Saturday Night Live (TV Series 1975– ) Poster

(1975– )

User Reviews

Review this title
262 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
It sucks now! It's great again!
culwin1 February 2002
Every once in awhile I read reviews of SNL. Almost never do the reviews say "it was OK". Unless it is a review by a frequent viewer, they always say something like "SNL is great again!" or "SNL sucks now". Usually these reviews are from people who never or rarely watch the show, and only remember it from 5, 10, 15 or even 20 years ago. These types of reviews have been the same for as long as I can remember. The periods that people now call "classic" frequently met with poor reviews at the time.

One thing to remember is that the show is an hour and a half, longer than most any other TV show. It is hard to fill such a long show with consistently funny material. It is also hard to make every episode funny. Therefore the show (like most shows) wavers between great and awful, depending on the sketch or episode you are watching at the moment. To judge an entire series on one episode (or part of one) is a mischaracterization.

I've watched SNL for most of its life, and although it has ranged from hilarious to horrible, I would say the average show is "pretty funny". The bottom line: there's nothing better to watch on Saturday night, so until there is, I will always watch SNL!
141 out of 208 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I miss the old SNL
match-780459 October 2018
Remember way back when SNL only dabbled in politics? It seems that they've adopted a formula of having a majority of their skits being political. I watch TV to escape politics, so it's no longer a good match for me.
46 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Tired, dead horse
Ironpipes1-202-9036092 December 2018
Wow wow wow. Hard to believe how awful and unfunny this iconic classic has become. As a fan for over 30 years, it's hard to say this - but this is now the worst incarnation of the shows lengthy run. This season makes me long for the randy quaid and Julie Dreyfus era. The show has just devolved to unspeakable levels. Terrible cast for starters. Who honestly thinks Leslie jones is remotely funny? Saying unfunny things loud, doesn't make them funny. Was Keenan Thompson ever funny? He has the character range of my dog. How did he ever get brought back after 1 season, yet alone countless seasons now. His mannerisms, voice, and attitude are identical in every skit he's in. Awful. The news team is dreadful. May be the worst ever. The writing is awful. The musical acts are typically on par with local garage bands. This last week finally pushed me to remove it from my Dvr. It's sad, after being a devout fan for so long, but this show brings absolutely nothing to the table.
29 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
An Honest Review
generationofswine20 January 2019
It was good, then it was great, then it was good again and now it stinks.

As of 2018 The edginess is gone. There are no risks in the jokes. They all consist of two things, 1. Trump is bad. and 2. This was a thing, remember it?

Neither of those really work for me. Make fun of Trump all you want, but do it with a punch line. Most of the time they forget the punchline. Simply not liking him is NOT a punchline. You have to exaggerate something, make it satire, mock it in some way. I don't even care if it's a cruel mockery...so long as it doesn't seem like they are just stating an opinion.

Opinions are NOT jokes.

The same thing goes with their "remember this, this was a thing" jokes...

They leave you sitting there waiting for them to say something funny about it. You're with them for a little while, "Yeah I remember it, go on..." then you realize that, no, that was the joke.

That's not a joke, that's just asking me to remember something.

Again, if they had a punch line, if they said something about what they were asking me to remember, then it might be funny...but they don't. The jokes are literally "this was a thing, laugh at it." and that's not funny. It has to be followed up with something.

Like with Trump, an opinion is NOT a joke unless it is followed by something. The same thing with a memory, a memory is NOT a joke in and of itself. They both have to be followed by something
21 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lazy comedy.
pssiblekim16 November 2018
SNL has become socially irrelevant. It's poorly written, the "players" are the worst they've had since its inception, and, more than anything, it's become ridiculously predictable. I've tried to stay loyal but I just can't watch anymore. It's simply not funny.
29 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hasn't been funny since the mid 90s
cynjosch8 November 2018
I don't understand how this show is still on the air. The skits aren't funny anymore at all, haven been funny in over 20 years as a matter of fact.
26 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Been a long time since SNL was great
Brianknowsmovies12 November 2018
SNL. Used to be an every Saturday night show to watch as a kid with great genre defining talent with both the superb writers and ad lib capable actors who were almost all worthy of having their own shows after.

Started with the likes of Candy, Chase, Murphy, Belushi and kept on being great with Ferrel, Farley, Carvey, Myers ...but soon after the turn of the century I struggle to think of any names and would need the internet to tell me anyone else who was on there other than maybe remembering one of the non-comedian guests who might have had a show and I MIGHT tune in for those segments.

Writing is now more PC and the party-fueled creativity is gone...it now seems too corporate controlled and they can only think of how to make political jokes of republicans..although some likenesses are good and well done...it just gets old and overdone and the show doesn't have the magic it used to. Times have changed I guess and the show is more about having some guest on to help plug whatever movie show they are on or pushing corporate sponsored political ideology.

They would have to loosen the reigns and run things like they used to to usher in new era but the times may be too PC for a show like this to be as successful and culturaly relevant like it used to be. Used to be a 10, now a 3.
18 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Don't like the way the show is going now....
whitneyblairsmith19 March 2012
Been watching all of SNL this season and I'm disappointed with the way the show is moving. The skit's aren't really that great and creative anymore. I don't find myself laughing at all most episodes aside from weekend update. The music guests have absolutely sucked this season - all people I've never heard of or that just stink (no big names aside from Coldplay). Every skit also finds it's only humor in sexual innuendo's. But it's just crass jokes and not even good ones (like Sweuty's Ball's). Gonna take a break from the show for now until the writers get their act together and find funny jokes instead of just jokes about sex.
40 out of 62 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The First Five Years Will Always the Classic Years
Sargebri11 October 2003
The first five years of S.N.L. will always be the "golden era" of this show. Belushi, Akroyd, Chase, Curtain, Newman, Morris, Radner and Radner will always represent an era when some of the best comedic talent of the 1970's were all on one show and as a springboard for greatness. However, once the original cast was gone the show went in decline for me. Even though talents like Eddie Murphy, Joe Piscapo, Mike Meyers, Dana Carvey, Martin Short and Billy Crystal became big stars as a result of being on the show, the magic that the original Not Ready for Prime Time Players will never be duplicated. They made Saturday nights worth staying at home.
70 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I loved the old ones
computergeek-8454717 June 2019
Matt Foley was absolutely amazing. I'm only 15 years old but my parents have shown me old movies from the 80s and 90s. Nowadays SNL is not funny. If you hear people laughing at the skits that are not funny in my opinion, then that means they get offended from jokes and their idea of comedy is not the comedy people had back then.
14 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Your TV's on and off relationship!
TheMan305113 July 2002
I like to describe this show like a on and off relationship because one year this show is funny and the next it sucks and it's like that year after year. Still it always manages to make you laugh and it has been the breakthrough show for some of the greatest comedians of all-time.
45 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Can you rate lower than 1?
mrsward-1993819 November 2018
How about a negative -1,000,000+. No one wants to hear non stop polictical skits. Get back to material that everyone regardless of political stands can enjoy, relax and laugh. Isn't that what y'all are there for? Not to run for office or shove your political stance down people's throats. You're comedians, no one cares about your political stance. Do your actual job and entertain. That's what you get paid for.
28 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A love/hate relationship with a classic
23skidoo-422 November 2000
An earlier reviewer said this show sucks and that the "new cast" is terrible. What is interesting about SNL is how whenever there is a changeover of cast, it has become almost a tradition to hate the newcomers. In truth, however, many of the episodes that have aired in recent years -- even since the 1998 review I refer to -- have now come to be considered classics. And the cast members so many of us hated at first are now often seen in a favorable light alongside the "classic" cast of the late 1970s. And what cannot be denied is no TV program in history has been such a fertile breeding ground for future stars. Just look at the cast list and be amazed.
28 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I'm done.
g61268-124 October 2017
I'm politically leftward and these days *I* find snl unwatchable. It's basically Democratic Party propaganda pretending to be comedy. Kate McKinnon singing Leonard Cohen's "Halleluiah" and that "To Sir, With Love" number after last year's election were very clear messages of what the show has become. It used to be much more balanced - and funny! If you doubt me, watch all those debate parodies they did in the 1988 election season. And — as with every other live show now — the studio audience is far too loud and screamy. And the enthusiasm they show makes no sense with what's on stage. Are they all given cocaine at 11:29?

Another reviewer described snl as a bank that's "too big to fail". I agree. No matter how bad it gets, it'll never go away. Fortunately we the audience can go away, and I finally have.

(p.s. IMDb rates this show an 8.2, but notice how all the recent reviews are only one star. I think that tells you something.)
32 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
More Arrogant than Funny
ubergeist748 November 2012
This is my first review, and I write it with great sadness, about a show I've been watching and enjoying since I was a kid, in the 80's. It seems this show has been getting worse in the past few seasons, to the point where I now find it almost unwatchable. Of course, no comedy show can be funny every time, with every single sketch, but that's the beauty of a live show. My problem is not with the comedic aspect but the political and social messages that now completely overwhelm the comedy. It is blatantly left wing, portraying anyone that would disagree with it's points a nut. If I wanted that kind of show I'd watch Stewart or Colbert. Weekend Update is particularly one-sided. The point of the show now seems to be to preach to its viewers rather than to entertain. Seth Meyers comes across as the kid you hated in high school, you know, the one that always kissed the teachers' you-know-what, and ran for every student election, while having all the cool toys because his parents are filthy rich. Yeah, that kind of guy, completely unpalatable and full of himself. Furthermore, in just about every episode now, there is at least one scene which involves men kissing. I have no problem with homosexuals doing that in their private lives, but it's frankly disgusting, not at all funny, so don't throw it in the viewer's face. There are some bright points, like the new guy that plays Obama, he's an amazing impressionist. It's a shame Kristen Wiig left, she was Hilarious. I fast forward through the music acts so can't comment on those. Overall, watch the first 2 skits, then flip to some other show.
44 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Pure garbage televsion
catherinefolen1 October 2018
This show, at one time, had talented writers and actors but now it is just vicious and ugly. I will never spend one second watching this trash again.
20 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
horrible leftist propaganda
self_conscious9 November 2018
This show used to be funny a long time ago. Now it's just pure hate against anything that's common sense. Just propaganda .
27 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
SNL has lost it
jcarrig-2937530 September 2018
Not sure what happened over the years but the lib left has taken over and ruined this show. I watched from the 1st episode but will watch no more. Start by getting rid of Michael Che. Biggest racist I have ever seen.
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lorne Michaels, stick a fork in SNL, its done. Overdone now for years
hamoshame5 February 2017
Lorne Michaels,

Stick a fork in SNL, it is done! In fact, its Overdone now. For years this team of artist have languished under your reign. I've has watch this show for 42 years. You should have stay gone when you left to do; "kids in the hall". That was a good show. It is apparent that it is true "You can never go home" . Just let it go! Time to give one of the kids a turn at the reins. You were good, real good. Now its over. the rating of Awful, cannot come close to describing the sheer torment you have inflicted on a nation, the cast and crew. Stop now please. Your motives are transparent to even the most casual viewer. Please desist and take no take part in subjugating us with your arkan notions of politics.
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Same crap over and over
goldilicksb13 February 2017
Tired of the same of crap. Used to be good many years ago, but not anymore. I can't stand watching more than 5 minutes if that. Now I rather watch paint dry on a Saturday night. There isn't much to say, I'm just babbling on like most of the skits on Saturday Night Live. Same thing over and over every week now, bashing this person and that person in very poor taste. Lorne Michaels you suck and it shows that you are done, give up, retire old man, and let someone else take the lead of this once good show. Maybe someone who is not so bias, someone who shows both parts of a story. You have bored most people for long enough. Time to go.
20 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Lorne please STOP
nameismike6930 December 2016
Why do you keep this show on the air... WHY .... Please stop the problem and just run re runs of the older older shows... More people would tune into that... Since you won't put any more seasons past 5 ... There is no point continue when you have nothing... Apparently Kate is the only thing saving it right now.... There's always one cast member that saves it from ruin.

Why do you keep this show on the air... WHY .... Please stop the problem and just run re runs of the older older shows... More people would tune into that... Since you won't put any more seasons past 5 ... There is no point continue when you have nothing... Apparently Kate is the only thing saving it right now.... There's always one cast member that saves it from ruin.
21 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Yawn
pellett4810 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Some nights SNL leaves me out of breath from laughter. Other nights it's March 9, 2019.
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
this crap show isn't even live anymore
djrobe16 October 2018
Cancel this crap and let these people burn in HELL
23 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It use to be great
sargentpwinkle9 April 2017
SNL use to be awesome, the awesome skits, the great host etc. But now ever since the 2016 election, it went down hill. Every skit is about Trump and Hillary. Its terrible. I actually found it funny the first 2 episodes but now its plain boring. This actually also refers to talk shows, like Jummy Kimmel/Fallon Seth Myers, Conan and that one old guy. They all talk about them. I really don't see how people arn't bored of it yet. Its sad you half to mention trumps name just to keep your ratings high. :/
24 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
forget it
talis-briedis16 March 2010
You just cant touch NRFPTP! The new crop is just awful. The jokes are not funny. Some of the troupe make me want to stop watching TV all together. Lorne - you have let your creation go down the toilet. The guests sometimes are good, the bands are mostly garbage. Weekend update, Seth has to tell the audience when to laugh.....Seth would get a proper reception in a Baghdad cafe though...Make sure Andy goes with him... The show has about 10 jokes in all and they just keep rehashing them over and over. Even the segments that are obviously not funny. Offending people has become the name of the game, but they cant even do that right. Just offensively. I am so disappointed with what has happened to the show, but now I also know it is safe to go OUT on a Saturday night!
37 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed