Gundam Wing: The Movie - Endless Waltz (TV Movie 1998) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
34 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Tremendous
gasgano18 March 2001
This film is the epitome of good anime! It's even clean, so if you wanted to you could show it to your kids (of course they wouldn't get it, but if they like action animation, it's fine!) It carries on the quest for peace and the great battle scenes and even gives us a little of the characters' background! I may have gone a bit overboard, but I gave this film a ten!
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
kick ass film - a good ending to the series aswell
corvettevipergts26 April 2003
Warning: Spoilers
I really enjoyed both the film and the series and no matter what anyone says otherwise i think that GW is better that any of the other gundam features.

Shame they had to self detonate the suits afterwards tho - thay were pretty cool.... :)

But anyway all i have left to say about the enitre Gundam Wing series & film, is that "THEY ARE WICKED!"

(Duo maxwell was my favourite pilot - & wing zero was my favourite Gundam)_(Heero was a bit too serious while Duo was hilarious!)
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Execlent ending to the greatest animated series of our time!
Jedi210 June 2001
I cannot began to discribe my feelings towards "Mobile Suit Gundam Wing: Endless Waltz" simply because, It is in this reviewers option. The film is a most excellent ending to the greatest animated series of our time! Why? It took all the elements of the series, and all of the questions that the fans have had. (Such as "What was Operation M?") and it not only answers them in full detail, but it also gave us a more clear view of our favorite Piolts past(s).

Yet while this is an animated film, it is not ment for small childern however. I would recomend this to any anime fan, or for anyone who simply enjoys brilliant stories and movie making!
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The best way to end such a classic anime like Gundam Wing!!
Shinsengumi19 July 2004
Warning: Spoilers
(this review may contain a spoiler) It has been one year since the end of the war between the Earth and the Space Colonies. Everything is peaceful and the G pilots are sending their Gundams into the sun to destroy because they are not needed in this time of peace. But in a visit to one of the newest Space Colonies, Vice-Foreign Minister Relena Peacecraft is kidnapped by rebels. Heero sets out to get her back. the truth is that a new enemy has appeared. Her name is Mariemaia and she claims to be the daughter of Treize Kushrenada, leader of the defeated OZ. After a few battles and the Gundam boys retaliating, the enemy......Well I think you should watch it for yourself. Gundam Wing Endless Waltz is a great way to end an awesome classic like Gundam Wing that impacted all the youth of the countries where it was shown. The movie is great because it shows flashbacks of the pilots, parts of the story you did not know, legendary characters make a come back and the Gundams are super modified. watch it and don't mind what others say about it, just watch it and enjoy it.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow. Wow. WOW!!!
Sandileina25 February 2005
This has to be one of the best anime films out there. Endless Waltz is, in my opinion, just as good as the Studio Ghibli films (to name a few, Princess Mononoke, Totoro, Laputa - also known as Castle in the Sky -, Spirited Away). Go see it! And Duo Mexwell is the best character without a doubt. Don't doubt me!! LOL OK so I'm just a little obsessed. But really, if you ever get the opportunity, watch the TV series then the movie, as you will certainly not regret it! You'll really have to watch the TV series first though, as I have to admit (like all movies of TV series I should think...), otherwise you'll be sitting there going, 'Whaaaa...?' ~Sandileina (Sandy for short)~
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great continuation from an awesome series
smetin19 April 2017
I had heard good and bad things about Gundam Wing before I watched all 49 episodes. I loved it. Sure, it had its flaws, but it was an enjoyable series with an awesome plot and excellent character sub-plots. When I heard about there being a follow-up movie I was excited, but slightly apprehensive considering many series follow-ups have been sub-par. I was going to watch it regardless...

So, what did I think of this movie? To put it simply, I think that this movie did the series justice. We were thrown back into the Gundam world with some familiar faces. The story was great, with the daughter of Treize trying to pick up where her father left off. She was slightly annoying at times, but she didn't get that much face time! There were some other interesting turns in the plot that I will not spoil. Needless to say, it made the movie great to watch and was certainly better than some of the other Gundam movies.

The Gundams themselves look like they got serious upgrades since we last saw them. They looked awesome! DeathScythe looked more....deadly. Gundam Zero looked truly majestic. I could go on, but you really have to see it to understand what I mean. The battle scenes were as I had expected - crazy and full of explosions. The only thing that annoys me is that the Gundams are just so powerful that they make the mobile suits they face look like storm troopers from Star Wars.

So, do I think you should watch this movie? Yes. However, in order to understand the movie I also recommend you watch the series beforehand. It makes you understand more about the characters and why they act in certain ways. Taken together, this was a movie that was a worth follow-up to the series.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's okay. Better than a lot of other stuff.
Evangelion_Fan13 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
Let's get one thing straight. I enjoyed this movie, it had some great action sequences. But it definitely had its weak points, namely its characters. The characters are alright, better than characters in DragonBall Z (but that isn't saying to much), but the writers obviously tried to make the characters appear deeper than they actually are by having them say and do things that really don't make a whole lot of sense (they did this much more in the show, the movie wasn't nearly as bad on this subject). They also have the characters spew out lines that sound philosophical, but are really just common sense. But overall the movie was pretty decent, but it shouldn't be portrayed as more than it is; a good action movie (and it often is made up to be more). The last thing that really bugged me (and if this were different I might have given this an 8) is that none of the good guys die. They all survive and live happily ever after. There needs to be sacrifice and heartache in a story like this to make it more effective.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Excellent End to Gundam wing but WE DIDN't LEARN ANYTHING!
VichusSmith28 January 2001
I saw Gundam Wing: Endless Waltz on cartoon metwork and I hardly got up to eat or take a bathroom break. I was totally sucked in and for three hours I was in gundam heaven. The new Gundams were awesome looking (Heero, Duo and Zechs' mobile suits being the best) but there was something missing.

We still do not get all of the pieces of the puzzle that were missing in Gundam Wing. We have an idea of who these five gundam pilots are, but it's not enough for me. More Gundam, please!!!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The True Ending to the series
shawny11_200128 February 2003
To be honest, the ending of the Gundam Wing series was so anti-climactic that it was horrible. It did not fit with what the entire series had going for it throughout its run. The mecha are beautifully brought back again for one final hurrah. The story is engaging, the characters (though textbook heroes) are still well-written, and that's it. The series ends, and what a way to end it. Top notch.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
a extravagantly beautiful finale to one of the best anime series ever created
darkFagStar12313 July 2004
all i can say about this movie is WOW. the animation had me frozen in awe for the whole movie. i mean, i've never seen such flow, such perfect motion and synchronization! this movie is damn well made. i mean, DAMN WELL. it's my absolute fave anime movie. in fact, it's my absolute fave anime anything. all i could ever wish for is more mecha space action, since it was a little bare in the middle. the characters perform just as they always do, except they get a couple memorable lines and a hell lot more awesome mecha performances. top notch, people, TOP NOTCH! i first saw this film downloaded, and the quality wasn't very good. if you're going to watch Endless Waltz, make sure you do it some honor and watch it on DVD or VHS. it's a lot sexier that way. overall rating, 9.5/10
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Lady Une Fan: For Life
kinnikuman1219529 October 2003
I just love this movie because of one character : Lady Une, former OZ soldier and now the leader of The Preventers. She is the only reason I like the gundam series and all thank to the voice of actress, Enuka Okuma. But I just hope lady une some would remember this character in the future ,so heres to Lady Une:

We will never forget you!
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
GREAT THE GREATEST GUNDAM MOVIE OF ALL TIME
Emphinix5 July 2003
I'm absolutely in love. This movie was the best there ever was, the music was the coolest and the best, and the story was really hot too.

The Gundams are really cool and the Tallgesse III. My favorite Gundam custom was Deathscythe Hell Custom, it was really awesome and really cool like the Heavyarms. Wing Zero Custom I didn't like it very much because of the angel wings, some people said it looked great but it wasn't too great.

The characters are the best, but the saddest thing they've ever done in the ending was to detonate their gundams, Duo still the funniest there is, Heero the silent guy, Trowa the smart guy, Wufei the strongest and Quatre well you know.

But I couldn't believe that Relena slapped someone. That's right Relena 'all violence is wrong' Darlian, had slapped someone because of the cause of peace. Great movie I give this movie a 10/10
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wow!
bouncing_sheep27 September 2000
Wow! This is an excellent movie! Anyone who likes the series, "Gundam Wing", or even any animé, will LOVE this movie! The animation is great, and so is the dubbing. Plus, Lt. Zechs is voiced by BRIAN DRUMMOND! Whoo!
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Another anime finale?!
ericstevenson18 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I have heard a lot about the Gundam franchise but never have I seen a single thing in the series. From what I've seen, it's even more popular than something like "Sailor Moon". You know, I do see a lot of fanfic crossovers with those series. Anyway, this was great because I was so glad to finally be introduced to the characters from a show I heard so much about. This actually takes place after the central conflict in the series, a year later in fact as we get one last battle. It's a film that just gets better as it goes along. One of the best things is how great the moral is. It says that if we want peace, we can't just do nothing but we still don't have to be too aggressive about it.

Somehow these guys manage to win the final battle without killing anyone. Even better, the last scenes feature them destroying the Gundams so they can never be used to hurt anyone ever again. I wasn't expecting the little girl to turn good in the end, but it was still done very well. My favorite character is easily Duo. I just love how he manages to be so optimistic throughout the entire film even though there's so much conflict going on around him. It looks like everyone got what they wanted. I love the scenes at the very end when the conflict's all over and everyone's just living normal lives. The music in this film was absolutely fantastic! It's seriously probably the best I've ever heard in an anime film ever! ***1/2
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Actually not that bad
Max-Maxwell-4225 October 2009
Endless Waltz, a sequel to the successful TV series Gundam Wing, is a fitting conclusion to the After Colony continuity, and manages to make improvements to the series in just about every way. The fights are more interesting, each Gundam has been given a re-design, and the animation/direction is overall more detailed and interesting.

The plot: One year after the end of the TV series, Earth and its space colonies have come to terms, ending a costly war with peace throughout the solar system. Just as the pilots of the near-invincible Gundams have sent them to be destroyed, one space colony secedes from the new world government and declares war. Lines of loyalty are quickly drawn, and the the five pilots are soon fighting each other to resolve this final conflict. Nearly every character from the TV series appears, leading to some surprise revelations.

If you have not seen the original series, good luck, because this movie will fail as a stand-alone title: as a conclusion to the series, it assumes the audience's knowledge of events and relationships from the entire 50-episode series, which is no easy task. However, as a conclusion to the series, it continues to build upon its stronger points, including the philosophy of battle and the complex array of allegiances that are built.

As I watched the dubbed version, I realized that the voice acting is for the most part quite good, but like the TV series, the English writing suffers now and then. Still, the writing here is an improvement, and the conversations had a better flow. My vote for best exchange in the series: "See for yourself just how powerless you are!" "Roger that".

Unfortunately, the movie lacks a good villain, with the young daughter of the series' primary antagonist rarely seeming that dangerous. It was darn hard to tell exactly what was happening at certain points, and the Gundams naturally follow the rule of being indestructible, "except Sometimes". On a smaller note, the movie's 4:3 aspect ratio proved no less bothersome than it had in the 49 previous episodes, I would have preferred some slightly larger width to go along with the boost in animation quality.

An interested observer (but not a "fan") of Gundam Wing, Endless Waltz proved to be a pleasant surprise, so I will take a leap here and say that if you were indeed a fan of Gundam Wing, this movie might just satisfy your desires. As the end to a series with some worthwhile thoughts about war, the movie's thesis that history is an endless waltz of war, peace, and revolution is a lovely bit of food for thought, the kind of thing I watch anime for in the first place.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Just when you thought "Endless Waltz" could not get any better........
xamtaro29 August 2009
Along comes the "special edition" MOVIE version of the 1998 Endless Waltz OVA.(which i reviewed in the "Shin kidô senki Gundam W: Endless Waltz (1998) (V)" IMDb entry.

Before you think that this movie is a waste of time and money that just cobbles the 3 episodes of the endless waltz OVA into one long show, think again. There are an additional 10 minutes of footage that further develop the already intriguing plot and flesh out the Gundam pilots' back-stories in greater detail. This manages to clear up some of the plot holes that remained in the OVA and resulted in a more enjoyable movie experience. Some of the musical cues seemed to be changed or reshuffled, but most of the changes are for the better and matches the scenes well.

Aside from the additional footage, the battle sequences look like they have been touched up and extended. Just when you thought the final battle between the Gundams and the Serpent mobile suits in Brussels could not get any more epic, it just did. I got the DVD of Endless Waltz which had both the OVA and the movie version and i can safely say that the movie version is superior. By being longer, it actually makes it more believable that the Gundam pilots would fall victim to fatigue. You can see how their fighting style changes from the decisively professional strikes in the initial scuffle to an almost desperate, wild flailing once the Gundams have run out of their primary ammunition and are low on energy.

I do not know if the other battle scenes were touched up by the animators or if was a result of a better film master or transfer, but the art and animation in the movie looked sharper, more vibrant and detailed. The fluid character movements and tight combat sequences are pure eye candy surpassing many action scenes in other mecha space anime.

I highly recommend "Gundam Wing Endless Waltz: special edition movie" to any fan of mecha and action anime. It takes all that was good about the TV series and OVA and makes it a lot better. Engaging story, complex but likable characters, thought provoking themes about war, and amazing animation that is years ahead of its time. This movie sets a whole new benchmark in the standard of animation that one would expect from anime movies.

Be sure to get the "special edition" and not the "toonami edition" though.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not bad at all
PathfinderDate19 June 2004
After seeing this movie repeated times, I've concluded that it isn't bad at all. This movie was very exciting. I'm a fan of the TV series, and while the movie not as good as the series, I found that it was still very good. The story told here seemed very unique. It was told beautifully. The voice acting features some of the best names in the industry, including my favorite voice over Mr. Scott McNeil. On a scale of 1-10 1 being the worst and 10 being the best I give this Movie a score of 8. I loved seeing what became of the Gundam Pilots after the main story Arc. Seeing them a year after Mobile Suit Gundam Wing took place was amazing. Great movie!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Brilliant!!
deathdroidmk231 January 2003
This movie really does tie up whats left over from GW and it shows how most of the pilots ended up piloting the gundams. It focuses more on the main characters than the main movie, but that was alright with me. Relena acts less like a Peacecraft but that is because something else is needed at that time. The animation is superb for when it was made, and it should not let down true GW fans..
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent way to end the series
lololwut29 December 2002
This movie is probably the best way to end the magnificent Gundam Wing series. It answered a lot of questions asked about the series. It showed the pilots' pasts. The new Gundams are awesome, especially Tallgeese II. I didn't like Wing Zero Custom because the angel wings was ridiculous!!! Death Scythe Hell was nice too. The animation was much better than the series.

Watch the series first or else you won't have a clue about what's going on in the movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Magnificent. A real masterpiece
silent_shadow1023 August 2002
A real masterpiece of a movie. The action is breath-taking and the spiritual value is great. Endless Waltz takes us into the soul of those whose purpose is to kill. I really cried in the end... Anyone who likes anime should see this movie.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
YAY me likey!!!! Duo is yummy! Heero is sad. Quatre is adorable! Wufei is mad. and Trowa is silent. It's a cool movie, lots of good stuff!
locobambino138629 July 2002
Warning: Spoilers
WARNING!!!!!POSSIBLE SPOILERS!!!!!!! (I'm an idiot, so i don't know if I'd be putting any up.)

I really like the movie, it was cool, but you probably would have had to have seen the series beforehand to understand it. I liked most of the translation because they made sense,(but poor Scott McNiel, he was made to read some really suckie translations for Duo).

I probably would have liked the movie a little better had I bought the uncut version because there is more stuff in that version that I didn't even know existed. They also use more direct translations for the characters too.

I like the mechas in the movie, they're really tricked out and cool. They make a lot of cool noises too (but that can be expected of mecha).

Anyway, I'm hyped up on insomnia at the moment, so all I can say it that I recommend this movie highly (the uncut version). I also recommend the series very highly. It has a good plot line and some surprises in it. (I don't recommend reading the series manga though, it's screwed up, but episode zero is awesome! a must read.)

Deploy the flying boxes!!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gundam, Gundam, GUNDAM!
ladyravensfbi-313 February 2001
I've seen a bit of the series and when I looked it up on the web, I just had to go and buy it! The characters have so much life in them and their personality is all their own! The artistry is beautiful especially on Wing Gundam Zero. Great movie!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This is one of the best anime movies I've EVER seen
DeadOnArrival31 January 2001
Everything about this movie is great.. all the original actors going back to their roles from the TV series. The new look of the Gundams, they never looked so good. Everything is just acted out so damn well. One aspect I liked was it showed more of Heero Yuy's past. Best Gundam series I've seen to date and they should make more of these. With good voice acting, with a very good, no, EXCELLENT story line, excellent musical scores that made me cry. This movie is Anime at its finest and that's just the way it is.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
End of a series. Good way too.
sdf7929 January 2001
A way to end this episodic series is to end all wars with yet another conflict. The movie also shows insights in how the five pilots receive their five gundams: Zero, Deathscythe, Heavyarms, Sandrock, and Altron, where they came from, and what the original purpose of Operation M (TV series) was to be. Anyway the animation is excellent, and brings closure to this series. Good job.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best Gundam anime I've ever seen!
Big D0729 December 2000
I was in AWWW, the whole time I was watching it. After seeing the series then the movie, this is the best Gundam series ever. The music was exquisite, the animation was one of the best I've ever seen. You have to see the 49-episode series before you watch this excellent movie. It will take your breath away.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed