I was reminded of a 2003 movie starring Jamie Lee Curtis and Lindsay Lohan. Before I wrap this up, I'd like to say, "Rob Schneider scores big laughs here!" Also, watch for a special appearance by Adam Sandler. Now, in conclusion, I highly recommend this wildly funny comedy that is raunchy at times to any Rob Schneider fan who hasn't seen it. You're in for lots of laughter, so go to the video store, rent it or buy it, kick back with a friend, and watch it.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Surprisingly Funny
Darkest_Rose30 May 2003
A very popular girl named Jessica(Rachel McAdams)accidently switches body with a man who is also a criminal(Rob Schneider)because of a pair of magical earrings. Now Jessica is trapped in a man's body and along with her best friend April(Anna Faris)she must find her body before it's too late but on the good side, Jessica learns a lot about herself, her family and her friends that she did not know before. I didn't have any high expectations for this movie but surprisingly it wasn't so bad and it had a few very funny moments. Oh, and by the way, Anna Faris is the real hot chick in this movie! Anyways, I would give The Hot Chick 6.5/10.
42 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Rob Schneider at his best...
jpalmberg11 July 2003
If you like Deuce Bigalow and The Animal you will surely like this one, 'cos it's Robs best movie so far. He and Anna Faris do an excellent job and the movie is really funny. Best of all is of course Adam Sandlers cameo. I would rate the movie 8 / 10.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A guilty pleasure
pachin8 April 2003
I enjoyed "The Hot Chick." What can I say, it is a guilty pleasure. When I went to see it I figure it may be amusing but I found myself laughing quite often during the movie. Rob Schneider was very good in the role of the female who ends up in the body of an older man. Anne Faris and Rachel McAdams are quite good in the supporting roles.
25 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good Light Humor!
the_insainiak5 January 2003
I haven't seen a movie as funny as this in ages. What a classic. The actors all played their roles well, especially Rob Schnider. When I first saw the teaser poster for this film, I thought it looked very odd. I actually said I wouldn't watch it, or even bother with it, but I was pleasently surprised. Just good, light humor. Highly recommended! It is a comedy the way there used to be made before American Pie came along.
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Perfect Comedy!!!
Pumpkin_Man3 October 2008
Warning: Spoilers
This is a really awesome funny movie! It's like Rob Schneider's version of 'Freaky Friday'! A popular girl who takes things for granted named Jessica steals some cursed earrings from a store in the mall while with her hot girl-friends. They go to a gas station that's being robbed by Clive Maxtone. Clive pretends to be the gas station employee. Somehow, she drops an earring and Clive finds it. The next day, Jessica finds out she's switched bodies with Clive. She tries to tell her best friend April about it, but she doesn't believe her at first. Throughout the movie, a lot of hilarious situations happen such as Jessica trying to use the restroom standing up, and getting her boyfriend to believe. Across town, Clive is in Jessica's body and taking advantage of the situation by becoming a stripper and making more money. Later, Jessica learns some valuable lessons. If you have a great sense of humor, you'll love THE HOT CHICK!!!
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better than "The Animal" at least
movieman_kev9 June 2005
Jessica Spencer (Rachel McAdams from "Mean Girls") heists a pair of earrings from an tribal shop at the mall. After a run-in with another robber at a gas station (Rob Schneider), she loses one earring from the set. Turns out these jewelery pieces are magical and allow body-switching. We're dealing with a bad news/good news scenario here. the bad new being that the writer is the same responsible for "The Animal" travesty. The good news is this is considerably better. However, Anna Faris shouldn't make any more comedies, in every single comedy I've seen her in she is capable of a whole range of.. ONE expression, that would be being shocked/ Surprised, which would be fine if she didn't use it about 50 times per movie. But if gay stereotypes, fat jokes, and dick humor is your cup of tea By all means help yourself. You know what? I probably made it sound better than it is actually. It all honesty, this is merely an alright film even if it does feel a bit tame for a Schneider movie.

DVD Extras: Commentary by Director Tom Brady; 15 Deleted scenes; 5 featurettes (Becoming Jessica, Becoming Clive, the Hot Chicks, Guest Speakers, and Physical Education); a "Starlight" Music Video by Zed; Trailer for "Shanghai Knights"

My Grade: C+

My DVD extras Grade: B-
30 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Hot Chick is frigin hilarious .
dobbin-416 December 2007
Another movie not properly appreciated by people taking comedy movies too seriously in this film starring Rob Schniedor. The film is extremely funny and shows movies with stupid plots can be pretty good. The story is about a girl who gets a dose of reality when she gets transferred into a mans body. The story is very good and good performances from all the actors make this movie a very enjoyable experience. The movie is definitely light but so is a lot of other stuff. Fans of Rob Schneider and Adam Sandler will enjoy this movie as it is funny, witty and overall a good movie. Overall watch this movie and you will not be disappointed. I rate this movie 64%.
22 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another Happy Madison triumph!
duntrune28 February 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Other than Joe Dirt, I haven't seen a Happy madison flick that I haven't laughed out loud at throughout, this is no exception. Yes, silly physical slapstick, the mom falling, people getting hit, yes, yes, it's been done a million times, as has the tired plotline, but Schneider plays it so well, you can't help but love it. His teenage girl is hilarious, and everyone turns in a pretty good job, especially the much mentioned Anna Faris, who can, despite Scary Movie's evidence to the contrary, act, and very well, too. Adam Sandler's cameo is pretty good "If you have any more questions, I'll be in the back sleeping. Wait. This is the back." "I didn't think you could hear me!" and of course, the tie in lines "That's a HUGE B**CH!" (Where was "We can do it!") and Rachel McAdams is a mondo hotty, along with Anna Faris, so really, I can't see what anyone COULDN'T like about this movie, people need to lighten up, loosen the ties, mellow out, and just laugh once in awhile.
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Silly, but cute...
HayleyM10044 July 2003
Not wanting to dismiss this movie entirely after seeing the trailer, I decided to sit down and view this with an open mind. To my surprise, I actually found myself giggling at the antics of Rob Schneider trying to portray a teenage girl. Kudos to Rob...if he ever decides to find a new profession, he could always do one of those male reviews in full dress...but let's hope he gets a good wax job this time! This movie was silly, but enjoyable.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Better than I expected...
dunkmeister27 December 2002
I usually don't like movies of this type, but this one was actually pretty good. Rob Schneider is very funny in this movie. I'm not a big fan of his, but I think he did a great job of playing a teenage girl. Had the mannerisms down very good and pulled it off. Anna Faris is just "HOT" (loved her since I first saw her in Scary Movie) and Rachel McAdams is a star on the rise, I wish we had seen more of her. Plus the fact that Adam Sandler and Michelle Branch have cameos was nice and I love that the producers used a song by the best rock star most people have never heard of, Butch Walker. Using his song "We'll Take Tomorrow (One Day at a Time)" was a perfect choice for the 2 scenes it's used in. I definitely would recommend this movie to people who enjoy a silly comedy for what it is.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Rob Schneider Does It Again!
jeffgrooves6 December 2002
I have to admit it, Rob Schneider has done it again! He has made another hilarious movie in which he plays some sort of crazy character trapped in a bizarre situation with zany laughs laced all throughout. DEUCE BIGALO was hilarious. THE ANIMAL had some really funny moments. And now with THE HOT CHICK, Schneider creates a whole bunch of new belly-laughs. Schneider isn't your typical comedy actor...there is something different about him that makes him stand out in a strange sort of way. Not only is this movie full of laughs, but there are plenty of beautifully sexy women laced throughout the film to keep the scenery HOT. Rachael McAdams as Jessica is a beauty! I've never seen her before, but she certainly did a stand out job in this film as the prissy popular girl who finds herself switching bodies with Schneider. Scary Movie's Anna Farris also lights up the screen with her pretty smile, sweet persona, and sexy new blonde look. Adam Sandler also makes a pretty hilarious Cameo as a mellow pot-head. This is a great flick to watch if you're looking for something with a lot of laughs or to just have some fun! I look forward to Schneider's next flick...I've heard rumors of a DEUCE 2...Let's hope it's true!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Too Corny
arsenewe26 December 2002
I would like to begin by saying that Rob Schneider is incredibly funny and is absolutely brilliant in this flick. But after about an hour of a good comedy the movie turns into a tragic drama about how you shouldn´t judge people by there looks and so on. Ok! Its alright to have messages like that in movies. But enough is enough. This is a brilliant comedy ruined by way too much of crying and moaning and with alot of messages. That part of the movie is worse than She´s all That. Rob if you are reading this your one of the funniest man around these days. Just take it easy on the sentimentality. **1/2 of ****. Could have been three and 1/2.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Pretty Solid Movie
MovieMilhouse2123 June 2003
The Hot Chick was a pretty good movie. Rob Schneider was pretty

funny. Plus it had the added bonus of major babes Anna Faris

and Rachel McAdams. I also enjoyed Adam Sandler's cameo and

the stoner guy he played always finding new places to hide his

weed. I also liked the advice the the man in the bathroom (i forgot

who he was) "If you shake it more than twice, you're playing with

yourself" Genius!!!! I would give it probably a 9 out of 10 but that might be me being

generous. I would still tell anyone to go out and rent it if they

haven't already seen it at least once.
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the funniest movies I've seen
spottay2125 January 2006
Warning: Spoilers
In my opinion, I thought this movie was HILARIOUS. There were a ton of things that really had me laughing loudly like their facial expressions or when April (I think?) says something about having pepper spray on her key chain and then pulls out this gigantic clump of key rings and frantically tries to search for it. For some reason, I thought it was so funny. Surprisinly...it also had me kind of anxious to find out what happened in the end. I saw it on TV and during the commercials I was dying to find out what was going to happen. The plot is kind of strange, but what would you do if you switched bodies with the opposite sex? Yeah, makes ya think, don't it?

I don't think I've ever laughed so much at a movie.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
HILARIOUS!!! Surprisingly one of the years best comedies! Highly recommended for a fun time!
groovymike_1618 December 2002
THE HOT CHICK (2002)

Believe it or not, The Hot Chick is one of the best comedies of the year. It's been awhile since I've laughed so much at the theater. To my surprise, it even held up really well upon a second viewing, which is rare for comedies.

Anna Faris (Scary Movie, Scary Movie 2, May) gives another winning comedic performance here as April, proving she's one of the best young comedic actresses working today. Her facial expressions are absolutely classic. She never fails to make me laugh and I look forward to her future projects. Rob Schneider gives a really fun performance in what is his best comedy to date, not that it was too hard to top Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo (7/10 or B-) or The Animal (5/10 or C).

Overall, The Hot Chick exceeded my expectations and proved to be a real fun time. It was laugh-out-loud funny from beginning to end. I even appreciated its sweet side and its good message, although most people probably won't take it too seriously anyway. This is not a great film by any means, but it is a very fun one. If you just want to have a good time and laugh then you can't do much better than The Hot Chick.

Grade: 8/10 or B+ or **** of *****
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sooo underrated!
weightycarlos29 June 2019
This may not be critically acclaimed but there are a lot of "should've been" iconic moments here. I personally find this on par with White Chicks and Mean Girls. Love it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How can this movie have only 5.5??
yemp8 June 2019
This is one of my favorite movies of all time! Every time I watch I laugh so hard. People ignore the bad rate and give this a chance. You won't regret it
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed