IMDb > My Little Pony: The Movie (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb
My Little Pony: The Movie
Quicklinks
Top Links
trailers and videosfull cast and crewtriviaofficial sitesmemorable quotes
Overview
main detailscombined detailsfull cast and crewcompany credits
Awards & Reviews
user reviewsexternal reviewsawardsuser ratingsparents guide
Plot & Quotes
plot summarysynopsisplot keywordsmemorable quotes
Did You Know?
triviagoofssoundtrack listingcrazy creditsalternate versionsmovie connectionsFAQ
Other Info
box office/businessrelease datesfilming locationstechnical specsliterature listingsNewsDesk
Promotional
taglines trailers and videos posters photo gallery
External Links
showtimesofficial sitesmiscellaneousphotographssound clipsvideo clips

Reviews & Ratings for
My Little Pony: The Movie More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]
Index 79 reviews in total 

58 out of 70 people found the following review useful:

The movie didn't necessarily make me into a brony but... (possible spoilers)

8/10
Author: latinvspiscator
4 October 2017

The movie is great and is praiseworthy. The animation is engaging to the eye, and it enables to arouse interest in going along with the characters & plot.

The characters are great, such that there's a diverse disposition for each array of character. This is probably an exaggeration, once you realize in the end that Fluttershy is voiced also by the same person who voiced Pinkie Pie, and Apple Jack & Rainbow Dash being voiced by one person as well.

The main character is Twilight Sparkle (consistent enough with the movie poster), and we get to explore her power as a princess, which is Power of Friendship. The antagonist is a new/guest character named Tempest (Emily Blunt), a disenfranchised pony who has become calloused and driven. If you don't care about My Little Pony at all, Tempest is the powerful character you'd like to watch. The character of Tempest however will take you on a journey to an unexpected destination, because Tempest's interaction with Twilight Sparkle becomes very important. Another antagonist, Stormking is just as important as Princess Celestia, Princess Luna and Princess Candence.

There is a cat character, Capper, who you'd soon realize is a smooth talking cat. Capper would fall into the male prototype character category in the midst of female characters, worthy of their fancy, disdain and then fancy again.

There are various absurd situations (mostly because of Pinky Pie) the characters are put into, and as a group, you are able to assess, compare and contrast the reactions of each member of the group. Again, the animation conveys the situation well, and because of its comical effect, it engages the mind into hilarity.

The movie is quite an adventurous one, and would appeal to any audience other than young girls. The plot is a rather good one, and the pacing moves along quite well. For those who have seen adventure films before, one may realize that the movie captures recognizable thrilling, and momentous stages of an adventure. Again, the coloring of each backdrop, background, is lucid & vibrant, with a great use of acute hues.

The animation quality of the movie is good; it appears to be a mixture of rotoscoping, mixed with 2D hand animation (I guess by computer). The coloring is with a balanced saturation and hues.

I could digress about the movie in its trivialities, but in summary, the movie is great. I enjoy it. It didn't make me into a brony though (that's probably because I don't know what brony really is or what he does).

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 55 people found the following review useful:

Great comeback for 2D animation

9/10
Author: ghidorahgal
4 October 2017

I know I speak for a lot of people about wishing for a 2D film to return to the big screen. None of us expected it to be My Little Pony, but don't let the title fool you. The story is a bit simplistic, but the colorful cast of characters and personalities make the adventure worthwhile. The animation really brings these qualities out and is reminiscent of classic Disney movies. The songs are also great; two of them already stuck in my head. This isn't a kids movie just for the parents to groan over. This film gives everyone of all ages something to enjoy. Give it a watch and I'm sure you'll have a great time with it.

Was the above review useful to you?

47 out of 58 people found the following review useful:

Recommended for all viewers of the show

8/10
Author: charlottemiller-88324
4 October 2017

First time reviewing a film . There are some bits that the pace does feel fast but the rest lives up to it's standards. the animation and visuals are amazing and gives the feel of like watching classic Disney films and the 2D works very well with the 3D. The songs are great as well and the voice acting fits very well. Highly recommended film for fans of the show and for family's and younger audience.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 44 people found the following review useful:

A worthwhile animated movie

8/10
Author: bakkahentai
4 October 2017

My Little Pony's current iteration has been a strange if not fascinating family friendly product, and their movie continues this trend. Make no mistake, this movie is definitely written mainly with children in mind but with enough thoughtfulness that adults should be able to adequately enjoy it to at least a modest degree.

The songs are catchy and worth remembering, and the characters are distinct enough to be memorable. Although the main seven characters are not equally distributed in terms of screen time, they still get enough screen time to remember who they are for even a new watcher.

The movie is mainly straight forward with very few twists, but it makes up for it with strong writing. The pacing can be a bit too fast at a couple of points, but only just so.

Unlike most current Disney movies, however, the villains are quite straightforward in who they are. If you are a fan of twist villains, you'll be disappointed, but if you enjoy a good villain, you'll enjoy two out of the three villains shown. The weakest member - Grubber - at the very least only suffers from not being funny enough as the comedic sidekick to the serious Tempest.

As for the comedy, the movie goes for a more hi jinks, silly comedy with a few deadpan jokes here and there. Don't expect to a lot of sarcastic remarks or much in the way of deprecation towards their series or its ideals.

Finally, the soundtrack is quite good. There are six sung songs in the movie and they all keep a different beat and genre. Their distinct style keep them memorable, and not only help progress the plot but explain certain characters in an easily digestible fashion.

Overall, it's more of a classical styled Disney movie, and wholly enjoyable to anyone looking for a solidly written film.

Was the above review useful to you?

35 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

A very resplendent movie

7/10
Author: jaxenross from California
4 October 2017

Wow, there's "No Better Feeling" that could describe this experience; I can see a rainbow after all. When the intro began, I get chilly over the staggering soundtrack. There it is, in all of its glory: MY LITTLE PONY: THE MOVIE. And almost instantly, we dive into the exploit.

The one thing that REALLY stands out for this movie is the animation; it looks magnificent and resplendent for its time especially in contrast with the TV series. It really makes the characters all vivid and vigorous; did I even mention the celebrity cast involved? Songbird Serenade blew my mind, especially by the fact that she's played by Sia herself - and while her original song "Rainbow" wasn't all that astonishing, I'll still give credit to the grand soundtrack that this movie provided as I was told that Daniel Ingram would be composing it with a full orchestra.

Sure, the movie did remind me of "The SpongeBob Squarepants Movie" and "Lilo and Stitch" based on its borrowed elements - but it was still stunning for this type of storyline. Overall, I thought that the movie was all bright, smart, clever and observant - especially the collaborative, action-packed ending - even if it didn't meet up to all expectations. As for any-pony? Feel free to take time out of your life to enjoy this cinematic masterpiece. We got this together!

Was the above review useful to you?

32 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

I believe! I believe!

10/10
Author: Jordan White from United States
6 October 2017

My Little Pony: The Movie is certainly not the Citizen Kane of animated movies, or the Citizen Kane of animated movies based on toy lines or TV shows. Yet it bears one great distinction. It's the most refreshing experience that I've had in a movie theater for the year of 2017. Simply put, they don't make animated movies like this anymore.

In an era that we are experiencing a period of social unrest and chaos in this country that has not been seen since the late 1960s- early 1970s, the last thing a lot of us want to do is to go to a movie not only to feel bad, but also to be lectured on how bad the world is today. This sort of negativity has been creeping into animated films, including last year's Zootopia.

I saw this movie at a Thursday night showing, before everyone starting coming in on the weekend. Let me tell you, you should ignore these negative critics, and come in with an open mind like I did.

There are various reasons why they don't make animated movies like this anymore. First, what everyone notices, it's done with 2D animation, an art form that a lot of studios gave up for dead just 14 years earlier in favor of CGI. It also features 3D CGI backgrounds, which to some viewers, will contrast to the 2D animation, yet truth be told, wasn't the famous ballroom scene in Beauty and the Beast like that? Yet while it looks like it could have been made with pencils and paper, it actually isn't. They upgraded from Flash, used extensively on the TV show this movie was based on, to Toon Boom, a higher end animation software developed in Canada, which was where this film was made. Given that I'm a very tech savvy person and that Adobe is killing off Flash in 2020, I'm not surprised that the production team made this move. The animation is such an improvement from the TV show, it looks more cinematic, and it made me feel like I was watching a Disney or Don Bluth film from the 1990s rather than My Little Pony. The production crew worked under the film's limited budget, which actually gives me hope because budgets get high for animated films these days. Given the fact that Blade Runner cost $150 million and that I believe My Little Pony only cost a fifth of that amount, there's not too much pressure on this film to get a huge opening weekend like Blade Runner. It appears that given merchandise, ticket sales, and social media clicks, this film will actually make money for Hasbro.

Speaking of Disney, here's another reason why they don't make animated movies like this anymore. While the story has elements very evocative of Disney, including the story (kingdom sets up festival, bad guys come to take over, princess goes on a journey to save her land, songs that move the plot, meeting new allies on their journey, defeating the bad guys, celebrating, and roll credits), there are several story elements that Disney doesn't use anymore. First and foremost, a dark villain that stays throughout the entire movie. Disney used to have a lot of these in their films, now they just cop out and give us surprise villains, such as a prince or a sheep. They also used to have funny little villain sidekicks, now with these surprise villains, they are virtually nonexistent. This film has a funny little villain sidekick, and when he gets screen time, he's pretty fun to watch. Also, unlike many of the new Disney and Pixar movies, the villains, along with several bits of imagery in this film, can actually be kind of scary, which is more than what I can say for the people who make those Despicable Me movies.

Third, and most importantly, the film refuses to make cheap jokes, obnoxious pop culture references, and preachy political statements. The recently released Emoji Movie, which proudly sits at the Bottom 100 on IMDb, is an example of all three, judging from what I have heard from people who saw it. My Little Pony: The Movie offers real escapism, which is something that a lot of these recent movies have lacked in the last 3 years. The first movies I ever saw in a theater were The Lion King and Toy Story, and both those movies had stunning imagery, captivated me, and made me want to go to those worlds. Watching My Little Pony: The Movie in a theater made me feel like that kid again. It's an escape. The people that made this film, Hasbro, Lionsgate, and DHX Media are very much like Peter Pan whisking us off to Neverland. It may not be everyone's cup of tea, these animated movies, but there's enough elements in here to satisfy both existing fans of the show and newcomers. My mom, who isn't even a fan of the show and is not really into animation, watched the movie with me and she found it to be delightful. Speaking of, this film is an absolute delight for anyone ages 2-110. Even if you're not into animation or My Little Pony, you'll still find something to like in this film because it is filling with innocence. I would really like that kind of innocence to be brought back to the movies. Why would you hate something that is cute? It could have been an hour and a half feature length toy commercial, but instead acts much like a fine Disney movie made during the 90s. Two words I can end this fabulous review on: I BELIEVE! I BELIEVE!

Was the above review useful to you?

31 out of 46 people found the following review useful:

Best Animated Movie I Have Ever Seen

10/10
Author: Josh Thunderbolt from Montana, United States
5 October 2017

First off, I will say that I have been a lover of My Little Pony: Friendship Of Magic since it first began to be aired back in 2010, so I'm not someone who went into this blind. However, that being said, this movie is phenomenal. It's pretty much everything you could ask for in an animation movie, especially with a lot of the garbage they create nowadays.

The animation? Absolutely spectacular. I can't recall the last animated movie where I saw animation this beautiful, this well-designed, and clearly so much heart put into it. The characters? All enjoyable, all entertaining, all likable (even if they were meant to be evil), and all pretty important to the plot in their own ways. The story? Pretty solid. I'll admit they did try to rush some of the introductions to the new characters that were never shown in the television series, but honestly I think it works better that way. This didn't need to be drawn out, overly complex, confusing, or something it shouldn't be. This is My Little Pony: The Movie. And it succeeded above and beyond what it set out to do. The voice actors? Amazing. None of the celebrity voice actors overshadowed any of the normal ones from the TV series whatsoever.

Even if you're a hater of the series (for whatever reason), or you claim that it's "just made to sell toys", or you have something against Hasbro, or you think you're "too old" for this, or whatever other excuse you have...please trust me when I say this movie is amazing. It's definitely worth your time. The songs are really good, composed by a great talent in Daniel Ingram, and the messages and morals the movie teaches you is honestly something more people nowadays need to hear. With how dark the world is today, a good dose of heart, friendship and magic like this is exactly what we all need. Your age or gender shouldn't matter at all. From start to finish, from the characters to their voices, from the story to the animation, this movie has it all. All the effort and passion is there, and I'm extremely proud to call myself a fan of the show. I won't use the "brony" moniker, since I always found that silly, but I'm a strong, passionate lover of the series and this movie was a great accomplishment that everybody involved should feel 100% proud of for doing.

Was the above review useful to you?

26 out of 38 people found the following review useful:

The best movie of 2017

10/10
Author: ashleyfaithspencer
4 October 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This is by far one of my most favorite animated movie of 2017

*spoilers ahead*

The animation is very beautiful and fluid. Even the ponies look adorable in ToonBoom. I love how the animators did with the program.

The setting too is creative. It consists of land, air and water. One of my favorite scene of this movie is the Seaponies and some musical parts of this movie.

Daniel Ingram is an amazing song writer. His music piece "One Small Thing" and "Open Up Your Eyes" are very catchy and fun, it made me did a little dance in the movie.

Overall, this is my most favorite animated movie of 2017.

Was the above review useful to you?

19 out of 25 people found the following review useful:

Souped-up episode of the TV series.

9/10
Author: ShellyD
5 October 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

Before I get into my recommendations for viewing, let me first comment on the film as a standalone experience: The movie has a perfectly cogent narrative, it's very straightforward, none of the characters are obnoxious, unnecessary, or out of place. The dialogue is excellent, and the themes are sincere. The film is not overly saccharine, and it's conflict and subsequent ideas presented are handled with a degree of verisimilitude that helped make the TV show popular with a wide array of demographics in the first place. That being said, what is presented is not very complex or interesting, it's all relatively straightforward stuff and the ideas the film presents will in all likelihood not surprise you in the least. MLP FiM's strongest point has always been it's characters, and the protagonists lead role here is no exception. Because of the large ensemble cast, many of the other characters do not get such well explored spotlight, which is to be expected given the films short length. That's not to say that the films large main cast does not jive thematically with the ideas of friend presented, but a longer length could have made some of the characters inclusion a little bit more pertinent to the eventual wrap-up.

The visual aesthetics of the film are mostly beautiful. The production is a hybrid between 2D hand drawn animation, and 3D environments. Aside from some 3D models that stick out like a sore thumb (Most of them being objects rather than background set-pieces), the art, cinematography, and animation is all top notch stuff and should keep most people sufficiently interested in looking at the screen for the films length.

This film is partly a musical, and as usual from Daniel Ingram, you can expect a treat. Everything from fanfares, to tangos, to Broadway swing tunes are present, all being recorded with live instruments. All of the song serve a narrative purpose and are not gone to waste.

If I were to estimate the average audience members experience who is not a fan of the TV series, a 6-7/10 movie going experience seems like a reasonable estimate. It does plenty to transcend it's cultural baggage as being a My Little Pony movie, but does not stretch it's limbs far outside of exploring the easy to understand themes the TV show presents. This can be seen as good or bad depending on your disposition, which brings me to the next part of the critique: My Little Pony The Movie is best consumed with the added context of the first three seasons of the television series the movie is based on. Audience members with no exposure to the wider canon of the series will be missing out on a lot of established characterization and concepts that rightfully so are not expounded upon in the film due to the central narrative taking precedence. This information is not necessary to follow along and perfectly understand the story, but the added context easily bumps the experience from a 6-7/10 to a 8+/10 film going experience. Some concepts may seem absolutely ridiculous, like Twilight Sparkle being the princess of friendship. Any regular movie-goer who did not follow along with Twilight's arc between seasons 1-3 will have no idea why this is significant, or how such a title makes sense in the slightest. Again it is not necessary to know why Twilight is the princess of friendship, or what this means exactly, but the added potential confusion and/or absurdity the idea presented can have a negative affect on ones viewing experience, especially an older audience member. The added emotional connection and characterization from the series with the main cast makes this movie better, seeing them all come together and take on this challenge is much more satisfying at it's conclusion than otherwise.

My Little Pony The Movie is more ambitious and looks a lot prettier than it's TV counterpart, but peeling back it's layers reveals the fundamental core that makes MLP FiM MLP FiM.

If you are somebody who is not familiar with the series and you want to give this movie a try, you might as well watch the first few episodes of the TV show first, because you'll know for the most part exactly what you're in for. If you like it, continue watching and try to get through as much as you can before seeing the film. This is a lot to ask of somebody, but if you dislike the show and have no other reason to see the movie, you can merely skip it entirely as this will probably not be something you will find to be sufficiently entertaining.

Was the above review useful to you?

20 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

A good movie for a good franchise

7/10
Author: imdb-14931 from Denmark
5 October 2017

This is by no means a masterpiece, but it is an excellent animated movies that both the target audience of little girls, their parents and bronies will enjoy. It has a few flaws in how it drags the protagonists around by their plot-noses, and inconsistencies compared the development of the characters in the show. It seems to be roughly late season 4 with several characters regressing a bit compare to their character development in the latest seasons.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 8:[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Plot summary Ratings External reviews
Parents Guide Official site Plot keywords
Main details Your user reviews Your vote history