Thor: Ragnarok (2017) Poster

User Reviews

Add a Review
686 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
Marvel Joy Division
cinemajesty31 October 2017
Movie Review: "Thor: Ragnarok" (2017)

Here comes the best medicine in form of another Sfiction_Action_Comedy for a price to escape all-day routines from Marvel Studios distributed by Walt Disney Enterprises Incorporated.

The dialogues vary plain out funny to world-domination menacing character of Hela, delightful performed by actress Cate Blanchett in skin-tight black-green suit.

The character of Thor, portrayed by Chris Hemsworth, has never looked better in science-fiction 1980s retro vs. contemporary upgrade with a spaceship fight sequence that delivers awes.

Director Taika Waititi and newcomer to the one-hundred fifty million Dollar plus budget league makes use of the filmmaking orchestra given with extreme wideshot action of production value splendor.

Costume and production design play the colors with delight for an eye-popping smash experience, especially in certified IMAX theaters, where green Hulk speaks up to fight Thor in the match awaited since 2012er Marvel edition of "The Avengers.

Jeff Goldblum, portraying as death-match organizing character Grandmaster, steals the show through the second act of well-placed slapstick and double-daring word plays, reminiscing the genius of "Abbott & Costello".

Minor drawback has been the Industry-spoiled rumor that there was an 95-Minute-version for pitch perfect maximum speedway result instead of the at some scenes rushed 120-Minutes-release-print.

© 2017 Felix Alexander Dausend (Cinemajesty Entertainments LLC)
29 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
MCU's most audacious entry yet.
archersasuke31 October 2017
*Just to note, "Do You Find This Review Helpful?" doesn't mean if you agree with the reviewer's opinion or not, but rather, it means if the review actually describes the film, and what are its pros and cons. So please, don't just click 'No' below instantly. Thanks!*

Thor: Ragnarok is the 17th film of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I brought that up just to tell you that Marvel is still standing strong until today, even at its seventeenth film, and the fact that this is one of my favorite Marvel films.

I'm glad the film takes Thor differently. Unlike the first two, which are both mostly boring and trying to be very serious, this film is fun, and energetic.

The best thing about this film is that it's probably the most fun entry of MCU. It's 90% filled with humor. Almost all of the main actors in the cast steals the movie. Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston, Cate Blanchett, and even Taika Waititi as Korg. They were all very interesting and funny characters, thanks to these actors that did great in their roles.

I also have to give props to Taika Waititi for his direction. The film feels very fast-paced (in a good way), energetic, and fun overall. The reason why it's different to most of what MCU gave us so far is that, again, it's filled with humor most of the time. It's just a straight up superhero-comedy film. And that's what makes is MCU's most audacious film yet.

Sure, the previous MCU films may have humor, but throughout the film, it's laughs and giggles. Though it sounds bad that the film is mainly comedic, the way the comedy is executed is very well done.

Another plus for me is the action is very well-executed and visually stunning. The film is very colorful, and I loved the animation for the closing credits.

The only flaw for me in this film is that there may be a lot of jokes in some scenes. There's this one joke, and then there's another. In return, the viewer wouldn't handle all of it. It's a minor flaw, but I thought of it, so I had to include it here.

Overall, it's a very fun and colorful film. Easily the best of the Thor films, one of Waititi's best works as a director, and one of MCU's best efforts.

Final Rating: 9/10 | A
34 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Welcome to the Marvel Cosmic Universe!
PyroSikTh31 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Okay so the first thing to note about Ragnarok, which if you have enough brain cells you'd guess yourself after seeing the trailer, is that it's nothing like the previous two Thor movies, beyond sharing some characters and settings. The tone is completely different. In fact it's probably better to compare Ragnarok to Guardians of the Galaxy with it's straight comedy angle and influx of neon colours and whacky concepts. This is the new world order for Marvel's Cosmic Universe in full swing. How this makes me feel isn't quite so clear. As I said, I really didn't mind the other Thor movies, and to see the brooding seriousness get thrown out entirely, particularly in a movie about the end of days, seems like a misplaced choice. That said this is what Waititi does best, and he's on top, What We Do in the Shadows form here.

Ragnarok is jam-packed full of jokes and gags, and every single one of them lands with aplomb. From Thor asking Surtur to pause while he helplessly spins around at the beginning, to the Grandmaster declaring a tie in Sakaar's revolution, each and every slither of humour is guaranteed to earn a laugh. It's typical Waititi humour; awkward, modern, and using juxtaposition to great effect. Korg, a large being made of rocks, talking about his revolution failing because he didn't hand out enough pamphlets hits so hard because it's so against what you'd expect from that kind of alien.

Waititi's also in his element with running jokes, coming into a franchise nearly twenty movies in full of continuity to adhere to, poke fun at, and address in one way or another. Loki taking Odin's place in Asgard is dealt with swiftly, with a couple of gags thrown in, including surprise cameos. Hulk disappearing at the end of Age of Ultron is addressed with heartbreak and a couple of touching moments between Thor and Hulk/Banner. And Hela knocking over the Infinity Gauntlet in Asgard's vault because it's "fake" was a great way to plug such a tiny yet significant plot hole.

Despite how humorous Ragnarok is, it doesn't shy away from more serious themes and ideas though. Thor's companions in the Warriors Three are dispatched of quickly and without remorse, Hela raising an army of the dead from the Asgard crypts is a pretty dark idea, and of course there's the whole Ragnarok thing. Not only is this movie one of the funniest entries in the MCU, but it also has some of the biggest stakes so far. By the end of the film, Thor's life is permanently changed in a massive way.

But Ragnarok is still not perfect. It still doesn't quite reach the heights of either of the Guardians movies or Winter Soldier. It's opening act feels a little messy, rushing through plot points to get to the meat of it. Thor's tied up in chains at the behest of Surtur, now he's in Asgard unveiling Loki, now he's with Doctor Strange looking for Odin, now he's in Norway bracing for Hela's arrival, now he's on Sakaar about to face the Grandmaster's champion. It's almost all rushed, and some of it feels pointless. Like, Doctor Strange's role is completely unnecessary. He's just put in for an Earthling presence in a movie that frankly didn't need it.

Hela is also another in a long line of lacklustre MCU villains. She's the first female villain to pose as the main antagonist, which is great, and Cate Blanchett is perfect for her (I think I'm in love). She has an interesting backstory, but it's never really developed. Hela ends up just becoming another two-dimensional mustache- twirling villain with a plan that's flawed from the offset and no motivation beyond just being evil. Her being the Goddess of Death is never really capitalised on either, outside of her resurrecting dead soldiers of Asgard's crypts reasonably early on.

That said, almost every other character is great. Thor's sense of humour is brought to the forefront with some surprisingly great comedic chops from Hemsworth, without it taking away from his more serious moments. He's still Thor despite the tonal shift around him. Likewise, Loki is the same old Loki, with his tricks and betrayals, and his history with Hulk is played up to perfection. Valkyrie and Skurge both enjoy character arcs that help to develop them, and both Tessa Thompson and Karl Urban make their mark on the movie. Waititi even gets to add some of himself into the movie as Korg, who promises to steal every scene he's in. And of course Mark Ruffalo manages to play Hulk completely by himself for the first time and gives us the best Hulk we've ever had.

Ragnarok is another part of Marvel's current hot streak, and here's hoping it continues just a little bit longer at least. It's a massive tonal shift from the rest of the Thor franchise, feeling closer to the Guardians franchise, which is a win/lose depending on your point of view. The music is a step in the right direction, utilising Led Zeppelin's Immigrant Song really well, as well as adding some 80's synth/video game music underneath Marvel's standard, dull strings arrangements, but it's largely still unmemorable and unremarkable. The visuals are fantastic, employing a style closer to Snyder's approach in the DCEU than Marvel's usual grey realism, which I personally consider a massive plus. But of course it's the humour that keeps Ragnarok afloat, and the massive stakes leave me begging to find out what happens next. I give Ragnarok a high 8/10. Easily the best Thor movie so far.

P.S. Where was Sif?!
27 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Epic Space Adventure which propels Chris Hemsworth's Thor to A-List Status!!!
suhaibjoyia30 October 2017
I just came back from seeing it and this movie is awesome man.

1) the action scenes were top notch in this movie. Thor has never been this epic in the MCU. He does some pretty epic sh*t in this movie and he is definitely not under-powered anymore. Thor in unleashed in this, I love that.

2) Marvel did a damn good job in hiding some spoilers in the trailers.

3) design-wise, the movie is totally beautiful. not a single bad effect in the movie. even the scene that changed from city to field looks better on the actual big screen.

4) the freaking soundtrack. absolutely perfect. Immigrant Song FTW.

5) Hela is totally bad-ass too. powerful, commanding, with just the right amount of scenery-chewing. hell, a lot of characters are so delightfully over-the-top in this.

6) great supporting cast too. Valkyrie owns everything the moment she enters the movie. even Surtur was pretty darn hardcore. and Korg is freaking hysterical. Man I loved Korg!

7) the movie's got a lot of humor. that may be a problem to some…..but, when it's time to take things seriously, the movie does exactly that. specially towards the spectacular third act, when real sh*t is going down, the humor dials back a ton. It is only during the Sakaar portions of the movie where most of the humour is, not without several moments of sincere character interaction of course.

8) I thought what they did with the "Ragnarok" part was kind of genius. this may not be the Winter Soldier of Phase 3 they told us, but it does make some significant changes to the overall MCU, or at least, the Thor section of the MCU.

9) The pacing of the movie was perfect. Plus there wasn't a single scene in which I felt bored.

Overall this was one of Marvel's best films for me. It would definitely be in my top 5 marvel movies along with civil war, winter soldier, guardians of the galaxy and iron man 1. I'll probably rank it at 2nd or 3rd!!!
35 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Jackpot!
halcyon_king31 October 2017
Every time I go into the movies I feel like playing the lottery. I hope for the best but really don't know what I'm getting and I often feel disappointed in the end. This time it was not the case. Marvel universe movies have been my favorites from the very beginning of the story and Thor:Ragnarok as the latest edition has surpassed my expectations. I was hoping for a another good entry in the Marvel universe but this was on another level entirely.

This movie is fun, funny, full of action, well acted, fits the story perfectly and what is most important it feels fresh and original. It is different from the other Thor and Marvel movies and stands firmly on its own while still being a bridge to the culmination of the Marvel universe. It's light tone is in my opinion a good set up for the final chapters of the Marvel universe which are no doubt going to be much darker and more dramatic. But make no mistake Thor Ragnarok is a serious movie with a thin layer of drama and darkness as well. It's not perfect but it's flaws are tiny and barely noticeable when compared to the big picture. Without a doubt in my top 3 Marvel movies for now.
32 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
Zeppelin, Cate, Goldblum
David Ferguson30 October 2017
Greetings again from the darkness. The ultimate cinematic dilemma … how to make the next comic book movie stand out from the (many, many) others? The brilliant answer comes from director Taika Waititi and co-writers Eric Pearson, Craig Kyle and Christopher Yost – a screwball superhero action film that delivers not only the required alien war scenes, but also a campy villain for the ages in a movie that may be the funniest of the year.

For those who prefer their superheroes dark and brooding, this one will be a shock. Prepare for Jeff Goldblum as the Grandmaster – the most polite villain we've seen in awhile, and one who looks to be straight out of the 1960's "Batman" series. Chris Hemsworth as Thor is one of many returning actors/characters, only this time he really gets to flash his comic timing on top of his Thunder God biceps. His love- hate, trust-no trust, see-saw relationship with brother Loki (Tom Hiddleston) is in full force, as is the Bruce Banner banter with The Hulk (Mark Ruffalo). It's certainly more in line with GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY than the previous movies for Avengers.

As much fun as Goldblum brings to the party, this is really Cate Blanchett's show. She is the frightening (with a dash of camp) Goddess of Death, and long-lost sister of Thor and Loki, and daughter of Odin (Anthony Hopkins). With a headdress that puts everyone at the Kentucky Derby to shame, Hela's enormous powers are such that she crumbles Thor's mighty hammer with little effort – just to remind everyone that big sisters are renowned for messing up younger brother's toys.

Of course, with that title, we know that the story revolves around what could be the end of Asgard. Joining in the fun are: Idris Elba who is back as Heimdall, Tessa Thompson as a master of one-liners Valkyrie, Karl Urban as Skurge - rewarded with a wonderful exit scene, Ray Stevenson returns as Volstagg, and rocky alien Korg who is voiced by director Waititi. Fans of the series will be happy to know other familiar faces pop up periodically – one especially magical sequence teaches Loki a quick lesson.

In addition to the main rescue story line, the powerful villains, and crazy aliens, there are numerous nods and tributes to previous versions (notably Planet Hulk, and Fantastic Four), and a hilarious early stage play with three cameos that make it clear, big time laughter is here to stay. It's fun to catch the reunions from such previous projects as Star Trek, JURASSIC Park and Westworld.

Special acknowledgment goes to director Taika Waititi for hilariously taking the comic book film world down a different path. He's known for his comedic projects like HUNT FOR THE WILDERPEOPLE (one of my favs from 2016), WHAT WE DO IN THE SHADOWS, and his work on the brilliant but short-lived "Flight of the Conchords". It's still very much a Marvel movie, with visible fingerprints of Stan Lee, Larry Lieber, and Jack Kirby. It's also a fantastic adventure film that sets the stage for next year's AVENGERS: INFINITY WAR, while also featuring the best use ever of Led Zeppelin's "Immigrant Song". So get ready to rock, roll and rollick in a film that is just about as much fun as you can have in a theatre.
29 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
The Best Thor Outing Too Date
garethvk1 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
One of the biggest challenges with an ongoing series is crafting a story that is on par or better than the prior offering and that the characters continue to grow so audiences do not get a rehash of what they have seen before.

With "Thor Ragnarok" Chris Hemsworth has returned for his third solo outing, and fifth outing overall as the heroic Asgardian warrior Thor. This time out Thor is on his quest to track down the Infinity Stones and finds himself plagued by visions of Ragnarok: a legend detailing the fiery destruction of his home of Asgard.

With an action laden opening, Thor believes he has ended the threat and returns home to find his father Odin (Sir Anthony Hopkins), has been sent to Earth and his evil brother Loki (Tom Hiddleston) assuming his place.

Thor ventures to Earth with his brother which sets a series of events into motion, the result of which unleashes the long imprisoned Hela (Cate Blanchett), who plans the subjugation of Thor and Asgard. Naturally Thor is not going to put up with this, but finds himself mid battle knocked out of his transit home and on a remote world called Sakaar.

As if being stranded far from home is not enough of a challenge, Thor is forced to become a gladiator for the erratic Grandmaster (Jeff Goldblum), whom Loki has managed to charm and become a part of his inner circle.

As fate has it, Thor becomes matched with The Hulk (Mark Ruffalo), and must find a way to survive and make his way home before Hella can destroy all that he holds precious.

The film is the best of the Thor films and it is engaging from start to finish. There is a significant amount of humor in the film but it does not feel forced and is very appropriate to many of the scenes. The film also has plenty of action and the blend between comedy and action is deftly handed by Director TaiKa Waititi who never lets the film become a parody of itself nor take itself too seriously at times. He knows when there is a time to laugh and when there is a time to be deathly serious.

This allows for a deeper and more enjoyable and engaging Thor than has been previously seen. He is not as one-dimensional as he has been in the past as the strong, quick to anger muscle that I would love to see explored in further outings.

I had worried from the trailers that the movie might be more of a video game as it seemed heavily dependent on retro style CGI and camp humor which made it seem like something out of the 80s. While there are elements of that, the film mixes the old and new to create one of the most authentic and enjoyable comic adaptations seen to date. It continues the winning formula of Marvel Studios and of course, sets up the next outing for Thor in "Avengers: Infinity War" as well as the larger Marvel Universe as we a whole. The film also has some great cameos and I am curious to see how the addition of the newly introduced characters will be explored down the road. The return of Hiddleston was also a real treat as he is so good as the mercurial but always sly and dangerous Loki that he commands your complete attention every time he appears on screen.

Marvel has once again set very high standards for comic based movies and has again delivered another winner that you will not want to miss.

4.5 stars out of 5.
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Another really fun Marvel movie
Carlos André31 October 2017
I saw many people in the internet complaining about the "fun vibe" of the movie. Well, guys, IT'S A MARVEL MOVIE! What the heck are you expecting?! The trailer sell me a fun movie, and this was exactly what I receive. Didn't you?

Look, I'm a really critical about the excess of jokes in the Marvel movies, I really believe that in some of them it doesn't work at all (like Civil War, Age of Ultron, Doctor Strange). But here in Ragnarok for me was a improve, comparing with the other Thor movies (the first one suck, and the second it's fun, but not that much too).

Chris Hemsworth has amazing comic skills (way better than his "dramatic" ones), Mark Rufallo is great too, Tom Hiddleston, etc etc (you get it, the cast is great).

The movie isn't a master piece (like Joss Whedon said), far away from that, they bet on the save (again), but this time works. Cate Blanchett is F#CKING INCREDIBLE on the movie! And that is a improve when you think in the MCU (you know... the majority of the villains in the movies suck).

So, in short, for me Ragnarok is another very entertaining, fun, and well done Marvel movie. Doesn't will win an Oscar or something, but it's good, and mainly, a lot better than the first two.
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
incredibly fun to watch
siliconmind-610231 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Marvel did it again! The best thing about Marvel movies:I know what to expect and I get what I expected. Thor Ragnarok is just 2 hours of fun. The plot may be simple, the characters may be undeveloped, but I didn't go into the cinema for a Oscar best picture nominee. The constant jokes, the beautiful visual effects, the amazing soundtrack, even better than the Guardians I think, are just the things I paid for. Totally worth the money and the time.

And spoiler alert, some may wonder how the fire monster beats Hela but Thor beats him at the beginning of the movie. My theory is that the fire monster is brought back by the eternal fire at the end, so it makes him much bigger, hence maybe more powerful.

Anyway, one of Marvel's best movies, the very definition of entertainment, I will see it in cinema again.
30 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Damn you Marvel!!!!
harunilgin20 October 2017
Ragnarok is a neon-infused fantasy of what superhero films could look like. There are gigantic monsters and beautiful women; zombie armies and a big spooky dog; an evil witch and Jeff Goldblum, but this isn't just a wacky movie made for the sake of wackiness. Ragnarok is the child of confident filmmaking and understanding of what the Thor franchise could have always been.

It takes a character that could have always been more and makes good on that promise through competent storytelling and unbridled enthusiasm for the world. This is exactly how we should be rewarded for their fandom. There has never been a clearer example of throwing the entire kitchen sink at a single title and having every single washer and lug-nut of that porcelain mechanism land in perfect order than Ragnarok.
270 out of 395 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews