Storks (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Add a Review
81 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
7/10
Threadbare. Uneven. Underrated. HYSTERICALLY Funny.
amnesiac1200125 March 2017
I found STORKS in the way that you're supposed to find underrated/cult classics: by accident. When it was released, I bought into the collective sigh of underwhelm that most critics expressed and that was my mistake. It's easy to understand why the critical community didn't like it: in an era where Pixar, Disney and even Dreamworks keep churning out magnificently multi-layered heart-warmers that set the bar stratospherically high, STORKS doesn't register all that well. We've been spoiled by excellence. As a result, we've lost the ability to enjoy the simple pleasures of pure entertainment.

And that's what STORKS delivers better than babies or packages: entertainment.

You might have noticed people commenting on how forced and thin the storyline is and how uneven it feels, and those complaints are accurate. The plot is extremely thin (virtually an extended sitcom-sized premise stretched into an epic road-trip format), and the story moves so quickly that it goes too far too fast with nary any breathing room to savor the experience or give the characters the tension or time to build any real catharsis or change. But the characters are so authentic to themselves that you know just about everything you need to know about them from their first scenes.

I think the main reason STORKS gets such middling reviews in print and here on IMDb is because it's an old-fashioned type of comedy: a screwball-slapstick hybrid. The emphasis on sight gags, pain-humor, and wackiness has generally been avoided in animated films as passe and vulgar--low comedy. The rapid-fire snark between the main characters of Tulip and Junior hearken back to the old Howard Hawks workplace comedies of the 1930s, which is definitely an acquired taste in the post-narrative style of humor found in kids entertainment today--where non-sequiturs and punchlines exist in a vacuum and visual comedy is derived from abstraction rather than plasticity. But the comedic energy and the variety of jokes from modern "Office"-style cringe (Pigeon Toady) to the machine-gun-speed HIS GIRL FRIDAYy-style verbal sparring (Tulip & Junior), absurdism (the wolves), post-modern meta-humor (the boy and his parents) to classical WB slapstick of yesteryear, and the film is riotously funny because of it. At the end of the day, that's what STORKS wants to be: FUNNY.

STORKS is not a great film. It's not a masterpiece like TOY STORY or UP. It won't win any Oscars and it won't be everyone's cup of tea. But there's an excellent chance that it will live on as a multi-generational favorite for the same reasons as dumb-fun-with-a-heart-of-gold treasures like SPACEBALLS, DUMB & DUMBER, THE NAKED GUN, and NATIONAL LAMPOONS CHRISTMASs VACATION:

Because you can watch it 1,000 times and it will NEVER stop being funny.

So try it out. There's a 50-50 chance you'll be among the ones who can't stop watching it.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Highly Underrated
Igna Grebe29 October 2016
I entered to watch Storks expecting the worse. However, I got an really enjoyable movie.

The Characters are charismatic and they have good chemistry. In Fact, I LOVED Tulip and The Wolfs were hilarious.

If you want a funny and heart-warming film, then Storks is a great option for you.

It's such a shame to see how uninterested was Warner in marketing this film.

I Trust that in a few years Storks will have the recognition that it deserves, and a big fan base.
39 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
What a cute and adorable movie!
mikenontonmulu23 September 2016
Watching this movie in the earlier parts, I could not help to feel that the funny scenes were a little bit forced, but as the movie continues, the funny scenes becoming more and more fluid. The funny moments became more natural. And since the baby girl was "produced", the movie became much more alive. I think the star of the movie was really the baby. The animation of this baby was soooo cute and adorable that you would really want to hug and play with the baby.

You would also be enjoying the very colorful scenes and the funny moments during the chase by the wolves. Those were some of the most enjoyable moments. But the moment that I laughed the hardest was during the scene involving penguins (and the fork). It was priceless!

I also loved that the trailer shown many times in the theaters was only showing some brief introduction about Storks and baby making machine. This helped us to be enjoying the movie without knowing there were so many plots inside this one. For parents who want to bring their children to watch this, I believe they would be able to enjoy it. For teenagers & adults, this movie would also be enjoyable to watch. However, please do not expect logic or the making sense of the story of Storks delivering babies. If you can only enjoy movie when logic is very much a great factor, then I do not think this movie is right for you. If you are looking for some fun and good laughter, then you can definitely watch this one!

By the way, this movie was produced by Warner Bros Animation Group (WAG) which also produced The Lego Movie. Hence, it was not a surprise to see there was a short funny animated Lego movie of a Chinese Kung Fu Master and a chicken before the start of the movie. I guess WAG also wanted to follow the success of such pattern used by Disney, Pixar and even Illuminati (remember those cute minions in The Secret Life of Pets ?). It did give us a nice thing to enjoy before the start of the actual movie. So when you already bought the tickets for this film, please make sure you are not late to be able to watch this short fun movie.

please read my full review in michaelnontonmulu.blogspot.co.id
30 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Tulip is awesome
Eric Stevenson8 October 2016
I admit that while it's not one of my favorite animated movies of the year, it's still definitely something I would recommend. I admit that it does start a bit slow. It really gets better when the character Tulip is introduced. She is the heart of this movie and by far the most entertaining part. Thank you for featuring her so much. Almost everything she says is funny. I guess I just have a soft spot for genki girls. Pinkie Pie is the one who comes to mind most at any time. She even has red (pink?) hair like her. The best parts are probably her interacting with her personas.

I admit that the story makes little sense. How exactly are babies brought into this world now? We briefly get to see the process of how a baby is made. I love how big and epic this movie gets. Yes, it's technically short, but it still gives you everything you would want in a good movie. They have a lot of great details and it leads up to an exciting climax. As a huge fan of "The Lego Movie", you have to watch the great short that precedes this. If only "Looney Tunes" did stuff like that nowadays. It's great to see a good movie based on an original concept too. ***
21 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Underrated - this movie is one of the best animated films out there
jemseletaria12 January 2017
If you want a movie that is entertaining, funny, action-packed with twists and turns throughout - then this movie is for you! The animation quality is as good as any out there.

The voice actors are sensational. Kelsey Grammar and Andy Samberg and their back and forth bantering is totally brilliant and any of us involved in business can understand the dynamic and completely understand the humour.

It is one of those movies that you can watch again and again and never get bored.

Kids love it and there is plenty of content to keep adults laughing.

This movie is a terrific and I can't understand how anyone could not thoroughly enjoy this movie!
12 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Very boring and chaotic
lessal-7960620 June 2017
Storks seemed like a good kids movie you would watch just to get out of the house and go to the theater, but I found that storks is very boring and fast paced. Many of the jokes fell flat and felt forced, speaking of forced, the parents. The parents are absolutely terrible characters and suddenly go from being responsible to downright stupid and unrealistic. Many of the scenes are rushed and the characters actions and dialogue left me confused. Over all, storks is a waste of time movie to watch once and never again.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Fast paced, hilarious, absurd and slightly evil
wincel-867-12963123 January 2017
Saw it on a long flight, had never even heard of this movie before despite us watching anime and cartoon regularly. What happened there WB?? So I ended up seeing it more by coincidence - the same as many other adults on the 5 hour flight. And the plane was full of laughter. One of the most absurd and hilarious movies I've seen in a long time. It is very fast paced, lots of word play and verbal humor, slightly evil in touching all kinds of topics from career-nuts adults, over-ambition and sacrificing it all, bullying, casual nastiness to people. Delivered by a fast-talking, bright, very cheeky teen girl with a big heart and a stork trying to keep up and sorting it all into his very structure perspective on life. Go watch it!
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
A decent enjoyable flick!
tomholland201622 September 2016
First thing of all, this is the kind of a movie that's surely not for everyone and it doesn't really give that stereotype where children will absolutely have fun watching it.

The storyline follows a group of storks engineers a vast industry relating to delivering babies to their respective families. Things go south when the living storks are tired by umpteenth of accidents occurring on arriving the destination that eventually turns into an industry of selling goods. With the help of an unknown boy, an unintentional event takes place for re-living back the old era of the storks.

The plot is fairly decent, and it does give much time for the character to develop but it takes too many spaces in their limited duration of the movie. It drags the movie at certain parts that we won't be needing to see. Despite all of this, there are a few sequences that do take place abruptly, leading to many inevitable questions. Children that are trying to learn and understand stories may get confused with 'em. The pacing is half the chance being good and bad, people will judge in their own way. As for me, it starts to get bad after 40 minutes in.

The humor here is enjoyable, but it can get cringe-worthy sometimes. Basically, the script is telling the characters to force the jokes from themselves.

As far as I can tell, there are moments in the movie that trigger your mind if this movie is really worth spending your money for. The motion images are tolerable, it's totally not as bad as Norm In The North and totally not as good as Kingsglaive Final Fantasy XV.

The moral values here are worth it but it does not contain as much as you have seen in Inside Out or Toy Story. A major example that can be taken is to give love to each member of your family without regarding career or any other things.

The best time to watch this movie is when you're having a daytime off with your family on a Sunday afternoon. Overall, it is an enjoyable flick and to my point of view, it deserves 5 out of 10.
18 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
An adorable film, that the whole family can enjoy.
Anurag-Shetty7 October 2016
Storks tells the story of Junior(Andy Samberg), who is a stork. Storks used to deliver babies but, they stopped. Now, they deliver packages to various people around the world. However, an unfortunate mishap causes a baby to appear in the stork headquarters. Now, it is up to Junior with the help of the human girl Tulip(Katie Crown), to deliver the baby before any other stork finds out.

Storks is a brilliant film. Director Nicholas Stoller has successfully made the transition from hilarious adult comedies like Forgetting Sarah Marshall(2008) & Neighbors(2014), to equally funny family-oriented fare, like this movie. The animation is top notch. The 3D is immersive & has some duck-worthy moments. One minor flaw with this film is that, the humor is mainly slapstick-oriented. However, this is my personal opinion. Kids & their parents will thoroughly enjoy this film. The babies are the highlight of the movie. They are cuteness personified. The voice acting is flawless. Andy Samberg is outstanding as Junior. Katie Crown is spectacular as Tulip. Kelsey Grammar is mind blowing as Hunter. Jennifer Aniston is great as Sarah Gardner. Ty Burrell is amazing as Henry Gardner. Anton Starkman is awesome as Nate Gardner. Keegan Michael-Key is hysterical as Alpha Wolf. Jordan Peele is hilarious as Beta Wolf. Danny Trejo is excellent as Jasper. Stephen Kramer Glickman is unforgettable as Pigeon Toady. Storks is a must watch, particularly for families. Go, have a jolly good time!
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
So overrated. I hate this movie,
EBJ14 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Directed By: Nicholas Stoller and Doug Sweetland

Starring: Andy Samberg, Jennifer Anniston and Kelsey Grammar

Overall: With 'The Jungle Book', I believe this is one of the most overrated movies of 2016. I think this movie is boring and stupid. I wanted to like it but I just couldn't.

Good:

1. The animation is pretty good.

2. Two jokes in the whole movie made me laugh.

Bad:

1. I was falling asleep during this film. It was so boring and so incredibly unfunny that it was impressive.

2. They just tried too hard to be funny.

3. The story was just stupid and the idea was just absurd.

4. All the characters were boring and dull and just uninteresting.

2/10
6 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews