The Land That Time Forgot (1974) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
68 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Very Enjoyable Despite The Flaws
Theo Robertson29 December 2005
When I was a young boy of eight years old I saw this at my my local cinema . In those days it cost 15 pence ( A fair amount of money for an eight year old child ) to get in . I actually saw it two or three times which eat up my pocket money bit I certainly thought it was money well spent since in those days I enjoyed war films and monster films . Yesterday morning Channel 4 broadcast it at 6 am which seems a ridiculous time to broadcast anything never mind a fondly remembered fantasy adventure movie but I looked forward to seeing it again if only to see how well it stands up as entertainment today . Would my cherished memories be hurt ? Do I have nice memories about THE LAND THAT TIME FORGOT simply down to nostalgia ?

To be honest I think the answer is a resounding no . Right from the opening title sequence where Douglas Gamley's score sums up the downbeat feature of the story we the audience are treated to a fantasy adventure that is a little bit different . You could point out the first half of the movie is somewhat repetitive as the Germans and Brits get one over on one another but in amongst all this is some serious debate on wartime morality , allied civilian ships carrying weapons of war for example which shows no one has a monopoly on self righteousness when the battle lines are drawn and the theories of Nietzsche are also touched upon . What'd you mean this is a childish film ?

No doubt the people who watched this at the cinema on its release where more interested in prehistoric monsters than 19th century philosophy and it's not till half way through that the U-boat reaches the ancient island of Caprona which is inhabited by rubber dinosaurs and troglodytes . Yeah okay the monsters especially the pterodactyls are not very convincing but I've seen worse . It's also interesting to that this part of the movie replaces Nietzsche with Darwinisnm and I don't know if it's deliberate but this concept fits in perfectly well with the sequel THE PEOPLE THAT TIME FORGOT . How many times have you seen a sequel that almost contradicts the original movie ? This makes THE LAND THAT TIME FORGOT something of a stand out movie alongside the very pessimistic final act

I fail to see how anyone can actively dislike this movie . I agree that the special effects are far from brilliant but look beyond the FX and you'll see a very intelligent piece of fantasy adventure . The very fact that it has a sense of wonder and a truly haunting ending sets it apart from many other movies of its ilk like WARLORDS OF ATLANTIS and AT THE EARTHS CORE and nostalgia or not I certainly enjoyed seeing it again
50 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Jurassic Lark
Bishop-1126 July 2000
Fun dinosaur movie with a solid British cast headed by suitably lantern-jawed Doug McClure.

Respected SF author Michael Moorcock adds a dash of intelligence to what might have been just another Sunday matinee pot-boiler, and the downbeat ending (slightly different to the book) is a change from the norm. The decision to turn the U-Boat captain from the stereotypical dastardly Hun in the original book to a philosophical man of science is also a good one.

The submarine is suitably claustrophobic and the jungle suitably clammy, just a shame that some of the dinosaurs couldn't have looked a little more than just as if they'd been borrowed from episode of "Doctor Who". Fans of which should be suitably impressed by future 'Master' Anthony Ainley's nasty performance as the treacherous German first officer Dietz.

"Auf weidersehn, Mr Tyler!"
31 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Sense of wonder is at home in Caprona
unbrokenmetal1 February 2003
I saw this movie as a kid in the late 70s at the cinema and loved those dinosaurs. I have now watched the restored version (91 min. instead of 78 min.) on DVD and still love those dinosaurs. There are few movies that I still enjoy as much as I did a quarter of a century ago, so this obviously must have something `classic' about it, though it's hard to put the finger on it. Maybe it's just the naïve charm that was lost when computer FX spoiled fun to a certain degree in Jurassic Park and later on. No actor is a candidate for the Academy Award here, the monsters look about as deadly as your daughter's puppets, but nonetheless – more sense of wonder in the forgotten land of Caprona than anywhere else.
39 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A film we have forgot?
Bifrostedflake7 May 2007
I first saw this film when I was a child, it had always stuck out in my mind and I was lucky enough to see it again recently.

Although the effects are not spectacular, they aren't terrible. In fact they are pretty good considering the era.

The characters are well written and likable, the dialogue is not over-complicated with technical terms but remains clever and enjoyable to follow.

A real empathy is established for the characters who find themselves in a seemingly fantastic but dangerous situation.

All in all I find the film enjoyable for anyone to watch and recommend it highly.
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Hang on. This is better than today's dinosaur films.
G.Spider18 June 1999
The survivors of a doomed World War 1 ship manage to board and take over the German submarine which sunk them. After a lot of disputing, the sub becomes lost and before long the enigmatic island of Caprona is sighted. Due to desperately low supplies the two crews, who call an uneasy truce, are forced to land the sub and find themselves in a world where prehistoric animals still live.

This is a well-made and highly entertaining film. Doug McClure makes a good hero and the other characters are also interesting and believable, the story is well-paced and the music is suitably atmospheric. The special effects are not always as good as they might be (the giant pterodactyl and the plesiosaur that gets shot at look decidedly fake). But the film is a classic and I certainly found it a lot more memorable and enjoyable than any of the recent dinosaur films.
34 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun monster film.
poolandrews11 March 2006
Warning: Spoilers
The Land that Time Forgot starts during World War 1 on June 3rd 1916 when a German U-Boat sinks a British passenger ship, a small group of survivors from the ship headed up by Bowen Tyler (Doug McClure, who was apparently a replacement for Stuart Whitman) & Captain Bradley (Keith Barron) storm the U-Boat when it surfaces & manage to capture it. The radio is damaged beyond repair & the compass has been sabotaged so they effectively travel blind, the British & Germans strike an uneasy truce & decide to work together. However they are running low on fresh water, food & fuel so when they reach the mythical land of Caprona they must stop to try & find supplies. Unfortunately for them it appears time has stood still on Caprona & they are confronted by various man-eating dinosaurs & primitive tribes of cavemen. Can they find a suitable fuel source for the boat? Will they survive attacks from the local wildlife & indigenous population? Can the Germans behave themselves for once & keep their word? Watch it to find out...

This British American co-production was directed by Kevin Connor & was the first of four 'lost world' type films made by Connor, the direct sequel to this The People that Time Forgot (1977) plus the two similar themed films At the Earth's Core (1976) & Warlords of Atlantis (1978). I must admit I like them all with Warlords of Atlantis probably being my overall favourite. The script by James Cawthorn & Michael Moorcrock is based on the novel of the same name by Edgar Rice Burroughs & certainly moves along at a fair pace, it's never boring or dull, it's entertaining & good fun if you like these type's of films. It starts out like a war film & it takes a good 30 odd minutes before it gets to Caprona, having said that the scenes on the boat are pretty good, tense & well done. It is a bit on the predictable side although the ending surprised me a bit as it's not a particularly happy one. The Land that Time Forgot is good, clean, fun monster filled entertainment, what more do you want?

Director Connor does a good job & the film has a nice feel to it, I don't think he knew how to shoot special effect scenes though. The monsters look pretty bad especially if they have to interact with an actor, just check the Pterodactyl out as it just glides through the air like a paper plane & doesn't flap it's wings once! Having said that I thought they looked alright for the most part & the filmmakers probably did the best they could on a low budget, at least they tried & you can't blame them for that.

Techncially the film is very good, some of the dodgy special effects excluded. The Spanish Canary Islands locations look nice, the cinematography is good, the production design is OK & as a whole it's generally well made. The acting is alright, Susan Penhaligon is the obligatory female love interest & she's cute enough I suppose.

The Land that Time Forgot is a good solid monster film that I think makes for great undemanding entertainment & that's what films are all about right? If you like the other similar films by Connor then you'll definitely like this but if you didn't then I'd stay away & watch something else instead.
13 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Unbelievable discovery! Unbelievable adventure!
michaelRokeefe4 November 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Based on a 1918 novel by Edgar Rice Burroughs. After a German U-Boat sinks a British ship during WWI, a diverse group of survivors make the discovery of a lifetime. A traveled war veteran, a beautiful scientist and a German commander are the core of a group stranded on an uncharted island in the South Sea that has escaped the hands of time and is inhabited by prehistoric creatures and caveman-like civilization. One of the more interesting dinosaur movies. Very good visuals and special effects.

A very watchable ensemble cast that includes: Doug McClure, Susan Penhaligon, John McEnery, Godfrey James, Bobby Parr and Anthony Ainley. Well worth repeat viewings.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
great B-Movie
mulveymeister21 February 2009
This has everything for a budding boy to enjoy. There's monsters, the struggle against evil, a submarine and the stunningly beautiful Susan Penhaligon. I was lucky enough to see this when it came out and it enthralled me. I still watch it on television when I can, with fond memories. It is not aging well. CFXs have left it looking quite poor in places. However, for a B-Movie it is very well done. The acting, storyline, direction and editing are all well controlled. I agree that a remake may be justified, as long as the inherent innocence of it all is not lost.

It is good family fun which will keep boys glued for an afternoon. And Susan is as beautiful as ever :-)
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Adventure yarn with some spectacular scenarios and pretty fierce monsters
ma-cortes10 July 2010
Fantastic and amusing adventures full of monsters in lost continent by Kevin Connor and based on a novel by Edgar Rice Burroughs . At the beginning of the film , during World War I , a German submarine sinks a Brit boat and takes the survivors on board. The submarine takes them to the unknown land of Antartica called Caprona . At the sub are reunited the U-boat German captain (John McEnery) piloting his ship along with Owen Tyler (Doug McClure) and Lisa (Susan Penhaligon) , among others . The group takes a wrong turn and descend over a barren land and meet some primitive men , Neardentals and prehistoric animals . They have to deal with numerous risks, dangers, endure torrential landslide, shakesands, volcano, cavemen warriors, dinosaurs and discover a lost tribe .

This engaging adaptation is a special version of the Edgar Rice Burroughs adventure yarn . There are rip-roaring action, spirit of adventure, derring-do, thrills, and results to be quite entertaining. It's a brief fun with average special effects , passable set decoration , functional art direction and none use of computer generator. This fantasy picture packs thrills, action, weird monsters, lively pace and fantastic scenarios . The monsters are the real stars of this production and its chief attribute. The tale is silly and laughable but the effects and action are quite well. Among the most spectacular of its visuals there are a Pterodactilus roaring menacingly towards the camera, a little tableau comprising attack of a giant monsters and the colorful backgrounds of the lost land . Some monsters are clumsily made but movie is OK . Highlights of the adventure includes a roller-coaster trip towards unknown land in South America , and appearance of prehistoric reptile such as Pterodactilus, Stegosaurius, and Tiranosaurious . In addition the final scenes where appears breathtaking volcanic eruptions and thunderous explosions . Some illogical parts in the argument are more than compensated for the excitement provided by Roger Dicken's monsters, though sometimes are a little bit cheesy. Filmed in glimmer cinematography by Alan Hume on location in Santa Cruz De La Palma , Tenerife(Canary Islands) and Shepperton studios , Surrey England . Adequate and stirring musical score by Douglas Gamley. This one turns out to be an acceptable collaboration between producers Milton Subotsky , Max Rosemberg and director Kevin Connor who also made in similar style : ¨All the Earth's core(76)¨, ¨Warlord of Atlantis(1978)¨, mostly starred by Doug McClure and with Dicken as the monster-maker. It's followed by ¨People that time forgot¨ in which an expedition undergoing a trip in search for Tyler (Doug McClure) who has been missing in that region for many years . The film will appeal to kids who swallow whole and sit convulsed in their armchair.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
One of my all time favorites.
magellan3339 January 2001
I love this movie! It proves that it is not special effects that carry a movie, but a good believable story. That is proved because most of the effects used in the film are not good. However the acting is and so is the story! None of the characters appear "cartoonish" with maybe the exception of the pre historic man. But heck, we don't know what pre historic men were like so it doesn't hamper the story. Doug McClure is a very solid lead with the submarine captain in a superb supporting role. The other German officer makes a great villain. This is one of my favorites of all time! Even it's sequel, "The People Time Forgot" wasn't bad. **** out of 5.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Still a respectable B-budget adventure
cutter-122 August 2006
I loved this movie as a kid. Can't recall how many times I watched it on the late show in my early teens, but it was more than a few. I hadn't seen it since about 1982 and was pleased TCM ran it recently, so I recorded it and watched it last night.

The scenes came back to me by rote though I definitely needed the refresher after all these years. Seeing it now at 40, it of course has become a little more quaint in the wake of the Jurassic Park series, but it still held my interest as it WAS a very good effort in 1975 with limited resources at bringing to the screen an intelligent Sci/fi adventure with old fashioned heroics reminiscent of King Kong etc.

The script, though certainly not as good as it could have been, stays true to itself, and even though the SFX at times look primitive (they still kick the snot out of the FX in Logan's Run}, the story is poorly paced after the U-Boat reaches Caprona, and the Neanderthals and the obligatory volcanic eruption are more than forced, the film never becomes kitschy or laughable, or outright uninteresting like dozens of other films like this made on the cheap. My only wish is it would have been a bit longer and included more thoughtful dialogue about nature and evolution and survival to give the story and characters more depth. And Ray Harryhausen could have done much more with the dinosaurs in the technical department.

As far as leading men go, Doug McClure is good in this and will always get my sympathy as that likable, two fisted action star who had the misfortune of looking too much like Lee Marvin and sounding too much like Glenn Ford to ever get the kind of roles he deserved in bigger pictures. He was good in these Kevin Connor adventure flicks in the 70's, and is eternally one of my favorite actors as a result.

Lots of details about the U-Boat and what not are probably inaccurate, and the story itself is more than too similar to Verne's Mysterious Island with shades of 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, but overall, while I wouldn't call it great or even good, it is definitely worth a look and still a nifty little piece of entertainment for the budget it had. Surprising a remake hasn't appeared in this age of CGI. Could be a dandy. Are you listening, Peter Jackson?
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Unforgettable Adventure
claudio_carvalho25 September 2015
In 1916, during the World War II, a British passenger ship is torpedoed by the German U-boat commanded by Captain Von Schoenvorts (John McEnery) and sinks. The survivors Bowen Tyler (Doug McClure) and Lisa Clayton (Susan Penhaligon) join a few crew members that has also survived and Bowen convinces them to take over the submarine that has come to the surface. They sail together but they end lost in the middle of the ocean. After many incidents between Germans and British, the two groups team-up to survive and arrive in Caprona, a land that is not charted in the maps. Soon they realize that the land has dinosaurs, pterodactyls and Neanderthals. They capture a native, Ahm (Bobby Parr), and they learn that there is oil on the land. They see the chance to refine it and leave Caprona. Will they succeed in their intent?

"The Land That Time Forgot" is an unforgettable adventure based on Edgar Rice Burroughs' novel with the same title. The plot is delightfully naive and is funny to see how we could buy a story of a land forgotten by time forty years ago. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): "A Terra Que o Tempo Esqueceu" ("The Land That Time Forgot")
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Puppets and Submarines and Doug McClure
retrorocketx24 November 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Edgar Rice Burroughs surely had an amazing imagination. He is best remembered for authoring Tarzan, Barsoom, and Pellucidar. The Land that Time Forgot is one of his lesser known works. Like most of his stories, this one has some really bizarre notions about science. This story features a lost land where evolution actually runs...uh...backwards. Our brave explorers are a small group of British seamen and a German U-boat crew, thrown together on the U-boat by highly improbable fortunes of war. Both factions vie for control of the U-boat (!), which causes the boat to become hopelessly lost, and the divided crew unintentionally discovers the lost world. How does this group handle entering a primeval world? They decide to temporarily set aside their WWI differences and work together to escape the lost land.

There are plenty of interesting characters in this movie. Doug McClure does a great job as a brawling, likable hero. There is a cute and intelligent scientist type woman as his girlfriend. She manages to keep all (that's right, all) of her clothes on throughout the movie, which is both a remarkable and regrettable feat for this genre. The captain turns out to be a better scientist than a submariner, and the first mate acts like wartime allegiances are still important. The main dynamics between the characters are who is in charge, the Germans or Doug McClure? Both sides are looking to turn the tables at the earliest opportunity, and this provides a nice bit of ongoing tension in the movie.

It is hard to comment on the 'science' of backward evolution in this lost land of Caprona. At least it provides a rationale for the abundant mix of dinosaurs and cave men. Now, about those dinosaurs. They are cheesy puppets! 'Cmon people. It's 1975. What about stop motion? If only. However, as poor as some of the dinosaurs look, they do make interesting appearances, sometimes including direct attacks on the crew. Everything else, the lost world of Caprona, the U-boat, the costumes are all very well done and look great.

What really makes this movie work is that the pace and action of the story do not disappoint, and the plot never stagnates. The characters are compelling and have competing interests. The plot builds to several crises occurring at once, including a discovery that the crew theoretically might not be able to leave the evolutionary pull of Caprona, that the U-boat has the fuel needed to escape, then a volcano erupts, and an armed play for control of the boat occurs. The final scene is a wonderful blend of intensity and pathos as the U-boat heads to sea with flames and destruction all around. It is a spectacular finish, and it wraps the movie up perfectly.

This is a well written, well acted 'Lost World' type movie. I love it.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Weird, Surreal Potboiler
smittie-123 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
I have fond memories of this movie from a VHS copy recorded off the TV, so I was very happy to see it out on MGM's Midnite Movies DVD series. Doug McClure is a reliable everyman, and I like him in this sort of stuff. It helps that he's backed up by dependable character actors who were actually cast to FIT THE PARTS, and yes, I think the acting in this film is good, right down to silly old Ahm... too bad about his pointless death scene, though. Really, the two best supporting characters are Dietz and the Captain... Schoernhortz or Schornverts or something suitably Teutonic. Indeed, after all the dinosaurs and cave men and FX trickery, the movie's two high points are:

1) Dietz on the U-boat shouting ashore "Goodbye Mister Tyler, Goodbye!" and "Auf wittersane(spell.?)" although in his accent it comes out "Gudbye Mistah Tylah, Gudbyeeeah!" and "A-veeterzane!".

2) Schoernhortz, semi-conscious in his quarters, crying out "Leavfing? Ve are Leavfing!?" as the U-boat chugs towards freedom... but it was not to be.

These two moments alone are worth price of admission, but there's plenty more where that came from.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
fun, entertaining dinosaur/caveman movie based on a novel by Edgar Rice Borroughs
TheUnknown837-13 August 2005
This is one of my favorite old-time dinosaur movies based on a book that I kind of liked. Doug McClure leads the cast in this motion picture and he did his usual fine job. What a lot of people complain about this movie are the dinosaurs, which are some of the fakest you can find in a 70s dinosaur flick. And I have to admit, they are correct. Heck, the pterosaurs can't even flap their wings and only one of them (the one that snatches up Ahm) even moves its jaw. The Allosaurs are also pretty fake in some scenes, but more convincing in others. One of my favorite parts of the movie is where the men that came onboard the U-boat are firing at the two Allosaurs. And also, the brief, yet bloody battle between a Ceratosaur and a Triceratops is very fun to watch. Also, the scenes with the cavemen are convincing and entertaining as well as long as you don't mind seeing people either get shot or stabbed with axes and blades. What's more, the music score for this movie is entertaining and moves along greatly with what's happening on screen. When the second Allosaur has been fatally shot, it roars a strange elephant-like kind of howl of pain and falls back while a powerful score of music plays. Overall, The Land that Time Forgot is a pretty entertaining 70s movie that I watch quite frequently.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Weird ending
jrichards2-123 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
In a lot of ways, the plot of this film is extremely clichéd. (SPOILER!) A bunch of people discover some weird, isolated place where evolution hasn't gone the same way as it has everywhere else. We encounter all the usual tropical undergrowth, toothy dinosaurs and fierce tribes, not to mention an explosive volcano into the bargain.sometimes is. The mystery element becomes almost compelling at one point, although the revelation is confusingly disappointing; there are also some intriguing two-dimensional characters, particularly the German Captain.

The ending really took me by surprise. I was expecting the conventional miraculous escape; I was astounded when the submarine sunk and everyone died. The last shots of the hero and heroine struggling over the mountains, with no hope of ever escaping the island, were actually kind of moving. Mm. Maybe I'm getting soft in my old age.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The Lost World Of Caprona
bkoganbing27 October 2009
For those of us today who think of Edgar Rice Burroughs exclusively with the Tarzan books and the cottage industry from the film community that those books spawned, Mr. Burroughs did write all kinds of other stories of adventure, even venturing into the world of science fiction. The Land That Time Forgot was taken from one of his stories about a very mixed group of people who discover a lost world. A world inside the hollow of the earth populated with species of animal and man from each stage of evolution.

That theory was postulated by any number of folks, most eloquently during the first half of the 19th century by John Cleve Symmes whose cousin Anna Symmes married one of our presidents William Henry Harrison. Burroughs had quite a history to draw from in creating his lost world of Caprona and the strange collection of people who find it.

Doug McClure is an American taking passage on a British vessel that was carrying arms making it a target for U-Boat commander John McEnery. The boat is sunk by the U-Boat, but the survivors manage to board the U-Boat and take it over. Those things in World War I were quite small and so were the crews. Through a complicated series of events this U-Boat finds itself near the South Pole and sailing into a frozen harbor, they come out the other end on a lush green world and are attacked by an ancient sea going Plesiosaurus. That's the beginning of the adventure with our intrepid mixed crew meeting all kinds of ancient natural wonders.

There's one woman on board, Australian actress Susan Penhaligon and you would have thought with her the only female, a lot more of the stranded sailors would start having thoughts. Her thoughts are only however for Doug McClure.

By comparison to today, the special effects aren't really up to snuff. Then again DeMille films which were the last word in special effects in their day are also considered old hat. The Land That Time Forgot is an old fashioned adventure story, the kind that would get revived very shortly by the Indiana Jones films. This film is not as good as any of the Indiana Jones stuff, but still a nice afternoon's viewing.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Wonderfully Nostalgic
NerdBat23 April 2018
What a movie. I love the dinosaur models that were used, they give you that old sense of dinosaurs being completely mindless brutes and eating machines, even when they're a herbivorous species. It's hilarious. The plot and ending will make you so mad, but also hopeful for the future of those who survived the ordeal. I've read the book too, and Edgar Rice Burroughs has really outdone himself. Definitely a must see for those who love classic science fiction.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
They are the last dinosaurs on this planet… Let's kill them!
Coventry29 August 2017
Although based on a novel courtesy of "Tarzan" creator Edgar Rice Burroughs, there are plenty of echoes of Jules Verne's "20,000 Leagues under the Sea" in this fantasy/adventure story. And since yours truly is a giant admirer of Verne's masterful oeuvre, as well as of imaginative and grotesque kitsch-tales, I tremendously enjoyed this typically 70s pastiche produced by the Amicus Studios (on quite a large budget for a change). The eventful and non-stop flamboyant screenplay is divided into two main chapters. At first, there's the slightly more realistic battle between the crew of a German U-boat and the handful of surviving British Navy soldiers they shipwrecked. There's also a neutral adventurer on board, Bowen Tyler, and he seems to more about submarines and attacking strategies than all the other military men combined. Eventually, the U-boat drifts off so far south that they end up between icebergs and unmapped territory without fuel or supplies. When they navigate into a narrow cave, they come out the other side in a subtropical world inhabited by all known species of dinosaurs that have been extinct for millions of years. The Germans and the Brits agree to a truce now, as they'll have to fight for survival together. There clearly aren't any scientists on board of this journey, because they torpedo various kinds of dinosaurs without too much remorse, and things even get more complicated when they discover there are savage tribes living on the island in various phases of evolution. There are a lot of appropriate terms to describe "The Land that Time Forgot", like silly or far-fetched or implausible, but boring certainly isn't one of them. The script is chock-full of twists and sub-plots, but it's always compelling. There are a handful of moments that deliver good suspense and there's also a surprisingly large amount of bloody carnage, including people getting devoured by giant creatures or killed off by the tribes' primitive weapons. The special effects and especially the creatures are professionally crafted, a lot better than during the previous wave of dinosaurs movies that included for instance "The Valley of Gwangi" and "When Dinosaurs ruled the Earth". The climax is terrific and far more nihilistic and harsh than I expected it to be. Good acting performances are an asset as well. Even though Doug McClure is the only reasonably famous name in the cast, there are several other adequate actors involved, notably John McEnery as the unreliable German sea captain and Anthony Ainley as the vicious Major Dietz.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Underrated, but awesome
ultramatt2000-18 July 2017
As you know, I love dinosaurs. I love the trope of creatures from lost worlds and mankind running into their lands. I saw a clip of it on a commercial when I was watching the live-action 70's SPIDERMAN show that starred Nicholas Hammond. The dinosaurs looked believable. A few years later, when I saw it, I was stricken with awe and wonder by the special effects. The dinosaurs looked real, but what I knew that they were puppets. What I didn't know that how the puppets worked. They looked realistic, but they moved in a stiff manner. If this can only be updated then there would be fluid movements. Originally they wanted to use Jim Danforth and his stop-motion skills, but they said it was too expensive and time-consuming. Special effects aside, they story is great and has that Edgar Rice Burroughs adventure-like feel to it. It is incredible and I will never forget the caveman Bo-lu! I keep quoting him until this day. When this movie came out, The New York Times recommended this movie in case JAWS was too scary. If you enjoy DUCKTALES (I know, a reboot is coming out in 2017), then you will enjoy this movie. Bottom line: A must for the dinosaur/monster movie/special effects fan. Even though it got out-shined by JAWS. Rated PG for violence, gore, peril, and some scary scenes.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Boatloads (or submarine-loads) of fun!
grendelkhan23 October 2006
Warning: Spoilers
I've loved this film since I first saw it on late night TV, many years ago. It's a fine B-movie adventure, full of imagination and adventure. The effects are a bit cheesy, but that's what makes it a B-movie; well, that and the quality of acting.

The film adapts the Edgar Rice Burroughs novel of the same name. This more than any other of Burroughs' novels owed a great debt to Conan Doyle's "The Lost World." Instead of Prof. Challenger, we have Bowen Tyler, survivor of a U-boat attack, who leads a daring take-over of their attacker's sub. After a bit of back and forth, the German crew and their American and British adversaries find themselves lost at sea. They eventually come across the legendary land of Caprona. Here, they discover a hidden world of dinosaurs, early hominoids, and unstable volcanoes.

Doug McClure was credible as the hero. He's likable and capable enough to carry the heroic end, without being in the Indiana Jones mold. McClure was best known for The Virginian and was a decent B-movie actor. John McEnrey was great as the U-boat captain, Von Schoenvorts. Doctor Who fans will notice a pre-Master Anthony Ainley as one of the German crew.

The effects were typical for an Amicus film, low budget, but serviceable. The dinosaurs can't compare to Jurassic Park, but they were the equal, if not better, than a Godzilla film. They are kept out of sight enough to be effective.

What the film lacks in budget and acting talent, it makes up for with imagination and pacing. The dinosaurs are teased and the mystery of the land is allowed to build, with plenty of excitement along the way. the story is fairly faithful to Burroughs, so there are plenty of cliffhangers.

This is definitely a fun family film, perfect for a rainy day or a monster marathon.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Please release At the Earth's Core and Warlords of Atlantis on DVD
jjrakman29 August 2004
Currently MGM has released The Land that Time forgot, and The People that Time Forgot, on one of their Midnight Movies Double Feature DVD's. I have purchased this DVD and have enjoyed it immensely.

The films are based on the classic writings of Edgar Rice Burroughs. And while the dinosaurs look fake by today's standards, the stories and characters are really enjoyable. Most of the other miniature work is also impressive for this time period.

Hopefully MGM will release the other two movies in this series, At the Earth's Core, and Warlords of Atlantis, on another Midnight Movies Double Feature DVD. I would be very interested in purchasing it.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
My seven year old loved it!
jouiskc23 January 2006
I guess the summary of my comment says it all. We watched this the other day on cable TV and my son being an expert on the subject of dinosaurs found it to be very satisfying. Most kids will be be entertained by the dinosaurs (even if they do look lame by today's standard) the adults might find certain parts hard to sit through.

The plot slows down a bunch in certain spots, but they work in enough action so that it is not a completely terrible movie. I was surprised to see that there was actually a sequel, so it must have done decent box office.

If you are seeking some harmless fun and see a bunch of people get munched by long lost dinosaurs, then this is the movie for you.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Yummy!
Lurkerbunny25 June 2005
I discovered this movie after becoming a MSTie. I figured since the guys on the show didn't do it, I might as well. But while watching, I fell in love with someone who was in another show I was into. Anthony Ainley, otherwise known as Doctor Who's Master, was in it as the villainous Deitz. God, he was so handsome in that leather German Sailor outfit. He looked so young, so cute without that beard of evil, but oh he is so evil. And during the fight scene with the fat guy his shirt almost comes off oh god yes why won't it come all the way off? This film truly was a turning point in my adolescence.

Oh, and Doug McClure's in it, and there are some cheap dinosaurs and stuff. Yeah.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A Lost World adventure flick with a difference..
marshalskrieg16 February 2017
I saw this one as a kid about the time it came out- just took a second peek and was not disappointed. This dinosaur/lost world flick has an adult level pacing with a tension that builds to a dramatic ending. The acting, dialogue and character development is just above average, for what might otherwise be considered a Saturday afternoon film for kids.

The German U boat captain is treated sympathetically, something I doubt current political correctness would allow today. We also see some refreshingly deep thoughts expressed from time to time in this tale- be sure to note the wild evolutionary theory that is presented.

The special effects are adequate, and I will go out on a limb and say that if this was made today, the CGI would be bad and would ruin the film- the models were used to good effect. I know some will complain that the creatures are not exactly convincing, but they are not bad either, for what the movie is attempting to be.

I also like the fact that the ending was not the typical Hollywood (happy) ending.

Final note, the interior submarine scenes convey a realistic WW1 era technology and appropriate claustrophobia.

if you are into 'lost world' or dinosaur films , this one is a must see. Six stars.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed