Infinity Chamber (2016) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
48 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
8/10
Refreshing Storyline in a World of Reboots
prabhunster30 September 2017
To reboot a classic movie for a new generation is lazy and disgraceful.

To come up with a new conceptually outside-the-box movie with a cohesive plot is extremely rare and is a true gem. The most recent thing example I can think of is 'The Matrix', unprecedented concepts, albeit still lacking some cohesion.

'Infinity Chamber' falls into a third, middle-ground category: Borrowing new elements/concepts from other movies as a means to create a "original" movie.

IMO, any such movie would still fall into a sub-genre of the original movie it borrowed its defining elements from. The new movie can still be original (in its own right) if it uses the borrowed concept only as a launchpad to branch off into creative laterals.

The Good:

'Infinity Chamber' is largely a one-man show. Thankfully, the lead actor does a great job of keeping the viewer entertained. Interestingly, the dialogue between the man and the computer is what gave the movie its charm. The computer has all the qualifying intellectual attributes of a real person:, mannerisms, personality, relatability, voice etc. It's easy to forget that the dialogue isn't between two people, despite the computer's limitation to only give pre-programmed or abstract answers.

Whether friendly or hostile, I've always appreciated movies where man and machine can form any sort of progressing understanding towards the other.

The Bad:

This movie isn't without some obscurity and unanswered questions. While this may turn some viewers off entirely, I found them to be forgivable due to the entertaining themes and aspects of the movie as a whole.

If you like movies like "Moon" or "Ex Machina", I'd venture to say you'd find this movie interesting, if not entertaining.

8/10 stars for this low-budget sci-fi movie that brings forth an entertaining sub- original storyline in a world of countless and shameless Hollywood reboots.
52 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Surprisingly Good Sci-fi Movie.
Vivekmaru4514 October 2017
If you have seen Cube(1997) and its subsequent sequels, then you will really enjoy this film. The film is based on an original idea and screenplay. Travis Milloy writes and directs this film with a very professional touch. I am sure he will become a top director after some years.

But the person I am most impressed with is Jacob Yoffee who directs the music. The background music enhances this film with a true sci-fi feel, reminiscent of Tangerine Dream the German music group that had a lot of success during the eighties. The cinematography is also superbly handled by Jason Nolte.

Plot of the film: Frank Lerner awakes to find himself trapped in an automated prison cell with an artificial intelligence monitoring him in order to keep him alive. Later on, Frank starts to get flashbacks of his last movements before he was captured. He forms a bond with the artificial intelligence, which is a rotating camera attached to the ceiling of his cell. Sooner or later Frank realizes that a lot of people have met their end in his cell and he must rely on his wits in order to escape.

Verdict: Superb sci-fi 7/10. Christopher Soren Kelly who plays the lead reminds me of the excellent actor Sam Rockwell who played Wild Bill Wharton in The Green Mile 1999.

More Sci-fi movies: Escape from New York(1981), The Running Man(1987), Fortress(1992).
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Much more than a sci-fi/thriller
computer2computer15 October 2017
There's more philosophical and romantic aspects in this movie than the IMDb official genre states when it classifies it as a sci-fi thriller... But in all cases, it's quite a treat! At times while watching this film, it made me really depressed & frustrated, but it's also filled with positive feelings... I guarantee that no matter what your taste is, you'll like this one (if not even love it) A 10/10 from me, for an all-in-all great work.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Great movie
dakex30 September 2017
Don't understand why this movie is getting any bad reviews. It's one of the best movies I have watched recently and it makes it even better to know that it came from such small origins. The story is exciting and new to watch and the acting follows suit. Would definitely recommend this movie.
44 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Amazing indie production that falls short on the long run-time
Novice producer/writer/director Travis Milloy has created a visually stunning and entertaining indie film that is near perfection, considering it was funded with a Kickstarter campaign and stolen pop-crates (see Trivia section).

The directing, sound and visuals on this film are better than 95% of the Hollywood blockbusters out there, so bravo Travis for converting your vision into this masterpiece and hitting it out of the ball park.

I am not a fan of long films (unless the story justifies the length) and this one was just that, very long at 2h,23m, but sadly, the story did not justify the length. Had the pace been slow (thankfully it wasn't), it would have been unbearable.

With the repetitiveness of the plot, this film needed to be cut down to about 1h,30m to have made it more fluid, instead of feeling as if it was all over the place. I felt there were some unnecessary scenes that convoluted the main story, such as his father. I understand that this may have been symbolic, but it really didn't add much to the overall story.

Additionally there were some miss-mashed plot issues that could have easily been either omitted or covered better.

But the stunning cinematography/visuals paired with near perfect directing and outstanding score kept my eyes glued to the screen and made the above issues less significant. Even Christopher Soren Kelly's acting became more convincing and you started to feel for his character.

Some reviewers complained about the ending, but that for me was perfect, as it left it up to the viewer to come to their own conclusion. To me, I feel it left the door open for a Part 2, and I hope that does comes to fruition.

I am rating this film based on its own merits of a novice-produced, truly low budget independent film that hit the mark and excelled in the most critiqued areas, so as such, it's a very well deserved 9/10 from me.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
An Excellent Though Slightly Repetitive Sci-Fi Thriller
Brandon Zarzyczny4 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Infinity Chamber is an excellent Science-Fiction Thriller set in a futuristic dystopian world, yet all we see of it is a sparse automated prison cell and the simulation of quaint coffee shop in the main character's mind. The viewer is dropped into the story not knowing anything about the main character or the world, and the movie slowly doles out details piece meal. For most of the film all we really know is that Frank Lerner, played perfectly by Christopher Soren Kelly, is an intelligent man (perhaps a tech expert) that was kidnapped/arrested by an authoritarian regime. He may or may not be an innocent person arrested due to mistaken identity, a criminal, or an important member of the resistance. His only companion in the cell is the voice of Howard (Jesse D. Arrow) behind a camera, who's in charge of keeping Frank alive, and Gabby (played adequately by Cassandra Clarke) who is the owner of a cafe that exists in his mind.

Here is where the best and the worst parts of the movie come into play. On one side of the Infinity Chamber is a device that hypnotizes the prisoner, putting him into a simulation of the last day of his life before he was arrested, where the computer looks for something it thinks he is hiding. I really enjoyed the mind bending series of events that this device created, where throughout the film the viewer and the character begin to lose their grasp on reality. However, it's also where the film gets a little boring and repetitive, as Frank relives these moments over and over with only (for the most part) solitary prison scenes to break them up. There are many interesting moments within these scenes, but I can definitely see why some people might lose interest before the climax of the film. Still, I found myself absolutely enthralled with the movie, and I really enjoyed the crooked web the story weaved.

Now, I have one other thing I wanted to talk about before finishing this review, but I can't do that without spoiling the tricky ending. If you want to see my spoiler free video review, that's over here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYpgQ5dhLCg

------ SPOILERS ------

So obviously spoilers ahead, but here's how I took the ending of the film. I really liked the ending where he feels like he knows the girl in the cafe, but in reality he only knows her from all of the simulations, where part of his mind was portraying her. It's a cool ending, but then after he reveals the location of the flash drive with the virus behind the picture and throws it out, the camera pans out revealing what looks like the camera (Howard) from the cell on the ceiling of the cafe. I believe that the viewer is supposed to think from that is this was just another simulation, that he wasn't free, that this time he let his guard down and told the machine where he hid the virus. That's another interesting, although more depressing ending. However, that doesn't quite work because every other simulation only took place during one day, and the guy was always able to ascertain that it was a simulation. It's tough to tell, but it seems like it's at least been multiple days of completely new experiences that the Infinity Chamber and his mind would have had to create. Also, that might not be the same camera as the one in the chamber, it could just be a camera.

This is where the comparison to the movie Inception could come in, as the movie ends without showing the viewer whether the top keeps spinning or falls down, and in Infinity Chamber the viewer isn't shown whether the camera has a red light and is the same as the one in the cell or if it's completely dead. So I'm not 100% sure how we're supposed to take it, but I think that it was on purpose, and there's more than one way to view the end. Personally for my Mind Canon I'm going to say that it was just a random camera installed by the authoritarian regime, and that Frank really is free, but I think that the creator of the film probably intended the opposite. Still I really enjoyed Infinity Chamber and would recommend it.
17 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Simply brilliant.
jamesmcgeorge30 September 2017
Take a simple premise, automated prison cell no one but a computer to reason with add some great acting, throw in a smart plot beautiful cinematography, clever twists as you go and you have a great film.

The people giving this bad reviews either want crash bang wallop transformers style or possibly didn't understand the end, but that's half of its beauty, it's a love story a Sci-Fi classic and a thriller, there are nods to 2010 space odyssey, inception, moon and many other great films, if you like your movies smartly done and want a movie that makes you ask questions, this is really worth your time.
42 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Cyber-punk-ish masterpiece
Vassago®30 September 2017
I will not babble and will write just enough to get through IMDb system. This movie starts as a boring "i've seen few like this" type of a movie. But after few minutes, if in right mood, you'll start thinking a bit and than... it grabs you and doesn't let you go till the very end. Quite nice ending, to add.

Loved it! It is low-budget gem. A masterpiece. Main actor starts off as dull, but you get to like the guy and soon you find out this man can actually give even more in terms of acting.

Movie has amazing "near future" atmosphere, darkish-futurism.

Not many characters, but when you write script like this, you don't need more than 3-5 characters!

Awesome, well done and medium-speed clap to creators of this movie. I enjoyed every minute of it... Every minute after first 10 to be exact.

Must see.
32 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
Travis Milloy, I hope you're reading this, I love you man
Kast0929 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I know your movies have a low budget, both this and Pandorum needed a bigger budgets but your imagination and the scifi worlds you create both with this movie and Pandorum fascinate me. Both movies for some reason completely immersed me into that dark scifi reality, the feeling reminds me of a Dark Mirror episode.

The movie keeps you hooked up from start to finish, fun fact I watched superhero movie #343456 called Spiderman Homecoming today and I had to pause and do something more interesting at least 5 times. With this one I didn't even blink.

The movie has a couple of small mistakes (----SPOILER---- The escape route is the same both in the "dream" state and in reality, which doesn't make sense but could be due to budget issues and thankfully the outside environment changed ----END OF SPOILER----) but damn that was one tightly written script. The actors did a pretty great job too with their characters although dubbing was kind of weird sometimes.

Thank you for this movie, I'll be stalking you from now on for any new movies, you deserve bigger budgets. Please keep on making scifi films. Greetings from Greece.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Awesome
kyleweber-769001 October 2017
This movie is probably one of the best movies I have watched all year! Just when you think you know what's going on you get hit with another twist. The movie takes place in 3 different places and that's all they really needed. At first it takes a minute to see what's going on but when it finally clicks the movie gets so good. Pay attention to the details and the movie is ten times better. Also ask yourself why things are happening. It help! Great movie! Deserves 10/10
25 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
We don't see unique films like these quite often
shupanthodey30 September 2017
This is one of the best films I have seen this year.I loved it ,not because of the complexity of the story ,because this film makes you feel the main character and the strange loneliness .

The acting two main characters are superb and then there is ,the ISO . Man,the conversation between Frank(protagonist) and the AI/ISO is just mind-blowing. It is quite funny sometimes.

The plot makes you keep guessing and guessing and it is never boring nor slow. The story reveals from time to time and you start to love it.

A must watch ,I would say .
24 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
It's like Portal, but without the portal gun.
sleeping_tiger1 October 2017
Doesn't have much of a plot. The protagonist's backstory is filled in throughout the movie, but it's basic, nothing exciting. There are no twists or big reveals. You learn early on that story centers around a modern semi-dystopian narrative. Most of the time the film drags with its repetitiveness. Frank is stuck in a room, accompanied by a computer by way of a security camera. That's it. The ending was anti- climatic for me and predictable. If you are bored and have nothing else to watch, this will kill 103 minutes of your time. If you skip this film, you won't miss anything either.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Solid 6.5 rounded up
rsvp32130 September 2017
The plot's been done several times, but there's enough uniqueness to give this movie a positive review.

Some points were predictable, but twists keep you off balance. Acting is unremarkable.

6.5 rounded up.
13 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Great example of bad movie making
Granger29 September 2017
This movie had just about everything going for it-- acting, suspense, intrigue, twist surprises... until the last 10 minutes when they threw it all out the window with a plot line that took a plunge into the nonsense dumpster. The ending made no sense, tied into the movie in no manner and totally contradicted everything prior... leaving the viewer scratching heads or trying desperately to come up with some explanation as to what the blazes just happened.

This is an excellent example for cinema students of how to let your directorial ego go to your head and totally throw away an otherwise brilliant and inspired film. Watch this or don't watch it as you will... you will get over an hour of enjoyment only to regret wasting your time on this senseless-end drivel. It's not abstract, it's not cerebral. It's just plain schlock from a writing / directing team who coughed up a hairball and called it a story.

Then on top of that, throw in a couple of bogus high-star reviews on IMDb to try and convince everyone of what a masterpiece you've made. Yes sir, that will guarantee the future of cinematic excellence.

I give this 3 stars because I reserve 1 and 2 stars for films with no redeeming factors. This one gets a 3 because any redeeming factors this film had go down the drain with the last 10 minutes.
27 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
pointless
Wait Here30 September 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie literally has no point, no message.

Basically it's a story of some resistance leader who is put in an automated prison. This guy has no memory of who he is or why he is there.

There is an AI robot which is there to keep the prisoner fed.

The guy constantly has one and the same flashback where he is in a bar with this girl, who is suppose to be his lover but since it's all in his mind, thus, neither he or the girl remember who they are. It's so pointless and retarded.

This guy tries to convince the AI that it is a prisoner as well and convinces it to help him.

In the end the guy remembers who he is, who the girl is and somehow manages to escapes, which makes no sense whatsoever. It turns out that he has been held in some abandoned government prison. It turns out that AI was broken.

When the guy escapes nothing much happens after that.

The movie is clearly a waste of time and money. It wanted to be deep, but stayed shallow. At best this should have been a ten minute short film, not the two and a half hours of stretched out boredom.

Basically, it's another Indy movie which has no purpose and will be forgotten yesterday.

I'm writing this review only because this movie has only one other review which calls this movie "brilliant". This movie is as far from brilliance as a piece of coal.
21 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Has its moments
Bemmu1 October 2017
One of those movies that overall wasn't that amazing as a whole, but is vindicated thanks to some satisfying moments. Experienced frisson twice, and at another point was so immersed I forgot to think about anything except this movie. These made it a worthwhile evening entertainment.

Has a memorable reoccurring visual that I probably won't be forgetting soon.
8 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
A Great Indy Sci-Fi Flick
Joe Bruno2 October 2017
Wow - what a pleasant surprise!: A movie based on an interesting and unique premise for a change (instead of another pimped-up Hollywood reboot Leftist propaganda-fest). "Infinity Chamber" is an excellent example of how a compelling story can make up for a smaller budget.

The acting is decent, the dialog isn't distracting, the cinematography is respectable, the sound design is balanced - which is to say nothing pops out as being sub-par - everything "fits" pretty well. The story can be a little confusing in places, but that's part of the appeal as you find yourself wanting to figure out what's going on - what's real, and what's fantasy/simulation.

Is "Infinity Chamber" filled with Michael Mann-splosions and crazy CG effects? Nope. Will you miss them? It depends on what you watch movies for: something that makes you think, or, something that requires zero mental involvement and that you flush the moment you walk out of the theater (this movie is the former). If you like movies like "Primer", "Cube" and "Moon" (somewhat cerebral movies taking place in limited environments), you will likely enjoy this one as well.
9 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
A sophomoric Kafkaesque mash-up
Gino Cox30 September 2017
"The Infinity Chamber" is a Kafkaesque mashup that borrows heavily from "The Trial," "Groundhog Day," "Edge of Tomorrow" and "2001: A Space Odyssey" in a not entirely coherent tale set partially in a dystopian future and partially in a coffee shop from the 1970s, then abruptly changes its premise regarding the innocence of a main character and the nature of society and devolves into an sophomoric allegory to Gitmo, or possibly an existential phenomenological statement on the nature of reality.

Along the way, it explores two B-stories, one concerning a romantic interest, the other some sort of guilt over the death of a parent, neither of which seems particularly compelling or relevant, although the love story provides some sort of anchor to an ever-shifting external reality.

The production was obviously accomplished on a limited budget, although they managed to use their resources effectively. There are only three main characters, one of whom is only heard. But the acting is capable and the dialogue is clever. Cinematography and production design are more than adequate, with a refreshing lack of the distracting jiggly-cam shots seen in many films. The main character has a monochromatic B&W wardrobe, which reflects the white of his memories and the black of his cell, although it would take a greater measure of perspicacity than I possess to understand why he wears one color or the other or layers them. The 1970s décor of the coffee shop seems calculated to reinforce the notion that he is somehow travelling back in time, possibly within some sort of alternative reality, as if rebooting a computer. The proprietor is a rather ordinary earth-mother stereotype, seemingly chosen to reinforce the notion that she represents reality, as contrasted to the surreal chamber.

In some regards, there seems to be a lot of thought given to the symbolism and underlying theme, but it all seems to have been abandoned in the last act. After a somewhat ponderous and often repetitive first and second act, all pretense at a loftier cerebral message seems to have been discarded in a last-ditch effort to reach closure and pick up the pace. Despite a promising beginning, it ends seeming sophomoric and pretentious. As a student film school production, it would undoubtedly receive top marks. As a commercial production, it seems disappointing.
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Slow and uneventful
tlarraya22 October 2017
I was really excited about this. I thought it was going to be a very clever science fiction movie. It turns out it's low budget, the acting is bad, the script is bad, the story is bad and nearly non-existent and the locations are bad. I would advise you to watch something else if you can.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Amazing, Touching Movie, on Survival
isimplypanda-839248 October 2017
I would say this is a really cool, well made movie, special effects were pretty ehh, but the story is amazing. Man this has to be one of the top movies in my book just story wise was really amazing what the director does and the transitions are amazing makes you wonder what is going to happen next.
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Taking cues from Cube, failed to take the right ones
colin-dekker29 September 2017
The premise of a man pitted against machine on a mental level sounds promising, the idea clearly taken from Cube (especially the "Why am I here part"), albeit way less bloody. But the promise(s) do(es) not deliver. While trying to recreate the same uncertainty of Cube ( IMHO the seminal movie in this genre ) this fails due to the lame delivery, dialogues and the "not quite there" suspense..
14 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Awful and boring
Alex Tan20 November 2017
Poor acting, amateur actors. I don't know what to say more. I guess good reviews are from director's friends. Seems like it was funded on Kickstarter

My gf told me, can you please check if at the end he is still in that room talking to a webcam, yep, he was
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
My best viewed movie this year!
shil05004 October 2017
I can only say that AMAZING is the best description for this movie. I have been so bored with what is being reworked, re-shot, rewrote, remade with no original thought content that this amazingly written, directed, cast & acted movie will be applauded & hopefully awarded it's just accolades in the near future.

What a breath of fresh air for it's original story line & Cinematography. Thank you for making my day!
6 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Misunderstood ending.
luther-446212 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
A very well written story. All the reviews I have read seem to be watching a different movie than the one I watched. I wonder if the reviewers are even bothering to watch the film to it's conclusion.

Spoiler Alert***************

Do not read before watching the film.

Spoiler Alert************************

The entire film is told from the prisoner's point of view. He is in fact guilty of creating a computer virus. He is being interrogated by a artificial intelligence program.

The program's objective is to get him to disclose where he hid the thumb drive that contains the virus that will incriminate him. The program is persistent and over time keeps breaking him down.

At the end of the film we see the camera in the dome at the coffee shop.

We are reminded that everything that we have seen is a fantasy that is playing out in his mind. He is still in the cell and he is still being interrogated.

By the closing scene, he is getting closer and closer to incriminating himself for the crime he has committed. If the artificial intelligence program does not know where the thumb drive is yet it will know shortly because although the prisoner has been trying to hide that info he has been unsuccessful. After all, the program has infinite patience.

Spoiler Alert***************

Do not read before watching the film.

Spoiler Alert************************
8 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
stellar
sirrmocraft13 November 2017
this is a prime example of how to utilize a low budget. the movie focuses on dialogue and experience rather than flashy effects that it cant afford. if you want a movie that keeps you on your toes and guessing till the end, or if you're sick of the mindless gunk Hollywood has been ****** out these past years give it a try and know good film-making is not yet a lost art
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews