Beavis and Butt-Head (TV Series 1993–2011) Poster

(1993–2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
98 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
I'm a little embarrassed to admit it, but I really like this show!
mercer745 June 1999
Okay, I admit it. I am a closet Beavis & Butthead fan. Well, actually, not all that closeted, but when I tell people I enjoy the show, sometimes they just don't get it. Some of them say, "But it's just stupid! It's just two morons laughing and being crude all the time!"

Well, I thought so too, before I ever watched the show. I had heard of them; I would occasionally see B & B pop up on an MTV awards show and receive lots of laughter and applause - the laughter and applause of recognition. I knew they were popular but I didn't "get it." Then, part of the way through the first episode I watched, I "got it." The reason Beavis & Butthead is so funny is that it does an extremely dead-on accurate job of portraying a very real aspect of teenage males that had been completely overlooked in a lot of previous television.

I can even remember the exact moment I "got it": Beavis and Butthead were watching a video by the Red Hot Chili Peppers and adding their usual commentary, and when the video ended and the name of the band appeared on the screen, Butthead read their name out loud. And when I heard the tone of voice he used, it hit me. It's that sarcastic, detached, "I'm so cool" kind of voice that teenage boys use constantly - even for such a banality as a simple declarative statement about a band's name.

And of course, what makes B & B's sarcastic detached cockiness all the more ironic is that they have extremely passive and uneventful lives: they spend all their time "hanging out" and doing the same stupid stuff, yet they somehow (well, Butthead especially) consider themselves qualified to put on this jaded cynical act. Everything they do is as observers. They see sex and rock music on TV, they think and talk about sex and rock music all the time, and they've never had sex or played rock music. And the irony never hits them. They're somehow this weird combination of innocence and jadedness at the same time, and this, combined with their passive observer nature, makes Beavis and Butthead an extremely dead-on accurate portrayal of adolescent males.

Of course Beavis and Butthead are exaggerations of teenage males, but nevertheless I find them a rather refreshing change from the portrayals of teenagers in shows such as Beverly Hills 90210 and Dawson's Creek, who seem as articulate, poised, and self-confident as a bunch of sophisticated 28-year-olds, and who do not ring true to me at all.
27 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Memorable
Quinoa198419 March 2000
Beavis and Butt-Head will be remembered for a long time. The gross, sick, and always hilarious show was the best show ever on MTV and probably nothing like it will ever come close. Poeple will always remember it's sick skits (B&B trying to grow beards, B&B playing frog baseball, B&B trying to score) it's dialouge at the couch during music videos, and many other things. This show led other shows like South Park into the promised land (ironically, South Park came out at around the same time when B&B were cancelled). This show will always remain as one of the defining shows of the generation X. So, uhuhuhu-hehehe. A++
58 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Understanding 1990s Teens Via Pop-Culture.
tfrizzell19 December 2003
MTV original animation programming about two teens (the titled characters) who go through life obliviously. They care nothing about school or really anything for that matter. They do however constantly show interest in "scoring" (losing their virginity), drinking alcohol, smoking, stealing and an endless list of other possible miscreant activity. Church groups and many adults shunned the show while the majority of those in the huge 15 to 30 age group demographic loved and embraced the program wholeheartedly. A civil war between viewers would then of course start, with the youths of the country winning or did they (the fact that the show pretty much stopped after the theatrical movie makes you wonder if the program didn't go too far with the wrong people)? I personally love the series even today. Creator Mike Judge (who does most all the voices of the insane characters) actually does what his title says: he was creative. The creativity of the series (which ran from 1993-1997 on cable's MTV) is outstanding. Stuff like "Beavis and Butt-Head" is simply to entertain and make its audience feel good about itself (I mean no one could be as moronic as these characters are, could they?). You have to look at the material through a looking-glass to understand the pressures, situations and feelings that many adolescents have in this day and age. Even though the series is not really thought-provoking per se, it still strikes a cord because it pokes fun at sometimes very serious matters. I think this is the reason why some refused to ever embrace the show. If "The Simpsons" knocked on the conventional programming door in 1989, then "Beavis and Butt-Head" definitely tore that door down in 1993. And of course more wonderful animated programming like "King of the Hill" (also by Judge) and "Family Guy" would follow. Is "Beavis and Butt-Head" art? I don't know, but to be honest I have never really cared if it is or not. 5 stars out of 5.
39 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Much better in retrospect.
vertigo_1430 May 2004
The end of Beavis and Butthead was like the end of a cultural era. Grunge and those early 90 fads were dying out, to make way for the crass commercialism and ultra materialism of the youth generations that would follow, essentially helping to wipe out not only what made music culture great, but also what made MTV great. Beavis and Butthead was part of that cool past of part of a totally idiotic, carefree culture.

Beavis and Butthead, for those who too young to know about it, was an animated series created by Mike Judge, of the now popular FOX television series, King of the Hill, which is actually based on one of the characters from Beavis & Butthead (the neighbor Anderson, who was the primitive form of Hank Hill). The brief episodes, usually two packed in a half-hour, followed the mishaps of two ugly braindead teenagers. Their primary pasttimes were raising hell, making dirty jokes, and just laughing. The main characters usually included Buzz Cut, the anal muscular gym teacher; Van Dreesen, the pansy hippy teacher who's plans to get Beavis & Butthead to do something good usually backfired; their ultra-sheltered neighbor, Stuart; and the depressed, Daria (aka "Diarreha") who later developed into a spin-off series called "Daria".

Beavis & Butthead were so stupid and so clueless as to the disasters that usually went on around them, which is why the situations were so funny. You can't really expect to take a show like this seriously. It was just the stupid antics that made it great. Plus, because it was on MTV, it was a vehicle for music videos which were particularly key because they were often rare videos. And Beavis & Butthead did their MST3K-type of commentary as you watched sometimes full videos that acted as an intermission to their short episodes. All around, despite poor drawings, this show is still a classic and even created it's own subculture of marveled stupidity. But, I still enjoyed it.

And in retrospect, it's probably a lot better, considering a lot of the crap that is on television now to entertain teens--especially MTV. Even if you do get to see the reruns, they usually cut out the videos now to make way for extra commercial time (MTV sucks!). But, they did release episodes on tape. I don't know if they've made it to DVD.
35 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Another one of my favorite shows of the early '90's
FrankBooth_DeLarge3 March 2005
During the early '90's, my favorite shows were Ren and Stimpy, Rocko's Modern Life, and the best of them all, Beavis and Butt-head. This show was like South Park, only it matched the culture of the early '90's. Beavis and Butt-head make me laugh so hard that I could have a heart attack. Everything from the way they laugh to the dirty comments that they make from one to another is part of what makes the show so funny.

The best moments of the show were the moments where they would be watching music videos on their television and making comments in the back ground.

There was a wide variety of unique characters in the show, such as their arrogant and overly strict gym teacher who wants to always get them in trouble, their hippie teacher who always tries to teach them about work, their elderly neighbor Tom Anderson who always has his vacations ruined by Beavis and Butt-head, their younger neighbor Stewart who always tries to hang out with them, and a student in their class named Darrea(huh huh, Diarrea). Darrea also had her own spin off show that was released during the year this show was canceled.

I always loved this show, but unfortunately, it started to go down hill when it had to be edited. After an incident where two trailer park kids were playing with matches and burned down their trailer, the show was blamed for causing this incident and had to be edited a lot. The episodes in the last season weren't as great either.

This is a great show, and it is way better than the cartoons that are released today(with the exception of South Park, I love that show). Fortunately, there are DVD's of Beavis and Butt-head from Time Life. If you ever get a chance to see this show, see it and find out what the hype was once all about.
35 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
uh...hey baby
happygoluckyduck2 January 2006
Beavis and Butt-Head is often times misconstrued as a terribly immature, offensive, and vulgar show. While those claims do have reason behind them, often times the people saying these things have not given this show a fair analysis, taking it simply for what it appears to be. But Beavis and Butt-Head goes much deeper than a lot of people give it credit for. On one level it is about two stupid teenagers who have nothing better to do than laugh, and so it serves as a critique to the general apathy of that early 90s generation. But at the same time, Beavis and Butt-Head can be seen as a positive spin on that indifferent generation. Although they wreak havoc and destroy all that is good, Beavis and Butt-Head endure as good people (in some sense) because they are completely confident in themselves, they do not really have bad feelings towards anyone, and even though we might consider their lives to be meager and pathetic, they are really happy with what they have, they do not think less of themselves, and they (in their own ways) try to improve themselves (like trying to pick up chicks). This might be a bit of a stretch, but I almost view them as the 90s version of Lenny and George from "Of Mice and Men." These are just two guys who are trying to figure out life and laughing the whole way through. Is there anything wrong with that? Methinks not. So, watch these fools, and watch them well, you will not regret it.
31 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely freakin' hilarious MTV classic!
Catherine_Grace_Zeh1 February 2006
"BEAVIS AND BUTT-HEAD," in my opinion, is an absolutely freaking hilarious MTV classic! I haven't seen every episode, but I still enjoyed it. It's hard to say which episode was my favorite. It would have to be either the one where Beavis (voice of Mike Judge) knocks the outhouse over while he and Butt-Head (voice of Mike Judge) are waiting to use the bathroom while at a concert or the one where he and Butt-Head think they're psychics. However, I think it was always funny when a mishap occurred. I always laughed at that. It was all the main characters stayed with the show throughout its entire run. Everyone always gave a good performance, the episodes were funny, and the writing was always very strong. In conclusion, I hope it stays on MTV-2 for fans of the show to see for a long time.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Funny and much smarter than meets the eye
Rileeff23 December 2004
I liked Beavis and Butthead when I watched it in 1993-1994. The show was much smarter than was advertised. For one thing, it realized that sex and sexuality is at the base for many more human actions than is generally realized and accepted. The format and execution may have been childish but the concepts and ideas were fairly advanced. In that way, Beavis and Butthead was a much more psychological show than a lot of the other garbage that has floated around in TV history. The fire comments, the animal abuse, etc, is the part of the show that is unfortunate. Without such things, however, there would be no Beavis and Butthead. Still, the show does not attempt to hide that these activities are sick and is a much more honest show in that respect than many others. Beavis and Butthead was a necessary show for tackling topics, no matter how stupid, that are rarely touched upon in society. In that way, it provided (GASP!) a service. The characters around Beavis and Butthead were funnier than Beavis and Butthead themselves, such as Anderson and Buzzcut. For anyone who has ever done or wanted to do anything retarded (haven't we all been there?), Beavis and Butthead is for you. Personally, I've been Beavis and Butthead level stupid at times, myself, and I really enjoyed the show.
40 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Huh, Huh, Huh, This show rules! Huh, Huh, Huh!
dootuss29 January 2002
In a normal point of view Beavis and Butt-Head was one of the most controversial shows that ever aired on T.V. In fact when it premiered, it was the most controversial show on the air. But then again, they made us laugh with their stupidty, and at their idiotic antics! Yes they were sexist, and didn't care for no one but themselves but this show was still funny anyways! I myself a loyal fan of B&B will usually pop in a Videocassete tape of episodes on my VCR and laugh till my sides ache!

This show is cool! Heh, Heh, Heh!
18 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It's funny in a strange way
Smells_Like_Cheese21 January 2004
You'd think that this show would be so stupid, and it is, but you get your laughs out of it. Sometimes, you need that immature side. And you have to just admit when something is funny. I would watch this show with my sister when we were younger, and I just wanted to be like her. It was the grundge era, *shudder*, so, I thought it was cool. And now I watch it on my own, and I still get my kicks. Beavis and Butt-head rocks.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"I am the great cornholio!"
UniqueParticle2 June 2019
Pure classic among my top favorite shows ever! The humor isn't for everyone and best not to take seriously. It's beyond funny in my opinion, MTV's best; even though it mostly has trash on it. I almost never get tired of watching most of the episodes, I love quoting some of the silly lines too. Mike Judge has really done some excellent work, despite the crude humor. Also love the music always have.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beavis and Butthead
Bwilson1233 December 2011
Beavis and Butthead is and will always be the epitome of amazing TV. It's just as funny now as it was before. It's not funnier, it's not less funny, it's just Beavis and Butthead. Beavis and Butthead is the perfect show to watch if you're a stoner, just bored, or want a good laugh in general.

From using frogs as baseballs to trying to score during the apocalypse, Beavis and Butthead never fail to find themselves doing the dumb senseless acts that we all love to see. Will they ever score? We'll just have to continue to watch and see. Hopefully not anytime soon, I would love to see many more years of Beavis and Butthead.

If you're expecting a comedy to be taken seriously and have a major plot line, well you've came to the wrong show, clearly. You should know that just by reading the title. Just sit down, crack open a beer, and enjoy the show.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The best adult cartoon on TV!
d_3434_d26 January 2012
Beavis and Butt-Head is a brilliant TV show, especially for a TV show that is more often than not about "toilet" humor. That is usually not a good indication. Nowadays most movies and TV shows are about sexual promiscuity, perversity, drugs, etc. Beavis and Butt-Head is a show about two teenagers who are obsessed with sex, heavy metal music, etc. On top of that, the title characters are basically highly unintelligent. So how could Beavis and Butt-Head possibly be any good? Surprisingly, the TV show is not just awesome, it's - even more surprisingly - highly clever as well. It's important to give this show a chance before you can notice that it's much more than meets the eye.

The TV show accurately and cleverly portrays how the idiocy of the title characters does not fall short in this world. In the 1990s Beavis and Butt-Head in particular stood out in that regard. Ironically, in the 1990s a number of parents blamed Beavis and Butt-Head for the misbehavior of their children, totally failing to understand the point of the show, which is not for kids but shows what two kids do these days. It's like basing two teenage characters on two general modern teenagers and saying "this is how your kids are" to parents and a number of them respond by saying "no that's who my kids are imitating". The joke is on them but they are oblivious to it and that is the real power of Beavis and Butt-Head. You would almost want to be in their situation because of how the world has become. Being plain stupid is more than enough to "outsmart" people these days - as Beavis and Butt-Head accurately prove time after time. That makes it so easy to "identify" with Beavis and Butt-Head. Yet, at the same time, unlike movies and TV shows in general, Beavis and Butt-Head (the TV show) does not condone violence, drugs or anything like that. It's amazing how a "potty" humor show about two unintelligent teenagers is more intelligent and witty than most "serious" TV shows.

The first few seasons of Beavis and Butt-Head are horribly drawn and quite simplistic. You can skip the first two seasons. From there on the show gets better with every season. Almost the half of every episode consists of Beavis and Butt-Head watching and commenting on music videos.

On November 28, 1997, the last Beavis and Butt-Head episode of season 7 was aired. Beavis and Butt-Head was canceled. It was like MTV was canceled. By that time Beavis and Butt-Head was the only thing worthy to watch on MTV. Music videos in the 1990s began to be all about sex, pimping, drugs, prostitutes, gangsterism, etc. So at the time it was in my opinion a good idea of MTV to start focusing on non-musical content and that's where Beavis and Butt-Head perfectly fit in. It was almost like MTV was making fun of the people who liked the music videos of those days. Absolutely brilliant. When Beavis and Butt-Head was canceled, MTV began to die out. In the next decade MTV ("Music Television") became no longer "MTV" because it was no longer about music. Instead, reality shows like 16 and Pregnant (2009) began to dominate MTV. MTV as it once was was simply gone.

It would take almost 14 years before Beavis and Butt-Head returned in 2011. The 2000s had passed without Beavis and Butt-Head. Music videos still exist but not as they once were. TV in general is as good as dead. Computers and the internet have largely replaced the "need" for TV. Sex, drugs, nudity, etc are now no longer rare on TV. So does Beavis and Butt-Head have a place on TV anymore? Well, not so much when it comes to music videos or sexual content in them. That's for sure. Season 8 nevertheless feels like Beavis and Butt-Head has never been away, even though the music videos have been replaced by the reality shows that are currently being aired on MTV. The title characters have become wittier and the quality of the show appears (so far) to be the same. The world has changed since Beavis and Butt-Head was canceled in the late 1990s. In today's world - with today's MTV, dying TV, internet, etc - Beavis and Butt-Head will most likely never become as popular as they once were. That is not say that Beavis and Butt-Head is or will not be just as good. No other adult-comedic cartoon show has come along in the 14 years of Beavis and Butt-Head's absence that has matched the quality and excellence of Beavis and Butt-Head. Not even South Park (1997).

I would most definitely recommend Beavis and Butt-Head to anyone (who is an adult)! It may not be for everyone (due to the type of comedy of the show) but for everybody else it is a must-see TV show!
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Vulgar, tasteless, displays the lack of identity of a generation... BUT DAMN FUNNY!
insomniac_rod25 December 2009
I still remember when I started watching this show. I was 9 years old. You know, the pre-teen confusion era.

Adjectives such as b***hole, ass muncher, dumbass, etc. were like music for my ears. Such words were irreverent but somehow fit perfect with the vibe of the show.

The humor is black 100% and relies much on vulgarity, zero morality, offensive slurs, but it displays a real side of high school.

The adventures of our favorite duo were always extreme on conduct aspects but I truly enjoyed their point of view towards music videos. That was the backbone of the show. The funny dialogs between B&B were the soul of the show.

I miss irreverent cartoons like these one. It perfectly displays the obscurity in the early 90's humor.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beavis and Butt-Head are the best.
nightbreed_165 December 2011
I really love this show it is really cool. I love every episode of this show. Every time they laugh it is so funny. They never get boring. They are always funny. The segments are always the best and most of the music videos are pretty cool too. I like when Butt-Head says huh huh huh hi baby come to Butt-Head. I also like it when Beavis says boioioioioioioiing when a sex joke happens. I like that they always make fun of all of the characters on the show. They never get old. Most of the episodes have rude humor but it is all fun and games because all it is is a TV show that kicks ass. Beavis and Butt-Head are my favorites of any cartoon shows. All of this in the most simplest words they are the best.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The best cartoon ever
Matt_Penis20081 February 2005
Beavis and Butt-head is my favorite cartoon ever. Some episodes are good, and some are just absolute classics. I am really glad there showing reruns on MTV2 cuz before that I hadn't seen it in years. The reason B&B are so funny is because of how stupid they are. The supporting characters are also hilarious, especially Mr. Buzzcut. Every episode he's in is funny and so is everything he does, whether its screaming at Beavis and Butt-head or kicking someone's ass. The episode "Beard Boys" is enough to show anyone how great this show is. Beavis and Butt-head think beards will help them get girls so they cut the hair on their heads and glue it to their faces and then go to the mall and try to get girls; just looking at how stupid they look with hair and glue all over their faces is about as funny as it gets; I couldn't stop cracking up when I first saw it. B&B is a classic of the 90's and will be remembered for years to come.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wore A Bit Thin After Awhile But The Early Episodes Were Entertaining
Big Movie Fan12 December 2002
Beavis and Butt-Head definitely provided me with some entertainment when I first watched them nine years ago. The two ugly looking youngsters sat at their TV set most of the time(and amazingly never got fat)listening to music and watching porn. They made the odd observation and continually damaged their throats with that awful laughing.

Yes, Beavis and Butt-Head was entertaining in small doses but it ran longer than it should have. Shows like this can remain good as long as they do not outstay their welcome. Beavis and Butt-Head did and the later episodes were quite hard to watch.

However, I would certainly recommend this show for it's earlier episodes and the one thing that certainly did please me was the show's attacks on political correctness. As someone who detests political correctness, this show was perfect at the time.

Check it out but don't copy them-unless you want to lose your voice within a few years.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Beavis and Butt-head makes you think!
Mr. Good9 February 1999
Beavis and Butt-head was the most controversial cartoon when it came out. The vulgarity, the language, the lack of taste. However, it was always smart. A lot of the humor was very clever, even though it was in a context which did not agree with some viewers. Since the release of this show, cartoons have gotten worse and worse, each trying to "outgross" the other in a child's competition, culminating in the pointless and unneccesarily absurd "Southpark". Beavis and Butthead makes you think, at least! A show which did not influence society as much as it was a... reflection of society, Beavis and Butthead offers slapstick humor and so much more.
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Heh heh
sugar_daddyo2 December 2006
I still remember when Frog Baseball first aired on MTV. In some sort of odd, surreal manner, the cartoon captured the stupid actions that I think every boy growing up in America engages in. I cringe now thinking about how I burned a crippled grasshopper using a magnifying glass, but it was interesting at the time for some reason. Growing up in the 1980s we all knew "stoners." These were the kids who wore Iron Maiden t-shirts to school, grew their hair long, had immature moustaches and were at least two inches taller than everyone else because they had flunked a grade or two. We laughed at them because they were so stupid even when not stoned. So it was easy to understand Beavis & Co because we already knew them, some of us were even them. To the extent that GenXers like myself would spurn the excess of the 1980s and embrace the grunge movement of the 1990s, Beavis & Co were sort of a strange post-modern anthem for us. Strange because like Beavis & Co we didn't care if we had an anthem. It was just an inside joke that we all immediately got even if it was awful.
7 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
''Cool!''
RaspberryLucozade28 September 2015
Warning: Spoilers
'Beavis & Butt-head' struck a chord with me for one reason and one reason only. It is because everyone knows a Beavis and a Butt-head in reality - you went to school with them, you worked with them, you may even be related to them. It was the creation of Mike Judge ( who also voiced the characters ) and was broadcast by MTV in 1993.

Beavis and Butt-head are two delinquent teenagers from Texas who when not fantasising about sex or slacking off from school or work ( they both have a part time job at a burger joint ) are to be found revelling in their love for rock music. Metallica fan Beavis has a voice so high pitched it could pierce ear drums while AC-DC lover Butt-head ( who also sports an oral brace ) looks and sounds as though he's been doped to the eyeballs.

Intersperesed with their sketches were popular music videos of the day in which Beavis and Butt-head would narrate their opinions on the song while it played. Truth to tell, I did not really care much for the music videos. I tuned in entirely for the sketches themselves. In 1996, 'Beavis & Butt-head' made the jump to the cinema screen for their hilarious feature film - 'Beavis & Butt-head Do America'.

Yes, it was stupid and yes, it was crass and disgusting but it wasn't half funny. Basically, it was an animated version of 'Bottom', only with teenagers instead of middle-aged men. 'The Simpsons' may well be the best American comedy of all time, but 'Beavis & Butt-head' in my opinion runs a close second.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
the funniest animated show ever!!!!!!!!!!!
anoline-bailey18 August 2005
in the 90's I remember laughing like hell at beavis and butt-head, and also the movie they made.

they always made me laugh with their frantic chuckling, grotesque sense of humour which I love, but for a while when the series ended, they both vanished from mtv, and I thought they were completely forgotten.

but in 2004 they both returned to mtv2(uk), and all was better, now b&b both have a regular week day slot, although sometimes mtv2 changes their minds and the show is on-off somedays, but it's still here and it's making people laugh.

and it also has very cool music.

long live beavis and butt-head.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Beavis and Butt-head do Society
dudeman568523 September 2004
In 2004 an English professor told a college sophomore to free write for 30 minutes. This is the result.

Beavis and Butt-head are cool. They spoke for the inner frustrations of a generation. Beavis was the son of a flower child and a soldier on 2 month 30 day leave from Vietnam. Butt-head was the illegitimate son of Gov. Bill Clinton. They met in March 1992 at a conference on nuclear power in Berkeley, CA. At the time Beavis was an engineering major and Butt-head was in his first year of pre-med. Both were involved in the anti-war movement. Although the war had ended almost 20 years beforehand, activists were still protesting that we had ever gone. Then a stroke of genius hit Butt-head -- the two would start a TV show in which two people sat on a couch and and commented on whatever the world showed them. He meant for the show to be a biting indictment of post-industrial capitalist society. Beavis agreed, and suggested they use music videos as the main conduit of critical observation of the oppression that middle class white males in a first world country had to endure. The show was an incredible success. It showed millions around the world the alienation that the system produces in todays youth. As Beavis and Butt-head sat watching cable television in a house were you never saw any parents, or any one pay any bills, you could literally smell the anger that these yuth felt. As they constantly ate tacos and nachos, and were on a never ending quest for sluts and beer, you could see the solidarity that these people felt for women and oppressed minorities in the United States. And in their never realized dream of joining the cool gang, we see the alienation that capitalism produces between man and man. By 1997 their work was done; they had revealed their radical message for millions around the world, and the world would never be the same.

Not bad for something off the top of my head, eh?
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I WANT THEM BACK!!!! :(
Pat-887 August 1999
I love this show. Too bad, they're not on the air anymore because no one didn't liked it. Why didn't they take South Park off the air too? This wasn't as bad as South Park was. This one got a little bit of cussing.

Mike Judge, please being it back. This is a really great show unlike King of the hill. This one got a MST3K style to it, Beavis and Butthead put-down music videos instead of B-movies. Sometimes they watch music videos, they like.

I really don't know what the big deal about the fire thing. Its just a 5-year-old committed that crime. And this isn't a show for anyone under 13 anyway. It's a teen show for chrissakes.

I give this show, ****
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Beavis and Butt-Head are geniuses, everyone else is stupid
Bandithaze2 July 1999
Beavis and Butt-Head is by far the most intelligent comedy ever made but since most people did not get it it was branded off as just stupid. Well in reality they are morons but they are so idiotic that they them selves become master minds without realising it for example in Beavis and Butt-Head do America they are looking for a TV station in a power plant and and end up turning the electricity off for half of the US thus making it harder for the FBI to find them, not that they new the FBI was after them in the first place. BnB have presented simple solutions for major problems for example Beavis once suggested that people in the third world should just get credit cards and then they would not be poor. In real life this would not actually work because people in the first world would only help the needy as long as it means they themselves would not become the needy. That is to say if first world citizens REALLY wanted to help there would not be any charities. Mike Judge looked at society as it is and told the world what is wrong with it unfortunately society did not want to listen.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Mayn't be to everyone's tastes but it is a very funny and witty show
TheLittleSongbird23 November 2010
I have to say I love Beavis and Butt Head. I do agree it is not for everyone, the humour in the show is quite crude and vulgar. But it is also very, very funny. But it is funny not only in the writing which is outstanding, but in the character interplay which is very inspired and somewhat cynical as well.

I also love the animation. It is very different and unique, but I like that. The backgrounds are fine, the characters look well drawn and the colours are nice. The music is also memorable, and the characters while cynical perhaps have a lot of likability. And of course the voice acting is top notch from all involved.

In conclusion, a very funny show. It is not for everyone, as has been said already, but if given the chance, you might like it. 10/10 Bethany Cox
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed